**Official** Sony X930C / X940C Owners Thread - Page 478 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7034Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14311 of 14459 Old 08-21-2019, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Egghaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Based on the link ultrasilent posted, it seems it was added for all C series sets that support HDR. You must put the TV in the regular Game mode before launching an HDR enabled game on the PS4. When the TV switches to HDR, it still says HDR Video as the picture mode, however you can see that Motionflow settings will be disabled. I dont have an input lag tester, but I did some slow motion videos with the controller and the screen and it certainly seems more responsive in this "mode". I videoed myself hitting R2 on the controller while counting how long it took for the action to happen on screen.
Egghaus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14312 of 14459 Old 08-21-2019, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egghaus View Post
Based on the link ultrasilent posted, it seems it was added for all C series sets that support HDR. You must put the TV in the regular Game mode before launching an HDR enabled game on the PS4. When the TV switches to HDR, it still says HDR Video as the picture mode, however you can see that Motionflow settings will be disabled. I dont have an input lag tester, but I did some slow motion videos with the controller and the screen and it certainly seems more responsive in this "mode". I videoed myself hitting R2 on the controller while counting how long it took for the action to happen on screen.
hmmm ill have to def give that a shot when i get home. maybe it'll improve my KDR on Black ops 4
res036 is offline  
post #14313 of 14459 Old 08-21-2019, 10:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Not sure if it worked but this is what I’m seeing on my screen 🏻
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	8F46C2A7-DD26-495A-A1E0-86678BED44C9_1566451676812.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	104.8 KB
ID:	2605756   Click image for larger version

Name:	9E48E155-05CB-4413-973F-1EF30723C6A2_1566451702514.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	103.5 KB
ID:	2605758  
res036 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14314 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Egghaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by res036 View Post
Not sure if it worked but this is what I’m seeing on my screen 🏻
If you try to switch the Motionflow setting in this mode you should only get the choice of Off or Custom.
Egghaus is offline  
post #14315 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
ultrasilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egghaus View Post
I can confirm the HDR Game mode. If you are in Game mode before engaging HDR content, you only get the options of Off and Custom under Motionflow, and Smoothness is greyed out. Engaging HDR content from Cinema Pro still gives access to all Motionflow settings. This is all with a PS4 Pro.
I don`t think it is dependant on source. I don`t have PS but still have same situation - when start HDR content in Game mode than I have different MF opportunities...

Funny, that 3 years passed since HDR Game mode update and only me notice this mode...
94C is very good HDR TV set but very underrated. I see this causes:
-expensive
-late HDR update and late major fixes
-Z9D took a lot of attention from 94C, because of very good marketing of this model
.....

my opinion: 94C and Z9D are best universal LCD sets forever.

Zidoo X9S (1.4.16.), Vertex FW 1.36.1.42, GUI 1.34
Himedia Q10 Pro (2.0.9 and 2.1.4) > 6ft copper > Vertex > 6ft copper > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 4)
Nvidia Shield Android TV (7.1.0.) 2015 16Gb+ 1TB HDD or ZIDOO X9S (2.1.22) >6ft copper >----> 6ft copper > Yamaha RX-A2020 HDMI 1.4 > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 1)

Last edited by ultrasilent; 08-22-2019 at 03:57 PM.
ultrasilent is offline  
post #14316 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 03:45 PM
Senior Member
 
ultrasilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber Chulo View Post
Got it. Also when I tried youtube hdr on my ps4 pro, it doesn't engage it either. Does anyone who has a Roku or Fire stick confirm if HDR engages on the 940c from those devices? I would assume it is the same problem.
С series can`t do HDR youtube, BUT C series can show HDR from external source, any proper true HDR external source, including HDR youtube from external source.

Zidoo X9S (1.4.16.), Vertex FW 1.36.1.42, GUI 1.34
Himedia Q10 Pro (2.0.9 and 2.1.4) > 6ft copper > Vertex > 6ft copper > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 4)
Nvidia Shield Android TV (7.1.0.) 2015 16Gb+ 1TB HDD or ZIDOO X9S (2.1.22) >6ft copper >----> 6ft copper > Yamaha RX-A2020 HDMI 1.4 > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 1)
ultrasilent is offline  
post #14317 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
ultrasilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by res036 View Post
Not sure if it worked but this is what I’m seeing on my screen 🏻
what is FW on your 930C? it is possible that sony broke this mode in new FW to force you for buying new TV set.

Zidoo X9S (1.4.16.), Vertex FW 1.36.1.42, GUI 1.34
Himedia Q10 Pro (2.0.9 and 2.1.4) > 6ft copper > Vertex > 6ft copper > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 4)
Nvidia Shield Android TV (7.1.0.) 2015 16Gb+ 1TB HDD or ZIDOO X9S (2.1.22) >6ft copper >----> 6ft copper > Yamaha RX-A2020 HDMI 1.4 > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 1)
ultrasilent is offline  
post #14318 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrasilent View Post
what is FW on your 930C? it is possible that sony broke this mode in new FW to force you for buying new TV set.
its the latest one from june i believe. is it possible to downgrade? lol
res036 is offline  
post #14319 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egghaus View Post
If you try to switch the Motionflow setting in this mode you should only get the choice of Off or Custom.
so its not working?
res036 is offline  
post #14320 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
ultrasilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by res036 View Post
its the latest one from june i believe. is it possible to downgrade? lol
Do you have any other HDR sources? try to play HDR video (24, 50 and 60p) from them when in 94C Game mode.

Zidoo X9S (1.4.16.), Vertex FW 1.36.1.42, GUI 1.34
Himedia Q10 Pro (2.0.9 and 2.1.4) > 6ft copper > Vertex > 6ft copper > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 4)
Nvidia Shield Android TV (7.1.0.) 2015 16Gb+ 1TB HDD or ZIDOO X9S (2.1.22) >6ft copper >----> 6ft copper > Yamaha RX-A2020 HDMI 1.4 > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 1)
ultrasilent is offline  
post #14321 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
ultrasilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by res036 View Post
so its not working?
game mode is working in HDR.
MF settings are limited as it should be.

Zidoo X9S (1.4.16.), Vertex FW 1.36.1.42, GUI 1.34
Himedia Q10 Pro (2.0.9 and 2.1.4) > 6ft copper > Vertex > 6ft copper > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 4)
Nvidia Shield Android TV (7.1.0.) 2015 16Gb+ 1TB HDD or ZIDOO X9S (2.1.22) >6ft copper >----> 6ft copper > Yamaha RX-A2020 HDMI 1.4 > SONY X9405C HDR TV (HDMI 1)
ultrasilent is offline  
post #14322 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrasilent View Post
Do you have any other HDR sources? try to play HDR video (24, 50 and 60p) from them when in 94C Game mode.
no not really, just a 4k firestick thats about it.
res036 is offline  
post #14323 of 14459 Old 08-22-2019, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyber Chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrasilent View Post
С series can`t do HDR youtube, BUT C series can show HDR from external source, any proper true HDR external source, including HDR youtube from external source.
Thank you. I came home with a Roku Stick Plus. HDR is working. However I think it raises the black levels when displaying HDR more than usual. I'm not used to seeing gray letterbox bars in HDR mode. I may have to play with the gamma a bit tomorrow to see if that helps.

PSN ID Cyber125
Cyber Chulo is offline  
post #14324 of 14459 Old 08-23-2019, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrasilent View Post
game mode is working in HDR.
MF settings are limited as it should be.
oddly enough last night i couldn't get the HDR game mode to work, i even rebooted the TV. Is there some kind of trick to get it to engage?
res036 is offline  
post #14325 of 14459 Old 08-23-2019, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Egghaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber Chulo View Post
Thank you. I came home with a Roku Stick Plus. HDR is working. However I think it raises the black levels when displaying HDR more than usual. I'm not used to seeing gray letterbox bars in HDR mode. I may have to play with the gamma a bit tomorrow to see if that helps.
Do you have some form of Motionflow enabled?
Egghaus is offline  
post #14326 of 14459 Old 08-23-2019, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyber Chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egghaus View Post
Do you have some form of Motionflow enabled?
Just True Cinema.

PSN ID Cyber125
Cyber Chulo is offline  
post #14327 of 14459 Old 08-23-2019, 10:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anybody have any idea why I can’t get game hdr mode to turn on anymore? it just worked that one night now I try and go back to it and nothing happens. Iv tried rebooting the tv, rebooting the PS4 and nothing... it’s pretty annoying now that I know that modes on here and can’t figure out how to get it back on
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	09401F98-C711-4593-A0D8-3C38103B9E75_1566625313169.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	92.6 KB
ID:	2606452  
res036 is offline  
post #14328 of 14459 Old 08-23-2019, 11:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by res036 View Post
Anybody have any idea why I can’t get game hdr mode to turn on anymore? it just worked that one night now I try and go back to it and nothing happens. Iv tried rebooting the tv, rebooting the PS4 and nothing... it’s pretty annoying now that I know that modes on here and can’t figure out how to get it back on
hiya, loll boot up a game that supports HDR , it will change to hdr video mode
litlnicky is offline  
post #14329 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by res036 View Post
Anybody have any idea why I can’t get game hdr mode to turn on anymore? it just worked that one night now I try and go back to it and nothing happens. Iv tried rebooting the tv, rebooting the PS4 and nothing... it’s pretty annoying now that I know that modes on here and can’t figure out how to get it back on
Have you tried resetting your picture settings? Maybe also if that doesn't work just factory reset the TV and see if the HDR Video "game" mode is working after that.

On a totally unrelated subject, I noticed that if you are in a picture settings while the television is changing picture modes automatically based on video received (ie being on "Cinema Home" then the tv switches to "HDR Video") the picture setting you are on will be unlocked for change, even if it was previously locked before. Such as HDR Video you can't change Auto Local Dimming from default of "medium".

Hard to explain this but for example, if you want the HDR Video mode which normally has Auto Local Dimming locked to "Medium" to change to "Off, Low, or High" you stay in a picture mode where you can adjust Auto Local Dimming (Ie. Cinema Home/Pro whatever) and then have tv switch to HDR Video where it was locked...the setting can then be changed from locked setting.

This doesn't particularly help your case, but its a weird thing I wanted to share. This is probably just a Sony firmware bug and doesn't appear to actually have an effect on the actual picture quality though. ...or maybe it does i haven't tested it too much.
TotoyZ4 is offline  
post #14330 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Cyber Chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotoyZ4 View Post

Hard to explain this but for example, if you want the HDR Video mode which normally has Auto Local Dimming locked to "Medium" to change to "Off, Low, or High" you stay in a picture mode where you can adjust Auto Local Dimming (Ie. Cinema Home/Pro whatever) and then have tv switch to HDR Video where it was locked...the setting can then be changed from locked setting.
Wow I did not know that! Thanks a lot! I'm gonna try this when I get home. This may fix my Roku HDR complaint of things being to gray.

PSN ID Cyber125
Cyber Chulo is offline  
post #14331 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 08:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber Chulo View Post
Wow I did not know that! Thanks a lot! I'm gonna try this when I get home. This may fix my Roku HDR complaint of things being to gray.
No problem. Like I stated I am not sure if it actually does affect the picture quality, I don't believe it does from when I last played around with it many firmware updates ago...but if you do have that resultant experience it would be quite interesting.
TotoyZ4 is offline  
post #14332 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Cyber Chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotoyZ4 View Post
No problem. Like I stated I am not sure if it actually does affect the picture quality, I don't believe it does from when I last played around with it many firmware updates ago...but if you do have that resultant experience it would be quite interesting.
I believe it should. I remember when I tried Uncharted 4 when HDR was introduced, the black levels were so gray looking. Then I think one of the updates corrected it, or I may have stumbled upon your way of forcing local dimming on where it looked much better. When I looked at the settings for HDMI 2 where the Roku is plugged in, it was set to a locked medium. Turning it to high should hopefully give better results. I'll let you know.

PSN ID Cyber125
Cyber Chulo is offline  
post #14333 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 11
https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...icles/00160270

Sony updated their website article recently on August 21, 2019, regarding reduced input lag and Game Mode for 2015 Bravia sets and some 2016 Bravia sets.

Looks like you might only have to set Motionflow to "Off" regardless of the picture mode, before starting a HDR game to receive the benefits of reduced input lag in HDR gaming. Interestingly, on other (non-2015 and some 2016) Bravia Android sets you have to be in Game Mode first, but it doesn't mention having to set Motionflow "Off".

I am still partial to selecting Game Mode on my 2015 940C while having Motionflow set to "Off" in that picture mode. However if anyone has a input lag tester and can see if being in Game Mode first with Motionflow set to "Off" versus being in any other picture mode (ie Cinema Home) with Motionflow set to "Off" has any benefits over one versus the other, that would be nice. Also, should we have Cinemotion off or any other picture settings off to reduce input lag further? Having Auto Local Dimming, Advanced Contrast Enhancer, etc. set to "On" would be nice for pop but didn't know how much it impacted input lag further while in Game Mode with Motionflow set to "Off".
TotoyZ4 is offline  
post #14334 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Cyber Chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotoyZ4 View Post
https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...icles/00160270

Sony updated their website article recently on August 21, 2019, regarding reduced input lag and Game Mode for 2015 Bravia sets and some 2016 Bravia sets.

Looks like you might only have to set Motionflow to "Off" regardless of the picture mode, before starting a HDR game to receive the benefits of reduced input lag in HDR gaming. Interestingly, on other (non-2015 and some 2016) Bravia Android sets you have to be in Game Mode first, but it doesn't mention having to set Motionflow "Off".

I am still partial to selecting Game Mode on my 2015 940C while having Motionflow set to "Off" in that picture mode. However if anyone has a input lag tester and can see if being in Game Mode first with Motionflow set to "Off" versus being in any other picture mode (ie Cinema Home) with Motionflow set to "Off" has any benefits over one versus the other, that would be nice. Also, should we have Cinemotion off or any other picture settings off to reduce input lag further? Having Auto Local Dimming, Advanced Contrast Enhancer, etc. set to "On" would be nice for pop but didn't know how much it impacted input lag further while in Game Mode with Motionflow set to "Off".
Not an answer to your question but I'm assuming you play a lot of competitive MP titles like Call of Duty. I know for sure (you can see and feel) that there is noticeable lag when you put Motion flow on to Smooth or any "smooth" variant. I play with True Cinema motion on and come in pretty consistently with high kill counts. But I don't play COD like games. My favorite MP games are Uncharted 4, Last of Us and Earth Defense Force 5. I "need" to have the best quality picture by having things turned on when they are off in Game Mode, to make me feel like I got my money's worth when I bought this TV. I think I paid like $5500 at the time. (The most I ever paid for a tv). When Uncharted 4 for the first time in HDR, my mind was blown. Horizon Zero Dawn is another looker.

PSN ID Cyber125
Cyber Chulo is offline  
post #14335 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber Chulo View Post
Not an answer to your question but I'm assuming you play a lot of competitive MP titles like Call of Duty. I know for sure (you can see and feel) that there is noticeable lag when you put Motion flow on to Smooth or any "smooth" variant. I play with True Cinema motion on and come in pretty consistently with high kill counts. But I don't play COD like games. My favorite MP games are Uncharted 4, Last of Us and Earth Defense Force 5. I "need" to have the best quality picture by having things turned on when they are off in Game Mode, to make me feel like I got my money's worth when I bought this TV. I think I paid like $5500 at the time. (The most I ever paid for a tv). When Uncharted 4 for the first time in HDR, my mind was blown. Horizon Zero Dawn is another looker.
Thanks for this, I'll have to look into those other HDR supported titles. I also play casually and usually value the picture quality over the input lag, dependent on the type of game play going on. I sometimes do get into fast paced and twitchy games like COD once and a while so I have been curious what settings I should also leave turned off or which settings can remain on based on their relative impacts to input lag. Maybe there was some discussion on this a while back but I didn't catch it (search function will hopefully dig something up), and also not sure if the recent firmware has impacted this in any way.

Good luck on your Roku test later.
TotoyZ4 is offline  
post #14336 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotoyZ4 View Post
Have you tried resetting your picture settings? Maybe also if that doesn't work just factory reset the TV and see if the HDR Video "game" mode is working after that.

On a totally unrelated subject, I noticed that if you are in a picture settings while the television is changing picture modes automatically based on video received (ie being on "Cinema Home" then the tv switches to "HDR Video") the picture setting you are on will be unlocked for change, even if it was previously locked before. Such as HDR Video you can't change Auto Local Dimming from default of "medium".

Hard to explain this but for example, if you want the HDR Video mode which normally has Auto Local Dimming locked to "Medium" to change to "Off, Low, or High" you stay in a picture mode where you can adjust Auto Local Dimming (Ie. Cinema Home/Pro whatever) and then have tv switch to HDR Video where it was locked...the setting can then be changed from locked setting.

This doesn't particularly help your case, but its a weird thing I wanted to share. This is probably just a Sony firmware bug and doesn't appear to actually have an effect on the actual picture quality though. ...or maybe it does i haven't tested it too much.
So i figured out a fix for my issue, apparently the home screen menu on the PS4 Pro isnt in full HDR, so as long as leave the game on when i put the ps4 in rest mode it will boot right up into HDR mode when starting up the PS4 since the game screen starts up where i left off. Not sure if that makes any sense? lol but so far i havent had the issue again since figuring that out
res036 is offline  
post #14337 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyber Chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by res036 View Post
So i figured out a fix for my issue, apparently the home screen menu on the PS4 Pro isnt in full HDR, so as long as leave the game on when i put the ps4 in rest mode it will boot right up into HDR mode when starting up the PS4 since the game screen starts up where i left off. Not sure if that makes any sense? lol but so far i havent had the issue again since figuring that out
Yes, that is correct. HDR engages when you are in an HDR enabled game. Otherwise staying on the home screen is just SDR. But if you did have a game in HDR in rest mode, then turning your PS4 back on will keep it in HDR mode.

PSN ID Cyber125
Cyber Chulo is offline  
post #14338 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyber Chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotoyZ4 View Post
Thanks for this, I'll have to look into those other HDR supported titles. I also play casually and usually value the picture quality over the input lag, dependent on the type of game play going on. I sometimes do get into fast paced and twitchy games like COD once and a while so I have been curious what settings I should also leave turned off or which settings can remain on based on their relative impacts to input lag. Maybe there was some discussion on this a while back but I didn't catch it (search function will hopefully dig something up), and also not sure if the recent firmware has impacted this in any way.

Good luck on your Roku test later.
Well, I tried it and it worked only if I kept the side menu on when I played a youtube video in HDR. But if the tv menu is off and I play it, it goes to medium local dimming. But I didn't really see a difference when I had it in High. I don't think it matters at all since the option is grayed out. My guess is that it's applying it's own settings no matter what it says. On my Z9D, I can adjust it. Not sure if this was an oversight since they tend to roll out similar firmwares for their TV's. I don't think we'll be seeing anymore since the last update in the past 2 months.

I'm looking at my library of games now. The ones that I know that show off HDR the best are:

Uncharted 4
Horizon Zero Dawn
God of War
Uncharted Lost Legacy
Shadow of the Colossus
Mass Effect Andromeda (not the best game but worth it for the HDR)
Tetris Effect
Wipeout Omega Collection
The Last of Us.

I'm waiting for Days Gone to go on sale, but I did see that in HDR on youtube and it looked amazing.

PSN ID Cyber125
Cyber Chulo is offline  
post #14339 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 03:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber Chulo View Post
Yes, that is correct. HDR engages when you are in an HDR enabled game. Otherwise staying on the home screen is just SDR. But if you did have a game in HDR in rest mode, then turning your PS4 back on will keep it in HDR mode.
Yea i wasnt aware of that before hand and no one had made mention of that. it is a little odd, i also had to turn off smart sync as well so that i get in the habit of changing the input before i turn on the PS4
res036 is offline  
post #14340 of 14459 Old 08-26-2019, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyber Chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by res036 View Post
Yea i wasnt aware of that before hand and no one had made mention of that. it is a little odd, i also had to turn off smart sync as well so that i get in the habit of changing the input before i turn on the PS4
You mean Bravia Sync? I love that feature. When I turn on my PS4 it turns on the TV and goes t the correct input.

PSN ID Cyber125
Cyber Chulo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
940C , hdr , Sony , X930C , X940C

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off