**OFFICIAL** 2015 SONY XBR55X810C & XBR65X810C 4K with Android TV Owners Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 50Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 374 Old 05-06-2017, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Could someone tell me how to access the internet browser on the xbr65x810c? I can't find the app.
dubgreasemonkey is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 374 Old 05-07-2017, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilesSouth View Post
So does anyone have any impressions of the new update? I'd hate to make my TV any worse.

Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk
Only thing I noticed so far is that if you're scrolling through the Picture modes, it takes a lot longer

Going from Custom to Game Mode used to take as fast as you could press the button, now it pauses for about a second on every picture mode in between
dargor42 is offline  
post #273 of 374 Old 05-10-2017, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
I was having allot of issues prior to the update with app FCs, UI becoming terribly slow and completely unresponsive. Since the update performance seems to be much better. The set is great minus the crappy smart features. Anyone have a Nvidia shield hooked up instead care to share the experience vs using Sony's crappy version of Android

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 374 Old 05-16-2017, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Buckster99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckster99 View Post
The tv asked me to install the update finally. However, after the update, all my custom picture settings are gone!

**UPDATE**

After a couple power cycles, my custom picture settings were back.
And...now my settings are gone again. Also, the menus are very slow again, like from 3 or 4 updates ago!
Buckster99 is offline  
post #275 of 374 Old 05-16-2017, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckster99 View Post
And...now my settings are gone again. Also, the menus are very slow again, like from 3 or 4 updates ago!
I just recently purchased a Nvidia shield and what a huge difference from Sony's attempt at an Android TV UI. Also you can utilize the enhanced HDMI features that the tv has boosting the color and clarity of the picture. The longer I have this set the more impressed I am off the overall picture quality. Unfortunately the interface and smart functions really ruin the overall experience causing allot of lag.

The X1 processor isn't powerful enough to push the video and the OS. One thing I did was turn off the motion features of the picture and that smoothed out some of the UI.

If you can just ditch the smart features. Keep the tv dumb and hook up a smart box

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #276 of 374 Old 06-27-2017, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Just got the latest update for my x810c. Performance improvements were one of the listed items for the update. The UI still lags like crazy and it's almost unusable. The dynamic range and some noise was reduced as well so the update is worth while to get those picture improvements

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #277 of 374 Old 07-08-2017, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
miloian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Queens NY
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Just got the latest update for my x810c. Performance improvements were one of the listed items for the update. The UI still lags like crazy and it's almost unusable. The dynamic range and some noise was reduced as well so the update is worth while to get those picture improvements

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk


I've been happy enough with my Roku that I pretty much ignore the horrible Android TV apps.
miloian is offline  
post #278 of 374 Old 10-04-2017, 01:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Just got the latest update for my x810c. Performance improvements were one of the listed items for the update. The UI still lags like crazy and it's almost unusable. The dynamic range and some noise was reduced as well so the update is worth while to get those picture improvements

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Another update released yesterday,

This software update (version PKG3.915NAB) provides the following benefits:
  • Improves general performance of the TV
Release Date 10/03/2017 -- Version PKG3.915NAB -- File Size 1.40 GB
Stealth83 is offline  
post #279 of 374 Old 10-05-2017, 10:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth83 View Post
Another update released yesterday,

This software update (version PKG3.915NAB) provides the following benefits:
  • Improves general performance of the TV
Release Date 10/03/2017 -- Version PKG3.915NAB -- File Size 1.40 GB

Didnt come through for me then saw this on download page.

"WARNING! This update is NOT currently active, Do NOT install this update at this time."
Stealth83 is offline  
post #280 of 374 Old 10-06-2017, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth83 View Post
Didnt come through for me then saw this on download page.

"WARNING! This update is NOT currently active, Do NOT install this update at this time."
It installed on my x810c, making the browsing and remote response slightly snappier than it previously was. However, I am now curious if this warning meant they discovered a potentially disrupting bug after the package was released and had to to pull it back... Hmmm...
choombak is offline  
post #281 of 374 Old 10-06-2017, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by choombak View Post
It installed on my x810c, making the browsing and remote response slightly snappier than it previously was. However, I am now curious if this warning meant they discovered a potentially disrupting bug after the package was released and had to to pull it back... Hmmm...
Yeah they now have removed the update completely and Junes update is back.
Stealth83 is offline  
post #282 of 374 Old 10-06-2017, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth83 View Post
Yeah they now have removed the update completely and Junes update is back.
Yeah, and that doubles my trust in Sony's ability to (mis)manage things with their Android line of TVs'... Total idiots!

I now hope it doesn't brick my TV during some operation...

Last edited by choombak; 10-06-2017 at 10:22 AM. Reason: grammar
choombak is offline  
post #283 of 374 Old 10-06-2017, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by choombak View Post
Yeah, and that doubles my trust in Sony's ability to (mis)manage things with their Android line of TVs'... Total idiots!

I now hope it doesn't brick my TV during some operation...
I hear ya there, I got a update in Feb that put mt tv in a reboot loop and took 2 months to get a replacement because they sent one and it had a smashed screen.

Update is back again, but Im a little worried.

Did the update and so far all is good, everything seems the same to me. The colors might be a bit more vibrant but could be in my head to.

Last edited by Stealth83; 10-08-2017 at 06:23 PM.
Stealth83 is offline  
post #284 of 374 Old 11-05-2017, 06:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
810c 4k and str-dh540

Anyone having an issue with content playing Netflix and mp4 and mkv through ARC only to have intermittent audio loss , I have all updates for both devices. I have tried different HDMI cords, and tried optical all same issue. Mostly in 5.1 but also in stereo also.. on reverse audio ark only ,,,,, cable box, br-player, xbox play fine
TheSire is offline  
post #285 of 374 Old 11-19-2017, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Anyone have a PS4 pro and get video to work with the Enhanced HDMI option on with the 810c

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #286 of 374 Old 11-19-2017, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by choombak View Post
Yeah, and that doubles my trust in Sony's ability to (mis)manage things with their Android line of TVs'... Total idiots!

I now hope it doesn't brick my TV during some operation...
I installed it a few weeks ago and haven't noticed anything wrong so far. I don't use a lot of apps but cable/blu-rays/PS4 all work and look great, perhaps better than ever for this tv.
snorge is offline  
post #287 of 374 Old 11-20-2017, 06:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Anyone have a PS4 pro and get video to work with the Enhanced HDMI option on with the 810c

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Nevermind, I just figured it out. My HDMI run was too long

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #288 of 374 Old 11-20-2017, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Nevermind, I just figured it out. My HDMI run was too long

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
What did turning that on enable you to do? Considering the 810C doesn't support HDR it shouldn't make a difference or am I wrong? I'm curious now thanks!
snorge is offline  
post #289 of 374 Old 11-20-2017, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post
What did turning that on enable you to do? Considering the 810C doesn't support HDR it shouldn't make a difference or am I wrong? I'm curious now thanks!
It has nothing to do with HDR. It effects chroma subsampling. [email protected] 60hz 4:2:0 is what the x810c defaults to for the PS4 pro. With HDMI enhanced on you get 4:4:4 which is uncompressed. It's not a major difference but the image looks cleaner. There no jaggies or sharp edges.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #290 of 374 Old 11-22-2017, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
It has nothing to do with HDR. It effects chroma subsampling. [email protected] 60hz 4:2:0 is what the x810c defaults to for the PS4 pro. With HDMI enhanced on you get 4:4:4 which is uncompressed. It's not a major difference but the image looks cleaner. There no jaggies or sharp edges.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Okay thanks for the tip. Probably something a lot of people don't know about.
snorge is offline  
post #291 of 374 Old 11-25-2017, 10:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth83 View Post
Didnt come through for me then saw this on download page.

"WARNING! This update is NOT currently active, Do NOT install this update at this time."
I think it was just a bug with the website. The exact same update has been back for at least a week now whenever I check.
snorge is offline  
post #292 of 374 Old 11-26-2017, 07:10 PM
Member
 
MilesSouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
It has nothing to do with HDR. It effects chroma subsampling. [email protected] 60hz 4:2:0 is what the x810c defaults to for the PS4 pro. With HDMI enhanced on you get 4:4:4 which is uncompressed. It's not a major difference but the image looks cleaner. There no jaggies or sharp edges.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Can you tell us how the x810c is with the PS4 Pro, especially concerning input lag?

Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk
MilesSouth is offline  
post #293 of 374 Old 11-26-2017, 10:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilesSouth View Post
Can you tell us how the x810c is with the PS4 Pro, especially concerning input lag?

Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk
X810c is a really good tv to game on. You can check out rtings.com

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #294 of 374 Old 11-28-2017, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Looks like HDMI 2.1 dropped today. All we need is a new cable. Will Sony upgrade this tv to the new spec?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #295 of 374 Old 11-28-2017, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Looks like HDMI 2.1 dropped today. All we need is a new cable. Will Sony upgrade this tv to the new spec?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
lol good one.
snorge is offline  
post #296 of 374 Old 11-28-2017, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post
lol good one.
Like that? It's the least they can do.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #297 of 374 Old 11-28-2017, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 267
So the panel b is 120hz natively right? So if we do get the update we should be able to do 4k /120 correct?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #298 of 374 Old 12-09-2017, 06:51 PM
Member
 
gullit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Guys,

I have 2 usb sticks that I use to connect to the TV. The 32GB FAT32 regular one connects just fine but the other 256GB 3.0 FAT32 one doesn't connect for some reason and I'm even plugging it into the 3.0 slot.

Anyone have any idea? I thought it was the format but it doesn't look it since they are both the same.

Thank you
gullit is offline  
post #299 of 374 Old 12-09-2017, 09:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by gullit View Post
Guys,

I have 2 usb sticks that I use to connect to the TV. The 32GB FAT32 regular one connects just fine but the other 256GB 3.0 FAT32 one doesn't connect for some reason and I'm even plugging it into the 3.0 slot.

Anyone have any idea? I thought it was the format but it doesn't look it since they are both the same.

Thank you
Some devices have a limit on how big of a files they can accept

Reggie Basement: Sony 75" 4K 940D/Marantz AV8802A & MM8077 & MM7055/GoldenEar:Reference (Front) Triton Ones(Rear),/SuperCenter XXL center channel/ 4 GoldenEar Atmos Invisa 650/Oppo BDP-205/Directv HS-17 and C61K/Roku 4K Family Room:LG 65" OLED/Marantz AV8802A & MM8077/ Vandersteen Treo Front/ GoldEar SuperSat60 Surround/ Directv HS-17 and C61K
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #300 of 374 Old 12-10-2017, 06:20 AM
Member
 
MilesSouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by gullit View Post
Guys,

I have 2 usb sticks that I use to connect to the TV. The 32GB FAT32 regular one connects just fine but the other 256GB 3.0 FAT32 one doesn't connect for some reason and I'm even plugging it into the 3.0 slot.

Anyone have any idea? I thought it was the format but it doesn't look it since they are both the same.

Thank you
Yeah, I would think 256GB is too big for FAT32. Try to format it for NTFS.

Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk
MilesSouth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
android tv , Sony , XBR55X810C , xbr65x810c

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off