Vizio 2016 P-Series UHD/HDR TVs no price talk please - Page 107 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2448Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3181 of 3197 Old 08-11-2017, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
TV Arrived!!!

Hello again,

My P65-C1 arrived today . What are some of the 1st things that should be done to the TV as soon as I connect it? or better yet, where can I find out a breakdown of the menu settings (for calibration) and which HDMI ports to use for certain devices (Ex. low input lag for xbox s, HDR, etc...)

Thanks in advance!
esteef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3182 of 3197 Old 08-11-2017, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
You should start by going over the first post in this thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...lk-please.html
Ph8te and shoman94 like this.

LG 65B7 | Odroid N2 with CoreELEC | LG SK10Y+SPK8-S | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #3183 of 3197 Old 08-27-2017, 08:45 PM
Member
 
StrykerSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Question Oppo UDP-203 Menus not showing

I bought an Oppo UDP-203 for my P65-C1. I connected everything but it didn’t show any signal on the tv. I check the cables and switch cables with the PS4 Pro thinking that it might be the HDMI without luck. I thought that I received a non working unit when I remember the sub sampling or full uhd colors settings on the Vizio. When I disabled the option I was able to see the menus on the Oppo but it broke the 4k HDR capabilities for the PS4 Pro and XBox One S. Is there any way the Oppo interface work with sub sampling on?
RJ_Reda likes this.
StrykerSTI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3184 of 3197 Old 10-15-2017, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rontalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 433
I used 3 different meters to measure how much power my P-65-C1 is drawing and on average it uses 25 watts in standby mode! This number seems crazy high for a modern piece of equipment. Sometimes it has random power spikes in standby as well. I finally put a smart switch on it and have it turn off power to the TV when not in use but this should not be necessary...

The Vizio's site suggest that it should be using about 0.5 watts in standby mode. Vizio's site also state that it consumes around 122 watts in use but my display consumes around 255 on average while in use.

Any thoughts? I have contacted Vizio Support...

Meters used:
P3 P4400
Iris Smart Plug
Aeon Labs DSC11 Smart Power Strip

The Screen Shots are from the Aeon Labs Power Strips but all three meters told the same story.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	011dad8ab9b910699f0239de0ede77ca5c1320d03b.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	144.4 KB
ID:	2298634   Click image for larger version

Name:	01de6e59e2259a714cbfdfe13f948f4718035c3aba.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	223.8 KB
ID:	2298636  

My Media Room
AVR 1-Yamaha RX-A3050 (7.2.4), AVR 2 Pioneer VSX-815-K(Used for 4ch Amp TF+TR)
Mains-Polk Audio RTi8, Center-Polk Audio CSi5, Surrounds-Polk Audio RTi4, Ceilings-Micca M-8C, Sub 1- UM18-22 (4cu.ft DIY) - iNuke 6000DSP, Sub 2-Klipsch RW12D
Projector-BenQ 3550 4K, Screen-110" Silver Ticket STR-169110, TV-Vizio P-65 4K

Last edited by rontalley; 10-15-2017 at 05:00 AM.
rontalley is offline  
post #3185 of 3197 Old 10-15-2017, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3845
Quote:
Originally Posted by rontalley View Post
I used 3 different meters to measure how much power my P-65-C1 is drawing and on average it uses 25 watts in standby mode! This number seems crazy high for a modern piece of equipment. Sometimes it has random power spikes in standby as well. I finally put a smart switch on it and have it turn off power to the TV when not in use but this should not be necessary...

The Vizio's site suggest that it should be using about 0.5 watts in standby mode. Vizio's site also state that it consumes around 122 watts in use but my display consumes around 255 on average while in use.

Any thoughts? I have contacted Vizio Support...

Meters used:
P3 P4400
Iris Smart Plug
Aeon Labs DSC11 Smart Power Strip

The Screen Shots are from the Aeon Labs Power Strips but all three meters told the same story.
They updated the wattages for the 2017 model which is actually the correct numbers.

Are you using eco mode or quick start mode?

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #3186 of 3197 Old 10-15-2017, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rontalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
They updated the wattages for the 2017 model which is actually the correct numbers.

Are you using eco mode or quick start mode?

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
I am using Eco mode...Don't know where quick start mode is located...

However, is 25 watts normal?

My Media Room
AVR 1-Yamaha RX-A3050 (7.2.4), AVR 2 Pioneer VSX-815-K(Used for 4ch Amp TF+TR)
Mains-Polk Audio RTi8, Center-Polk Audio CSi5, Surrounds-Polk Audio RTi4, Ceilings-Micca M-8C, Sub 1- UM18-22 (4cu.ft DIY) - iNuke 6000DSP, Sub 2-Klipsch RW12D
Projector-BenQ 3550 4K, Screen-110" Silver Ticket STR-169110, TV-Vizio P-65 4K
rontalley is offline  
post #3187 of 3197 Old 10-15-2017, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3845
Quote:
Originally Posted by rontalley View Post
I am using Eco mode...Don't know where quick start mode is located...

However, is 25 watts normal?
It's under power mode in the system settings. I know quick start is suppose to use more power. Maybe CEC. Being on does as well. I'm not sure.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #3188 of 3197 Old 10-15-2017, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rontalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
It's under power mode in the system settings. I know quick start is suppose to use more power. Maybe CEC. Being on does as well. I'm not sure.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Yep, that was it. Quick Start uses 25 watts in standby mode which in my case = a little over $3 a month. Don't seem like much but I am on a quest to reduce my energy usage and this TV has accounted to a good portion of my electric bill considering it is watched almost 12 hours a day by different family members.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	010447d81d55596baf83dcdd33aca7d58384418c28.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	141.2 KB
ID:	2298750  
shoman94 likes this.

My Media Room
AVR 1-Yamaha RX-A3050 (7.2.4), AVR 2 Pioneer VSX-815-K(Used for 4ch Amp TF+TR)
Mains-Polk Audio RTi8, Center-Polk Audio CSi5, Surrounds-Polk Audio RTi4, Ceilings-Micca M-8C, Sub 1- UM18-22 (4cu.ft DIY) - iNuke 6000DSP, Sub 2-Klipsch RW12D
Projector-BenQ 3550 4K, Screen-110" Silver Ticket STR-169110, TV-Vizio P-65 4K
rontalley is offline  
post #3189 of 3197 Old 12-02-2017, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I need some input. I have a 3 1/2-year-old sony kdl65w850a. I'm trying to find a reasonable entry into 4K. I'm looking at a refurbished P65-C1. I watch mainly sports and news.Is that my best bang for the buck in the $1000 area? Any thoughts or input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Howard

Last edited by Zaxdad; 12-02-2017 at 05:42 AM.
Zaxdad is offline  
post #3190 of 3197 Old 12-02-2017, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,961
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2073 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxdad View Post

I have a 3 1/2-year-old Sony kdl65w850a. I'm trying to find a reasonable entry into 4K. I'm looking at a refurbished P65-C1. I watch mainly sports and news.


Sports and News? I would think the P-Series is overkill. Movie/show watchers dive into the P-Series. You could start at the entry Level D-Series. Next up is the E-Series. Then the M-Series. The flagship Vizio is the P-Series.


- Pj
DaverJ likes this.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #3191 of 3197 Old 12-02-2017, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Sports and News? I would think the P-Series is overkill. Movie/show watchers dive into the P-Series. You could start at the entry Level D-Series. Next up is the E-Series. Then the M-Series. The flagship Vizio is the P-Series.


- Pj
I'd rather over buy. I'm one of those people that easily has buyers remorse. If I buy higher up the line than I need I generally feel better about my purchase.
Zaxdad is offline  
post #3192 of 3197 Old 12-02-2017, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,961
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2073 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxdad View Post

I'd rather over buy. I'm one of those people that easily has buyers remorse. If I buy higher up the line than I need I generally feel better about my purchase.


Are you the only viewer for this Display you're looking to purchase? If so, then the VA panel (P65) requires eye-level, dead-center for maximum PQ. If you have other viewers at off-axis that is important to them also, then an IPS panel (P55) should be considered:



Quote:
"In-Plane Switching displays (IPS and S-IPS) offer wider viewing angles and better color reproduction, but are more difficult to construct and have slightly slower response times. Vertical Alignment (VA, S-PVA and MVA) offer higher contrast ratios and good response times, but suffer from color shifting when viewed from the side.

- WikiPedia.org
- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #3193 of 3197 Old 12-02-2017, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm maybe a foot off center horizontally and 6" off center vertically. I'm really the only viewer. My wife and son really don't care.
Zaxdad is offline  
post #3194 of 3197 Old 12-02-2017, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,961
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2073 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxdad View Post

I'm maybe a foot off center horizontally and 6" off center vertically. I'm really the only viewer. My wife and son really don't care.


Well, then. You are hereby approved to purchase a Refurbished P65-C1.


- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #3195 of 3197 Old 12-02-2017, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Well, then. You are hereby approved to purchase a Refurbished P65-C1.


- Pj
Great. Now if you could call my wife.
Zaxdad is offline  
post #3196 of 3197 Old 12-10-2017, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Still haven't bought. Is a refurbished P65-c1 a better choice than a new M65-E0 given they are the same price?
Thanks for any input.
Howard
Zaxdad is offline  
post #3197 of 3197 Old 12-10-2017, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,961
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2073 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxdad View Post

Still haven't bought. Is a refurbished P65-c1 a better choice than a new M65-E0 given they are the same price?


Since the P-Series is the top-of-line and the M-Series is below that, then if the price is the same, then your Refurbished P65-C1 would be the better buy. The P-Series have more Dimming Zones and more features than any of the other Series: M, E, and the D. I believe your Refurb P65-C1 (2016) comes with a Tablet. If so, You'll have the option to get a newer remote to have access to the Web-based Apps, also.

You said you'd like to 'overbuy', so jump on it, I say, if it's not too late already.


- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
p-series , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off