2016 Vizio M-Series Anticipation Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 269Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuGsArEtAsTy View Post
Yes, just think of it as a regular TV but with Chromecast (a special 4K version) built in and no OTA tuner.

In terms of functionality this makes sense. I don't use an antenna so I have no need for a tuner in my plasma so that plasma's tuner is wasted. I watch TV through my cable box. I do have a separate Chromecast attached though for YouTube kids' videos.
Does anyone use an over the air antenna anymore? I thought "bunny ears" were long gone.
rolldog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Wait there will be no 43" version. Is that true?
Mohiuddin is offline  
post #153 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,293
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolldog View Post
Does anyone use an over the air antenna anymore? I thought "bunny ears" were long gone.
Due to cost at one point I considered getting rid of cable but my wife nixed that idea. It would have been easy though because my house actually has an antenna mount on the roof. I can receive OTA HD in Canada from not only Canada but also the US over Lake Ontario since I live by the lake. The main problem I ran into in terms of technology was that at the time there were no viable PVR solutions for OTA HD.

Fast forward to 2014-2016 and it has become a moot point since I can just watch those shows online (legally). Not always in HD but I don't really care. Also, in 2016 most new AV receivers support HDMI 2.0a and HDCP 2.2, so 2016 is a perfect time to buy a new 4K-capable AV receiver and a new 4K TV... without having to spend extra money on a tuner.

BTW I seem to recall that it costs something like $5 per TV to pay for the tuner's licencing costs. Add that to the tuner hardware cost and you can see why some companies don't want to include tuners in their displays.

Westinghouse has an odd practice of shipping TVs with tuners but not activating the tuners. You can get it activated for free by them but they won't do it unless you specifically ask them to. That way they still incur the hardware costs but save on the licencing costs, since most people wouldn't bother activating the tuner and Wesringhouse only has to pay licencing costs for the activated tuners.

Vizio has gone more extreme and just removed the tuners completely in all but the D-Series I believe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohiuddin View Post
Wait there will be no 43" version. Is that true?
True. There are 43" 4K and 48" 4K E-Series though.
Mohiuddin likes this.

Last edited by BuGsArEtAsTy; 04-20-2016 at 06:22 AM.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by fartamis View Post
vizio m series 2016 confirmed with hdr10 and dolby vision.
http://televisions.reviewed.com/news...ampaign=collab
Interesting. Vizio page still leaves it out. Makes sense that it will eventually play the HDR10 material since it should just require a software update, but we will see how it looks if this is an 8 bit panel. This issue wouldn't hold me back from buying the tv--as long as it can play the material it is somewhat future proof if HDR10 becomes the standard.
wales is offline  
post #155 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulman182 View Post
Never mind the question, I've been finding a lot on the web about HDR. I guess I can live without it...at least until I see it!
You may want to wait to see it and some reviews that may compare the 2015 to the 2016. To meet the HDR standards the displays have to meet certain specs that may improve PQ in all material, not just HDR. Not a ton of HDR players or content today so not a huge deal in 2016, but that could change quickly. In a couple years you may be happy you paid a couple hundred extra for the 2016 model.
wales is offline  
post #156 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
@BuGsArEtAsTy and e series has 10 zone of local dimming only. Will not that be a problem?
Mohiuddin is offline  
post #157 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,293
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohiuddin View Post
@BuGsArEtAsTy and e series has 10 zone of local dimming only. Will not that be a problem?
Sure, it's an E-Series, not an M. Something's gotta give.

That said, there is no 2016 43" M-Series at all, so that's not an option.
Ph8te and Mohiuddin like this.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #158 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20,165
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7010 Post(s)
Liked: 7098
Quote:
Originally Posted by fartamis View Post
vizio m series 2016 confirmed with hdr10 and dolby vision.

http://televisions.reviewed.com/news...ampaign=collab


Quote:
Originally Posted by wales View Post
Interesting. Vizio page still leaves it out. Makes sense that it will eventually play the HDR10 material since it should just require a software update, but we will see how it looks if this is an 8 bit panel. This issue wouldn't hold me back from buying the tv--as long as it can play the material it is somewhat future proof if HDR10 becomes the standard.


I'm not sure I would count that as "confirmed". Especially since it's not listed in any press materials or any other sites. I personally would wait for further verification on HDR10.
Ph8te is online now  
post #159 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
I'm not sure I would count that as "confirmed". Especially since it's not listed in any press materials or any other sites. I personally would wait for further verification on HDR10.
Agreed. When I first saw HDR splashed on their promo materials I assume it could play HDR10 material. But a closer look revealed that they were only claiming the ability to display the Dolby Vision flavor of HDR. Maybe reviewed.com made the same incorrect assumption.
wales is offline  
post #160 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 09:08 AM
Member
 
mwaarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_rad4 View Post
I am going to have to decide between the 65" P and the 70" M. Tough choice.
So I am in the Market for a 60"+ TV. Budget is 2kish and both of these sets look pretty good on paper.

I am currently rocking a Samsung 61" 1080p DLP(non-LED circa 2008/9) so anything will be MUCH better.

What are the big differences between both?
64 vs 128 zones and HDR10 support?
I have been long gone from the TV world so need to do a bit of research, but anything else that is a huge difference between the M and P series?

Also my receiver does not support 4k HDMI.
So I would pipe all the new HDMI directly into the TV and them output the Audio into my Pre-Amp.
Do these Vizio models have audio output for all inputs?

Thanks for any input in Advance.
mwaarna is offline  
post #161 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,293
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
I'm not sure I would count that as "confirmed". Especially since it's not listed in any press materials or any other sites. I personally would wait for further verification on HDR10.
Given the released specs, I'm personally 98% sure that the M-Series does NOT support HDR10.

We'll see, but otherwise if they were going to support it in an update, Vizio would likely be bragging about it on their website.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #162 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20,165
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7010 Post(s)
Liked: 7098
2016 Vizio M-Series Anticipation Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuGsArEtAsTy View Post
Given the released specs, I'm personally 98% sure that the M-Series does NOT support HDR10.



We'll see, but otherwise if they were going to support it in an update, Vizio would likely be bragging about it on their website.


That's the biggest "clue" IMO. With the P and R series they specifically mentioned it both in press and on the website. The M series has neither, it's not a small feature and if coming one would think they would say it's coming after the Pseries or something similar.
Ph8te is online now  
post #163 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 02:48 PM
Member
 
t1callahan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I read on this page about Dolby Vison and HDR10
"And, in case you were concerned, anything that supports Dolby Vision supports HDR 10 by default, it just doesn't work in reverse."

Is this just not the case with this M model or is this simply not true, or is there something to this?


http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinio...e-dolby-vision

Finally, I was trying to figure out whos supporting what... What standard are the new HDR disks supporting, and what streaming services support HDR10 vs Dolby Vision?

Last edited by t1callahan; 04-20-2016 at 03:04 PM.
t1callahan is offline  
post #164 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 02:48 PM
Member
 
fartamis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
an update of cnet April 19 confirms that the 2016 m series will be hdr and dolby vision... generally cnet are reliable enough.
http://www.cnet.com/products/vizio-m-series-2016/
fartamis is offline  
post #165 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,293
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by fartamis View Post
an update of cnet April 19 confirms that the 2016 m series will be hdr and dolby vision... generally cnet are reliable enough.
http://www.cnet.com/products/vizio-m-series-2016/
Yes but as mentioned, no HDR10.
Ph8te likes this.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #166 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20,165
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7010 Post(s)
Liked: 7098
Quote:
Originally Posted by fartamis View Post
an update of cnet April 19 confirms that the 2016 m series will be hdr and dolby vision... generally cnet are reliable enough.

http://www.cnet.com/products/vizio-m-series-2016/

There is no confirmation outside of DV. He said that "he assumes" it will get an HDR10 update, not that there WILL be one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by t1callahan View Post
I read on this page about Dolby Vison and HDR10

"And, in case you were concerned, anything that supports Dolby Vision supports HDR 10 by default, it just doesn't work in reverse."



Is this just not the case with this M model or is this simply not true, or is there something to this?





http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinio...e-dolby-vision



Finally, I was trying to figure out whos supporting what... What standard are the new HDR disks supporting, and what streaming services support HDR10 vs Dolby Vision?

In theory anything that supports DV CAN support HDR10 it doesn't HAVE to however. Currently we have only seen HDR10 discs. If a UHDBR has HDR it HAS to include HDR10 even if it also includes DV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuGsArEtAsTy View Post
Yes but as mentioned, no HDR10.

^^ This
Ph8te is online now  
post #167 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 04:26 PM
Member
 
fartamis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuGsArEtAsTy View Post
Yes but as mentioned, no HDR10.
effectively.

but I'm still interested by this tv and the m65-d0 it will surely be my next tv... the HDR10 is not my priority... my priority is screen uniformity good black level and good color and the 64 local dimming area will surely help to get a good result... theoretically the Model 2016 should be higher that the model 2015 which is already very well .
vulsker likes this.

Last edited by fartamis; 04-20-2016 at 04:44 PM.
fartamis is offline  
post #168 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Here is my take, the M-series has not been released yet, so I wouldn't be surprised that once it hits the store shelve, Visio will announce that it does indeed support HDR10, or it's coming in the next firmware and I see no reason why the DV chipset would not be able to decode the HDR10, it would just handle it differently since the basic framework is there.

Joe
JoeD is offline  
post #169 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Here is my take, the M-series has not been released yet, so I wouldn't be surprised that once it hits the store shelve, Visio will announce that it does indeed support HDR10, or it's coming in the next firmware and I see no reason why the DV chipset would not be able to decode the HDR10, it would just handle it differently since the basic framework is there.
I think that is right. It is confusing because the HDR10 camp has made it confusing. It should be able to display HDR10 content, perhaps after an update. But if it is an 8 bit panel it will not be "true" or "full" or "premium certified" or whatever the HDR10 folks call it to display the full greatness of HDR10. It will be dumbed down a bit. Not that it will matter much, but I think that is the difference. HDR10 material can be displayed on sets that cannot meet all the desired specs of HDR10.
venus933 likes this.
wales is offline  
post #170 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Anyone notice in the 2016 P series they specifically mention wide color gamut, but don't for the 2016 M series
ymarker is offline  
post #171 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,205
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post
Anyone notice in the 2016 P series they specifically mention wide color gamut, but don't for the 2016 M series


Yea, it's pretty common knowledge at this point. Have to assume the M series doesn't have it

LG 55C9, Samsung 55KS8000, Panasonic 50VT25
b_rad4 is offline  
post #172 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post
Anyone notice in the 2016 P series they specifically mention wide color gamut, but don't for the 2016 M series
Yes. Cannot display as many colors as the P or the new OLEDs. One of the reasons it cannot meet all of the desired specs of full HDR10. Whether that can be detected by users or just instruments remains to be seen.
wales is offline  
post #173 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2498 Post(s)
Liked: 2094
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolldog View Post
Does anyone use an over the air antenna anymore? I thought "bunny ears" were long gone.
Well, yes. A lot of folks (like me) are cancelling cable/satellite and relying on streaming services such as Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, etc. and getting their local stations via OTA antenna.

The ace cable/satellite companies have are exclusive rights to local sports teams such as a NBA or MLB team where they're the only way to watch them locally. I do miss watching the Brewers (please, no snickering) but overall I'm happy being a cord cutter. I'm still able to watch a lot of NFL games and big time live events via local broadcasts.

Eventually it will be a lot more accessible to stream your local stations and it won't even be necessarily to get a tuner box for a display such as the Vizio Cast models.

LG 65B8
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)
venus933 is offline  
post #174 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wales View Post
Yes. Cannot display as many colors as the P or the new OLEDs. One of the reasons it cannot meet all of the desired specs of full HDR10. Whether that can be detected by users or just instruments remains to be seen.
Per the spec sheet, it says the M series can display 1.07 billion colors.
(2^8*3 = 16.7 million, 2 ^ 10*3 = 1.07 billion)

Source: http://www.vizio.com/tvs/mseries/m60d1.html
ymarker is offline  
post #175 of 880 Old 04-20-2016, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20,165
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7010 Post(s)
Liked: 7098
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post
Per the spec sheet, it says the M series can display 1.07 billion colors.

(2^8*3 = 16.7 million, 2 ^ 10*3 = 1.07 billion)



Source: http://www.vizio.com/tvs/mseries/m60d1.html


So can the 2014 P and the 2015 M series. That's because they have 10bit panels with 8 bit processing. The "colors" doesn't tell you much in the end
Ph8te is online now  
post #176 of 880 Old 04-21-2016, 05:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
So can the 2014 P and the 2015 M series. That's because they have 10bit panels with 8 bit processing. The "colors" doesn't tell you much in the end
That doesn't make any sense. If the 2016 M series is "processing" 8 bits it cannot display 1.07b colors, contrary to the reported spec as linked above.
ymarker is offline  
post #177 of 880 Old 04-21-2016, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20,165
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7010 Post(s)
Liked: 7098
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post
That doesn't make any sense. If the 2016 M series is "processing" 8 bits it cannot display 1.07b colors, contrary to the reported spec as linked above.


They list the capabilities of the panel, not what it can process. This is what all manufacturers do. Just because you have a 10bit panel does NOT mean you have 10 bit processing. Those are two different things which most people don't even know about or care about.
Ph8te is online now  
post #178 of 880 Old 04-21-2016, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
DistractedJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Whats the point if having a 10 bit panel if it does 8 bit processing?...
DistractedJohn is offline  
post #179 of 880 Old 04-21-2016, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20,165
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7010 Post(s)
Liked: 7098
Quote:
Originally Posted by DistractedJohn View Post
Whats the point if having a 10 bit panel if it does 8 bit processing?...


Those are the panels that are chosen. Could be for marketing, could be because that's what is best used. We have seen this for years now, so it's not really "new".
Ph8te is online now  
post #180 of 880 Old 04-21-2016, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post
That doesn't make any sense. If the 2016 M series is "processing" 8 bits it cannot display 1.07b colors, contrary to the reported spec as linked above.
It's done by what's called temporal dithering (8bit+FRC) which cycles between different color shades with each new frame to simulate an intermediate shade, so it gives you 1.07b apparent colors but it does not increase the color gamut, hence why it's not WCG.
Ph8te likes this.

Joe
JoeD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off