Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1113 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288515Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #33361 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turts85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I have a hard time to decipher what's the tv and what's the camera adjusting.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
With the way the P50 flickers the set, its very easy to determine if its the TV or the camera. You can literally see the scenes backgrounds flicker into place. Picture when Plasmas has the flickering when set to 48hz, especially with snow scenes or winter scenes (such as mountains), certain parts of the picture would flicker like crazy. That's basically what it does.

EDIT: I can see where people would get confused, when the scene just kind of dims out , that's the camera, but when you see the "flash" or "flicker" that's the TVs FALD issue.

Last edited by turts85; 11-14-2016 at 10:01 AM.
turts85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33362 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turts85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Who owns an Xbox One S? I tired putting this in the Xbox owners thread but it seems dead as of right now and figured theres a lot of people with the new Xbox One S in here. I am curious because I gave my OG XB1 to my brother and I purchased the Xbox One S. Long story short when the system is off (I do not have it set to Instant On, its on energy save) I can hear a constant buzzing noise (like you would hear on a power line, that subtle buzz noise) coming from where you connect the power cord to the back of the unit. Its only when it is off, and the only thing I can find searching google is about fan noise which mine does not have. The buzz noise is only heard if the room is dead silent and you are close to the system while it is off. I'm deeming it as normal but I'm not sure, my OG XB1 didn't sound like that but it also had a power brick and the XB1S has the power supply inside the system now.

I bought the GOW4 1TB Xbox One S bundle, problem is if I go to do an exchange or return after I downloaded GOW4 from the code that comes with the system (since they don't give you the hard disc, you have to use a code to DL) I accidentally misplaced it and cant find it anywhere. So I'm not really sure if BB will let me exchange or if I will have to exchange at a more expensive route meaning they might charge me for the game since I no longer have the whole bundle. I haven't tried yet, and am hoping I don't have too and hoping this buzz noise is normal.
turts85 is offline  
post #33363 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
.
No such noise from mine, this would probably be better suited at the actual Microsoft Xbox one s forum though. They also have a free tech support chat u can use.


Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
AirborneMaikai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33364 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 10:44 AM
Member
 
bcabes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Issue when turning TV On/Off

I am having issues when I turn on my Vizio P65. It does not recognize the signal immediately. I seem to have to force it to recognize a signal by changing inputs from HDMI1 to HDMI2 and the back to HDMI1 and everything works fine. I did not see this problem until the firmware update a few weeks ago. This happens every time with either the Xbox One S or the Roku Premier+ as sources. I have tried turning just the TV off or turning off the sources TV and receiver and have the same problem. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hardware:
Denon X3200
Monoprice Cabernet HDMI High Speed Cable
Vizio 2016 P65
Xbox One S
Roku Premier+
bcabes is offline  
post #33365 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turts85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 297
So in order to get the benefits of the 4K streaming and HDR features of the Xbox One S I would have to connect to HDMI 1-4.

But to get the lowest input lag, you must connect to HDMI 5, which only outputs a max of 1080p. Since I like to have the lowest input lag which is not able to be done in HDMI 1-4, it practically makes my Xbox One S the same as the OG Xbox one...correct?

So I guess my point is, if you are not going to use HDMI 1-4 to get the benefits of HDR and only use HDMI 5 for games (or else I would have to constantly switch the HDMI cord between HDMI 1-4 and 5, annoying) I am starting to see no reason for me to even own the Xbox One S since I am not using what it was intended for. The smaller size is nice but apparently not at the expense of having an electrical buzz coming from mine. My OG XB1 never did this.

Anyway, this is more of a practical use question than an Xbox One question. Basically I bought a 4K tv to use with 1080p equipment since I don't have it connected in a way to reap the benefits of the 4K anyway
turts85 is offline  
post #33366 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:19 AM
Member
 
Jim Milton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwishart View Post
If you want quality HDMI cables don't buy cheap Chinese made cables, like the ones sold at Best Buy. I would go with Blue Jeans Cables FE series if you are getting a 15 foot or shorter cable or Series 1 cables if they are longer then 15 feet.

Sound & Vision had an HDMI/UHD shootout: here are the results...


http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...qYh7W7J8XvR.97
Schwa, markrubin, pashine and 3 others like this.
Jim Milton is offline  
post #33367 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HDR on Your TV Not supported! Vizio P-series 2016 HDR 4K TV, any help plz? Am having the HDMI 5 port and the PS4P HDMI default cable, HDMI color subsampling on my cast settings is on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6a5371d12d434e00a665c92ca08e267d.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	155.0 KB
ID:	1769553  
Wesmosis is offline  
post #33368 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesmosis View Post
HDR on Your TV Not supported! Vizio P-series 2016 HDR 4K TV, any help plz? Am having the HDMI 5 port and the PS4P HDMI default cable, HDMI color subsampling on my cast settings is on.
I'll spare you the wrath of everyone else but HDMI 5 does. It support HDR....
toonj64 likes this.
cdewitt357 is offline  
post #33369 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turts85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesmosis View Post
HDR on Your TV Not supported! Vizio P-series 2016 HDR 4K TV, any help plz? Am having the HDMI 5 port and the PS4P HDMI default cable, HDMI color subsampling on my cast settings is on.
In order to use HDR features and 4k...you must connect to HDMI 1-4.

HDMI only outputs max of 1080p. So you have to compromise the best Input lag for HDR by using HDMI 1-4.
turts85 is offline  
post #33370 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdewitt357 View Post
I'll spare you the wrath of everyone else but HDMI 5 does. It support HDR....
Yes I'm plugging my PS4 Pro to the HDMI 5 port. Is that O'right to get the HDR 4K/60hz resolution experience?
Wesmosis is offline  
post #33371 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesmosis View Post
Yes I'm plugging my PS4 Pro to the HDMI 5 port. Is that O'right to get the HDR 4K/60hz resolution experience?
That was a typo on their behalf. HDMI 5 does not support HDR. You'll have to use 1-4.
reallynotnick likes this.
luke_wal is offline  
post #33372 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke_wal View Post
That was a typo on their behalf. HDMI 5 does not support HDR. You'll have to use 1-4.
Now we're talking, thanks
Wesmosis is offline  
post #33373 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JaremyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 432
I have more clarity on the 45' Monoprice Cabernets that I've been using with the P75. I have two of them and experience the following:

Cable 1: quick to lock on to any signal, even 18 Gbps signals. It has a large quantity of white pixel sparkles though when the bandwidth goes over the 10/11 Gbps range. So it sparkles with 4:4:4 8bit 60Hz output as well as 4:2:2 output. 4:2:0 output of any frame rate or at 10bit does not.

Cable 2: horrendous at locking on to any signals. Takes up to minutes and sometimes won't lock on at all. Once it does get a signal, it does also sparkle at higher bandwidth but much much less than cable 1.

The 40' Celerity cable for me could not lock on to anything at higher bandwidth.

This is all going through an AV7702mkII. I have tried the 2 Cabernets on either output of the preamp and they act the same regardless. The Celerity though failed even going source direct to the display at high bandwidth.

I have several 40' Cabernets that I'll be installing this week. I hope shaving the 5' makes a difference. I'm so close to having a solid working setup, just need the signaling without the sparkles.

Tonight I'm going to test one more time going source direct to the display through either Cabernet and see what I get.

Specifically, my Roku Ultra, Chromecast Ultra, and PS4 Pro sparkle. The TiVo and K8500 do not. The Xbox does not. The PC sparkles if set to 4:2:2 or 4:4:4, but not at 4:2:0.

The Roku Ultra only sparkles when set to output to a UHD HDR display. If set to output just as UHD, then it does not.

Last edited by JaremyP; 11-14-2016 at 11:54 AM.
JaremyP is offline  
post #33374 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Lushious View Post
There must be something that is being missed. Let's start here, if you haven't already:

Do a complete Factory Reset of your P50. The instructions are on Page 65 of the Owner's Manual.
Just did a Factory Reset of the display. Same exact issue: 2160p RGB is unsupported, and "HDR on your TV: Only 2K Supported. Your TV might support a higher quality color format and 4K HDR if you change its settings. Check your TV's settings." HDMI 3, Color Subsampling on. Using the cable that came with the TV, which works for 4K HDR on my Roku Premiere+, running directly to the TV, no receiver.

I ordered a Monoprice Premium HDMI certified cable, which should get here later this week, but at this point I'm starting to get pretty frustrated. Worst part is that since I know the PS4 Pro isn't an "officially supported device" for Vizio, customer service won't be any help. Does anybody have any feedback?
luke_wal is offline  
post #33375 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
godfatherip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesmosis View Post
Yes I'm plugging my PS4 Pro to the HDMI 5 port. Is that O'right to get the HDR 4K/60hz resolution experience?
HDMI 5 on the P-series is an HDMI 1.4 port, meaning it does not support 4K at 60Hz. HDMI 1.4 can only do 4K up to 30Hz afaik. If you have the xbox one s or the ps4pro and want to do HDR gaming I would recommend using one of the other HDMI ports.

EDIT: HDMI 5 does 4K 60Hz but not at full 4:4:4 10-bit color according to Vizio's spec sheet.
reallynotnick likes this.

Last edited by godfatherip; 11-14-2016 at 01:13 PM.
godfatherip is offline  
post #33376 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nascar Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
Long story short when the system is off (I do not have it set to Instant On, its on energy save) I can hear a constant buzzing noise (like you would hear on a power line, that subtle buzz noise) coming from where you connect the power cord to the back of the unit. Its only when it is off, and the only thing I can find searching google is about fan noise which mine does not have.
I just purchased an Xbox One S [Gears of War Edition - Manufactured August 2016] a week ago and noticed the faint buzzing noise when powered off.
I only noticed it because I was listening to the fan noise when powered on and when I powered it off I could hear the fan spinning down and then a faint noise continued even when the Xbox One shut down.
It is very noticeable through the top fan vent holes.

I have it set to not run in standby mode or eco mode or whatever the settings are to shut down completely.

I have heard it on two different Xbox One's and now you have confirmed that it is happening elsewhere.

It bothers me enough [Not the faint noise, just the fact that it is happening] that I unplug it when done using it.


Anyone with a fairly new white Xbox One S that can see if they hear this when powered off.
Maybe it's just a bad batch of GOW Red one's with this issue...
Nascar Dog is offline  
post #33377 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfatherip View Post
HDMI 5 on the P-series is an HDMI 1.4 port, meaning it does not support 4K at 60Hz. HDMI 1.4 can only do 4K up to 30Hz afaik. If you have the xbox one s or the ps4pro and want to do HDR gaming I would recommend using one of the other HDMI ports.
Thank you so much
Wesmosis is offline  
post #33378 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tkbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Well it looks like more HDR woes for some people with PS4 Pro's according to Forbes, it's a widespread issue. I've been lucky, it works great with my P65-C1 except for the SEVERE black crush night scenes in Infamous:Second Son.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarch.../#1ece55293662
tkbryant is offline  
post #33379 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
godfatherip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
So in order to get the benefits of the 4K streaming and HDR features of the Xbox One S I would have to connect to HDMI 1-4.

But to get the lowest input lag, you must connect to HDMI 5, which only outputs a max of 1080p. Since I like to have the lowest input lag which is not able to be done in HDMI 1-4, it practically makes my Xbox One S the same as the OG Xbox one...correct?

So I guess my point is, if you are not going to use HDMI 1-4 to get the benefits of HDR and only use HDMI 5 for games (or else I would have to constantly switch the HDMI cord between HDMI 1-4 and 5, annoying) I am starting to see no reason for me to even own the Xbox One S since I am not using what it was intended for. The smaller size is nice but apparently not at the expense of having an electrical buzz coming from mine. My OG XB1 never did this.

Anyway, this is more of a practical use question than an Xbox One question. Basically I bought a 4K tv to use with 1080p equipment since I don't have it connected in a way to reap the benefits of the 4K anyway
I've got the S (white 1tb from GoW bundle) and don't notice any electrical buzz (I listened closely after reading your post and it seems to be silent) so you may want to get a replacement if yours is under warranty. Unfortunately you do have to choose between minimum input lag and maximum picture quality. Vizio is working to further reduce input lag on inputs 1-4 for HDR content to get it down below 40ms, I think it is currently around 60ms for HDR content. The current level of input lag isn't a problem for me but you'll have to decide for yourself whether the best picture or lowest input lag is most important to you. Ultimately all xbox games are native 1080 or less anyway and there isn't going to be any true 4K gaming on xbox until the scorpio is released afaik. So if you game on hdmi 5 it just means your TV is doing the upscaling rather than the console and it probably won't really look any different. HDMI 1.4 can do 4K at 24p so you should still be able to watch 4K blu-rays even hooked up to hdmi 5.
godfatherip is offline  
post #33380 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfatherip View Post
I definitely get 5.1 DD from the optical out when casting movies to the TV with Vudu.
Thanks just what I wanted to know!
BTVS is offline  
post #33381 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
godfatherip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
Can you please report your findings to Vizio, they are sending me a new P50 but had a very hard time seeing what I sent them in my videos. But the set constantly flickers with scene changes. Extremely annoying and I expected some setbacks with the P50 but not this bad. The new set should be here next week, if it replicates the same issues, I would expect a refund. Prolly pick up the only other set that can rival this size for price which is the 49KS8000
I have the P50 and haven't noticed any of the scene change flickering described here. I just tested using various VUDU movies (4K 24p) and everything looked fine to me when it went from light to dark. Maybe I'm not sensitive to it or maybe it is just certain sets that have a problem.
godfatherip is offline  
post #33382 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bahn Yuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Send a message via AIM to Bahn Yuki Send a message via MSN to Bahn Yuki Send a message via Yahoo to Bahn Yuki
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfatherip View Post
HDMI 5 on the P-series is an HDMI 1.4 port, meaning it does not support 4K at 60Hz. HDMI 1.4 can only do 4K up to 30Hz afaik. If you have the xbox one s or the ps4pro and want to do HDR gaming I would recommend using one of the other HDMI ports.
Hdmi 5 absolutely supports [email protected] I use my ps4 pro on hdmi5 in SDR games.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

JVC RS400, Denon X6300H, Klipsch RP-280F x 2, RP-450C, RB-51 II x 2, RS-42 II x 2, RB-41 II x 2, R-150M in 7.1.4, 150" Silver Ticket
LG 77C9, Denon X4300H, Klipsch RF-26 x 2, RC-52 II, Onkyo speakers in 5.1.4 setup
TCL 55P605, Klipsch 2.1 Certified THX speakers
Sony 34XBR960 x 2
Bahn Yuki is offline  
post #33383 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:32 PM
Member
 
needleseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 36
HDMI 5 DOES support 4K @60fps , I'm running that right now on my PC that is hooked up to HDMI 5. It does NOT support HDR however.
needleseye is offline  
post #33384 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
godfatherip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahn Yuki View Post
Hdmi 5 absolutely supports [email protected] I use my ps4 pro on hdmi5 in SDR games.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
HDMI 1.4 can do 4K 60Hz only with 4:2:0 chroma and/or 8-bit color. 4:4:4 or RGB and 10-bit color at 4k/60p won't work over hdmi 1.4. So if the console uses 4:2:0 I guess it should work at 4K/60Hz even on HDMI 5, but with reduced color information.

This article has the best info about all of the formats and what HDMI is capable of that I have seen:
http://www.acousticfrontiers.com/uhd-101-v2/

This article talks about pushing 4K/60hz over hdmi 1.4:
http://www.tomshardware.com/news/nvi...1.4,27117.html

Last edited by godfatherip; 11-14-2016 at 12:52 PM.
godfatherip is offline  
post #33385 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:36 PM
Member
 
needleseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
Well it looks like more HDR woes for some people with PS4 Pro's according to Forbes, it's a widespread issue. I've been lucky, it works great with my P65-C1 except for the SEVERE black crush night scenes in Infamous:Second Son.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarch.../#1ece55293662
Good NEWS!!!

I talked with Sucker Punch support and here's what they told me regarding black crush in HDR versions of Infamous:

We would like to inform that we investigated the brightness issue that surfaced after the PS4 Pro patch, we successfully determined the cause, and we are currently working on a new patch that will expose the legacy brightness/contrast behavior, as a user choice. Our goal is that, by doing this, we will be able to accommodate the different brightness behaviors we are observing, depending on the brand and model of the TV being used.

We are finalizing the new code, and should have this new patch ready soon.

Thank you for your support!
Sucker Punch Team
DaverJ likes this.
needleseye is offline  
post #33386 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tkbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by needleseye View Post
I talked with Sucker Punch support and here's what they told me regarding black crush in HDR versions of Infamous:

We would like to inform that we investigated the brightness issue that surfaced after the PS4 Pro patch, we successfully determined the cause, and we are currently working on a new patch that will expose the legacy brightness/contrast behavior, as a user choice. Our goal is that, by doing this, we will be able to accommodate the different brightness behaviors we are observing, depending on the brand and model of the TV being used.

We are finalizing the new code, and should have this new patch ready soon.

Thank you for your support!
Sucker Punch Team
AWESOME NEWS!!! Thanks for posting that!!
needleseye likes this.
tkbryant is offline  
post #33387 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:38 PM
Member
 
needleseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfatherip View Post
HDMI 1.4 can do 4K 60Hz only with 4:2:0 chroma and 8-bit color. 4:4:4 or RGB and 10-bit color at 4k/60p won't work over hdmi 1.4. So if the console uses 4:2:0 I guess it should work at 4K/60Hz even on HDMI 5, but with reduced color information.
I'm running my PC @ RGB 4:4:4 at 4K and 60FPS on HDMI 5, it is limited to 8 bit at those settings though.
needleseye is offline  
post #33388 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
godfatherip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by needleseye View Post
I'm running my PC @ RGB 4:4:4 at 4K and 60FPS on HDMI 5, it is limited to 8 bit at those settings though.
Are you positive it hasn't dropped you to 30Hz or 4:2:0? RGB 4K 60fps requires more data than HDMI 1.4 supports according to everything I have read on the subject.

When using HDMI 1.4 on my computer the Nvidia control panel only lets me do 60Hz 4:2:0 or 30Hz RGB. Using displayport I can do 4K RGB at 60Hz (using the club3D displayport to hdmi adapter and hdmi 4 on the TV). My computer doesn't have a hdmi 2.0 port so I can't directly test a HDMI 2.0 output to the Vizio's HDMI 5 to see how it works.

Maybe there is something weird with the port and it is HDMI 2.0 hardware with HDMI 1.4 firmware allowing it to beat the spec somehow, I don't know.

Last edited by godfatherip; 11-14-2016 at 01:04 PM.
godfatherip is offline  
post #33389 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:46 PM
Member
 
pashine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by needleseye View Post
I'm running my PC @ RGB 4:4:4 at 4K and 60FPS on HDMI 5, it is limited to 8 bit at those settings though.
From the Vizio website :
HDMI 5 Tech Specs:
370MHz pixel clock rate:
[email protected], 4:2:2, 8-bit
[email protected], 4:2:0, 10-bit
[email protected], 4:4:4, 10-bit
[email protected], 4:2:2, 12-bit

Vizio P55-C1, Oppo BDP-103, Philips BDP7502, Pioneer VSX-1130-K,
Mordaunt Short Mezzo 6, B&W DM600 S3, B&W PV1
pashine is offline  
post #33390 of 64195 Old 11-14-2016, 12:50 PM
Member
 
needleseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfatherip View Post
Are you positive it hasn't dropped you to 30Hz or 4:2:0? RGB 4K 60fps requires more data than HDMI 1.4 supports according to everything I have read on the subject. When using HDMI 1.4 on my computer the nvidia control panel only lets me do 60Hz 4:2:0 or 30Hz RGB. Using displayport I can do 4K RGB at 60Hz.
You are correct.

Last edited by needleseye; 11-14-2016 at 04:41 PM.
needleseye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off