Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1198 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288515Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35911 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,418
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6568 Post(s)
Liked: 6325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboyz View Post
but I'm far from the only one with problems.


As I said, if you can't or don't want to deal with the problems that come along with getting a beta DONT ask to be on it and have yourself removed. It's pretty simple.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35912 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
50LTMWTNAR50001


@Matt McRae
Moltenmojo is offline  
post #35913 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 1119
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCM707 View Post
@Matt McRae

Yep just tested this with another game, Infamous on PS4. Looks awful. I think im also 100% positive this is broken now that ive messed around a bit more.

The bar effect goes away if you turn active LED zones off, but of course the picture doesn't look as good without it (well at least it used to...). in FFXV I actually noticed the "light bars" following a character. Its almost as if the backlight/LEDs are activating in bars from top to bottom of the screen instead of JUST in the portion of the screen its needed. Im not an expert here but thats how I would describe it as a user.
Reset your display by unplugging the power. It appears that like a PC some models need a restart so that the firmware actually loads properly.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35914 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
pwishart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboyz View Post
but I'm far from the only one with problems.
Yes, but you are the only one that complains about the same problems ever half hour.
pwishart is offline  
post #35915 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tkbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Got the new update installed and was very happy for a little while. Well it seems as if the PS4 Pro works great with the HDR enabled in all the games with no blackout screens that is until you exit the game & go back to the PS4 home screen & then it just blacks out every 5-10 seconds. It's like 1 step forward & 2 steps back.Before the update it was the games that had the blackouts, now it's the home screen. Go back into a game & no problem, exit the game & it just repeats. Anyone else with a PS4 Pro having this issue?
tkbryant is offline  
post #35916 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 1119
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
Got the new update installed and was very happy for a little while. Well it seems as if the PS4 Pro works great with the HDR enabled in all the games with no blackout screens that is until you exit the game & go back to the PS4 home screen & then it just blacks out every 5-10 seconds. It's like 1 step forward & 2 steps back.Before the update it was the games that had the blackouts, now it's the home screen. Go back into a game & no problem, exit the game & it just repeats. Anyone else with a PS4 Pro having this issue?
Reset your display, then post again it will help in the end.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #35917 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwishart View Post
Yes, but you are the only one that complains about the same problems ever half hour.


Because I want this at the forefront, as it's the most important.

LG OLED65B6P. Klipsch: RF82, RC62, RS52, RB61, RP-140SA. SVS PB-U13. Denon 6300H. Oppo 103D. Oppo UPD 203.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #35918 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
methos75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 49
How do you power cycle this set? I tried holding power for a minute with it unplugged, but it seemed to do nothing.
methos75 is offline  
post #35919 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by methos75 View Post
How do you power cycle this set? I tried holding power for a minute with it unplugged, but it seemed to do nothing.


Same here

LG OLED65B6P. Klipsch: RF82, RC62, RS52, RB61, RP-140SA. SVS PB-U13. Denon 6300H. Oppo 103D. Oppo UPD 203.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #35920 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Greenville,S.C.
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Lost Atmos while casting with new firmware.
reallynotnick likes this.
OHMSEN is online now  
post #35921 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tkbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Reset your display, then post again it will help in the end.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
Thanks, I'll give it a try.
tkbryant is offline  
post #35922 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:07 PM
Member
 
Svtcobrastang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
Got the new update installed and was very happy for a little while. Well it seems as if the PS4 Pro works great with the HDR enabled in all the games with no blackout screens that is until you exit the game & go back to the PS4 home screen & then it just blacks out every 5-10 seconds. It's like 1 step forward & 2 steps back.Before the update it was the games that had the blackouts, now it's the home screen. Go back into a game & no problem, exit the game & it just repeats. Anyone else with a PS4 Pro having this issue?
Just tried Uncharted 4 and didn't have any black outs after loading game then exiting back to home screen with new firmware.
Svtcobrastang is offline  
post #35923 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
geodon005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mt. Prospect, IL
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 115
ARC problems solved!

Well, I am thrilled by the new beta update, as it solved some nagging ARC-related audio issues. Prior to this new release, when I viewed Netflix or Amazon Video from my TiVO Bolt on my P65, I would not get any audio playing through my Pioneer AVR unless I changed the Bolt's audio from Dolby Digital to PCM. Similarly, I could not get any audio from my Roku Ultra via ARC; I had to use a optical cable.

Now I get full Dolby Digital and Digital Plus from the Bolt and the Roku! Thanks, Vizio!
geodon005 is offline  
post #35924 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwishart View Post
I'm sure because of your constant whining Matt has already blocked your posts like more and more people are starting to do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboyz View Post
It's not whining.

It's a problem, an actual problem. Not "hey when can we have HDR YouTube, amirite?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockaway1836 View Post
When you beta test , you report the problem and move on. You don't post over and over. Go have a lollipop !!
The guy simply wants to roll back his firmware it is not an unreasonable request.
The way Vizio does firmware updates is far from the norm. Most companies (all that I know of) that offer beta versions also allow the capability to roll those beta versions back in a manual way, even rolling back release versions is done.

Vizio is doing an intelligent thing by getting free feedback and testing from those enthusiastic about improvements or requiring those improvements but if true leaving those same people stranded if something goes wrong is abnormal, there may be a good reason for this but I don't know what that is.
Fanboyz likes this.
forresto is offline  
post #35925 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by forresto View Post
The guy simply wants to roll back his firmware it is not an unreasonable request.
The way Vizio does firmware updates is far from the norm. Most companies (all that I know of) that offer beta versions also allow the capability to roll those beta versions back in a manual way, even rolling back release versions is done.

Vizio is doing an intelligent thing by getting free feedback and testing from those enthusiastic about improvements or requiring those improvements but if true leaving those same people stranded if something goes wrong is abnormal, there may be a good reason for this but I don't know what that is.
exactly, exactly.

This isn't law of the claw here.

LG OLED65B6P. Klipsch: RF82, RC62, RS52, RB61, RP-140SA. SVS PB-U13. Denon 6300H. Oppo 103D. Oppo UPD 203.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #35926 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
thrustbucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Rolling back firmware is almost always fairly risky and complicated with most devices.

Being in a beta, any beta, means you are willing to take the risk that you will have problems. Possibly serious problems. The company allowing you into the beta doesn't owe you a rollback or a quick fix or special kinds of support. If that isn't ok with you, don't be in betas.

My P65 is far from not usable. I can watch shows fine and they still look great. There are some audio quirks with the TV not telling my xbox it can send bitstream DTS or DD. But I can live with that until it's fixed. There are weird things going on with the backlight. But I can live with that until it's fixed. My P65 is nowhere near unusable from these issues.
thrustbucket is online now  
post #35927 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
So @Matt McRae told me I'm already on the new firmware beta "active list". I'm told to follow the directions on AVS to get it working. I've tried the service check, that didn't work. I reset to factory settings... that didn't work. Can anyone help out so I can get the latest firmware please? I own the M65-D0 2016 Version.
Dcboii03 is offline  
post #35928 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 1119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dcboii03 View Post
So @Matt McRae told me I'm already on the new firmware beta "active list". I'm told to follow the directions on AVS to get it working. I've tried the service check, that didn't work. I reset to factory settings... that didn't work. Can anyone help out so I can get the latest firmware please? I own the M65-D0 2016 Version.
Did you turn the display off after the service check?

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #35929 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tkbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Reset your display, then post again it will help in the end.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
Reset the display, Uncharted 4 with HDR, no blackouts, home screen no blackouts, go to play Overwatch, constant blackouts have to turn HDR off in order to play the game so this firmware has literally done nothing for the PS4 Blackouts. Other than the HDR games not having the blackouts why should we have to keep turning HDR on & off in order to get a stable picture?
tkbryant is offline  
post #35930 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
thrustbucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
Reset the display, Uncharted 4 with HDR, no blackouts, home screen no blackouts, go to play Overwatch, constant blackouts have to turn HDR off in order to play the game so this firmware has literally done nothing for the PS4 Blackouts. Other than the HDR games not having the blackouts why should we have to keep turning HDR on & off in order to get a stable picture?
No problems like that on my Xbox One S.
Tbrooks330 likes this.
thrustbucket is online now  
post #35931 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Did you turn the display off after the service check?

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
Yes. I've turned the TV off several times after clicking on service check. I still see the version 2.2.7.4 as my firmware. And I haven't seen any updates on my tablet or my tv.
Dcboii03 is offline  
post #35932 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 1119
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
Reset the display, Uncharted 4 with HDR, no blackouts, home screen no blackouts, go to play Overwatch, constant blackouts have to turn HDR off in order to play the game so this firmware has literally done nothing for the PS4 Blackouts. Other than the HDR games not having the blackouts why should we have to keep turning HDR on & off in order to get a stable picture?
Its a beta firmware, also the plan is to remove the need to turn on sub sampling. Anything that's HDR10 doesn't need it on, same for SD content.

So try leaving it off then, try HDR games, if HDR works then there's no need to turn it on for games or movies. Any game that's not HDR won't have black outs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
Reset the display, Uncharted 4 with HDR, no blackouts, home screen no blackouts, go to play Overwatch, constant blackouts have to turn HDR off in order to play the game so this firmware has literally done nothing for the PS4 Blackouts. Other than the HDR games not having the blackouts why should we have to keep turning HDR on & off in order to get a stable picture?

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #35933 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 1119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dcboii03 View Post
Yes. I've turned the TV off several times after clicking on service check. I still see the version 2.2.7.4 as my firmware. And I haven't seen any updates on my tablet or my tv.
Try powering off the tablet, and leaving them off for at least 10 minutes

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #35934 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Reset your display by unplugging the power. It appears that like a PC some models need a restart so that the firmware actually loads properly.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
i believe this fixed it. ill report back if it turns up again. thanks.
GCM707 is offline  
post #35935 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 68
FYI I was able to finally get the update thanks to another post in this thread. Just delete your tablet or other device, and repair it. It will search for update after doing so.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Fastblack is offline  
post #35936 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 05:03 PM
 
alexanderg823's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3128 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Add another to the list of PQ being broken.

Watching the OA in dolby vision on Netflix and the backlight is going screwy as heck. Looks awful.
alexanderg823 is offline  
post #35937 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Point618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Western PA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi folks, i'm sure this had been asked but is there a way to turn on and off ARC with the Vizio P65-C1? I get picture but, I cannot get sound through my Yamaha 3050. I spoke with Yamaha and they said ARC needs to be turned on on the Vizio and the rep at Vizio was completely clueless as to what ARC is.
TIA

Yamaha Aventage RX-A3050
Emotiva XPS-5 Amp, Music Hall MMF 5.3 SE Turntable w/Ortophon Bronze Cart.
Paradigm Studio 40's in the front, a CC-370 Center, ADP 370 Surrounds,2 monitors for the back surrounds, 4 Cinema 110's as heights,Paradigm UC12 sub & an SVS PC13 Ultra
Oppo BDP-203
Vizio 2016 P65-C1
Point618 is offline  
post #35938 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tkbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Its a beta firmware, also the plan is to remove the need to turn on sub sampling. Anything that's HDR10 doesn't need it on, same for SD content.

So try leaving it off then, try HDR games, if HDR works then there's no need to turn it on for games or movies. Any game that's not HDR won't have black outs.



Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
Thanks, I will give that a try & report back.
tkbryant is offline  
post #35939 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Everybody, if you are having problems with the new firmware, try the following:

1. Unplug your TV power cord, wait 10 seconds, and plug back in. This will force the OS to completely reboot.

2. Do a factory reset of the TV from the System -> Reset and Admin -> Factory Reset option on your Vizio remote. I know it's a pain to do all the settings again, but I have had a fair share of weird behavior after a firmware update get fixed by resetting.

I did these two things after upgrading and I am seeing no issue with FALD pulsing on the P50, no weird banding in HDR mode, pretty much nothing but improvements so far.
Bootnylee likes this.
Daniel LaRoche is offline  
post #35940 of 64195 Old 12-16-2016, 05:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastblack View Post
FYI I was able to finally get the update thanks to another post in this thread. Just delete your tablet or other device, and repair it. It will search for update after doing so.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'm gonna try that same thing but I'm not sure I'm on the list. I put my s/n on here to be put on the beta but my tv hasn't updated.
Cruse Missle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off