Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1199 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288502Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35941 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel LaRoche View Post
Everybody, if you are having problems with the new firmware, try the following:

1. Unplug your TV power cord, wait 10 seconds, and plug back in. This will force the OS to completely reboot.

2. Do a factory reset of the TV from the System -> Reset and Admin -> Factory Reset option on your Vizio remote. I know it's a pain to do all the settings again, but I have had a fair share of weird behavior after a firmware update get fixed by resetting.

I did these two things after upgrading and I am seeing no issue with FALD pulsing on the P50, no weird banding in HDR mode, pretty much nothing but improvements so far.
I'm gonna try this when I get home. Now will the firmware still show as 2.2.7.4? Or will that change to the more recent one? Just inquiring..
Dcboii03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35942 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrustbucket View Post
Rolling back firmware is almost always fairly risky and complicated with most devices.

Being in a beta, any beta, means you are willing to take the risk that you will have problems. Possibly serious problems. The company allowing you into the beta doesn't owe you a rollback or a quick fix or special kinds of support. If that isn't ok with you, don't be in betas.
^^^^100% wrong, you completely made that stuff up just to sound important.
Rolling back is risky? So is upgrading firmware but Vizio does that automatically.

If you have some facts please present them. I have almost 40 years experience/history with devices that I have to upgrade/rollback firmware and firmware like setups for so ridiculous statements like yours are a bit offensive especially when you are using them to attack someone. If you have some examples/facts please present them, I would like to learn more.
forresto is offline  
post #35943 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
pwishart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by forresto View Post
^^^^100% wrong, you completely made that stuff up just to sound important.
Rolling back is risky? So is upgrading firmware but Vizio does that automatically.

If you have some facts please present them. I have almost 40 years experience/history with devices that I have to upgrade/rollback firmware and firmware like setups for so ridiculous statements like yours are a bit offensive especially when you are using them to attack someone. If you have some examples/facts please present them, I would like to learn more.
Matt McRae has more important things to do then setup a special group of serial numbers on their update server for people that want their firmware rolled back, they new there could be problems with the beta firmware and Matt warned people about this and gave them a chance to opt out, if they requested to be included knowing that they could have problems they just will have to wait until the final wide release of the firmware.
pashine and abouttreefitty like this.
pwishart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35944 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1852 Post(s)
Liked: 1117
Quote:
Originally Posted by forresto View Post
^^^^100% wrong, you completely made that stuff up just to sound important.
Rolling back is risky? So is upgrading firmware but Vizio does that automatically.

If you have some facts please present them. I have almost 40 years experience/history with devices that I have to upgrade/rollback firmware and firmware like setups for so ridiculous statements like yours are a bit offensive especially when you are using them to attack someone. If you have some examples/facts please present them, I would like to learn more.
It's risky, it affects the functionality of the device. The creation of firmware today has its fail safes, but it always has to be tested before release. One bad line of code and we are in trouble.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #35945 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:35 PM
Member
 
andy582's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Going to try unplugging set, too, but backlight issues, both casting and with Xbox One S, are so glaring I'm surprised they made it through internal testing. Best way to see it is to move the brightness slider, it's as if all the light is radiating outward from a center bulb or zone, and you can watch the thick vertical columns ripple outward.
andy582 is offline  
post #35946 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I took a video of the FALD behavior with the new beta. You can see an entire pillar lighting up. It's just like an edge lit display.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
imobilizer and reallynotnick like this.
Fastblack is offline  
post #35947 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:45 PM
 
alexanderg823's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3128 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Just watched some of the OA on Netflix in SDR and backlight looks jacked up too.

PQ is definitely jacked.
alexanderg823 is offline  
post #35948 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:53 PM
Member
 
andy582's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Unplugged my set, issues still present - image is much more 'milky' overall.
andy582 is offline  
post #35949 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:54 PM
 
alexanderg823's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3128 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Yeah Andy, milky washed out image with no contrast is what I'm seeing too. Looks awful. In SDR and HDR. Shame too as the last beta had the best PQ I've ever seen on the unit.
alexanderg823 is offline  
post #35950 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:56 PM
Member
 
andy582's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Wonder what the change or coding error is.. There shouldn't be 'pillars' at all, there are what, 128 dimming zones, they should all be brightening and dimming uniformly, not in these weird rippling vertical piano keys. Hope it's an easy & quick fix- betas are fun but this feels almost unwatchable after the tremendous picture quality of the previous firmware, & is more of a 'setback' than I was expecting.
andy582 is offline  
post #35951 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico167 View Post
Thank you much!
I just want this to work!
Adam Dever is offline  
post #35952 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Please!!!
Adam Dever is offline  
post #35953 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:04 PM
Member
 
andy582's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 26
They may have changed how the settings are dialed in, too, at least on HDR.. I'm casting 'Daredevil' season 2 on Netflix, and sliding the backlight up to 100 brought back a lot of the contrast.
andy582 is offline  
post #35954 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:06 PM
Member
 
andy582's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Brightness at 46 or 47, backlight at 100 is the only way it's dialing in anything like a tolerable or good picture - local dimming still weird. You can see it happen onscreen. Really kind of interesting, plus bizarre/aggravating.
andy582 is offline  
post #35955 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The P50, 55,60......the TVs are all a bit different from one another do they all respond the same to the firmware?
forresto is offline  
post #35956 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,326
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 158
My P55 after the new firmware update has the local dimming issues others are reporting. Even after unplugging the TV for 30 seconds and doing a factory reset.

65C8P l 65B6P l P55-C1 l Shockwafe Ultra 9.2 & Elite 7.2 l XB1 X l PS4 Pro l Switch

Last edited by bpmurr; 12-16-2016 at 05:23 PM.
bpmurr is offline  
post #35957 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by forresto View Post
The P50, 55,60......the TVs are all a bit different from one another do they all respond the same to the firmware?


Yeah

LG OLED65B6P. Klipsch: RF82, RC62, RS52, RB61, RP-140SA. SVS PB-U13. Denon 6300H. Oppo 103D. Oppo UPD 203.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #35958 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,917
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by methos75 View Post

How do you power cycle this set?

I tried holding power for a minute with it
unplugged, but it seemed to do nothing.



That's how it is done, except 60 seconds might be more than is needed. 30 seconds should be more than enough.
What this does is to 'clear-out' anything held in memory that may causing Bug-a-Boos. This, along with a Factory Reset should straighten things out. If still problems... it's Firmware or hardware-related.

I'm still keeping my Display on 24/7, until I decide to let the Bug-a-Boo Thirty-Ten-Seven in or not.



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #35959 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
lordj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 497 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Yeah....Dimming/backlight/brightness, especially in HDR, definitely messed up. This is pretty bad even for a beta. I'm not sure how this got through.
lordj is offline  
post #35960 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,917
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forrest O. View Post

This is starting to happen as well as the image freezing.

Is this a sign of a defective display or is it
something that can be fixed in firmware?



Sorry to see these problems you and others run into.

But, that pic you posted is a nice work of gallery art.

If you're still showing that image, can you take a pic, straight-on, please?

I'd like to save it. Is is 'signed' by Vizio?

I assume you tried Power-Cycling and a Factory Reset?

Technology is wonderful... until it breaks.


.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #35961 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by forresto View Post
^^^^100% wrong, you completely made that stuff up just to sound important.
Rolling back is risky? So is upgrading firmware but Vizio does that automatically.

If you have some facts please present them. I have almost 40 years experience/history with devices that I have to upgrade/rollback firmware and firmware like setups for so ridiculous statements like yours are a bit offensive especially when you are using them to attack someone. If you have some examples/facts please present them, I would like to learn more.
Your facts are incorrect. I can't think of another tv company that allows BETA firmware released to the public. And not audio/video device I have owned in the past 10 years have allowed you to rollback firmware.
Mustang66 and pashine like this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #35962 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
Got the new update installed and was very happy for a little while. Well it seems as if the PS4 Pro works great with the HDR enabled in all the games with no blackout screens that is until you exit the game & go back to the PS4 home screen & then it just blacks out every 5-10 seconds. It's like 1 step forward & 2 steps back.Before the update it was the games that had the blackouts, now it's the home screen. Go back into a game & no problem, exit the game & it just repeats. Anyone else with a PS4 Pro having this issue?
I have had ps4 pro since release date and have not have a single issue with it. Every firmware including the last 2 betas have worked without any blackouts.
mcholthaus likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #35963 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I did a factory reset of my P65 and I noticed that the "too bright" and flashing white bars issues I had >>seem<< to be resolved. That weird blue blotch that faded to black when starting Netflix is gone. That's good. However, the whacky local dimming issues remain. I see it in HDR 10 & DV modes. It may stilll be there in SDR but may not manifest itself as easy. The dimming zones are all out of whack. They don't dim enough on the sides & not dimming at all underneath causing massive blooming on the south side of content...and the response time is not as good either. I don't game so I can't comment on that platform.

On the plus side, the PQ of HDR 10 kinda blew me away. The LG HDR Chess demo looked as sharp and vibrant as I remember seeing it before. DV looked improved too. Checking the talking heads on CNN, flesh tones are natural and distinct. Very nice. Using Calibrated on all sources, black detail off, all the noise crap off, sharpness=10, judder=2, blur=10. BL=85 for SDR, 50 for HDR10 & DV. I know when I watch Amazon HDR later that BL=100.

Last edited by Karnis2; 12-16-2016 at 05:48 PM.
Karnis2 is offline  
post #35964 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do I go about getting the firmware update? I honestly can't even tell if my tv (P-65) is displaying 4K. I got a 4K blu ray but it looked like a regular blu ray. I'm using an Xbox one s. All of the content gets blown out when I use the hdr feature so I leave it off. I did switch on the 4K box on the Xbox but it still doesn't really seem 4K to me. Under display information on the tablet it says HDR - No. current version is 2.2.7.4. Sorry for the newish reply here but I'm not getting out of this TV what I thought I would.
Jerzey is offline  
post #35965 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
methos75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Yeah, I did a factory reset and the smudge is still there, its sorta of weird because I can still get some color out of other than just black. Could it be a cluster of stuck pixels? See I don't know if it's related to the firmware or not, it's more than likely its just a coincidence it appeared after updating. Just bothers me since I know it's there, my eye keeps gravitating towards it.
methos75 is offline  
post #35966 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
FlasHBurN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy582 View Post
Wonder what the change or coding error is.. There shouldn't be 'pillars' at all, there are what, 128 dimming zones, they should all be brightening and dimming uniformly, not in these weird rippling vertical piano keys. Hope it's an easy & quick fix- betas are fun but this feels almost unwatchable after the tremendous picture quality of the previous firmware, & is more of a 'setback' than I was expecting.
Glad that I'm not crazy and others are posting about this too. Was so horrible while watching the second episode of The OA because of all the subtitles, I just had to bail on it for now. This really should of been caught with some test patterns before it was released to us. Hopefully @Matt McRae can get us a fix soon and we don't have to wait until after Christmas.
Fanboyz likes this.
FlasHBurN is offline  
post #35967 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 05:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Your facts are incorrect. I can't think of another tv company that allows BETA firmware released to the public. And not audio/video device I have owned in the past 10 years have allowed you to rollback firmware.
ha ha ha! you guys are really stretching it.
Here you go, a TV that allowed firmware rollbacks:
https://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/...are+to+default

Here is a link for an Onkyo update:
http://divideoverflow.com/2015/05/ho...older-version/

I could post examples all day. I guess I forgot to mention that I also worked in a home electronics repair shop repairing Video Cameras, TVs, receivers etc. Did that for a couple of years while took various computer and electronics courses. Not trying to one up you guys, for all you know I am lying but all you have to do is get some experience in shop or maybe even google a bit more. The way to do these things is not always obvious.

Always research the firmware upgrade or downgrade and if required you may have to go back/forward one revision at a time to get to the revision you want.
forresto is offline  
post #35968 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Just turn off active LED for now. They'll fix it. You guys signed up for the beta. Deal with it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bahn Yuki, mcholthaus and Fish106 like this.
Fastblack is offline  
post #35969 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by forresto View Post
ha ha ha! you guys are really stretching it.
Here you go, a TV that allowed firmware rollbacks:
https://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/...are+to+default

Here is a link for an Onkyo update:
http://divideoverflow.com/2015/05/ho...older-version/

I could post examples all day. I guess I forgot to mention that I also worked in a home electronics repair shop repairing Video Cameras, TVs, receivers etc. Did that for a couple of years while took various computer and electronics courses. Not trying to one up you guys, for all you know I am lying but all you have to do is get some experience in shop or maybe even google a bit more. The way to do these things is not always obvious.

Always research the firmware upgrade or downgrade and if required you may have to go back/forward one revision at a time to get to the revision you want.
Your example of a firmware rollback on a tv, is tricking the tv into thinking your computer is the update server and forcing it to overwrite its current firmware lol. Good job looks like they really made rolling back a thing
shortyg83 is offline  
post #35970 of 64111 Old 12-16-2016, 06:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerzey View Post
How do I go about getting the firmware update? I honestly can't even tell if my tv (P-65) is displaying 4K. I got a 4K blu ray but it looked like a regular blu ray. I'm using an Xbox one s. All of the content gets blown out when I use the hdr feature so I leave it off. I did switch on the 4K box on the Xbox but it still doesn't really seem 4K to me. Under display information on the tablet it says HDR - No. current version is 2.2.7.4. Sorry for the newish reply here but I'm not getting out of this TV what I thought I would.
From what I read here you really don't want to upgrade the firmware right now.

On your Vizio tablet go to the display settings symbol (flower looking thing) on the first page of the Vizio app on the right.
Then System>System Information>display information

That page shows your firmware version and the input your TV is receiving.
forresto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off