Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1216 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288450Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #36451 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Who has done a factory reset?

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
I have with the hope it would fix the lost DD+ Atmos from vudu. No bueno.
james_mcevoy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36452 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 06:21 PM
Member
 
mcholthaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Just got an iPhone.....does the app still not allow fine tuning for settings?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Nope.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mcholthaus is offline  
post #36453 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 25
not sure if he mentioned it here, but got something from Matt on the backlight/dimming issue. They are hoping to get something out on Friday to correct that.

https://twitter.com/GCM707/status/811394166076936198
DaverJ likes this.
GCM707 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36454 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2957 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karnis2 View Post
Hey mpgxsvcd:
I believe judder has always worked on 30 fps. Since casting is limited to 30 fps I use judder=10 frequently when casting 30 fps stuff. I commented about this a few months back, casting HBO Real Time at 30 fps being butt ugly, and judder=10 was a beautiful thing.

Always enjoy reading your posts. In-depth & informative, thanks!
Originally the P75 Reduce Judder setting did not affect true progressive 30 FPS video at all. Matt was wrong about how it operated for the P75 specifically when the display originally came out. It is entirely possible that only the P75 was affected by this. However, it was easy to demonstrate that Reduce Judder did not effect 30 FPS before.

At some point that changed and now it definitely does. However, it definitely didn't back in June when I first mentioned it here. Matt never acknowledged the post but I guess that doesn't matter now since it now works the way he says it should.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #36455 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 07:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

What I really need is a 2 input or more HDMI splitter with 2 or more outputs that is HDR and 4K @ 60 FPS 4:4:4 capable. If anyone has some recommendations for that I am all ears.

Hopefully, this is helpful to everyone. Most of these things are not that unpresidented.
Some great information. I, too, game at 1080P/120 on PC along with PS4 and Xbox One. I use a Pioneer SC-99 with 3 HDMI outputs to accomplish what you speak of. I use output 1 for standard content (TiVO, ATV4, etc...), output 2 for gaming at 60FPS and output 3 for 1080P/120. Works very well. I had to create a custom resolution for the 120HZ gaming but all is well now.
mpgxsvcd likes this.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #36456 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 07:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Who has done a factory reset?

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk


I don't think a factory reset had fixed the issue for anyone besides you currently. Have you watched any hdr10 or Dolby vision material that has dark scenes? It didn't fix mine at all.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shortyg83 is offline  
post #36457 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Since the beta is being fixed in considering adding myself to it. Can anybody give a quick TL; DR of what's in it and why one might want it?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
FilmMixer likes this.
seinberg is offline  
post #36458 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 07:32 PM
Newbie
 
pilsnerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Was thinking of possibly exchanging my P75 for banding issues. I just noticed it watching hockey mainly when panning. Head on its faint but annoying and slightly off center the dark cloudy lines get more defined. Hard to get a decent photo of it but what do you think?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vizio.jpg
Views:	277
Size:	110.3 KB
ID:	1845033  
pilsnerz is offline  
post #36459 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 07:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,699
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
I don't think a factory reset had fixed the issue for anyone besides you currently. Have you watched any hdr10 or Dolby vision material that has dark scenes? It didn't fix mine at all.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have watched vudu and netflix Dolby Vision. Chefs Table France amazing day or night, Marco Polo fails in dark scenes. Vudu no issues with fald, everything is brighter without blooming or flashing. FALD is wonky while watching Marco Polo, but is flawless during Chefs Table France. It's a conundrum, Matt team is on it. I'm getting Dolby Digital from both sources.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #36460 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
Originally the P75 Reduce Judder setting did not affect true progressive 30 FPS video at all. Matt was wrong about how it operated for the P75 specifically when the display originally came out. It is entirely possible that only the P75 was affected by this. However, it was easy to demonstrate that Reduce Judder did not effect 30 FPS before.

At some point that changed and now it definitely does. However, it definitely didn't back in June when I first mentioned it here. Matt never acknowledged the post but I guess that doesn't matter now since it now works the way he says it should.
Makes sense, I should've mentioned I have a P65.
Karnis2 is offline  
post #36461 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
I have watched vudu and netflix Dolby Vision. Chefs Table France amazing day or night, Marco Polo fails in dark scenes. Vudu no issues with fald, everything is brighter without blooming or flashing. FALD is wonky while watching Marco Polo, but is flawless during Chefs Table France. It's a conundrum, Matt team is on it. I'm getting Dolby Digital from both sources.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
Are you def on the newest firmware? It seems like all but two people lost dolby digital plus . I wonder what the difference is.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #36462 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,699
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Are you def on the newest firmware? It seems like all but two people lost dolby digital plus . I wonder what the difference is.
Definitely. When I did the factory reset, it was suggested I choose Calibrated as my picture mode. Calibrated default backlight setting changed to 95 from 85 previously.

I forgot to mention I'm using a fiber optic cable for digital surround.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #36463 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Definitely. When I did the factory reset, it was suggested I choose Calibrated as my picture mode. Calibrated default backlight setting changed to 95 from 85 previously.

I forgot to mention I'm using a fiber optic cable for digital surround.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
Ah dolby digital, everyone can get that. We are talking about the loss of Dolby Digital Plus, it isn't even available via fiber optic.
mpgxsvcd and pilgrimpete like this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #36464 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2957 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
Some great information. I, too, game at 1080P/120 on PC along with PS4 and Xbox One. I use a Pioneer SC-99 with 3 HDMI outputs to accomplish what you speak of. I use output 1 for standard content (TiVO, ATV4, etc...), output 2 for gaming at 60FPS and output 3 for 1080P/120. Works very well. I had to create a custom resolution for the 120HZ gaming but all is well now.
Do you use 4K @ 60 FPS 4:4:4 at all? My receiver doesn't pass it properly even though it advertises that it does.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #36465 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2957 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
I was able to confirm that the Chromecast Ultra can definitely stream HDR from Vudu and Netflix. Netflix shows the DV HDR logo so I can only assume that the display is receiving the DV HDR signal. Youtube HDR still doesn't work though. It worked before.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #36466 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
No to reset it you have to reset that picture mode not just set it back at 50.
The way to know whether it needs to be reset is is there's an asterisk next to the name, right?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
seinberg is offline  
post #36467 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by seinberg View Post
The way to know whether it needs to be reset is is there's an asterisk next to the name, right?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Correct
shortyg83 is offline  
post #36468 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
I was able to confirm that the Chromecast Ultra can definitely stream HDR from Vudu and Netflix. Netflix shows the DV HDR logo so I can only assume that the display is receiving the DV HDR signal. Youtube HDR still doesn't work though. It worked before.
Youtube worked for me until the Chromecast Ultra firmware updated, now it is dead and has a haze over it.
But dolby vision works from both vudu and netflix.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #36469 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
Do you use 4K @ 60 FPS 4:4:4 at all? My receiver doesn't pass it properly even though it advertises that it does.
I'll have to double check but I believe my receiver can do this. I don't think I've ever used it because I keep my desktop resolution at 1080P/120 to accommodate Plex (24HZ) and gaming. Strangely enough my receiver didn't have a proper EDID set up for 1080P/120 so I had to create a custom resolution through CRU.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #36470 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
I was able to confirm that the Chromecast Ultra can definitely stream HDR from Vudu and Netflix. Netflix shows the DV HDR logo so I can only assume that the display is receiving the DV HDR signal. Youtube HDR still doesn't work though. It worked before.
I believe the only way to confirm DV with VUDU is to first cast to the device/display, then select the movie & then UHD. At that point in the movie description where it lists Atmos it should say DV as well.
Karnis2 is offline  
post #36471 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Right, the asterisk means that you have made changes in settings.
Dan
dirtydansv is offline  
post #36472 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Honestly, out of all the pictures posted on here, yours sticks out the most to me. I wouldn't be able to handle that




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
AirborneMaikai is offline  
post #36473 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 09:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,637
Mentioned: 128 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2209 Post(s)
Liked: 2798
So third time in the last few months and my P55 has developed a garbled line across the length of the display. Time for another factory reset.... but this is now annoying to have to lose all settings again and makes me concerned about the long term stability of these displays.... will call Vizio in the morning and hopefully they will offer a replacement display that comes with out any other issues. IMO my display is amazing in terms of uniformity, etc.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0095.JPG
Views:	109
Size:	265.8 KB
ID:	1845137


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FilmMixer is offline  
post #36474 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 09:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karnis2 View Post
I believe the only way to confirm DV with VUDU is to first cast to the device/display, then select the movie & then UHD. At that point in the movie description where it lists Atmos it should say DV as well.
Every UHD movie on VUDU is DV.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #36475 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 09:31 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilsnerz View Post

Was thinking of possibly exchanging my P75 for banding issues.
I just noticed it watching hockey mainly when panning.


Could you please take a photo of the 50% Flat Screen Test Pattern?
One straight-on and one at common angle viewing you have.

Definitely worse than my P50-C1.



.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pilsnerz [Enhanced Banding].jpg
Views:	186
Size:	130.2 KB
ID:	1845145  

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #36476 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 09:54 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post

So third time in the last few months and my P55 has
developed a garbled line across the length of the display.

Time for another factory reset....




My rule of a problem:

If Reset Number One doesn't get rid of a problem, then I doubt any such problem would 'fix' itself (unless a Firmware Update is said to fix a certain problem). Otherwise, it's not going away, and will only keep coming back, or even grow worse or something fails.

Sorry you and others over the months and years have had various problems. I know we members are a small pebble in the big pond, and mostly problems are posted vs 'mine is ok' but... just what is the real problem/failure rate with these Vizios (and other brands, too.) How much of it is caused by 'Shipping and mis-Handling'? Myself, the boxes these Displays come in kind of 'ask' for disaster to strike. These Displays seem (are?) to fragile for rough-handling.

Anyone agree/disagree?


.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #36477 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
pilsnerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Could you please take a photo of the 50% Flat Screen Test Pattern?
One straight-on and one at common angle viewing you have.

Definitely worse than my P50-C1.



.
Sure
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vizio2.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	66.8 KB
ID:	1845177   Click image for larger version

Name:	vizio3.jpg
Views:	219
Size:	77.6 KB
ID:	1845185  
pilsnerz is offline  
post #36478 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 10:09 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
@Matt McRae

Hi Matt!

How's it going for you and the Vizio Staff?

Thanks for what you and Team-Vizio have provided these days,
where I once said many years ago, "What's a Vizzy-Oh?"

Now I say to people, "HEY!... That's a Vizio!"

With the upcoming Hot-Fix Firmware, will it override the latest Beta
3.0.10.7
to which I held it off by keeping my Display on 24/7, or will
I go through Dual Updating?

Thank you,

- Pj



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #36479 of 63864 Old 12-20-2016, 10:29 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilsnerz View Post
.

It's that Left-Side Ripple Effect, again. Also seen in another Display: @Noregrebt


I'll post your Display pic enhanced along with Noregrebt:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pilsnerz [50pc Flat Field] a [22,100,-100,-40,0].jpg
Views:	195
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	1845193   Click image for larger version

Name:	pilsnerz [50pc Flat Field] a [22,100,-100,-14,0] [Left Side Ripple].jpg
Views:	194
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	1845201   Click image for larger version

Name:	Noregrebt [63,100,-10,0,-100].jpg
Views:	189
Size:	81.2 KB
ID:	1845209  

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #36480 of 63864 Old 12-21-2016, 01:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,699
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
So third time in the last few months and my P55 has developed a garbled line across the length of the display. Time for another factory reset.... but this is now annoying to have to lose all settings again and makes me concerned about the long term stability of these displays.... will call Vizio in the morning and hopefully they will offer a replacement display that comes with out any other issues. IMO my display is amazing in terms of uniformity, etc.

Attachment 1845137


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Do you use active HDMI Cables?

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off