Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1238 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288509Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #37111 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 02:35 PM
Member
 
ngs428's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
With how things have been going, I would expect the "final" release for the firmware within the next few weeks. If you didn't sign up for the beta, I would call Vizio to see what's going on. I've seen people post that they got the beta without signing up, but no one actually contacting Vizio to see why.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I did contact Vizio about this. They just started working me down their troubleshooting script. I never got an answer. I am hoping for a final release too!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mfucci likes this.
ngs428 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37112 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,128
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4723 Post(s)
Liked: 2753
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngs428 View Post
Have you experienced any issues with this beta firmware 3.0.10.7? Sounds like we are stuck in the same boat with our P55.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'm experiencing tons of issues with this beta firmware and that's why I want to revert back to 2.2.7.4. I have a couple of HD players that don't have audio when connected to this display via a Denon AVR (LG BD and Toshiba HD DVD player). My new Oppo 203 won't work when connected with HDMI from player to AVR and then to Vizio. It only works when connecting the "Main" HDMI to Vizio and "Audio only" HDMI to AVR. Others with the Oppo 203 work fine when using with other displays.

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #37113 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 8
YouTube HDR

@Matt McRae

Matt, apparently the Display is trying to process Dolby Vision with the Chromecast Ultra and Youtube HDR is not working when the Chromecast Ultra is plugged directly into the display. Can this be fixed?
Jacob Prezbindowski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37114 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Lol at the amount of owners complaining over beta software bugs. Its beta people. Dont request to be a tester unless you are prepared to deal with bugs. Sorry, i just feel like this should be understood for people who decide to opt in for beta testing.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
cubarican84 is offline  
post #37115 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:35 PM
Member
 
Addixion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Man_Hands View Post
New P65-C1 owner here as well coming from a 8 year old Panasonic plasma. I was caught a little off guard by the poor upscaling too. The set is great for 1080p content, but anything below that not so much. I had to upgrade an old Onkyo receiver to take advantage of new HDMI, HDCP, and 4K technologies and went with the Denon AVR-S720W. However, I just noticed the 920 is on sale for only $20 more and I'll be getting that in a few days and taking back the 720. I can report back next week or so if there is much of a difference with the additional upscaling of the receiver. I'm hoping there is!
As an owner of a more upmarket Denon receiver, I can tell you that you'll probably still continue to be disappointed by the upscaling quality, especially on highly compressed, low-priority cable/satellite channels. It has certainly improved in the last couple firmware updates, but it remains average at best.
Addixion is offline  
post #37116 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigyeah View Post

What does the "Black Detail" setting do
and when is it good to turn it on?



Black Detail:

"Adjusts the average brightness
of the picture to compensate for
large areas of brightness. Select
Off, Low, Medium, or High."

I'm on a long-term try-out with this feature (High setting).

So far, it acts like a contrast balance. It backs off a bit with the darkest scenes,
and adds a bit more contrast with the otherwise 'washed-out' bright or outdoor scenes.




.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #37117 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubarican84 View Post
Lol at the amount of owners complaining over beta software bugs. Its beta people. Dont request to be a tester unless you are prepared to deal with bugs. Sorry, i just feel like this should be understood for people who decide to opt in for beta testing.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
You do realize that some of us didn't sign up to test but were still pushed beta firmware, right?
GardenVariety likes this.
mfucci is offline  
post #37118 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfucci View Post
You do realize that some of us didn't sign up to test but were still pushed beta firmware, right?
I do. I was just referring to the users who opted in.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
cubarican84 is offline  
post #37119 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by golbiga View Post
My replacement P65 will intermittently go to a black screen when using anything on HDMI 1-5. I am able to reproduce it on my AppleTV, PS4 and Amazon Fire. I've tried every port and I've tried different HDMI cables. Anyone have any ideas what might be causing this? It also seems to happen more when first starting up the TV and less as it's on for a longer period of time. I'm on the latest beta, but it's been happening since I got the replacement display. Thanks.
I have been having these issues since the new beta came out. Cables don't matter I have tried the vizio one / monster cables/ blue jeans cables and it never happened before this firmware.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #37120 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubarican84 View Post
I do. I was just referring to the users who opted in.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Oh, then I fully support your statement .
ngs428 and cubarican84 like this.
mfucci is offline  
post #37121 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob Prezbindowski View Post
@Matt McRae

Matt, apparently the Display is trying to process Dolby Vision with the Chromecast Ultra and Youtube HDR is not working when the Chromecast Ultra is plugged directly into the display. Can this be fixed?
Are you just going by me saying that several pages back? It was just a guess because the problem doesn't occur when I hook the Chromecast Ultra through my AVR, but I no longer get Dolby vision when going through the AVR.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #37122 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I'm experiencing tons of issues with this beta firmware and that's why I want to revert back to 2.2.7.4. I have a couple of HD players that don't have audio when connected to this display via a Denon AVR (LG BD and Toshiba HD DVD player). My new Oppo 203 won't work when connected with HDMI from player to AVR and then to Vizio. It only works when connecting the "Main" HDMI to Vizio and "Audio only" HDMI to AVR. Others with the Oppo 203 work fine when using with other displays.
What AVR do you have?
shortyg83 is offline  
post #37123 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,128
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4723 Post(s)
Liked: 2753
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubarican84 View Post
Lol at the amount of owners complaining over beta software bugs. Its beta people. Dont request to be a tester unless you are prepared to deal with bugs. Sorry, i just feel like this should be understood for people who decide to opt in for beta testing.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
I've been a beta tester for other devices and apps in the past and have never seen as many problems as on this Vizio display. Being on a beta program shouldn't cause things like "no audio" on blu-ray devices at all when connected to an AVR, etc. I've sent Matt a message to remove me from the beta program and to push the current released version to my P75. I just don't know if they can do that once you get the later beta version?

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #37124 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,128
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4723 Post(s)
Liked: 2753
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
What AVR do you have?
Denon X6200W

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #37125 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 05:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Man_Hands View Post

I've searched and tried to find some information
on the Auto Brightness Control setting.

My understanding is that it utilizes an ambient light
sensor on the TV and changes the backlight value
based on the amount of light in the room.

What I'm confused with is the different
options of Low, Medium, and High.

Are these sensitivity values?



Auto Brightness Control:

"Select Off, Low, Medium, or
High. The auto brightness control
feature detects the light levels in
the room (using the ambient light
sensor) and automatically adjusts
the backlight for the best picture."


I have my Backlight set at 50. (Auto-Brightness - Really, it's Auto-Backlight - must be OFF to manually adjust the Backlight values.)

I then adjust it as necessary to Low, Med, or High... and sometimes OFF for maximum light at that 50 setting.

It appears to work as such: Depending on room light, the level compensates for the selected Backlight level - Low, Med, or High. Not a sensitivity range. So, if you select Medium, that level is trying to be maintained if the room lighting changes - a lamp that's turned off or on or some clouds roll in, etc. Same for Low or High. It just brighter or dimmer.

To slide the whole Brighter/Darker scale up or down, select the Backlight lower (20) or higher (75) when using Low/Med/High.

Is that clear as mud?

I tested it with a flashlight. It's a slow change so it's doesn't 'over-react' with sudden room light changes.

Some 'purist' will tell you to leave it OFF and set it for Day and Night values. I suppose it could be 3: Sunny, Cloudy, and Night. That would be 3 different Custom Picture Modes. Otherwise, just switch between Low/Med/Hi/OFF.

With HDR, some say leave the Backlight at 50. Whether that's for Dolby Vision and/or HDR-10... I don't know. I just leave mine at 50.



.
Man_Hands likes this.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #37126 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,393
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6553 Post(s)
Liked: 6297
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I've been a beta tester for other devices and apps in the past and have never seen as many problems as on this Vizio display. Being on a beta program shouldn't cause things like "no audio" on blu-ray devices at all when connected to an AVR, etc. I've sent Matt a message to remove me from the beta program and to push the current released version to my P75. I just don't know if they can do that once you get the later beta version?


There is no difference between them pushing the latest and you downloading and loading onto a USB. I would wait until this round is over and then get removed. Either way you'd be waiting for the final (public) release for a stable one.

As far as the firmware goes, it is bound to happen. They fix one thing and 5 others break. It's not always going to be roses or stable improvements. If folks thought they'd just be getting stable firmware that was "improvements only" I think they misunderstood what was involved.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Karnis2 likes this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #37127 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
bigyeah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I have another stupid question. Is it still a fact that the input 5 on SDR content has a 17-19ms input lag? For some reason I feel like it my P65-C is not really that low. I feel a slightly higher input lag when compared to the Samsung KS8000, which is supposed to have a higher input lag for SDR content. I know that the tool to measure input lag doesn't work on input 5 on the Vizio, so how accurate is the alternative measurement tool, and could it be that the Vizio's input lag is actually much higher than 17-19ms? I'm not sure why I just recently started being paranoid about the input lag, I guess I'm looking for an excuse to upgrade.
bigyeah is offline  
post #37128 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
There is no difference between them pushing the latest and you downloading and loading onto a USB. I would wait until this round is over and then get removed. Either way you'd be waiting for the final (public) release for a stable one.

As far as the firmware goes, it is bound to happen. They fix one thing and 5 others break. It's not always going to be roses or stable improvements. If folks thought they'd just be getting stable firmware that was "improvements only" I think they misunderstood what was involved.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Stability will always be a trade-off for performance....just the way it is. So for Vizio to continue to push the functionality of it's product for marketing reasons, some stability is introduced.
bobkat007 is offline  
post #37129 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigyeah View Post
I have another stupid question. Is it still a fact that the input 5 on SDR content has a 17-19ms input lag? For some reason I feel like it my P65-C is not really that low. I feel a slightly higher input lag when compared to the Samsung KS8000, which is supposed to have a higher input lag for SDR content. I know that the tool to measure input lag doesn't work on input 5 on the Vizio, so how accurate is the alternative measurement tool, and could it be that the Vizio's input lag is actually much higher than 17-19ms? I'm not sure why I just recently started being paranoid about the input lag, I guess I'm looking for an excuse to upgrade.
If game low latency is turned on then yes.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #37130 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Denon X6200W
Are you sure you have all the settings correct including a high speed cable both between the AVR and the tv and between the avr and the oppo? This shouldn't be an issue. I could see handshake issues where it takes a few tries since mine has been like that since beta.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #37131 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
35LTMATLBS50732




@Matt McRae
spikked27 is offline  
post #37132 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I was reading the Vudu forum for UHD HDR playback and interesting enough they have the P75 as capable of renting and playing HDR. I thought you needed external hardware like Xbox S or Roku ultra. According to this page you don't.

https://forum.vudu.com/showthread.ph...e-Devices-List
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #37133 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
I was reading the Vudu forum for UHD HDR playback and interesting enough they have the P75 as capable of renting and playing HDR. I thought you needed external hardware like Xbox S or Roku ultra. According to this page you don't.

https://forum.vudu.com/showthread.ph...e-Devices-List
Why would you ever think you couldn't play HDR on the P series without an outside device?
Are you confusing HDR with the format HDR10?
reallynotnick likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #37134 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Why would you ever think you couldn't play HDR on the P series without an outside device?
Are you confusing HDR with the format HDR10?
I read the below as the p series being able to playback 4k + Dolby Vision directly

4K Ultra HD playback only
Roku 4, Premiere, Premiere+, Ultra (paired with a compatible 4K HDTV)
Roku 4K TVs
VIZIO P-Series 4K HDTVs
VIZIO M-Series 4K HDTVs
Nvidia Shield TV*
Google Chromecast Ultra (Dolby Vision will be available pending an firmware update from Google)
Xbox One S*

4K Ultra HD + Dolby Vision HDR playback
VIZIO Reference Series HDTVs
VIZIO 2016 Smartcast P-Series 4K TVs
VIZIO 2016 Smartcast M-Series 4K TVs
LG 2016 OLED 4K TVs - G6, E6, C6 & B6 Models*
LG 2016 Super UHD 4K TVs*

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #37135 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
I read the below as the p series being able to playback 4k + Dolby Vision directly

4K Ultra HD playback only
Roku 4, Premiere, Premiere+, Ultra (paired with a compatible 4K HDTV)
Roku 4K TVs
VIZIO P-Series 4K HDTVs
VIZIO M-Series 4K HDTVs
Nvidia Shield TV*
Google Chromecast Ultra (Dolby Vision will be available pending an firmware update from Google)
Xbox One S*

4K Ultra HD + Dolby Vision HDR playback
VIZIO Reference Series HDTVs
VIZIO 2016 Smartcast P-Series 4K TVs
VIZIO 2016 Smartcast M-Series 4K TVs
LG 2016 OLED 4K TVs - G6, E6, C6 & B6 Models*
LG 2016 Super UHD 4K TVs*

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Yea it has been able to since the tv came out. There was never a point where the tv needed a device for vudu. Dolby vision is HDR.
I am wondering why you thought it couldn't?
shortyg83 is offline  
post #37136 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
I'm pretty sure VUDU has had HDR support on the Vizio (in DV format) since the get go, don't see how that is news.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #37137 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Yea it has been able to since the tv came out. There was never a point where the tv needed a device for vudu.
Understandable but I thought the TV could only stream (smartcast) 4k SDR content directly but an external device needed was needed for all 4k HDR streaming. That is why I bought a Xbox S so I could stream Vudu , YouTube and Netflix HDR

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Last edited by ffactoryxx; 12-27-2016 at 06:55 PM.
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #37138 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,393
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6553 Post(s)
Liked: 6297
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
Understandable but I thought the TV could only stream (smartcast) 4k SDR content directly but an external device needed was needed for all 4k HDR streaming. That is why I bought a Xbox S so I could stream Vudu , YouTube and Netflix HDR

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk


The only thing the TV can't stream is YouTube HDR and it would have been cheaper to get a Chromecast Ultra for that. Otherwise Vudu and NetFlix stream DV which the TV supports via its "base" casting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
reallynotnick likes this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #37139 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
The only thing the TV can't stream is YouTube HDR and it would have been cheaper to get a Chromecast Ultra for that. Otherwise Vudu and NetFlix stream DV which the TV supports via its "base" casting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well thanks for the info!

How about Amazon hdr if there is such a thing.

Will the TV stream MKV files or HDR context or other containers?

The reason I got an Xbox S was because I sold my Xbox one Original and controller for the same it cost for a new S model with battlefield this weekend. Now I have a udh player.





Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #37140 of 64168 Old 12-27-2016, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
Understandable but I thought the TV could only stream (smartcast) 4k SDR content directly but an external device needed was needed for all 4k HDR streaming. That is why I bought a Xbox S so I could stream Vudu , YouTube and Netflix HDR

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Weird the Xbox S can't stream Vudu or Youtube in HDR. And for Netflix it would be worse than just using the tv.
The tv can stream Dolby Vision via Netflix and VUDU.
The only device that can stream hdr from youtube is chromecast ultra
shortyg83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off