Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1254 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288502Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #37591 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
MCF34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven Crimson View Post
It's gonne be 45ms. You ain't gonna get sub-40, I don't think. If HDR input lag is a priority, I don't think this is the best TV for you. That being said, the difference between 39 and 45 wouldn't be drastic or possibly even noticeable. Like, forexample my VT60 is 45ms, and this TV in HDMI1-4 is 38ms. I can play on both just fine. Not ideal, but fine.

So I hooked up XBOX S this weekend and as far as I can tell it looks awesome on the 50" P. Only plyaing Battlefield right now. I have it connected to HDMI 1. Not even sure I have turned on 4K on the XBOX or on the set for HDMI 1. So to be clear HDMI will give me low input lag but no HDR, correct? With input 1 can I still get 4K as long as I turn it on in the xbox menu? Is there anything I need to do with the Vizio menu to get the 4K with HDMI?


Oh and I have local dimming and clear action OFF. Tried it with Clear Action and and did not like it.

Jutter is gone..zipadeedoodah zipadeeday!!!
MCF34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37592 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Official Vizio 2016 P Series Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCF34 View Post
So I hooked up XBOX S this weekend and as far as I can tell it looks awesome on the 50" P. Only plyaing Battlefield right now. I have it connected to HDMI 1. Not even sure I have turned on 4K on the XBOX or on the set for HDMI 1. So to be clear HDMI will give me low input lag but no HDR, correct? With input 1 can I still get 4K as long as I turn it on in the xbox menu? Is there anything I need to do with the Vizio menu to get the 4K with HDMI?





Oh and I have local dimming and clear action OFF. Tried it with Clear Action and and did not like it.


Only hdmi 5 will not do hdr (it still does 4K), but it has the lowest input lag. HDMI 1-4 will all do 4K and hdr but with a higher input lag. Nothing to do on the Vizio as far as enabling 4K, that's done through the Xbox one s


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
AirborneMaikai is offline  
post #37593 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcholthaus View Post
Honest question, what are you trying to cast that only has HDR10 support?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Some Netflix shows are only HDR10 I believe and FandangoNOW is HDR10 also.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37594 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
MCF34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirborneMaikai View Post
Only hdmi 5 will not do hdr (it still does 4K), but it has the lowest input lag. HDMI 1-4 will all do 4K and hdr but with a higher input lag. Nothing to do on the Vizio as far as enabling 4K, that's done through the Xbox one s


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you...as a total old schooler (XBOX 3 previous console) and playing Battelfied online do you think I would notice any different in input lag between 1-4 vs. 5?

Thanks!

Jutter is gone..zipadeedoodah zipadeeday!!!
MCF34 is offline  
post #37595 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCF34 View Post
Thank you...as a total old schooler (XBOX 3 previous console) and playing Battelfied online do you think I would notice any different in input lag between 1-4 vs. 5?



Thanks!


I personally have not noticed a difference. I've just left it on hdmi 1 for now because after testing it out I could not tell the difference, even when playing multiplayer online. The only time I notice a difference is when coming from my pc to the Xbox. No matter what others try and convince you of, only real way to find out is try it out for yourself and decide. I also have a 200mb connection though so I don't have all that additional internet lag a lot of people experience


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
AirborneMaikai is offline  
post #37596 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
MCF34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirborneMaikai View Post
I personally have not noticed a difference. I've just left it on hdmi 1 for now because after testing it out I could not tell the difference, even when playing multiplayer online. The only time I notice a difference is when coming from my pc to the Xbox. No matter what others try and convince you of, only real way to find out is try it out for yourself and decide. I also have a 200mb connection though so I don't have all that additional internet lag a lot of people experience


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks!

Jutter is gone..zipadeedoodah zipadeeday!!!
MCF34 is offline  
post #37597 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Date-Up:

Finally saw HDR on my brother's Sony. He pulled up the NetFlix App on his Sony and watched part of 'Jessica Jones'?

It looked awesome (as did Jessica). FWIW, I wouldn't be able to point out if it was HDR-DV or HDR-10. His Sony doesn't have Full-Array Backlighting, either!



.


You should be able to point out of its dv or hdr10 since you know his tv can't do dv lol.
But what did you think of his picture vs your picture. And what picture mode was his tv on?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shortyg83 is offline  
post #37598 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,024
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1749 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogolisk View Post
The tablet hasn't rebooted since the new update. Which is a good news I guess. I don't want to swap a brand new one for a re-certified one.

OTOH, anyone knows how to pair bluetooth headphones with the TV? Because, AFAIK, the tablet control the TV via wifi, so what use is for the bluetooth on the TV other than audio?
This Vizio unlike my old XVT only has a Bluetooth receiver not a transmitter. You can cast BT to the P series but can't transmit to headphones.
naustin is offline  
post #37599 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,985
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3322 Post(s)
Liked: 6170
It's a public beta... it should be better IMO but it is what it is. Keep rolling the updates Matt.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #37600 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordj View Post
Is there any HDR 10 casting app that doesn't support DV as an alternative for every title? What exactly are we missing out on by no HDR 10 casting?

Netflix is all DV & HDR10, Amazon has no casting, VUDU is DV only for now. HDR 10 can be streamed from multiple devices now...
This maybe isn't helpful, but you can stream HDR10 using the Roku Ultra.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
seinberg is offline  
post #37601 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCF34 View Post
Thank you...as a total old schooler (XBOX 3 previous console) and playing Battelfied online do you think I would notice any different in input lag between 1-4 vs. 5?

Thanks!
You can sorta feel it, but after the first 5 minutes you get used to it.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
steba is offline  
post #37602 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 03:23 PM
Member
 
jfcarbel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Viziocast remote is showing 1080p no matter if I send 720p or 4K directly from my Fire TV unit to the HDMI ports.

I thought it should display what is being sent to TV. Is this a software bug perhaps in remote?
jfcarbel is offline  
post #37603 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrCoolface View Post

Have you seen HDR content on his Sony?
How much better is HDR on the Vizio?


Date-Up:

Finally saw HDR on my brother's Sony. He pulled up the NetFlix App on his Sony and watched part of 'Jessica Jones'?

It looked awesome (as did Jessica). FWIW, I wouldn't be able to point out if it was HDR-DV or HDR-10. His Sony doesn't have Full-Array Backlighting, either!



.
Well Jessica Jones isn't in HDR lol. It's just 4k. I know uhd is confusing. Uhd just means 4k at least. It has to say hdr or dolby vision.
Micker99 is offline  
post #37604 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scitek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micker99 View Post
Well Jessica Jones isn't in HDR lol. It's just 4k. I know uhd is confusing. Uhd just means 4k at least. It has to say hdr or dolby vision.
Jessica Jones is now in Dolby Vision, as is Luke Cage.
shoman94 and reallynotnick like this.
scitek is offline  
post #37605 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 04:31 PM
Member
 
StraylightX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optum88 View Post
New problem with tablet after the last update: Does not stay off when docked (will turn off, but restart). And if off and undocked, it will turn back on when place it back on the dock. Anyone with the same issue?
Yes I'd noticed it and mentioned it in a recent post. Not a major issue to me personally, but wasn't sure if they did it intentionally or it's a glitch.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
StraylightX is offline  
post #37606 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Date-Up:

Finally saw HDR on my brother's Sony. He pulled up the NetFlix App on his Sony and watched part of 'Jessica Jones'?

It looked awesome (as did Jessica). FWIW, I wouldn't be able to point out if it was HDR-DV or HDR-10. His Sony doesn't have Full-Array Backlighting, either!



.
How about relative to the Vizio?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
seinberg is offline  
post #37607 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
Viziocast remote is showing 1080p no matter if I send 720p or 4K directly from my Fire TV unit to the HDMI ports.

I thought it should display what is being sent to TV. Is this a software bug perhaps in remote?
I thought Fire TV didn't do 4K?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
seinberg is offline  
post #37608 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 42
About HDMI 5, I have my steam link connected to it and man what an incredible looking picture with the 4k upscaling. Also the input lag even using the steam link is impressive.

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
Srycantthnkof1 is offline  
post #37609 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,774
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2375 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by seinberg View Post
I thought Fire TV didn't do 4K?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk


The latest gen Fire TV is 4K... just not HDR.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
YoMichael likes this.
FilmMixer is online now  
post #37610 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
methos75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Any word on the release of the official HDR fix for the Xbox One?
methos75 is offline  
post #37611 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Has anyone tested what the PC Mode lag is for 4:4:4 chroma?
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #37612 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've been a AVS Forum lurker for a couple years and this is my first post.
I was hoping you guys could help me with a problem i am having.
I've had the P65 for about 6 months now with no problems until recently with the tablet firmware reboot problem.
The tablet updated again to fix the problem, but now the tablet will not hold a charge nor turn on. I have tried hard resetting the tablet with no luck. I tried charging with 1.2a, 2.1a usb outlets as well as the wireless charger and it will just get to the boot screen, play the turning on sound and then shut off and restart the whole process over and over.
Is there any work around or solution to this?
thanks.
jriz562 is offline  
post #37613 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
pwishart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriz562 View Post
I've been a AVS Forum lurker for a couple years and this is my first post.
I was hoping you guys could help me with a problem i am having.
I've had the P65 for about 6 months now with no problems until recently with the tablet firmware reboot problem.
The tablet updated again to fix the problem, but now the tablet will not hold a charge nor turn on. I have tried hard resetting the tablet with no luck. I tried charging with 1.2a, 2.1a usb outlets as well as the wireless charger and it will just get to the boot screen, play the turning on sound and then shut off and restart the whole process over and over.
Is there any work around or solution to this?
thanks.
Call Vizio and ask for a replacement tablet, the battery probably got fried.
Ph8te and HVAC Guru like this.
pwishart is offline  
post #37614 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 06:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Has anyone seen a vertical blinds sort of effect when the camera pans left or right during regular TV shows/sports?

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #37615 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 07:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Has anyone seen a vertical blinds sort of effect when the camera pans left or right during regular TV shows/sports?
Yes, apparently it's a byproduct of FALD.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #37616 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post

Has anyone seen a vertical blinds sort of effect when the
camera pans left or right during regular TV shows/sports?



Yes. Do you dare play The Panel Lotto Game? It can be minimum on one panel and worse on the next and anything else in between. Do Firmware releases help or hurt the problem? Anyone?

Even after seeing it and looking for it at first with my P50, I barely see it from time to time with normal viewing.

For me, it just barely slipped into my 'Reasonable Acceptable Seal of Approval'.



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #37617 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 07:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1852 Post(s)
Liked: 1117
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Yes. Do you dare play The Panel Lotto Game? It can be minimum on one panel and worse on the next and anything else in between. Do Firmware releases help or hurt the problem? Anyone?

Even after seeing it and looking for it at first with my P50, I barely see it from time to time with normal viewing.

For me, it just barely slipped into my 'Reasonable Acceptable Seal of Approval'.



.
I only see if I'm looking for it.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #37618 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 07:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by seinberg View Post

How about relative to the Vizio?


From having seen Cosmos LaundroMATT and the Marco Polo intro, pretty much the same. That Sony model is not Full-Array Backlit either.




.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #37619 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 07:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
From having seen Cosmos LaundroMATT and the Marco Polo intro, pretty much the same. That Sony model is not Full-Array Backlit either.




.
Interesting. Which Sony?

Sent from my XR6P10 using Tapatalk
seinberg is offline  
post #37620 of 64119 Old 01-02-2017, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,024
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1749 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
Viziocast remote is showing 1080p no matter if I send 720p or 4K directly from my Fire TV unit to the HDMI ports.

I thought it should display what is being sent to TV. Is this a software bug perhaps in remote?
My remote shows 4K from my FireTV2.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off