Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1255 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288527Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #37621 of 64230 Old 01-02-2017, 09:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,462
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6584 Post(s)
Liked: 6370
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
Viziocast remote is showing 1080p no matter if I send 720p or 4K directly from my Fire TV unit to the HDMI ports.



I thought it should display what is being sent to TV. Is this a software bug perhaps in remote?


If this is for Amazon streaming, you have to select the uhd tagged entries (sometimes you have to scroll wayyyyyyyyy down to find them). Otherwise you will only get 1080p max. Amazon separates their shows/movies so that you have to select the specific UHD entry in their app. If this is for NetFlix you need to make sure that you are on the 4K plan. All the above of course is assuming you have fast enough internet service (minimum 25Mbps down recommended) to get the streams to ramp up to UHD levels.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37622 of 64230 Old 01-02-2017, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,933
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by seinberg View Post

Interesting. Which Sony?


The 2015 XBR-75X850C which now has Android 6.

He's got a decent collection of 3D discs, so any new TV he will get down the road has got be able to do 3D.

Maybe Vizio will next come out with 4D (Side-By-Side 2D Screens)?



.
seinberg likes this.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #37623 of 64230 Old 01-02-2017, 09:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,933
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post

What did you think of his picture vs your picture.
And what picture mode was his TV on?



The Sony pic looks pretty darn good for a non-Full Array Backlighting. I'd give the edge to the 2016 P-Series straight-up, but his 75" Sony is pretty close, otherwise. I think our Blacks are better.

I don't know what pic mode he was on. The few time I tried navigating that Sony menu is not very user friendly.
I need to attend, "Sony School of Menu Navigation" to get the hang of it.


.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37624 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 12:00 AM
Member
 
jfcarbel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
If this is for Amazon streaming, you have to select the uhd tagged entries (sometimes you have to scroll wayyyyyyyyy down to find them). Otherwise you will only get 1080p max. Amazon separates their shows/movies so that you have to select the specific UHD entry in their app. If this is for NetFlix you need to make sure that you are on the 4K plan. All the above of course is assuming you have fast enough internet service (minimum 25Mbps down recommended) to get the streams to ramp up to UHD levels.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Its Netflix and files from my network drive via Kodi. Already set Netflix to high quality. Whats more confusing is the 720p as certainly it should not show as 1080p input.

Seems like an issue with my tablet software. Although all other settings work and TV responds so I know its connected to TV.
jfcarbel is offline  
post #37625 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 12:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,462
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6584 Post(s)
Liked: 6370
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
Its Netflix and files from my network drive via Kodi. Already set Netflix to high quality. Whats more confusing is the 720p as certainly it should not show as 1080p input.



Seems like an issue with my tablet software. Although all other settings work and TV responds so I know its connected to TV.


I'm not sure that the FTV supports 4K file playback (or what it's limits may be). You may want to check the output settings on Kodi to ensure it's set to "native" and not a hard resolution. At least to me this sounds like an issue with the software and FTV and not the P series.

For Netflix I would test casting a 4K show which would point to the FTV having issues, not the TV if it works.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is offline  
post #37626 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 12:32 AM
Member
 
ImperatorBellus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am currently choosing between the 49 inch Samsung 8500 and the 55 inch Vizio P Series, I will go with the P Series if it can do at least 20-39ms input lag on 4k+HDR on, does anyone know if it can do this? I know there are still firmware updates that need to come out to fix the input lag when on 4k+HDR.
ImperatorBellus is offline  
post #37627 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 01:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
pwishart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I am currently choosing between the 49 inch Samsung 8500 and the 55 inch Vizio P Series, I will go with the P Series if it can do at least 20-39ms input lag on 4k+HDR on, does anyone know if it can do this? I know there are still firmware updates that need to come out to fix the input lag when on 4k+HDR.
After the update the lag will be about 45ms with HDR, that is the fastest the P series will get.
pwishart is offline  
post #37628 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 02:07 AM
Member
 
ImperatorBellus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwishart View Post
After the update the lag will be about 45ms with HDR, that is the fastest the P series will get.
I won't buy it then, anything over 39ms is unacceptable for me and I really want a good HDR set so looks like I will buy the 49 inch Samsung 8500 this year and a super high end 60 or 65 inch OLED in July 2018.
ImperatorBellus is offline  
post #37629 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 02:53 AM
 
Sbuchanan813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Official Vizio 2016 P Series Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I won't buy it then, anything over 39ms is unacceptable for me and I really want a good HDR set so looks like I will buy the 49 inch Samsung 8500 this year and a super high end 60 or 65 inch OLED in July 2018.


Do You have a p series currently ? Not sure why you're here if not lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sbuchanan813 is offline  
post #37630 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 03:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I won't buy it then, anything over 39ms is unacceptable for me and I really want a good HDR set so looks like I will buy the 49 inch Samsung 8500 this year and a super high end 60 or 65 inch OLED in July 2018.
Lol MLG pro. That's a weird ms limit to worry about.

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
Fish106 likes this.
Srycantthnkof1 is offline  
post #37631 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 05:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
FlasHBurN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I won't buy it then, anything over 39ms is unacceptable for me and I really want a good HDR set so looks like I will buy the 49 inch Samsung 8500 this year and a super high end 60 or 65 inch OLED in July 2018.
No one here gives a **** if you are going to buy it or not. You are in the wrong thread (besides, this thread has about 60MS of latency).
FlasHBurN is offline  
post #37632 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 06:25 AM
Member
 
ImperatorBellus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm not in the wrong thread, I was contemplating buying it but now that I know the final update to reduce input lag on HDR can only get 45ms isn't good enough for me, 39ms is the maximum I will go. I'm sure TV's, many more could do 120hz at 1080p this year anyway with more new models, some Sony's can already and Sony is making OLED's this year and models released in April,May,July 2018 will probably be able to do 120-144hz at 4k for use as a computer monitor.
ImperatorBellus is offline  
post #37633 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 06:29 AM
Member
 
bogolisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I won't buy it then, anything over 39ms is unacceptable for me and I really want a good HDR set so looks like I will buy the 49 inch Samsung 8500 this year and a super high end 60 or 65 inch OLED in July 2018.
Uh... the thread's title said "Vizio 2016 Owners Thread". Can you read? Even if English is my 3rd language, I can still understand the title. You should probably spend more time in grade-1 English class then playing games.
bogolisk is offline  
post #37634 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
HVAC Guru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Let's not get nasty now, take the high road. Don't feed the trolls.
thomasfxlt and theArsenal like this.

Living Room: Sony XBR55X800E / Sony UBPX800 / Vizio SB3651-E6
HT Setup: LG OLED55E6P / Panasonic DMP-UB900 / PS4 Pro / Denon X4200W / KEF Q700's / KEF Q200c / KEF Q100 Surrounds / Rythmik FVX15
HVAC Guru is offline  
post #37635 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 07:19 AM
Member
 
bogolisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Bluetooth, ubs, etc.

I'm wondering if others have creative ideas to take advantage of the secondary features:
  • bluetooth: bluetooth is not needed for the tablet-remote, what can one use Vizio's BT for?
  • usb 2.0: Is it powered when the TV is off (in quick-start mode)? if yes, it can be used for low powered devices such as IR repeater.
  • usb 3.0: seems like such a waste on this TV? what can one use it for?
bogolisk is offline  
post #37636 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 07:32 AM
Member
 
johnnytex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
It Resets everyone back at the Factory for better productivity.


Butt, Siriusly... It resets the Display and SmartCast back to
out-of-box defaults. Exception is with all other user-downloaded
Apps. They remain.

There's a 'Back-up and Reset' function on the Tablet under 'Settings'.
It's the last one under the 'Personal' section. I have not done a 'Reset'
there, so I don't know what exactly happens.

.
Sorry I meant Service Reset.
How is that different than Factory Reset?
johnnytex is offline  
post #37637 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
MCF34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I'm not in the wrong thread, I was contemplating buying it but now that I know the final update to reduce input lag on HDR can only get 45ms isn't good enough for me, 39ms is the maximum I will go. I'm sure TV's, many more could do 120hz at 1080p this year anyway with more new models, some Sony's can already and Sony is making OLED's this year and models released in April,May,July 2018 will probably be able to do 120-144hz at 4k for use as a computer monitor.
Yes...0.06ms increase in input lag would be a total deal breaker for me!!!! You can't even process the thought of blinking an eye in 0.06ms.
tdwilli1 likes this.

Jutter is gone..zipadeedoodah zipadeeday!!!
MCF34 is offline  
post #37638 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,933
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnytex View Post

Sorry. I meant Service Reset.
How is that different than Factory Reset?



Oh... that's if you're having a bad go at it with Customer Service. Select Service Reset and another jumps in.

Wheely though, it's been posted that it resets the Display only. I've been waiting for NetFlix to freeze on me to try it out, but nuttin' yet.



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #37639 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,326
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwishart View Post
After the update the lag will be about 45ms with HDR, that is the fastest the P series will get.
That was a conservative estimate by Matt from Vizio. As soon as this beta firmware becomes officially available to all owners we'll hopefully get updated numbers from Rtings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I won't buy it then, anything over 39ms is unacceptable for me and I really want a good HDR set so looks like I will buy the 49 inch Samsung 8500 this year and a super high end 60 or 65 inch OLED in July 2018.
The best Rtings got on ports 1-4 using SDR content was 38ms with ALED on. Since PS4 and XBOS use HDR10, the P series should be able to slide under 40ms as it adds maybe 1ms of lag. DV HDR processing has some additional lag built in that would bring it closer to the 45ms number.

65C8P l 65B6P l P55-C1 l Shockwafe Ultra 9.2 & Elite 7.2 l XB1 X l PS4 Pro l Switch
bpmurr is offline  
post #37640 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I'm not in the wrong thread, I was contemplating buying it but now that I know the final update to reduce input lag on HDR can only get 45ms isn't good enough for me, 39ms is the maximum I will go. I'm sure TV's, many more could do 120hz at 1080p this year anyway with more new models, some Sony's can already and Sony is making OLED's this year and models released in April,May,July 2018 will probably be able to do 120-144hz at 4k for use as a computer monitor.
I don't think you understand how short 6ms really is. That is never significant with respect to Human reaction times. You have set an arbitrary limit that will limit your choices for no good reason.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #37641 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 09:05 AM
Member
 
jfcarbel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
I'm not sure that the FTV supports 4K file playback (or what it's limits may be). You may want to check the output settings on Kodi to ensure it's set to "native" and not a hard resolution. At least to me this sounds like an issue with the software and FTV and not the P series.

For Netflix I would test casting a 4K show which would point to the FTV having issues, not the TV if it works.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, it supports 4K playback and I can see in the Kodi interface that it shows its outputing 4K.

Also, there must be issue with remote as even without 4K like 720p or lower rez, the remote still shows 1080p.
jfcarbel is offline  
post #37642 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
vulsker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Have you tried Settings > Apps > NetFlix and 'Clear Data' (which will also clear Cache)?


.
I have no idea why I didn't think of that but I just did last night and it worked like a charm!! Thank you! lol

__________________________________________________

Vizio P65-F1 - Vizio P55-C1 - Xbox One X - Playstation 4 Pro
vulsker is offline  
post #37643 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,462
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6584 Post(s)
Liked: 6370
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
Yes, it supports 4K playback and I can see in the Kodi interface that it shows its outputing 4K.



Also, there must be issue with remote as even without 4K like 720p or lower rez, the remote still shows 1080p.


Did you check the FTV settings to make sure it wasn't set at a "hard" resolution output? Again, I would try casting 4K (not using FTV) but built in GoogleCast on the TV. If you are able to get UHD from that, you know it's the FTV or something between the FTV and TV.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is offline  
post #37644 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
adeelr26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seinberg View Post
How do you like the soundbar?

Sent from my XR6P10 using Tapatalk
I do like it a lot. I chose it based on Wirecutter's write up and it sounds amazing. One thing to note is that is only supports DD and DTS via the optical cable and not HDMI. I would prefer to connect it to the TV via HDMI and use CEC but because of this I've connected it via optical cable instead. I originally got it for a 55' inch set but now have upgraded to the P65 and it seems a bit small but I do like how the trim on the bar and the Vizio match so they do look good together. For my one bedroom apartment this is sufficient but if I had more space I would likely opt for something larger.

I purchased a Roku Premiere+ over the weekend and I can't seem to get it to output audio in anything other than stereo, regardless of the app I'm using. I'm using the "high speed" HDMI cable that it came with. The Vizio Smartcast App is what I'm referencing for determining the audio format being output. Has anyone else faced this issue? I was able to get Dolby Digital when looking at the same content casted from the Vizio tablet.

Thanks

Display: Vizio P65-C1
Audio: Vizio SB4051-C0
adeelr26 is offline  
post #37645 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
abouttreefitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I won't buy it then, anything over 39ms is unacceptable for me and I really want a good HDR set so looks like I will buy the 49 inch Samsung 8500 this year and a super high end 60 or 65 inch OLED in July 2018.
abouttreefitty is offline  
post #37646 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 01:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeelr26 View Post
I do like it a lot. I chose it based on Wirecutter's write up and it sounds amazing. One thing to note is that is only supports DD and DTS via the optical cable and not HDMI. I would prefer to connect it to the TV via HDMI and use CEC but because of this I've connected it via optical cable instead. I originally got it for a 55' inch set but now have upgraded to the P65 and it seems a bit small but I do like how the trim on the bar and the Vizio match so they do look good together. For my one bedroom apartment this is sufficient but if I had more space I would likely opt for something larger.

I purchased a Roku Premiere+ over the weekend and I can't seem to get it to output audio in anything other than stereo, regardless of the app I'm using. I'm using the "high speed" HDMI cable that it came with. The Vizio Smartcast App is what I'm referencing for determining the audio format being output. Has anyone else faced this issue? I was able to get Dolby Digital when looking at the same content casted from the Vizio tablet.

Thanks

Display: Vizio P65-C1
Audio: Vizio SB4051-C0
Are you sure the content supports it? I'm able to get 5.1 via a Roku Ultra to HDMI 4 that then feeds audio into the SB4551 via HDMI ARC. The soundbar registers 5.1 in the smart cast app. But the content has to support 5.1 audio.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
seinberg is offline  
post #37647 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1273 Post(s)
Liked: 1341
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I won't buy it then, anything over 39ms is unacceptable for me and I really want a good HDR set so looks like I will buy the 49 inch Samsung 8500 this year and a super high end 60 or 65 inch OLED in July 2018.
GMAFB. You can tell the difference between 39ms and 45ms -- in other words, six one-thousandths of a second? Sure.

Hey, it's your money, so if you think that difference matters, then more power to ya.
Schwa is offline  
post #37648 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 02:28 PM
Member
 
jfcarbel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Just got my P65, can anyone comment on if there AV receiver can upscale better than the Vizio for 720p and 1080p sources?

I need to replace my very old Pioneer Elite and want to see what provides better than Vizio upscaling.
jfcarbel is offline  
post #37649 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
I don't think you understand how short 6ms really is. That is never significant with respect to Human reaction times. You have set an arbitrary limit that will limit your choices for no good reason.
If you told Usain Bolt he could gain 6ms reaction time he wouldn't even care. He is a professional sprinter where hundredths of a second matter but thousandths of a second don't. They don't even keep track of the 100m dash world record to the thousandth of a second. Hundredths of a second is plenty to distinguish the winner.

The argument that 6ms matters is just not logical and is an unreasonable conclusion. I would even argue that 17ms which is 1 frame of 60 FPS video is not even significant. The whole point of 60 FPS video over 30 FPS video is that it was scientifically proven that most brains can't process motion faster than 1/30 of second.

Some would argue "why use 120 FPS then". Actually I think that is a good point. However, in the case of the Vizio P-series 1080p @ 120 FPS opens up several features that no other resolution or frame rate has. 1080p @ 120 FPS allows low input lag without using GLL and it has the best motion handling without needing to resort to the motion interpolation controls.

How many HDR games are there that actually work completely with 4K @ 60 FPS HDR right now? I think there is one for the computer(Tomb Raider) and maybe a few for the consoles. Why is it again that you are so up in arms over HDR with gaming right now? It barely even exists at the moment.
Schwa, thomasfxlt and kepowers1 like this.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #37650 of 64230 Old 01-03-2017, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
thrustbucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
I'm not in the wrong thread, I was contemplating buying it but now that I know the final update to reduce input lag on HDR can only get 45ms isn't good enough for me, 39ms is the maximum I will go. I'm sure TV's, many more could do 120hz at 1080p this year anyway with more new models, some Sony's can already and Sony is making OLED's this year and models released in April,May,July 2018 will probably be able to do 120-144hz at 4k for use as a computer monitor.
There is no way on God's green earth you would notice the difference with .6 ms of lag if you are a human (are you?). I bet in a double blind test, with a $1,000 prize, you could not point out which tv was 45 vs 39 ms of lag.

(also, I can't prove it, but I would be very very skeptical that the Samsung HDR gaming claims are legit. HDR introduces needs for extra processing. Having the EXACT SAME lag with or without it makes no sense at all, yet that's what the claim is for Samsung)
Schwa, mpgxsvcd and HVAC Guru like this.
thrustbucket is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off