Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1256 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288526Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #37651 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrustbucket View Post
There is no way on God's green earth you would notice the difference with .6 ms of lag if you are a human (are you?). I bet in a double blind test, with a $1,000 prize, you could not point out which tv was 45 vs 39 ms of lag.

(also, I can't prove it, but I would be very very skeptical that the Samsung HDR gaming claims are legit. HDR introduces needs for extra processing. Having the EXACT SAME lag with or without it makes no sense at all, yet that's what the claim is for Samsung)
I 100% agree.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37652 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 223



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Optum88 likes this.
AirborneMaikai is offline  
post #37653 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,211
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5073 Post(s)
Liked: 3583
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
Just got my P65, can anyone comment on if there AV receiver can upscale better than the Vizio for 720p and 1080p sources?

I need to replace my very old Pioneer Elite and want to see what provides better than Vizio upscaling.
I use my pioneer to upscale. I have my TiVo output 1080p and then the AVR upscales to 4k. I think it's slightly better that the display.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37654 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1784 Post(s)
Liked: 1139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
Just got my P65, can anyone comment on if there AV receiver can upscale better than the Vizio for 720p and 1080p sources?

I need to replace my very old Pioneer Elite and want to see what provides better than Vizio upscaling.
I'm not sure the Vizio is any worse than other devices at upscaling. Remember with a 65 inch set upscaling to 4K, a garbage signal is going to look worse. My mother-in-law still talks about the "great" picture on her 24 inch portable TV.
mpgxsvcd likes this.
naustin is online now  
post #37655 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Will vizio update their p lineup this year or improve their existing?

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk
Sharkychups is offline  
post #37656 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperatorBellus View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwishart View Post
After the update the lag will be about 45ms with HDR, that is the fastest the P series will get.
I won't buy it then, anything over 39ms is unacceptable for me and I really want a good HDR set so looks like I will buy the 49 inch Samsung 8500 this year and a super high end 60 or 65 inch OLED in July 2018.
I hope you plan on sitting 4 feet from your set. Seriously? I have repeated myself over and over. Motion is as important or more important than input lag when playing video games if this is your number 1 priority. 2016 samsung are very weak in this department...
Friendlys is offline  
post #37657 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,137
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkychups View Post
Will vizio update their p lineup this year or improve their existing?

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk
I hear that they only release new models every other year or so. Since the "P" series was released in 2016 I don't think they'll release a new model until 2018.

lujan
570 Ultra HD
726 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #37658 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
geodon005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mt. Prospect, IL
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I use my pioneer to upscale. I have my TiVo output 1080p and then the AVR upscales to 4k. I think it's slightly better that the display.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
I have a question about your setup for upscaling; I have sent you a PM about it.
geodon005 is offline  
post #37659 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 04:44 PM
Member
 
sniper_06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hello All,
I shut my system down today (Vizio P50-C1), and received a firmware update (didn't catch the Ver on screen) I'm NOT on the BETA list, has Vizio finally released a new Firmware Ver.. under Display Info on the tablet, Version 2.0.13.13, and under FRC Version 2.0.13.13. Are either of these the firmware, and if so, is this New?

If this is a new Firmware Ver, should I do a reset on the TV to avoid issues?

Thanks, Phil B.
sniper_06 is offline  
post #37660 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 05:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniper_06 View Post
Hello All,
I shut my system down today (Vizio P50-C1), and received a firmware update (didn't catch the Ver on screen) I'm NOT on the BETA list, has Vizio finally released a new Firmware Ver.. under Display Info on the tablet, Version 2.0.13.13, and under FRC Version 2.0.13.13. Are either of these the firmware, and if so, is this New?

If this is a new Firmware Ver, should I do a reset on the TV to avoid issues?

Thanks, Phil B.
My P65 got that Firmware back in August, it's not a beta. If memory serves, I believe it's the one that added HDR10 support to our displays.
tazzarias is offline  
post #37661 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 05:21 PM
Member
 
sniper_06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazzarias View Post
My P65 got that Firmware back in August, it's not a beta. If memory serves, I believe it's the one that added HDR10 support to our displays.
Why am I just getting this update?? lol
Thanks, Phil B.
sniper_06 is offline  
post #37662 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rockaway1836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkychups View Post
Will vizio update their p lineup this year or improve their existing?

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk
Some people think that because they skipped one year ( 2015 ) that a pattern has been established. The fact is no one here (except Matt ) knows for sure if there will be a 2017 model..
Srycantthnkof1 and agerico3 like this.
rockaway1836 is offline  
post #37663 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,211
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5073 Post(s)
Liked: 3583
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniper_06 View Post
Hello All,
I shut my system down today (Vizio P50-C1), and received a firmware update (didn't catch the Ver on screen) I'm NOT on the BETA list, has Vizio finally released a new Firmware Ver.. under Display Info on the tablet, Version 2.0.13.13, and under FRC Version 2.0.13.13. Are either of these the firmware, and if so, is this New?

If this is a new Firmware Ver, should I do a reset on the TV to avoid issues?

Thanks, Phil B.
That's way behind. You can download the latest full release from Vizio. It's version 2.2.7.4.
Here is the link https://support.vizio.com/s/article/...nformation-215

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
thomasfxlt likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #37664 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 05:29 PM
Member
 
sniper_06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That's way behind. You can download the latest full release from Vizio. It's version 2.2.7.4.
Here is the link https://support.vizio.com/s/article/...nformation-215

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
WAIT A MINUTE.... I thought something looked/sounded funny, I WAS on 2.2.7.4!? Am I looking in the correct location on the tablet.. and if so, how/why did I fall back in Firmware Ver.. is that even possible?!
Thanks, Phil B.
sniper_06 is offline  
post #37665 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 05:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,211
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5073 Post(s)
Liked: 3583
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniper_06 View Post
WAIT A MINUTE.... I thought something looked/sounded funny, I WAS on 2.2.7.4!? Am I looking in the correct location on the tablet.. and if so, how/why did I fall back in Firmware Ver.. is that even possible?!
Thanks, Phil B.
I doubt you went backwards....

It's under display information

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #37666 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
HVAC Guru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Anyone running Kodi on the tablet?

It keeps dropping connection between the tablet and TV, and giving me a message saying something went wrong.

My gf is super frustrated with the P, the HDMI issues, the tablet and it's glitches, and just how everything does what it does. She misses the 2015 M and the simplicity of it.
I understand her frustrations, I didn't think it would be as buggy as it is. I'm trying to explain to her that we are on the bleeding edge of this technology, but she's frustrated. I may have to just break down and get an external device for now, before she loses it, and I lose it on her LOL

Living Room: Sony XBR55X800E / Sony UBPX800 / Vizio SB3651-E6
HT Setup: LG OLED55E6P / Panasonic DMP-UB900 / PS4 Pro / Denon X4200W / KEF Q700's / KEF Q200c / KEF Q100 Surrounds / Rythmik FVX15

Last edited by HVAC Guru; 01-03-2017 at 07:42 PM.
HVAC Guru is offline  
post #37667 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 05:52 PM
Member
 
jfcarbel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC Guru View Post
Anyone running Kodi on the tablet?

It keeps dropping connection between the tablet and TV, and giving me a message saying something went wrong.

My gf is super frustrated with the tablet, its glitches, the HDMI issues, and just how everything does what it does. She misses the 2015 M and the simplicity of it. I understand her frustrations, I didn't think it would be as buggy as it is. I'm trying to explain to her that we are on the bleeding edge of this technology, but she's frustrated. I may have to just break down and get an external device for now, before she loses it, and I lose it on her LOL
I run Kodi on a Fire TV Box and I love the interface and Fire TV supports Netflix in 4K.
HVAC Guru likes this.
jfcarbel is offline  
post #37668 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 06:20 PM
Member
 
sniper_06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I doubt you went backwards....

It's under display information

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
SO... Any Ideas anyone?! lol
Thanks, Phil B.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VIZIO_FIRMWARE_JAN-03-2017.jpg
Views:	255
Size:	293.2 KB
ID:	1871889  
sniper_06 is offline  
post #37669 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
HVAC Guru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
I run Kodi on a Fire TV Box and I love the interface and Fire TV supports Netflix in 4K.
Interesting, good to know. I don't know much about them, I've never seen a Fire TV stick running in person to form an opinion or experience it for myself.

My brother-in-law runs Kodi on his phone, he cast's it to Chromecast plugged into my old 2015 M, seems to work fine. That's what gave me the idea to try it on the tablet.

Living Room: Sony XBR55X800E / Sony UBPX800 / Vizio SB3651-E6
HT Setup: LG OLED55E6P / Panasonic DMP-UB900 / PS4 Pro / Denon X4200W / KEF Q700's / KEF Q200c / KEF Q100 Surrounds / Rythmik FVX15
HVAC Guru is offline  
post #37670 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
yanknuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC Guru View Post
Anyone running Kodi on the tablet?

It keeps dropping connection between the tablet and TV, and giving me a message saying something went wrong.

My gf is super frustrated with the tablet, its glitches, the HDMI issues, and just how everything does what it does. She misses the 2015 M and the simplicity of it.
I understand her frustrations, I didn't think it would be as buggy as it is. I'm trying to explain to her that we are on the bleeding edge of this technology, but she's frustrated. I may have to just break down and get an external device for now, before she loses it, and I lose it on her LOL
You can always try the Yatse app. It's a nice remote interface for Kodi.
HVAC Guru likes this.

Religion, race, color, creed...whatever.
yanknuck is offline  
post #37671 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,888
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 923 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
I only see if I'm looking for it.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
I love this set's color and sharpness, but I simply can't "unsee" the vertical blinds, no matter how hard I try. It's pretty bad. If it's a defect in the panels, I might have to try the panel lottery. Anyone care to comment on how Vizio's customer service is in this regard?

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #37672 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 07:15 PM
Member
 
bogolisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC Guru View Post
Anyone running Kodi on the tablet?

It keeps dropping connection between the tablet and TV, and giving me a message saying something went wrong.

My gf is super frustrated with the tablet, its glitches, the HDMI issues, and just how everything does what it does. She misses the 2015 M and the simplicity of it.
I understand her frustrations, I didn't think it would be as buggy as it is. I'm trying to explain to her that we are on the bleeding edge of this technology, but she's frustrated. I may have to just break down and get an external device for now, before she loses it, and I lose it on her LOL
Not on the tablet, but on a raspberry pi3. I have 2nd home screen filled with SmartCast and Yatse widgets (I prefer Kore but Kore has no widget). The 1st homescreen has the common apps (CBC, Youtube, IciTou.tv, etc.), the 2nd homescreen looks like a touchscreen remote. Since the last update, the tablet's uptime is over 80 hours and climbing. After Vizio fixed the reboot problem, I have no problem with the tablet.

I just bought a HDHomeRun too. The SiliconDust's addon seems to have better picture but very unstable while Kodi's own HDHomeRunPVR addon works really well.

I'm very happy with the P50.
HVAC Guru likes this.
bogolisk is offline  
post #37673 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,994
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3331 Post(s)
Liked: 6190
Official Vizio 2016 P Series Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please

I'm getting an intermittent flicker when I'm sending 4k to the display coming from my AVR into HDMI1 that I've never had before the most recent beta. Anyone else seeing this?

(Add info) It's specifically 4k/60 input that flickers. 4k/24 in from the Samsung is fine. The YouTube stuff at 4k/60 is a problem or if I scale to 4k in the AVR from the AppleTV or the Roku.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra

Last edited by thomasfxlt; 01-03-2017 at 07:40 PM.
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #37674 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 07:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: US
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Hi Everyone,

Anyone have an update on when the next firmware will be released? (Xbone One S HDR Forza Horizon 3)

Also when I play Gears of war 4 on my Xbone One S it show HDR off(on the tablet)? I have subsampling on and im not in HDMI 5, is this because the game is sometimes using HDR or am i doing something wrong, or does it require the new firmware as well. I tried to ask Matt about the update on twitter but he probably didn't respond due to my inappropriate twitter pic (its the dude from super troopers flipping the bird lol)

Thanks in advance
callediceman is offline  
post #37675 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Has anybody else noticed that Fandango Now doesn't allow purchase or rental of HDR content? Search results come up, but literally nothing is available. I've tried from within the Fandango Android app, the Roku app, and in the SmartCast app and neither one works. This a known issue or something to do with my setup? I have a P65. HDR content works from all other sources including apps in Roku.

Sent from my XR6P10 using Tapatalk
seinberg is offline  
post #37676 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by seinberg View Post
Has anybody else noticed that Fandango Now doesn't allow purchase or rental of HDR content? Search results come up, but literally nothing is available. I've tried from within the Fandango Android app, the Roku app, and in the SmartCast app and neither one works. This a known issue or something to do with my setup? I have a P65. HDR content works from all other sources including apps in Roku.

Sent from my XR6P10 using Tapatalk
Scratch that, looks like it's only supported on Samsung TVs. So I guess we're all in the same boat. How stupidly limiting...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
mpgxsvcd likes this.
seinberg is offline  
post #37677 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Official Vizio 2016 P Series Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by callediceman View Post
Hi Everyone,



Anyone have an update on when the next firmware will be released? (Xbone One S HDR Forza Horizon 3)



Also when I play Gears of war 4 on my Xbone One S it show HDR off(on the tablet)? I have subsampling on and im not in HDMI 5, is this because the game is sometimes using HDR or am i doing something wrong, or does it require the new firmware as well. I tried to ask Matt about the update on twitter but he probably didn't respond due to my inappropriate twitter pic (its the dude from super troopers flipping the bird lol)



Thanks in advance


You have to be running at least one of the Tvs betas for Xbox one s hdr to work during gaming


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
AirborneMaikai is offline  
post #37678 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
HVAC Guru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogolisk View Post
I'm very happy with the P50.
Thanks for the info, I never thought of using a raspberry. Something to think about.

I should say that we're overall very happy with the P as a display. Movies are awesome, and playing PS4 Pro has been a real treat.
But I won't lie, the tablet can be frustrating. I'm fairly tech inclined, but she however is not. So when things go wrong she gets fed up and just turns everything off and goes to watch TV in the bedroom.

I was just venting earlier since we just finished dealing with it acting up and she was getting quite frustrated trying to cast something. Then I get mad when she starts talking about how easy the old TV setup was lol. That's when I figured I would ask if others have tried it out.

Whatever option I go with I would like to be able to use my Harmony to make it as easy to use as possible. There's been a few times watching something on Netflix and you need to pause it, but the tablet won't issue the command or something. It's much easier to just hit pause on the remote.

Living Room: Sony XBR55X800E / Sony UBPX800 / Vizio SB3651-E6
HT Setup: LG OLED55E6P / Panasonic DMP-UB900 / PS4 Pro / Denon X4200W / KEF Q700's / KEF Q200c / KEF Q100 Surrounds / Rythmik FVX15
HVAC Guru is offline  
post #37679 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 08:31 PM
Member
 
bogolisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC Guru View Post
Thanks for the info, I never thought of using a raspberry. Something to think about.

I should say that we're overall very happy with the P as a display. Movies are awesome, and playing PS4 Pro has been a real treat.
But I won't lie, the tablet can be frustrating. I'm fairly tech inclined, but she however is not. So when things go wrong she gets fed up and just turns everything off and goes to watch TV in the bedroom.

I was just venting earlier since we just finished dealing with it acting up and she was getting quite frustrated trying to cast something. Then I get mad when she starts talking about how easy the old TV setup was lol. That's when I figured I would ask if others have tried it out.

Whatever option I go with I would like to be able to use my Harmony to make it as easy to use as possible. There's been a few times watching something on Netflix and you need to pause it, but the tablet won't issue the command or something. It's much easier to just hit pause on the remote.
I've never had issue with the connection between the tablet and the TV. OTOH, I have 3 AC APs covering a small house including one sitting right under the TV. Thus the tablet usually has an unblocked line of sight to the AP. Also, I don't let the tablet hopping on the 2.4GHz band. the 5.8GHz band has much much less interference.
HVAC Guru likes this.
bogolisk is offline  
post #37680 of 64217 Old 01-03-2017, 08:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
This and other threads got me going enough so that I spent $80 on games I have no intention of playing. However, I bought both Shadow warrior 2 for the PC and uncharted 4 for the 1080p PS4. Both games are HDR compatible now with their respective platforms. I was able to get both of them to show HDR = Yes with the Vizio P75 on HDMI input 1.

I am doing a whole review on this tomorrow. However, the cliff notes version is "Wow HDR gaming on the Vizio P75 is better than I could have ever imagined". Remember, you can enable GLL with HDR and that makes all the difference in the world. HDMI 5 with 1080p @ 120 FPS is still the best playing experience with ultra low input lag. However, the input lag I experienced tonight was perfectly fine on HDMI 1 as long as GLL was enabled with HDR. Without GLL input lag is atrocious with HDR.

Expect a full HDR gaming post tomorrow. Hopefully, I can do a video review for it as well. I have a 2015 non-HDR Vizio M55 to compare it with. That should show the benefits of HDR gaming really well.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off