Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1355 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288723Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #40621 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 08:35 AM
 
Sbuchanan813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Dahlen View Post
What are people using for surge protection? I am currently using nothing. Would this be appropriate for my TV and sonos playbar?



http://www.bestbuy.com/site/apc-back...?skuId=8057123


That would work . I personally use a Bellkin got on amazon for under 30. You def want something


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sbuchanan813 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40622 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 08:36 AM
 
Sbuchanan813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Dahlen View Post
What are people using for surge protection? I am currently using nothing. Would this be appropriate for my TV and sonos playbar?



http://www.bestbuy.com/site/apc-back...?skuId=8057123


Unless your home has a main surge protector .. many newer homes have them .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sbuchanan813 is offline  
post #40623 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Dodge DeBoulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbuchanan813 View Post
I'd do a factory reset before trying to call vizio . A lot of people have had success factory resetting


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There are 3 distinct methods for performing a factory reset on the P-series TVs. Two of them don't appear to do a full factory reset.

  1. Unplug the power and hold the power button (top button on lower left side, back of the panel) down for 30 seconds. Plug the power back in and it should start up in Setup mode
  2. Hold down the bottom two buttons on the back of the panel until the "Reset?" prompt appears on the display. Then hold down the bottom button for 5 seconds to confirm. The TV will restart in Setup mode
  3. From the Smartcast app menu, choose "Device Settings" and select your TV. Then choose "System," "Reset & Admin," "Reset to Factory Settings." Answer Yes when prompted, and your TV will restart in Setup mode

My problem with recurring loss of connection to the network was resolved by #3. Both #1 and #2 left the name I had given my TV intact, but #3 reset that as well.
shoman94, blatz8 and SteveMelo like this.

Last edited by Dodge DeBoulet; 02-09-2017 at 08:58 AM.
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40624 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friendlys View Post
Yes, it is also "broken" for my set up since the newest firmware update. P65 with a denon 2112.
Mine is a Denon 2113CI ... wonder if it's just the 21xx series, or if all Denons are affected?
tazzarias is offline  
post #40625 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 09:53 AM
Member
 
geophilips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hello, long time lurker, first time poster.

I have the p65 running on the latest released firmware (13.5). I had a question for those who might have watched (or can watch) the new Netflix series A series of unfortunate events in 4k. I cast it to the p65.

The active backlighting seems to go crazy with this show - the first episode has a grey to dark palette overall and I could noticeably see the LED zones turn on and off. Its very noticeable and distracting.

I am running the Calibrated Dark preset but changing that also didnt seem to make a difference.

Any similar experiences and suggestions?
geophilips is offline  
post #40626 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by geophilips View Post
Hello, long time lurker, first time poster.

I have the p65 running on the latest released firmware (13.5). I had a question for those who might have watched (or can watch) the new Netflix series A series of unfortunate events in 4k. I cast it to the p65.

The active backlighting seems to go crazy with this show - the first episode has a grey to dark palette overall and I could noticeably see the LED zones turn on and off. Its very noticeable and distracting.

I am running the Calibrated Dark preset but changing that also didnt seem to make a difference.

Any similar experiences and suggestions?
There's nothing you can do. The FALD algorithm is currently in a less than optimal state. Try to get used to it. Hopefully they'll be able to get it working correctly again. It's been behaving this way for almost 3 months.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #40627 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazzarias View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friendlys View Post
Yes, it is also "broken" for my set up since the newest firmware update. P65 with a denon 2112.
Mine is a Denon 2113CI ... wonder if it's just the 21xx series, or if all Denons are affected?
I've seen several others on this forum with 16, 17 and 19 series with the same issue. Arc has always worked for me except while casting. That's when I receive the chirping. The only time it worked while casting was with the previous beta firmware and I purchased this tv last March or April. The funny thing is there was more complaints about the prior firmware with arc dropouts than any other time. I gave up and hooked up a optical cable from receiver to tv.
Friendlys is online now  
post #40628 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I was hoping that 3.0.13.5 would solve the remaining issues I've been having with HDMI handshaking between my NVIDIA Shield (2015) and P55-C1 since 3.0.12.2 but it unfortunately did not. I didn't have these issues on 3.0.10.7 or prior firmwares, btw. I've tried switching cables, etc but that has made no difference. Anyway, earlier today I tried switching the Shield to HDMI 4 and I've not had any issues since. That made me think that, perhaps, the problem was due to gravity causing the cables to slip out or loosen but after holding the cables in manually and still encountering the issue on HDMI 1-3, I've determined that isn't the case. Does anyone know if there are any other differences between HDMI 1-3 and HDMI 4 besides orientation? Also, is it possible that 3.0.12.2 could've somehow screwed up HDMI 1-3 on my display permanently? I ask because my Vizio warranty will run out next month.

Last edited by mfucci; 02-09-2017 at 10:46 AM.
mfucci is offline  
post #40629 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Dahlen View Post
What are people using for surge protection? I am currently using nothing. Would this be appropriate for my TV and sonos playbar?



http://www.bestbuy.com/site/apc-back...?skuId=8057123


Have the exact same UPS for my P50 and soundbase. Works well.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
CleCakYngMfd likes this.
FirelanceRZ is offline  
post #40630 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 10:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friendlys View Post
I've seen several others on this forum with 16, 17 and 19 series with the same issue. Arc has always worked for me except while casting. That's when I receive the chirping. The only time it worked while casting was with the previous beta firmware and I purchased this tv last March or April. The funny thing is there was more complaints about the prior firmware with arc dropouts than any other time. I gave up and hooked up a optical cable from receiver to tv.
I went ahead and opened up a ticket with Vizio support, hoping that whatever fix made it into 3.0.12.2 is reclaimed (and made permanent) for future firmware releases.
tazzarias is offline  
post #40631 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Can you post a link to this hdmi extender
Sorry for the slow response... busy time in the tax world.

HDMI 2.0b extenders
daravelli is offline  
post #40632 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by daravelli View Post
Sorry for the slow response... busy time in the tax world.

HDMI 2.0b extenders
I believe you said you were having drop outs on PS4. That extender is apparently not 444 or 422 compliant. And ps4 pro will use 422 4k for our tvs. That is likely the issue you are having. I understand not wanting to continually pull out hdmi cables because of wear, but currently I am not sure there are reliable ways to go around this outside of an AVR that can pass 4k hdr and has dual outputs. But even then some of them have an issue where it won't allow hdmi 1 and hdmi 5 to be used at same time for some reason. They work fine using any other hdmi in.

But the point is the cable is what is causing your black outs.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #40633 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 11:24 AM
Member
 
KristopherSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 55
So anyone still having video drop outs after the firmware released mid January?

I still am having varying green line flickers, larger green line flickers and then finally the video goes blank, comes back, out again, back and forth a few times and then its fine. Audio still going during all of this.

Called Vizio and they wanted pictures. I will be doing a video if I can catch it again. I know I can't be the only one having this problem. Only started after the latest firmware. Nothing else has changed. Never had an issue prior.

Thanks for any info.
KristopherSteel is offline  
post #40634 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
I believe you said you were having drop outs on PS4. That extender is apparently not 444 or 422 compliant. And ps4 pro will use 422 4k for our tvs. That is likely the issue you are having. I understand not wanting to continually pull out hdmi cables because of wear, but currently I am not sure there are reliable ways to go around this outside of an AVR that can pass 4k hdr and has dual outputs. But even then some of them have an issue where it won't allow hdmi 1 and hdmi 5 to be used at same time for some reason. They work fine using any other hdmi in.

But the point is the cable is what is causing your black outs.
Huh, I don't get any blackouts on HDMI 5 at all, only on HDMI 4; and both are running through one of those extenders at some point in the chain. Both extenders are passing 4k and the one in HDMI 4 is passing HDR too... it would seem like if it wouldn't pass 422 I just wouldn't have any signal at all. Maybe I'm missing something here, but I feel like the newest firmware is what's causing my blackouts. I can't be positive because I was only playing a non-HDR title (BF1) and some PSVR titles so I wasn't using HDMI 4 until after the latest firmware was pushed to my P75.

Last edited by daravelli; 02-09-2017 at 11:35 AM.
daravelli is offline  
post #40635 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by daravelli View Post
Well I don't get any blackouts on HDMI 5 at all, only on HDMI 4; and both are running through one of those extenders at some point in the chain. Both extenders are passing 4k and the one in HDMI 4 is passing HDR too... it would seem like if it wouldn't pass 422 I just wouldn't have any signal at all. Maybe I'm missing something here?
HDMI 5 isn't doing the same specs as hdmi 4. Therefore the cable can easily pass the signal. On HDMI 4 the PS4 is sending a higher bandwidth signal which is causing the problem.


HDMI 4 sends a 12 bit 422 signal at 4k +hdr
HDMI 5 sends an 8 bit 422 signal at 4k
shortyg83 is offline  
post #40636 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
HDMI 5 isn't doing the same specs as hdmi 4. Therefore the cable can easily pass the signal. On HDMI 4 the PS4 is sending a higher bandwidth signal which is causing the problem.


HDMI 4 sends a 12 bit 422 signal at 4k +hdr
HDMI 5 sends an 8 bit 422 signal at 4k
Hmm, if you find any better ones let me know.
daravelli is offline  
post #40637 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 11:49 AM
Member
 
StraylightX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by geophilips View Post
Hello, long time lurker, first time poster.

I have the p65 running on the latest released firmware (13.5). I had a question for those who might have watched (or can watch) the new Netflix series A series of unfortunate events in 4k. I cast it to the p65.

The active backlighting seems to go crazy with this show - the first episode has a grey to dark palette overall and I could noticeably see the LED zones turn on and off. Its very noticeable and distracting.

I am running the Calibrated Dark preset but changing that also didnt seem to make a difference.

Any similar experiences and suggestions?
Yes, I actually posted something similar after watching the same show (although it was with the previous beta fw). I just got 13.5 so haven't done a lot with it yet, although I noticed subtitles still cause some issues. I have a p55. Hopefully they'll continue to improve the fald algorithm.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
StraylightX is offline  
post #40638 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by daravelli View Post
Hmm, if you find any better ones let me know.
http://www.bluejeanscable.com/store/...hdmi-cable.htm

Scroll down to HDMI adapters and get the BJC Series-F2 "Portsaver"
shortyg83 is offline  
post #40639 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
ARC worked for me last night during the first use of the TV.



What do you think of this? Does the left side of the panel look red/pink to you? It does to me. Any possible solutions? The picture looks great on everything I've watched in the first two hours of use, so I don't want to play with settings until I really need too. However, I assume this isn't a settings issue and I may have to contact BB or Vizio. Does anyone have a Vizio contact?


How does it look eye level and straight on? If that was an IPS panel (55) it definitely looks like light bleed, as if fald was off. If that's a va panel, that's the nature of the beast at that angle you took those pictures


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
CleCakYngMfd likes this.
AirborneMaikai is offline  
post #40640 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
Maybe we will get black levels restored just in time for the new model to come out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I really hope we get black levels restored to the early days. That is really my only complaint right now. They are nowhere near as deep as when I first bought the set. Makes me want to bring my 55" OLED down to the movie room.
I don't see an issue with black levels. There is more black detail which is what we need. There was to much black crush before.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
naustin, Bootnylee and Tbrooks330 like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #40641 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirborneMaikai View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
ARC worked for me last night during the first use of the TV.



What do you think of this? Does the left side of the panel look red/pink to you? It does to me. Any possible solutions? The picture looks great on everything I've watched in the first two hours of use, so I don't want to play with settings until I really need too. However, I assume this isn't a settings issue and I may have to contact BB or Vizio. Does anyone have a Vizio contact?


How does it look eye level and straight on? If that was an IPS panel (55) it definitely looks like light bleed, as if fald was off. If that's a va panel, that's the nature of the beast at that angle you took those pictures


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I will take a straight look and snap some pics after work. The TV I have is a P65-C1. How do I tell if it's VA or IPS? I assume it is a VA panel.
blatz8 is offline  
post #40642 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfucci View Post
I was hoping that 3.0.13.5 would solve the remaining issues I've been having with HDMI handshaking between my NVIDIA Shield (2015) and P55-C1 since 3.0.12.2 but it unfortunately did not. I didn't have these issues on 3.0.10.7 or prior firmwares, btw. I've tried switching cables, etc but that has made no difference. Anyway, earlier today I tried switching the Shield to HDMI 4 and I've not had any issues since. That made me think that, perhaps, the problem was due to gravity causing the cables to slip out or loosen but after holding the cables in manually and still encountering the issue on HDMI 1-3, I've determined that isn't the case. Does anyone know if there are any other differences between HDMI 1-3 and HDMI 4 besides orientation? Also, is it possible that 3.0.12.2 could've somehow screwed up HDMI 1-3 on my display permanently? I ask because my Vizio warranty will run out next month.
You have it connected directly? I have one but it goes through my AVR. I love the shield.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #40643 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mraub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Just ordered the 65" from B&H. I'll have to wait a few days, but I had to order a new mount and HDMI cables from Monoprice, so everything should arrive pretty much at the same time. Plus, with sales tax getting uncomfortably close to 10% in my area, that savings was welcome as well. I guess I'll have to use the tablet for set-up, but other than that will probably just use the set as a monitor, mainly feeding it DISH and Roku. I looked closely at the LG OLED's but I use a projector in a dedicated HT for movie viewing and will use this set mainly for watching sports and general television, where great black levels don't come into play that much.


This is a massively lengthy thread and I am posting mainly for guidance on how I should adjust the set. I don't plan on a calibration, given my planned use. I made note of the CNet recommended settings and wonder if those settings are still recommended or whether better ones have surfaced. Please feel free to just refer me to a specific post on this thread.


Thanks.

MIKE

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.
--H. L. Mencken
mraub is offline  
post #40644 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
You have it connected directly? I have one but it goes through my AVR. I love the shield.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Yep, direct connection.
EliFTW likes this.
mfucci is offline  
post #40645 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,678
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2153 Post(s)
Liked: 2280
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I don't see an issue with black levels. There is more black detail which is what we need. There was to much black crush before.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
I agree there is much better black detail, but before the blacks were seriously OLED good and now they are no better than Edge lit, just without the light bleed. A huge plus to FALD is inky blacks, and those have been missing for a few months.
tazzarias likes this.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #40646 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20,171
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7011 Post(s)
Liked: 7102
Start with page one, post one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is offline  
post #40647 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
http://www.bluejeanscable.com/store/...hdmi-cable.htm

Scroll down to HDMI adapters and get the BJC Series-F2 "Portsaver"
Appreciate it man. I also confirmed with Logan at Sewell Direct that these will do [email protected] 4:4:4 - Silverback HDMI Extension
daravelli is offline  
post #40648 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I agree there is much better black detail, but before the blacks were seriously OLED good and now they are no better than Edge lit, just without the light bleed. A huge plus to FALD is inky blacks, and those have been missing for a few months.
But that's what I'm saying.... Blacks are still blacks, they don't start at 3 or 4% grayscale anymore. Without Calibration I'm seeing 1-1.5% with both SDR and HDR. After calibration I have it at 0.5% or less. Black are 0 nits.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #40649 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:17 PM
Member
 
gstro19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Dahlen View Post
What are people using for surge protection? I am currently using nothing. Would this be appropriate for my TV and sonos playbar?

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/apc-back...?skuId=8057123
Whatever you do, do not plug your cable lines into the surge protector. I've tracked down return path interference to many a surge protector
gstro19 is offline  
post #40650 of 64739 Old 02-09-2017, 12:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,678
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2153 Post(s)
Liked: 2280
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
But that's what I'm saying.... Blacks are still blacks, they don't start at 3 or 4% grayscale anymore. Without Calibration I'm seeing 1-1.5% with both SDR and HDR. After calibration I have it at 0.5% or less. Black are 0 nits.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
What do you have your backlight and brightness at for HDR content? I had to change my backlight from the default 50 b.c it was causing a weird edge light bloom.
Mattopotamus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off