Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1414 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288502Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #42391 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
sfetaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Can't imagine the mount would have anything to do with it, unless the connection is loose? Also, maybe one bad cable, perhaps two, could cause the issue, but if you've tried numerous cables with the same issue, that should rule out the cable. What you are describing sounds like a cable bandwidth problem, but I've had no problems with the Monoprice certified HDMI cable.

If you have the most recent Vizio firmware, PS4 firmware (4.50 I think?), using a 6 foot certified cable with a direct connection, and nothing else connected to your PS4 Pro ala PSVR, I'm stumped.

Good luck, I hope you solve this issue!
Thanks, gonna call vizio soon to see if they can help if the newest cables I order don't work.
sfetaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42392 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 02:03 PM
Member
 
shortspecialbus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Did you perform a factory reset in the display settings of the Smartcast app before applying my calibration? It needs to be done with every firmware change. I need to add that disclaimer.
Yep, two of them now (not directly for this the second time, but nonetheless.)

I think my TV is just a bit different. Most of my numbers are only off of yours by 1 or 2, or 0.1 in the case of the gamma, definitely within margin of expected difference for different LCDs.

Display: Vizio P75-C1 ; AVR: Marantz SR6011, 7.2.4 ; Second AVR for last 2 channels: Denon AVR-S710W ; UHD Player: Oppo UDP-203 ; Relevant Cables: 2x Monoprice Premium Certified 25' ; Other stuff on this setup: PS4 Pro, Xbone, Nintendo Switch, Tivo Mini ; Speakers: L/R/C: Focal Chorus 814v, Sides: Fluance XLBP-DW, Rears: Klipsch kg1, Front Atmos: Klipsch RP140SA, Rear Ceiling Atmos: Definitive Technology UEUA/Di 6.5R, Sub1: SVS SB2000, Sub2: Polk PSW505
shortspecialbus is offline  
post #42393 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
thrustbucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoscia View Post
That makes it practically useless. Adjusting the video for each individual movie is crazy. I can understand a minor tweak or two but for 99% of the time one setting for the input should be more than adequate. I really think it is something else going on with Netflix. The imagine is washed out and dull. If I disable HDR it actually looks much better, just not in HDR. A few searches show it was a common problem, but nothing pointed who was the culprit, Microsoft, Vizio, or Netflix.
And you have HDMI Color subsampling turned on for that input?
I have an Xbox One S connected to a P-65 and it looks fine with HDR. You must have something wrong.
thrustbucket is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42394 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
Is this a common thing? Did your sets keep having the same issue? That's worrying if so.
You're the 2nd. Or third I've seen. I had a replacement arrive with a vertical one out. So no, I'd say its not common.

...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 03-22-2017 at 05:51 PM.
shoman94 is offline  
post #42395 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,017
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1084 Post(s)
Liked: 2089
The SmartCast app update today brought back the Android widget. I know some people liked it and were annoyed when it was removed.
blatz8 and FirelanceRZ like this.
puddy77 is offline  
post #42396 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Well my 5th tv in 3 months gets delivered tomorrow. Say a prayer for me.
blatz8 and FirelanceRZ like this.
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #42397 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 09:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
Well my 5th tv in 3 months gets delivered tomorrow. Say a prayer for me.
5th? WTF is going on?

Here was my experience....

1st 2 board swaps for split screen tearing and tone difference between the two halves.
2nd Rejected for a backlight string out.
3rd Rejected for physical damage and it still had a tone difference in the two halves.
4th Replaced for large pink spots/areas developing and viewable during snow sports.
5th Hopefully this is it!
blatz8 likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #42398 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 11:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
It doesn't always show. I think it might depend on the input resolution.
I have a black bars that varies in size on different channels. This does not happen during hard copy movies or streaming.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Bootnylee is offline  
post #42399 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 11:21 PM
Member
 
Axxel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Sneaky Pete looks overly dark while bright but I haven't watched the show prior to this firmware. I checked Man In the High Castle which looked the same as with the earlier firmware, which is to say excellant. I am still watching the Grand Tour which looks a little more vivid with this latest firmware.
Good point, I hadn't tried Man In the High Castle. MItHC season 2 episode 1 is better, still dimmer than its SDR (lowering gamma helps). Compared to Sneaky Pete its watchable, at least for the 5 minutes I watched (haven't watched season 1 yet). Again, this is all with Calibrated (all settings at default except when I'm playing with Gamma).

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I just checked it out. I think it's just a dark show. I watched the first 15minutes of the first episode and every scene is set gloomy and dark purposely I believe. I looked at the SDR version and is was very similar. I don't think anything is wrong with it.
I just double checked, and Sneaky Pete episode 1 is OK for me too. You shouldn't jump ahead (spoilers in the scenes) but s1e8, for example, is much dimmer in HDR. Compare the living room scene starting around 1:23 in HDR and SDR. In SDR the close up a 1:31 shows the pattern and folds of the light-on-dark curtains over the actress's left shoulder. In HDR the pattern is almost gone, and the scene overall is much more washed out. Her hair for example, has less detail as well. If I use a 1.8 gamma on the HDR source it starts to come closer to the SDR brightness.

To me it still looks like Amazon's HDR is dimmer/darker than anything on offer from Netflix, but its true that Sneaky Pete may have made artistic choices to make the show darker still than average.

For now, I think my solution is going to have to be to use the Roku (without HDR) for Amazon and the Shield for Netflix.
Axxel is offline  
post #42400 of 64119 Old 03-22-2017, 11:37 PM
Member
 
Axxel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxel View Post
Compare the living room scene starting around 1:23 in HDR and SDR. In SDR the close up a 1:31 shows the pattern and folds of the light-on-dark curtains over the actress's left shoulder. In HDR the pattern is almost gone, and the scene overall is much more washed out. Her hair for example, has less detail as well.
Shooting with a cell phone camera is probably pointless, but here's two shots for comparison. For convenience I used two different devices (Roku and Shield) but the effect is similar if I change a single device between SDR and HDR. Again, this is Calibrated, all settings at default. In these shots the camera pulls the background HDR details up, its even worse in person.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HDR.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	97.5 KB
ID:	2044129   Click image for larger version

Name:	SDR.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	121.0 KB
ID:	2044137  
Axxel is offline  
post #42401 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 12:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxel View Post
Shooting with a cell phone camera is probably pointless, but here's two shots for comparison. For convenience I used two different devices (Roku and Shield) but the effect is similar if I change a single device between SDR and HDR. Again, this is Calibrated, all settings at default. In these shots the camera pulls the background HDR details up, its even worse in person.
No issues with the curtains in HDR. I'm also calibrated at gamma 2.4. I will say that it is definitely a little lighter in SDR. Likely how the director wanted it to look in HDR.


...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 03-23-2017 at 12:39 AM.
shoman94 is offline  
post #42402 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 12:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bootnylee View Post
I have a black bars that varies in size on different channels. This does not happen during hard copy movies or streaming.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
That happens to me as well during OTA TV watching. Seems to be only during local news and stuff. Mine happens to the bottom and not quite that large. Odd for sure.

...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #42403 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 02:40 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
The Fox Spurts Stop App is Cast-able, unless somehow
you have a much older version of the App.

In the Giggle Play Store, you'll see how low-rated this App
is. Out of all the Cavs games I've watched via this (cr)App,
only ONE GAME played fine from beginning to end.

I don't know how much of it is the App vs server-demand.
99.99% of the time, NetFlix works fine, so it's not an ISP,
InterNet, or Vizio problem. That leaves Fox having the
problem whatever they're not doing.

Did you know that there use to be just 'freezes' then back
to the game. Content missed entirely. So what did later
revisions of the (cr)App do? They introduced 'skip-back'
where the previous 5-to-10 seconds would replay - but
to get caught up, the broadcast will resume to near-real time
and you still missed part of the game.

I've recently seen where the 'skip-back' happened just after
a break. The game resumes and then all of a sudden, the
previous commercial is playing again! (So, some of these
skip-backs are a lot longer than 10 seconds!)

What a sad deal from Fox.


.
I enjoy the fox sports app and I get to watch for free where ever I am so is awesome. I don't recall flawless playback on any VIDEO apps that I can think of, and I use a lot. A LOT OF APPS lol

However, the worst app for me is the WATCH ESPN app. It used to work perfectly, then around the time of the college national championship game, it's been pure garbage. Constantly freezes, skips, quality degrades, and then when it decides to resume, it jumps ahead and completely loses parts of games, usually at a most crucial point. Pretty frustrating during a UNC vs dook game.

I've tried the app on my PS4 PRO and fire stick. No luck. Uninstalled, reinstalled, signed in, signed out, etc..... I even called watch ESPN support and got nowhere fast with that.

The app works as advertised with my LG V20 and other devices. Not on the TV.

Any others experiencing this?



Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
blatz8 is offline  
post #42404 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 02:51 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
Hopefully this pic attached.
Yikes! Sorry bro. Stay

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
Rpcz likes this.
blatz8 is offline  
post #42405 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 02:54 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I've watched all but the last episode of Sneaky Pete in UHD and don't notice it being dark at all but I'm using the default "Standard" setting with 50% backlight.
I like the bright look of standard over
any of the other picture modes.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
lujan likes this.
blatz8 is offline  
post #42406 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 02:59 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
The SmartCast app update today brought back the Android widget. I know some people liked it and were annoyed when it was removed.
Does anyone have a screenshot of said widget? I'd like to give it a try.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
blatz8 is offline  
post #42407 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 04:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Dodge DeBoulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
Does anyone have a screenshot of said widget? I'd like to give it a try.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
Here you go. My theme is black, so the widget doesn't really stand out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SmartCastWidget (Small).png
Views:	181
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	2044217   Click image for larger version

Name:	BetterSCWidget (Small).png
Views:	191
Size:	142.1 KB
ID:	2044225  

Last edited by Dodge DeBoulet; 03-23-2017 at 04:35 AM.
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
post #42408 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That happens to me as well during OTA TV watching. Seems to be only during local news and stuff. Mine happens to the bottom and not quite that large. Odd for sure.

...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk
I saw an open box at Best buy with it that was on display.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Bootnylee is offline  
post #42409 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
5th? WTF is going on?

Here was my experience....

1st 2 board swaps for split screen tearing and tone difference between the two halves.
2nd Rejected for a backlight string out.
3rd Rejected for physical damage and it still had a tone difference in the two halves.
4th Replaced for large pink spots/areas developing and viewable during snow sports.
5th Hopefully this is it!
1st - Broken in box.
2nd - 12x12 squre backlights out on arrival
3rd - BAD DSE and Banding.
4th - Was good for 3+ weeks until the left side of the screen went bad with funky colors and yellow bands.
5th Hopefully this is it as well!!

If this is messed up, I think Im grabbing the 75KS9000 that is on sale for about $1K more than I got this for.
shoman94 likes this.
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #42410 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,045
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4640 Post(s)
Liked: 2701
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
I like the bright look of standard over
any of the other picture modes.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
Me too and I've tried many suggested calibration settings and I keep coming back to "Standard".
blatz8 likes this.

lujan
562 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #42411 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
Here you go. My theme is black, so the widget doesn't really stand out.
Cool. Thank you!
blatz8 is offline  
post #42412 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1750 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
I enjoy the fox sports app and I get to watch for free where ever I am so is awesome. I don't recall flawless playback on any VIDEO apps that I can think of, and I use a lot. A LOT OF APPS lol

However, the worst app for me is the WATCH ESPN app. It used to work perfectly, then around the time of the college national championship game, it's been pure garbage. Constantly freezes, skips, quality degrades, and then when it decides to resume, it jumps ahead and completely loses parts of games, usually at a most crucial point. Pretty frustrating during a UNC vs dook game.

I've tried the app on my PS4 PRO and fire stick. No luck. Uninstalled, reinstalled, signed in, signed out, etc..... I even called watch ESPN support and got nowhere fast with that.

The app works as advertised with my LG V20 and other devices. Not on the TV.

Any others experiencing this?



Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
Probably because EVERYBODY is trying to watch the big games now, resulting in server overloads.
naustin is offline  
post #42413 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 08:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1750 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
I like the bright look of standard over
any of the other picture modes.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Me too and I've tried many suggested calibration settings and I keep coming back to "Standard".
Thanks lujan for mentioning Standard picture mode a few msgs ago. With its cool temperature, you get a lot more detail in dark shows. While the bluish tint isn't optically correct it is a good tool when all else fails.
naustin is offline  
post #42414 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Thanks lujan for mentioning Standard picture mode a few msgs ago. With its cool temperature, you get a lot more detail in dark shows. While the bluish tint isn't optically correct it is a good tool when all else fails.


I think people like cool temp because it is what they are use to. When I first got the tv i hated the calibrated settings because they looked yellow to me. But I decided to stick with it. After a couple weeks I switched to standard and the picture looked ungodly blue and everything seemed wrong. Now every time i goto someone's house their tv always looks blue to me since the normal person leaves the tv on standard.

Standard is obviously not as accurate, but really it's your tv so watch it how ever you want. I would just give the calibrated settings an extended trial to see if you adjust to prefer it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te, shoman94, Bootnylee and 1 others like this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #42415 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 09:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
mikecoscia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrustbucket View Post
And you have HDMI Color subsampling turned on for that input?
I have an Xbox One S connected to a P-65 and it looks fine with HDR. You must have something wrong.
The Xbox One S and games look fine. It's just Netflix. Gears of War 4 has a handy split screen comparison for HDR, and it definitely makes the game brighter. I also tried the 4k/HDR Deadpool blu-ray with HDR enabled/disabled and could not tell the difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
I've played many HDR games on the P50, and Horizon Zero Dawn is exceptional in terms of presentation.

It seems to me that the developers of Horizon took extra care with the HDR look to get that pop, and hopefully future games will live up to the high bar it sets. But keep in mind most games were in development, and many released before, HDR in games was a thing. So titles like Gears might not really show off what your Vizio can do with HDR, or the results might be more subtle.

Hopefully future Xbox and PS4 games will follow Horizon's lead.
Okay, so Horzion is an exceptional example of HDR10, not the rule. Guess I'll use the SDR, Dolby Vision, and HDR10 settings suggested in the calibration thread. Wonder if I can use change picture settings in the activity macros for my logitech remote.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfetaz View Post
Is your PS4 set to 2160 RGB or YUV420? When I set my pro to RGB I mostly get no signal with the occasional picture flicker and I have tried multiple cables including monoprice certified 18gbps cables.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Vizio P50-C1, PS4 Pro direct to input 2 w/ Subsampling=ON using 6 foot Monoprice certified 18Gb/s cable - all console display options set to automatic.
I'm using the ARC HDMI port and have a 12 cable from Blue Jeans Cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfetaz View Post
Thanks. I literally have the exact same setup as you right down to the cables and get no signal if I use automatic or RGB. I must choose YUV to get a picture with sub sampling. Even CEC works with the no signal.
Do you happen to have a PSVR? If you have one hooked up to your PS4, it does not support all color settings.
mikecoscia is offline  
post #42416 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
I think people like cool temp because it is what they are use to. When I first got the tv i hated the calibrated settings because they looked yellow to me. But I decided to stick with it. After a couple weeks I switched to standard and the picture looked ungodly blue and everything seemed wrong. Now every time i goto someone's house their tv always looks blue to me since the normal person leaves the tv on standard.

Standard is obviously not as accurate, but really it's your tv so watch it how ever you want. I would just give the calibrated settings an extended trial to see if you adjust to prefer it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I agree, a lot of cell phones and tablets are off as well.

...sent from my Axon7 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #42417 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,045
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4640 Post(s)
Liked: 2701
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
I think people like cool temp because it is what they are use to. When I first got the tv i hated the calibrated settings because they looked yellow to me. But I decided to stick with it. After a couple weeks I switched to standard and the picture looked ungodly blue and everything seemed wrong. Now every time i goto someone's house their tv always looks blue to me since the normal person leaves the tv on standard.

Standard is obviously not as accurate, but really it's your tv so watch it how ever you want. I would just give the calibrated settings an extended trial to see if you adjust to prefer it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, I've tried the calibration settings for months at a time and didn't like the video as it seemed so dark (or at least darker) all the time.

lujan
562 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #42418 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 09:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1852 Post(s)
Liked: 1117
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Yes, I've tried the calibration settings for months at a time and didn't like the video as it seemed so dark (or at least darker) all the time.
SDR?

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #42419 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
sfetaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoscia



Do you happen to have a PSVR? If you have one hooked up to your PS4, it does not support all color settings.
Its not hooked up. Direct from PS4 to TV. Everything is correct because the PS4 Pro will let me pick RGB when subsampling is on, but I get no signal 99.9% of the time and a picture for 2 seconds occasionally.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#7f340ac92c50

That article pretty much sums up my experience. Is it possible something went wrong when TV upgraded to 3.0.14 and is it possible to manually force a firmware install or downgrade via USB?
sfetaz is offline  
post #42420 of 64119 Old 03-23-2017, 10:23 AM
Member
 
saiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
@Matt McRae and @vizio has been pretty quite of late with what's going on. Its been almost 2 months since we heard from anyone with all the issues including the very cool stuff that's suppose to be in the pipelines. Anyone?

Last edited by saiks; 03-23-2017 at 02:54 PM.
saiks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off