Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1443 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288495Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #43261 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 04:54 PM
Member
 
blazer316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I hope Matt gets a chance to come back and elaborate on all this for us.
blazer316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #43262 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,328
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1264 Post(s)
Liked: 1336
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Does anyone know if there is a way to get the number of hours "On" for this display? I looked at the SmartCast app and couldn't find it. BTW, I don't like the latest version because it seems to be only in Portrait orientation and I use an iPad so I like Landscape orientation.
I'd settle for a proper iPad-optimized version instead of the upscaled iPhone one. 🤡
Big Brad likes this.
Schwa is offline  
post #43263 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,328
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1264 Post(s)
Liked: 1336
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Well, the P series is going out of stock everywhere.... even Vizio only has the P50 available. Google P75-E1 and you'll see a couple of placeholders for TigerDirect and Compsource. We all know that the P series released for 2016 was gonna be done in 2015 based on the model numbers but they couldn't do it. SOunds to me like they want to start releasing the P series every year because they have competition catching them.

This is My opinion but I expect to see a 2017 P.
I admit, it's definitely strange that the P's are out of stock everywhere. It's also curious that the P75-E1 is available for pre-order on a couple somewhat-sketchy websites. But Matt hasn't steered us wrong yet, and I can't imagine he'll start now -- he said just in January that the P's on a two-year cycle with a new UX coming soon (see attachment).

Maybe they're going to re-release the P with the same hardware but shipping with the upgraded UX and feature set that we'll get via firmware? Who knows...I guess we'll find out in a couple weeks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.jpg
Views:	258
Size:	88.5 KB
ID:	2083121  

Last edited by Schwa; 04-13-2017 at 05:49 PM.
Schwa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #43264 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,177
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6442 Post(s)
Liked: 6112
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Well, the P series is going out of stock everywhere.... even Vizio only has the P50 available. Google P75-E1 and you'll see a couple of placeholders for TigerDirect and Compsource. We all know that the P series released for 2016 was gonna be done in 2015 based on the model numbers but they couldn't do it. SOunds to me like they want to start releasing the P series every year because they have competition catching them.



This is My opinion but I expect to see a 2017 P.

Is that the only model showing up? Also has anyone found the shipping/manual/FCC filings/posts? I'm wary of certain sites as they can post listings for google hits. There could have well been a shift since Matt posted the information in Jan. I don't think the P series however was ever released along with the M (P series usually has its own event).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is online now  
post #43265 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 06:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,204
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5069 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
I admit, it's definitely strange that the P's are out of stock everywhere. It's also curious that the P75-E1 is available for pre-order on a couple somewhat-sketchy websites. But Matt hasn't steered us wrong yet, and I can't imagine he'll start now -- he said just in January that the P's on a two-year cycle with a new UX coming soon (see attachment).

Maybe they're going to re-release the P with the same hardware but shipping with the upgraded UX and feature set that we'll get via firmware? Who knows...I guess we'll find out in a couple weeks!
Fully aware of what he said. A re-release... I suppose that could happen. Remember, I'm just speculating.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Is that the only model showing up? Also has anyone found the shipping/manual/FCC filings/posts? I'm wary of certain sites as they can post listings for google hits. There could have well been a shift since Matt posted the information in Jan. I don't think the P series however was ever released along with the M (P series usually has its own event).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The same sites show P55,P65 and P75-E1's. Thats all I've seen so far.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #43266 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 06:44 PM
Member
 
shortspecialbus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Did you perform a factory reset in the display settings of the Smartcast app before applying my calibration? It needs to be done with every firmware change. I need to add that disclaimer.
Way later, but I thought I'd update. After endless problems with the original set, the replacement that Vizio shipped weeks ago was finally delivered today. I got things set up, and early impressions are significantly better. For starters, it didn't crash and black screen endlessly during the firmware update, which is a plus in my book. So far it seems to be handling input switching way better, and I haven't had any trouble turning the set on. I don't appear (not sure 100% yet) to have the same zebra striping kind of thing that I had going on with the first set, and the FALD seems to be better as well - the bouncing oppo logo is pretty much only lit by itself. Previously it would also kind of leave the place it was previously lit for a brief moment. The screen in general seems to be at least a bit more uniform. And, more relevant to why I quoted, I put your settings in directly and they appear to be at least close to correct. Before I had to drop contrast to 46 or else all the whites were blown completely out. Also, so far, the screen hasn't froze up or froze up AND started flickering like crazy, which it did on a semi-regular basis previously. Also no reboots for no reason! And no endless Vizio logo! And no black screen on power up until I unplug and replug!

I still have testing to do, obviously, and it hasn't even been a day, but I had all of those problems on day one with the previous set. I'm optimistic that this set should make me much happier.

Thanks again for the help before, everyone.
shoman94 likes this.

Display: Vizio P75-C1 ; AVR: Marantz SR6011, 7.2.4 ; Second AVR for last 2 channels: Denon AVR-S710W ; UHD Player: Oppo UDP-203 ; Relevant Cables: 2x Monoprice Premium Certified 25' ; Other stuff on this setup: PS4 Pro, Xbone, Nintendo Switch, Tivo Mini ; Speakers: L/R/C: Focal Chorus 814v, Sides: Fluance XLBP-DW, Rears: Klipsch kg1, Front Atmos: Klipsch RP140SA, Rear Ceiling Atmos: Definitive Technology UEUA/Di 6.5R, Sub1: SVS SB2000, Sub2: Polk PSW505
shortspecialbus is offline  
post #43267 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,204
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5069 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortspecialbus View Post
Way later, but I thought I'd update. After endless problems with the original set, the replacement that Vizio shipped weeks ago was finally delivered today. I got things set up, and early impressions are significantly better. For starters, it didn't crash and black screen endlessly during the firmware update, which is a plus in my book. So far it seems to be handling input switching way better, and I haven't had any trouble turning the set on. I don't appear (not sure 100% yet) to have the same zebra striping kind of thing that I had going on with the first set, and the FALD seems to be better as well - the bouncing oppo logo is pretty much only lit by itself. Previously it would also kind of leave the place it was previously lit for a brief moment. The screen in general seems to be at least a bit more uniform. And, more relevant to why I quoted, I put your settings in directly and they appear to be at least close to correct. Before I had to drop contrast to 46 or else all the whites were blown completely out. Also, so far, the screen hasn't froze up or froze up AND started flickering like crazy, which it did on a semi-regular basis previously. Also no reboots for no reason! And no endless Vizio logo! And no black screen on power up until I unplug and replug!

I still have testing to do, obviously, and it hasn't even been a day, but I had all of those problems on day one with the previous set. I'm optimistic that this set should make me much happier.

Thanks again for the help before, everyone.
Did your set update to 3.0.14.0?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #43268 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 07:39 PM
Member
 
shortspecialbus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Did your set update to 3.0.14.0?
No, still 13. Also I take back what I said about the contrast. It was right at 50 for 709 without hdr (mistake on my part with the source when doing the settings) but it still blows out the whites unless I lower it to 46. This is with 2020 hdr content using the built in white ramp test. It could be that the built in ramp tests doen't work right in that color space etc but the spears and munsil disc isnt going to help either, I don't think, but maybe? I don't know how it could do HDR at least - I haven't checked yet. I've played with the contrast during a movie and it's kinda hard to tell in most scenes. I may play around a bit during something with lots of light and dark. At the moment I've left it at 46 but I'll experiment while watching.

Everything else I said stands though

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Display: Vizio P75-C1 ; AVR: Marantz SR6011, 7.2.4 ; Second AVR for last 2 channels: Denon AVR-S710W ; UHD Player: Oppo UDP-203 ; Relevant Cables: 2x Monoprice Premium Certified 25' ; Other stuff on this setup: PS4 Pro, Xbone, Nintendo Switch, Tivo Mini ; Speakers: L/R/C: Focal Chorus 814v, Sides: Fluance XLBP-DW, Rears: Klipsch kg1, Front Atmos: Klipsch RP140SA, Rear Ceiling Atmos: Definitive Technology UEUA/Di 6.5R, Sub1: SVS SB2000, Sub2: Polk PSW505

Last edited by shortspecialbus; 04-13-2017 at 07:46 PM. Reason: Clarification. It's late and I'm tired.
shortspecialbus is offline  
post #43269 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 07:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,204
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5069 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortspecialbus View Post
No, still 13. Also I take back what I said about the contrast. It was right at 50 for 709 without hdr (mistake on my part with the source when doing the settings) but it still blows out the whites unless I lower it to 46. This is with 2020 hdr content using the built in white ramp test. It could be that the built in ramp tests doen't work right in that color space etc but the spears and munsil disc isnt going to help either, I don't think, but maybe? I don't know how it could do HDR at least - I haven't checked yet. I've played with the contrast during a movie and it's kinda hard to tell in most scenes. I may play around a bit during something with lots of light and dark. At the moment I've left it at 46 but I'll experiment while watching.

Everything else I said stands though

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
I ran the clipping tests in HDR10... Plus I have also read that the tone mapping in DV expects that the tv will be set to 50. I went back to leaving these at 50.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #43270 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 08:46 PM
Member
 
shortspecialbus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I ran the clipping tests in HDR10... Plus I have also read that the tone mapping in DV expects that the tv will be set to 50. I went back to leaving these at 50.
I don't have any dolby vision content and won't anytime soon as my internet is too slow to stream it out in the country (although my phone company just ran fiber through my front yard so maybe later this year) so I'm more worried about 2020 with hdr10 right now. If you have a hdr10 source playing, say a uhd disc, and you do the white ramp from the Vizio tests, what do you see on the left? At contrast 50, all 3 left bars are full white. I have to drop to 46 to get the leftmost to show. I'm wondering if it's not a valid test for that mode, because if it does that for you too, and your actual meters look good, then it's just the wrong test that I'm using and that'd clear it all up.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Display: Vizio P75-C1 ; AVR: Marantz SR6011, 7.2.4 ; Second AVR for last 2 channels: Denon AVR-S710W ; UHD Player: Oppo UDP-203 ; Relevant Cables: 2x Monoprice Premium Certified 25' ; Other stuff on this setup: PS4 Pro, Xbone, Nintendo Switch, Tivo Mini ; Speakers: L/R/C: Focal Chorus 814v, Sides: Fluance XLBP-DW, Rears: Klipsch kg1, Front Atmos: Klipsch RP140SA, Rear Ceiling Atmos: Definitive Technology UEUA/Di 6.5R, Sub1: SVS SB2000, Sub2: Polk PSW505
shortspecialbus is offline  
post #43271 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,387
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2714 Post(s)
Liked: 2472
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Just read some of the specs. A bit disappointing that they've cut back on the FALD zone count. Back to 2015 with 32 - no thanks!
sonoftumble is offline  
post #43272 of 64064 Old 04-13-2017, 09:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,204
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5069 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortspecialbus View Post
I don't have any dolby vision content and won't anytime soon as my internet is too slow to stream it out in the country (although my phone company just ran fiber through my front yard so maybe later this year) so I'm more worried about 2020 with hdr10 right now. If you have a hdr10 source playing, say a uhd disc, and you do the white ramp from the Vizio tests, what do you see on the left? At contrast 50, all 3 left bars are full white. I have to drop to 46 to get the leftmost to show. I'm wondering if it's not a valid test for that mode, because if it does that for you too, and your actual meters look good, then it's just the wrong test that I'm using and that'd clear it all up.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
What test are you using the built in test screens? Those are meant for SDR.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Ph8te and shortspecialbus like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #43273 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 12:47 AM
Member
 
blazer316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 12
any adjustments I can make to run 2.4 gamma without crush on the low end?
blazer316 is offline  
post #43274 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 04:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,052
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1566 Post(s)
Liked: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazer316 View Post
any adjustments I can make to run 2.4 gamma without crush on the low end?
You could up RGB in 5%, do you have a meter?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #43275 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 04:16 AM
Member
 
shortspecialbus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
What test are you using the built in test screens? Those are meant for SDR.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Ok, that's what I was wondering and it would explain it. I'm using the built in ramp tests. I'm still interested of your looks the same as mine in that specific case. I'll adjust to 50 and see how things look.

Thanks!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Display: Vizio P75-C1 ; AVR: Marantz SR6011, 7.2.4 ; Second AVR for last 2 channels: Denon AVR-S710W ; UHD Player: Oppo UDP-203 ; Relevant Cables: 2x Monoprice Premium Certified 25' ; Other stuff on this setup: PS4 Pro, Xbone, Nintendo Switch, Tivo Mini ; Speakers: L/R/C: Focal Chorus 814v, Sides: Fluance XLBP-DW, Rears: Klipsch kg1, Front Atmos: Klipsch RP140SA, Rear Ceiling Atmos: Definitive Technology UEUA/Di 6.5R, Sub1: SVS SB2000, Sub2: Polk PSW505
shortspecialbus is offline  
post #43276 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 06:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Sounds like they didn't plug that cable back in. The IR sensor is clustered with the Light. There is a jumper connection thay have to remove to remove the back cover. Sounds like they didn't get that plugged back in.
Shoman, i'm sure you're right. however, vizio is replacing my p65 with a brand new unit.

Steve

Vizio P65-C1
Yamaha TSR 5810
Steve Heller is offline  
post #43277 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
No black outs or fuzzy picture on my P50: PC @ 4K on port 5, PS4 Pro @ 4K/RGB on port 2, and Xbox One S @4K on port 3.
Do you think mine could be defective then? I've tried multiple resets and I have no idea how to get rid of this. Turning the display off and on again fixes it for a while, but it seems to get worse the longer it's on.
Chaos9144 is offline  
post #43278 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,177
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6442 Post(s)
Liked: 6112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos9144 View Post
Do you think mine could be defective then? I've tried multiple resets and I have no idea how to get rid of this. Turning the display off and on again fixes it for a while, but it seems to get worse the longer it's on.


Call Vizio and go through the troubleshooting steps with them/open up a case. They may determine you need a replacement (or roll the dice if still in return period and exchange at store).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is online now  
post #43279 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stikle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 950 Post(s)
Liked: 1121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Heller View Post
Naustin, you are amazing. based on your response, i tried the included vizio remote, and it also doesn't work. nice troubleshooting!

Sorry I didn't think of something that simple.

I still recommend you explore a Logitech Harmony. Granted, I don't do a lot of casting at this point, so I haven't tried to figure out how get it programmed to do those functions, but it should be capable.

Vizio Tablet + Harmony = DirecTV remote, Oppo remote, Denon AVR remote, AppleTV remote, Roku remote

Rarely those other remotes are needed for setup type actions, but for just general usage, it makes it so much easier. My 72 year old mom can control my whole theater with one remote. Push the "Watch TV" button and everything turns on to the right inputs.
stikle is offline  
post #43280 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Big Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 2,498
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortspecialbus View Post
Ok, that's what I was wondering and it would explain it. I'm using the built in ramp tests. I'm still interested of your looks the same as mine in that specific case. I'll adjust to 50 and see how things look.

Thanks!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

I was using those test for HDR on my P65 and noticed the same white clipping issue. But since those tests are meant for SDR and since HDR works differently, I don't think it's clipping anything. I just leave contrast at 50 until I get at least some HDR10 test patterns to look at.
shortspecialbus likes this.

PSN ID/XBOX Live! Gamertag: BiffCo
Big Brad is offline  
post #43281 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0cool2007 View Post
Yep, even when I tried to explain to Vizio support that I thought the tech forgot to reconnect the IR sensor, they just replaced my display, much to my chagrin.
Same here, they're replacing with a new unit. I'm not going to argue, it's the right call, since it would have required a second service call, all within the first month of use.
Steve Heller is offline  
post #43282 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Torqdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqdog View Post
We too love our P75. The picture is outstanding. The only problem I've faced is handshake related and I've narrowed it down to the Oppo BDP 95 with the 1.4 HDMI port. I've come up with a work around which I will use until the Oppo UDP 203 arrives, hopefully by Friday.

Did I mention how much we love the picture quality on this display!
Just received an Oppo UDP 203 yesterday. Got it hooked up and played various discs all night. Never had one handshake issue.

Problem fixed!

Planet Earth II HDR sure looks sweet!
Oldways7 likes this.
Torqdog is offline  
post #43283 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croikee26 View Post
In general do P series owners enjoy their tv? Seems to be a lot of complaints here, but considering it is a forum for enthusiasts I'd expect high expectations.
I was going to buy the lg oled 65b6p, but since the prices on them are about $3000,I decided I just couldn't justify spending that much without trying a quality led tv that offered both hdr10 and dv. At the time, only vizio met that criteria, plus full array and LD. I don't know how vizio does it, but all I can say is the picture quality is great. The included tablet remote allows vizio to let each smart app to update on it's own, like Netflix and all the others. Very clever. Otherwise we would be pestering the manufacturer to update the smart apps themselves. Consider all the models they produce, and you could see how and why it takes longer than allowing Netflix to do the heavy lifting.
Steve Heller is offline  
post #43284 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken McPherson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Thanks to those of you who recommended Planet Earth II. It is every bit as spectacular in 4K HDR as you suggested!
Elbie, Torqdog, mikestr and 2 others like this.
Ken McPherson is offline  
post #43285 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 01:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I have now started using my Vizio p50-c1 with my PS4 Pro. It looks great, especially with hdr.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
DaverJ likes this.
DirgeExtinction is offline  
post #43286 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,204
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5069 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
I'm surprised not one person had gotten a new update yet. I'm told within a week I should have one. I guess betas are done.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #43287 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,606
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1611
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I'm surprised not one person had gotten a new update yet. I'm told within a week I should have one. I guess betas are done.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Too many negative Nancy's may have ruined it for us. They wanted to be on the early update list, but ended up complaining about bugs and glitches. Eating raw or undercooked meat might make you ill.

Or maybe the next update has som key new features Vizio wants to keep hush hush until full release.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
shoman94, naustin and Bootnylee like this.
skschatzman is offline  
post #43288 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GrantMeThePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 1,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi all!! I just received my P75 yesterday and set it up. Amazon HDR looks awesome. Tonight I'm going to rent Fantastic Beasts in UHD/HDR and really excited to see it. I played some PS4 with HDR (Horizon Zero Dawn).

So far so good! I wish I could get Amazon HDR on the set but it doesn't look like that's available.

My question is this: When i played the game, i used the "Game Mode" setting but it didn't look as good as "Standard". It was like the wrong color temp. What modes do people recommend for which source? (i.e. PS4/Cast/etc)
shoman94 likes this.
GrantMeThePower is offline  
post #43289 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrantMeThePower View Post
Hi all!! I just received my P75 yesterday and set it up. Amazon HDR looks awesome. Tonight I'm going to rent Fantastic Beasts in UHD/HDR and really excited to see it. I played some PS4 with HDR (Horizon Zero Dawn).

So far so good! I wish I could get Amazon HDR on the set but it doesn't look like that's available.

My question is this: When i played the game, i used the "Game Mode" setting but it didn't look as good as "Standard". It was like the wrong color temp. What modes do people recommend for which source? (i.e. PS4/Cast/etc)
What shows are you watching in HDR on Amazon? I would use the game mode setting. Use input 5 for non HDR and 1-4 for HDR.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
steba is offline  
post #43290 of 64064 Old 04-14-2017, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,878
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4519 Post(s)
Liked: 2578
Quote:
Originally Posted by steba View Post
What shows are you watching in HDR on Amazon? I would use the game mode setting. Use input 5 for non HDR and 1-4 for HDR.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
The only two I've watched are "The Man in the High Castle" and "Sneaky Pete" and thought both of those shows were great.

lujan
543 Ultra HD
727 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off