Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1506 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288561Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #45151 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,819
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1856 Post(s)
Liked: 1120
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
No worries. My fingers are crossed LG will add Amazon HDR to the UP970. If so, they'd start raking in the money from us P Series owners.
Yeah, that's the one that's on my radar.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #45152 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
FlasHBurN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by kril89 View Post
I've got the same problem, idk if it was the new remote or the beta firmware.
I can say it definitely isn't the new remote, because I am using the old remote (and mainly a Harmony remote). Neither of them work for me now.

@Matt McRae , is this a known issue?
FlasHBurN is offline  
post #45153 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,108
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1127 Post(s)
Liked: 2242
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyS View Post
I was planning to buy a P65 today and was wondering about what is triggering the Prop 65 warning. I know manufacturer's will put the labels on their products if it is for sale in California, even if no other state would require it.

That said, I am curious as the Vizio website says "This product contains a chemical known to cause cancer..." I've seen other Prop 65 labels that say "This product may contain a chemical know to cause cancer..." Vizio's website is using a more definitive statement. So, does anyone know what is triggering this? Is it the jacket on a wire/wires inside that no normal person would be going in and touching? Is it something in the solder on a board where, again, the normal person wouldn't be touching? Something else? It would be nice to know.

I have never seen this on a TV before and I checked the manuals on my two current TVs (a Panasonic plasma and an LG LCD) and neither have it.
Unless you like to eat dinner off of your P Series, or you are compelled to continuously fondle it, you will be fine. I think it's more of a warning to recycle it properly when it dies so its chemicals don't make it to the landfill and eventually affect drinking water.

https://www.cancer.org/cancer/cancer...sition-65.html
SamuraiXSendai and callworth like this.
puddy77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #45154 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlasHBurN View Post
Has anyone else had an issue where while streaming content you can't pause with using the remote (not the tablet). This just started for me the other day. I'm wondering if there was a beta firmware that broke this?
I don't think I am on the beta firmware (still 3.0.x) and noticed the issue too...with the small/original remote. It seems to only be Netflix. Also I only have the M series (but read both of these threads to stay informed).
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #45155 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,193
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2801
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I have PM'd @Matt McRae multiple times, sent an email, tweeted.... Since getting it. I received this replacement like 3 weeks ago or so....
The freezing issue is where the screen just freezes with either the image or a garbled image. The on screen info stuff still works and audio still works. Inputs can be changed still etc.... It's very odd. Didn't happen with my previous display. You have to power cycle the display for it to work again.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
I haven't had the freezing issue but mine went blank for about 2 - 3 seconds while watching Netflix content this morning. This is the replacement P75 that I got about a week and a half ago.

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #45156 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 09:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Any word from Matt McRae on if the firmware is still supposed to make another rollout this weekend?
Roadwarrior123 is offline  
post #45157 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
yanknuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by kensingtonwick View Post
When do you think Canada will get the latest update (the 2017 p series firmware)? I'm on version 3.0.13.5 right now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I got mine about three days after it hit.
All has been great until Friday. Since then I have had two "freezing episodes".

Religion, race, color, creed...whatever.
yanknuck is offline  
post #45158 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 09:25 AM
Member
 
prometa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyS View Post
@Matt McRae

I was planning to buy a P65 today and was wondering about what is triggering the Prop 65 warning. I know manufacturer's will put the labels on their products if it is for sale in California, even if no other state would require it.

That said, I am curious as the Vizio website says "This product contains a chemical known to cause cancer..." I've seen other Prop 65 labels that say "This product may contain a chemical know to cause cancer..." Vizio's website is using a more definitive statement. So, does anyone know what is triggering this? Is it the jacket on a wire/wires inside that no normal person would be going in and touching? Is it something in the solder on a board where, again, the normal person wouldn't be touching? Something else? It would be nice to know.

I have never seen this on a TV before and I checked the manuals on my two current TVs (a Panasonic plasma and an LG LCD) and neither have it.
Prop 65 warnings are everywhere in California. Most parking garages have a warning on them. What could possibly give you cancer in a parking garage? If Matt isn't willing to reveal what triggered the warning, I wouldn't sweat it.

For the curious, California posts a list of all the molecules that trigger the warning. I didn't count, but it looks to be several thousand.
prometa is offline  
post #45159 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 10:00 AM
Member
 
tondeezy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirborneMaikai View Post
Give me an example of what title you're watching and when? I haven't noticed this on mine


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Iv'e noticed it while watching Marco Polo in DV on Netlix. You can see the small letterbox bars light up a bit. I've also noticed this while watching Pan and Suicide Squad on Vudu. I think it's because of the backlight adjusting vs staying at the same level while watching SDR content. I can only notice this in the dark. DV viewing in the day appears ok. I understand some DV changes were being made in the latest firmware?

I am not sure if this issue applies to all models or just the 55.
tondeezy99 is offline  
post #45160 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 10:16 AM
Member
 
tondeezy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Those settings go back as far as April last year. Surprised they still look good.

The P55 is a IPS panel, so the only way to get those bars remain black would be to reduce light output​. This isn't good for HDR. Although, a good calibration for DV, with gamma at 2.4 and a focus on 5% grey could help.

Or some bias lights.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
I hope to get a UHD player soon so I will have more content to test with. So far i've been limited to streaming only. Will be interesting to see if there is a quality jump from disc vs streaming. I know from personal experience a BD typically will look better than HDX from Vudu. Will be interesting once DV content hits shelves.

I do not have any calibration software at the moment, but will be interested in the future.

I don't think bias lighting is necessary with this set like it was my old LED samsung

Blacks are still super dark and most likely still better than a lot of other TV's in the same price range or above. Especially on a dark scene (DV included) I really love this set and support that Vizio and this community provides!
jopat likes this.
tondeezy99 is offline  
post #45161 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,135
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1825 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolldog View Post
I bought a P75-c1 last year, and I think it's great. I read an article today about the 2017 versions of the M Series, since they're the only model getting a makeover....


Sorry for the long post! I just had a lot to explain and I need to make some decisions within the next couple of days, so if anyone can clarify the better quality of the 2017 Vizio set over the 2016 sets, or might have other options I should look at instead, I would be truly grateful.
The M series has been improved and the 2017 P series looks better than the 2016 P series despite being exactly the same hardware. Why does the 2017 P look better? Because of a year of firmware updates. Your P series if it has the 3.28 firmware looks like 2017 set PQ wise.

Edit: The current 3.28 firmware doesn't have the new non Tablet interface that isn't coming out until Summer.
Bootnylee likes this.

Last edited by naustin; 04-30-2017 at 10:29 AM.
naustin is online now  
post #45162 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 10:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,317
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5147 Post(s)
Liked: 3621
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I haven't had the freezing issue but mine went blank for about 2 - 3 seconds while watching Netflix content this morning. This is the replacement P75 that I got about a week and a half ago.
I don't have anymore freezing since the beta.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #45163 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Astropin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
No worries. My fingers are crossed LG will add Amazon HDR to the UP970. If so, they'd start raking in the money from us P Series owners.
Well the Sony x800 already has Amazon support but is currently lacking DV. Rumor is it will be adding DV support. So I'm watching both of these players to see what happens.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Astropin is offline  
post #45164 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
lordj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 497 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Watched the first episode of Planet Earth 2 in HDR last night. Pitch black living room, using default calibrated.

Easily the best example of HDR I've ever seen, and like I said I'm only one episode in.

There's this one scene with lava and the color and contrast are remarkable. This scene makes the FALD on this TV truly shine. The KS I had would've choked hard on that one. Can't wait to watch the rest of it.
Ken McPherson and Oldways7 like this.
lordj is offline  
post #45165 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,753
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2840 Post(s)
Liked: 1658
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordj View Post
Watched the first episode of Planet Earth 2 in HDR last night. Pitch black living room, using default calibrated.

Easily the best example of HDR I've ever seen, and like I said I'm only one episode in.

There's this one scene with lava and the color and contrast are remarkable. This scene makes the FALD on this TV truly shine. The KS I had would've choked hard on that one. Can't wait to watch the rest of it.
Lol I watched it last night too. Very impressive.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Bootnylee likes this.
skschatzman is online now  
post #45166 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordj View Post
Watched the first episode of Planet Earth 2 in HDR last night. Pitch black living room, using default calibrated.

Easily the best example of HDR I've ever seen, and like I said I'm only one episode in.

There's this one scene with lava and the color and contrast are remarkable. This scene makes the FALD on this TV truly shine. The KS I had would've choked hard on that one. Can't wait to watch the rest of it.
What service?
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #45167 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,753
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2840 Post(s)
Liked: 1658
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
What service?
It's only available on UHD Blu-Ray currently

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
skschatzman is online now  
post #45168 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
It's only available on UHD Blu-Ray currently

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Ohh ok

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #45169 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 12:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,193
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2801
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I don't have anymore freezing since the beta.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Great, then maybe it was a problem with the source (Netflix)?

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #45170 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Is the new fw 3.14.1 ?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
jopat is offline  
post #45171 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
movd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by jopat View Post
Is the new fw 3.14.1 ?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
The current beta firmware is 3.2.8.3, which has been out for about 2 weeks. It should be getting a wide release very soon.
SamuraiXSendai and jopat like this.

Vizio P55-C1 | Denon AVR-X1200W
[5] DefTech ProMonitor 1000s | ProCenter 2000 | SR-8040BPs [.1] SVS PB1000 [.2] Micca R-8C
Nvidia Shield | Zidoo X9S | Popcorn Hour VTEN
movd is offline  
post #45172 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,317
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5147 Post(s)
Liked: 3621
Quote:
Originally Posted by jopat View Post
Is the new fw 3.14.1 ?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
Well, when you reset the display it shows oobe|firmware.
We always had the right side number as our version number. With the beta, is shows oobe|firmware as 3.2.8 3|3.0.14.1
Except now we are using the oobe as our version number. So in the display information screen, version 3.2.8.3 is the latest.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
jopat likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 04-30-2017 at 03:20 PM.
shoman94 is online now  
post #45173 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
R8der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Sorry to hear I'm part of the 5% meaning I have to get a replacement.
I've got some really bad banding issues on my P75. I can see it on anything from any source where there is panning on a light background. Is this a known issue that Vizio knows can't be rectified without a replacement?

I already had a set of boards on my set replaced due to the freezing issue, which reared it's ugly head once again about a week ago. My last service call only happened because I had to resort to being an ******* on the phone, so I just want to be prepared going in when I make the call on this issue. Thanks.

Marantz AV8802A, Sunfire Signature Grand (425W x 5), Sunfire TGA-7201 (200W x 7), Oppo UDP-203, Vizio P-75, Phase Technology PC8.5 (FL, FR, SL, SR), Phase Technology PC-Center, Phase Technology PC-60 (RSL, RSR), KEF Ci200rr (FHR, FHL, RHR, RHL), Epik Tower Sub
R8der is offline  
post #45174 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Hey guys i am not an owner of the P but E series from last year, i have seen people in here are getting a new remote from vizio? Are E owners eligible for this new style remote as well?

Thanks.
Fascinate is offline  
post #45175 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
zer0cool2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordj View Post
Watched the first episode of Planet Earth 2 in HDR last night. Pitch black living room, using default calibrated.

Easily the best example of HDR I've ever seen, and like I said I'm only one episode in.

There's this one scene with lava and the color and contrast are remarkable. This scene makes the FALD on this TV truly shine. The KS I had would've choked hard on that one. Can't wait to watch the rest of it.
I found the SDR 4K version from Dish Network pretty amazing to look at. I can only imagine how spectacular it must look with HDR.
zer0cool2007 is offline  
post #45176 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 04:42 PM
 
Sbuchanan813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fascinate View Post
Hey guys i am not an owner of the P but E series from last year, i have seen people in here are getting a new remote from vizio? Are E owners eligible for this new style remote as well?



Thanks.


No .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kemac likes this.
Sbuchanan813 is offline  
post #45177 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
kensingtonwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Out of ports 1 through 4 on the p65, is there a specific port that works better than the other for hooking up the PS4 pro? I'm not using hdmi 5 of course because I want hdr.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kensingtonwick is offline  
post #45178 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 04:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
kemac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mesa,AZ
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 104
[QUOTE=kensingtonwick;52643289]Out of ports 1 through 4 on the p65, is there a specific port that works better than the other for hooking up the PS4 pro? I'm not using hdmi 5 of course because I want hdr.
/QUOTE]

No.
kemac is online now  
post #45179 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,753
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2840 Post(s)
Liked: 1658
Quote:
Originally Posted by kensingtonwick View Post
Out of ports 1 through 4 on the p65, is there a specific port that works better than the other for hooking up the PS4 pro? I'm not using hdmi 5 of course because I want hdr.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
1-4 will give you identical performance.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
skschatzman is online now  
post #45180 of 64321 Old 04-30-2017, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
adb280z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm looking at the P65 or Sony 900e, I'm leaning towards the P65 but haven't beeen able to pull the trigger. I've only seen the P65 at Best Buy and not surprisingly the blue shirts aren't generally complimentary of it and have been recommending the 900e or 930e. Can you give something that would push me to the p65?
adb280z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off