Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1641 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288472Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #49201 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikutwo View Post
Thanks, the switch for UHD color will only stay on for HDMI 1 which is where I have Xfinity. I used HDMI 5 for the Xbox because it said that port handles higher speeds?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
HDR is only supported in HDMI 1-4. It's not supported in the HDMI 5 port.
TheIndieArmy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #49202 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirborneMaikai View Post
HDMI 5 has lower input lag but does not support hdr. It doesn't support 4K though


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok will try HDMI 4 thanks

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
kikutwo is offline  
post #49203 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikutwo View Post
Ok will try HDMI 4 thanks

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
No problem. At first these ports were a bit slow with input lag for gaming, but Vizio has since improved them. HDMI 5 is still faster, but unless you game professionally, HDMI 1-4 should be fine for you.
TheIndieArmy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #49204 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Will this new update release officially soon? I'm not on the beta.
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #49205 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
Will this new update release officially soon? I'm not on the beta.
I'm new here, so haven't been keeping up. Is the version in beta the one with built-in apps? Any word on when that's coming?
TheIndieArmy is offline  
post #49206 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2651 Post(s)
Liked: 1578
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
Will this new update release officially soon? I'm not on the beta.
It's unsure. There is a beta revision in the works and should be out in the next day or 2. Fixes the CMS bugs. Matt hasn't passed any info on a wider release yet.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
TheIndieArmy likes this.
skschatzman is offline  
post #49207 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Yah would someone who knows how please upload a copy and link of the new Android APK version so we can sideload it. Much appreciated.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon11 View Post
Anyone who does have the newest update can use this to extract the APK for the rest of us:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...m.ext.ui&hl=en
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Would someone please for the love of God upload the new smartcast APK and post a link. It's not hard. Thank you.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
I've uploaded the APK for version 1.1.170710.929.3-pg here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/tswaizngq1...ncher.apk?dl=0
TheIndieArmy is offline  
post #49208 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
It's unsure. There is a beta revision in the works and should be out in the next day or 2. Fixes the CMS bugs. Matt hasn't passed any info on a wider release yet.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Can banding be fixed thru software updates at all?

Also is it worth getting this latest Smartcast update early? Does it fix anything major or improve the picture a lot?
Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #49209 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2651 Post(s)
Liked: 1578
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
Can banding be fixed thru software updates at all?

Also is it worth getting this latest Smartcast update early? Does it fix anything major or improve the picture a lot?
Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
No, but it can be visually reduced with a properly configured/calibrated display.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
skschatzman is offline  
post #49210 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,917
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6278 Post(s)
Liked: 5920
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
Will this new update release officially soon? I'm not on the beta.


Define soon? Sometime this summer is all we know publicly. Usually within a month or so of the beta the final release gets pushed out baring any major glitches.
Ph8te is offline  
post #49211 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
No, but it can be visually reduced with a properly configured/calibrated display.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
I created a custom picture mode based on Calibrated settings and turned down the backlight to 75. What other suggestions would you make that could lower banding on bright light scenes?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #49212 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
I created a custom picture mode based on Calibrated settings and turned down the backlight to 75. What other suggestions would you make that could lower banding on bright light scenes?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
That seems pretty high for backlight. I usually set mine to around 20. I think it's at that on my P and it's at 23 on my M.
Vader3d likes this.
TheIndieArmy is offline  
post #49213 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheIndieArmy View Post
That seems pretty high for backlight. I usually set mine to around 20. I think it's at that on my P and it's at 23 on my M.
Damn that super low to me. Even if I used calibrated dark with it's default of 50 I find that low.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #49214 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 07:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2651 Post(s)
Liked: 1578
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
I created a custom picture mode based on Calibrated settings and turned down the backlight to 75. What other suggestions would you make that could lower banding on bright light scenes?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
You can set contrast and brightness manually with test patterns. Other than that, there isn't much you can do without a meter. And 75 is rather high.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Vader3d likes this.
skschatzman is offline  
post #49215 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post

...That's super low to me. Even if I used Calibrated Dark
with it's default of 50, I find that low.


I'm with ya, there. With some content, 50 Backlight even at
night is sometimes not enough.

Do make sure your Auto-Brightness (Actually, it's the Backlight)
is Off for maximum Backlight illumination at a given setting.

Overall, (un-calibrated) you want to leave Brightness at 50 and
Contrast at 50. Gamma can be used as a contrast adjustment and
the Backlight as the overall illumination/brilliance controller.

The thing is with HDR-DV (Dolby Vision), you're supposedly not
to touch the Backlight (after it auto-adjusts to 50 if not there already)
or the Gamma's 2.2 setting.

So, what happened to the control of how much illumination or Contrast
we want to adjust if the above-mentioned are not supposed to be altered
during DV? This seems to contradict what Matt posted some time back
on being able to use the different Pic Modes with DV.

Calibrated and Calibrated Dark are the same during DV!


.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49216 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 08:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
DirkBelig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Suburban Detroit
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
And 75 is rather high.
Considering stock Calibrated has the backlight at 85, he's turned it down.

Yes, 75 is hella bright for dark environments, but I use full bore 85 Calibrated when watching in daylight conditions because I have a westward-facing window behind me making a hot spot in one quadrant that requires the brightness to cope. Nighttime is 40-50 backlight.
Oldways7 and Rico167 like this.

PimpVision® Quantum: Vizio PQ65-F1 | Denon AVR-X4400H | Def Tech ProCinema 600 + ProCenter 1000 + Monoprice Caliber #4104 (Atmos) + Monolith 10" THX Select (5.1.4) | Nvidia SHIELD (2015) | Apple TV 4K | Sony UBP-X800 | XBOX Project Scorpio | Xbox 360 | PS4 Pro | PS3 | Toshiba HD-A30 | Chromecast Ultra | Harmony 650 | Monoprice 8-Port gigabit switch
My DVD Profiler List | DirkFlix: My Movie Viewing Diary and Reviews
DirkBelig is offline  
post #49217 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 08:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post

Can banding be fixed thru software updates at all?

Also is it worth getting this latest SmartCast update early?
Does it fix anything major or improve the picture a lot?

I still wonder if 'Banding' changes somewhat between
Firmware Updates or is it really all within the Display.

The SmartCast App is the 'controller', so there's no
Pic improvements from the App itself.

The Pic changes from Vizio come from the Firmware
Updates in the Displays.



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49218 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkBelig View Post

I use full bore 85 Calibrated when watching in daylight
conditions because I have a westward-facing window
behind me making a hot spot in one quadrant that requires
the brightness to cope. Nighttime is 40-50 backlight.

What do you do when a Dolby Vision program is streaming
which auto-adjusts the 85 Backlight down to 50?



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49219 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 08:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkBelig View Post
Considering stock Calibrated has the backlight at 85, he's turned it down.

Yes, 75 is hella bright for dark environments, but I use full bore 85 Calibrated when watching in daylight conditions because I have a westward-facing window behind me making a hot spot in one quadrant that requires the brightness to cope. Nighttime is 40-50 backlight.
I'm going to try a lower backlight tomorrow in the dark. I was so used to vivid on my old tv set I like the brightness.

I usually play games in my man cave in pitch black or low light.

The dark pics are at 85 backlight with lights out. Not sure why Logan had the white spots in the corners.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Daemon11 likes this.
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #49220 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 08:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2651 Post(s)
Liked: 1578
@ffactoryxx yah the black bars are aweful. Try to break free from vivid. Use calibrated @20-40 in a dark room. To reduce the white in your black bars you may have to lower brightness 1-2 notches. If that doesn't get rid of it, I would call Vizio as it may be defective. Light bleed on these units is not normal.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
skschatzman is offline  
post #49221 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 09:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2651 Post(s)
Liked: 1578
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
I'm with ya, there. With some content, 50 Backlight even at
night is sometimes not enough.

Do make sure your Auto-Brightness (Actually, it's the Backlight)
is Off for maximum Backlight illumination at a given setting.

Overall, (un-calibrated) you want to leave Brightness at 50 and
Contrast at 50. Gamma can be used as a contrast adjustment and
the Backlight as the overall illumination/brilliance controller.

The thing is with HDR-DV (Dolby Vision), you're supposedly not
to touch the Backlight (after it auto-adjusts to 50 if not there already)
or the Gamma's 2.2 setting.

So, what happened to the control of how much illumination or Contrast
we want to adjust if the above-mentioned are not supposed to be altered
during DV? This seems to contradict what Matt posted some time back
on being able to use the different Pic Modes with DV.

Calibrated and Calibrated Dark are the same during DV!


.
Contrast and brightness do not need to be left @50 depending on the display, they may need 1-2 nudges. My display needs brightness @52 and contrast @ 49 to eliminate clipping. Test patterns to make these adjustments are free.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
skschatzman is offline  
post #49222 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 09:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post

Contrast and brightness do not need to be left @50
depending on the display, they may need 1-2 nudges.

My display needs brightness @52 and contrast @ 49
to eliminate clipping. Test patterns to make these
adjustments are free.

I was mainly addressing any reader who won't be
doing any calibrating with any pattern, free or otherwise.
That's why I say, leave it at 50/50.

Your Brightness setting at 52 is rather surprising. With my
P50, I can see the Blackest Blacks go away at 51 and pop back
to dark at 50 or under. I'd be surprised that your Display doesn't
do the same. Are you sure?

Now, the Contrast setting is still a wonder to me. I saw the other
day on a NetFlix Test Pattern that has a gradual bar going to White.
It looked blown-out on my Display. The higher I would go with the
Contrast beyond 45, the more a super-white vertical strip would slide
to the left down the scale. So, is the NetFlix pattern not to be trusted?

I backed it down to about 45 to stop the peak-white blowout. This
would agree close to what I found on my WoW Disc. Contrast of
50 seems to be too much if I believe the Disc and now the NetFlix
Pattern. I dunno. What say you?



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49223 of 63937 Old 07-10-2017, 10:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
DirkBelig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Suburban Detroit
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
What do you do when a Dolby Vision program is streaming which auto-adjusts the 85 Backlight down to 50?
I wait until after dark for critical viewing and there's very little DV content so it's not that much of an issue.

PimpVision® Quantum: Vizio PQ65-F1 | Denon AVR-X4400H | Def Tech ProCinema 600 + ProCenter 1000 + Monoprice Caliber #4104 (Atmos) + Monolith 10" THX Select (5.1.4) | Nvidia SHIELD (2015) | Apple TV 4K | Sony UBP-X800 | XBOX Project Scorpio | Xbox 360 | PS4 Pro | PS3 | Toshiba HD-A30 | Chromecast Ultra | Harmony 650 | Monoprice 8-Port gigabit switch
My DVD Profiler List | DirkFlix: My Movie Viewing Diary and Reviews
DirkBelig is offline  
post #49224 of 63937 Old 07-11-2017, 12:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Elbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That means to cable can't handle the 60hz signal. Even though it's certified you likely only one of them is the issue. Are your cables all 6ft? Does it only happen to the x800?

Sent from my XR6P10 using Tapatalk
I am noticing this happening. I have the x800 and fire TV box. It switches to the input and shows the screen and then switches to a blank screen for a few seconds and then comes back. Not sure if this is the same issue but I have switched HDMI cables once already. I have Zeskit HDMI Cable - Cinema Series (Nylon Braided, 6.5 Feet).

If this the same problem, what HDMI cables would you recommend?
Elbie is offline  
post #49225 of 63937 Old 07-11-2017, 05:13 AM
Member
 
Harlock415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I managed to stream some Amazon yesterday and it seemed to do so fine. Of course being me I streamed an old Shaw Brothers Kung Fu movie. The keyboard support is not very consistent between the apps I see. The swiping and pressing on the tablet menu takes some getting used to though as I don't have the xrt135 yet.
Harlock415 is offline  
post #49226 of 63937 Old 07-11-2017, 06:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2651 Post(s)
Liked: 1578
@CleCakYngMfd the AVS 709 disc is free to download. Put it on a thumb drive and into the display. If you are not on the beta, put only the white clipping/black clipping patterns on it. When doing clipping you are trying to get as close to black/white as possible. Always make adjustments based on your normal sitting position. Do not do it up close or at an off angle.

Here are a few rules I follow. While making an adjustment I feel it is always better to not clip anything than clipping the smallest amount. So it isn't bad to see a little past black or white on the test patterns. You mainly just don't want to be under black or over white. That's when you start crushing whites and blacks.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Last edited by skschatzman; 07-11-2017 at 07:05 AM.
skschatzman is offline  
post #49227 of 63937 Old 07-11-2017, 06:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I received the update to the smartcast app on all my devices overnight. Its definitely a big improvement. Loving the new remote controls!
benk016 is offline  
post #49228 of 63937 Old 07-11-2017, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Torqdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlock415 View Post
I managed to stream some Amazon yesterday and it seemed to do so fine. Of course being me I streamed an old Shaw Brothers Kung Fu movie. The keyboard support is not very consistent between the apps I see. The swiping and pressing on the tablet menu takes some getting used to though as I don't have the xrt135 yet.
Some of us have actually coughed up 10 bucks and purchased the better remote with a built in querty keyboard on the back. Edit, looks like the price has increased...$12.97 with free Prime shipping.



https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
SamuraiXSendai likes this.
Torqdog is offline  
post #49229 of 63937 Old 07-11-2017, 08:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I have that remote for my 2015 M-Series and it is terrible when it comes to typing. Although that could just be that the 2015 models were still on the older/slower interface. I think you might be better off just getting a new keyboard for the tablet, if the default one is giving you issues. I have Swiftkey and it's been great. It's also free. Worth a shot before buying something, I suppose.
TheIndieArmy is offline  
post #49230 of 63937 Old 07-11-2017, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1660 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheIndieArmy View Post
I have that remote for my 2015 M-Series and it is terrible when it comes to typing. Although that could just be that the 2015 models were still on the older/slower interface. I think you might be better off just getting a new keyboard for the tablet, if the default one is giving you issues. I have Swiftkey and it's been great. It's also free. Worth a shot before buying something, I suppose.
I've also used my old 2014 M remote on occassions when there is a lot of typing. It is infrared so you have to aim at the P series. Remember a lot of people don't like the Tablet period. For them the keyboard remote is worth the small price. Me, I'm neutral.
TheIndieArmy likes this.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off