Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1661 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288593Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #49801 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Athlon646464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Uxbridge, MA
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjsmith2007 View Post
What do they stream in 4k? Certainly not broadcast channels?
See Post #49791 above.

LG OLED65C7 | Denon S930H | Klipsch 5.1 setup - 2 Forte - 1 R-25C - 2 R-14S
BA Sub w/Bosch amp | Sony BDP S570
Tablo Dual LITE | Antennas Direct ClearStream 2V TV Antenna | RCA Preamp (TVPRAMP1R)
Athlon646464 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #49802 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 11:35 AM
 
Sbuchanan813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjsmith2007 View Post
I wish this was true. My gaming PC (not kaby lake) can't play 4k/hdr netflix but my tiny slow android box can.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Yea guy doesn't know what he's talking about .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sbuchanan813 is offline  
post #49803 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2054 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post

I have monitored this forum for almost a year
and I never once heard Matt advise not to do
a factory reset unless things act up.

I guess you missed the July 1st, 2017 post from Matt:

"It is not necessary, but sometimes it can clean up issues after a major update."



.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Matt McRae's FR Post.PNG
Views:	89
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	2249073  

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!

Last edited by CleCakYngMfd; 07-20-2017 at 01:18 PM. Reason: Cleared for Clarity, Clarence. :D
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #49804 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
I guess you missed the July 1st, 2017 post from
Matt.

Matt stated it is NOT necessary unless there
are some issues after a MAJOR Update.



.


He still didn't advise against it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rjsmith2007 is offline  
post #49805 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2054 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

There has never been a promise to increase peak brightness.
It's a "wish" of some, but I don't see it happening, otherwise
they might compromise other PQ aspects...


I don't think it 'needs' to be. It's freaking SUPER-BRIGHT as it is!
I got my welder's glass nearby when needed!

Good grief. Any brighter and I'll go blind and the screen will melt.


.
blatz8 and Oldways7 like this.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49806 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2054 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjsmith2007 View Post

He still didn't advise against it.


No, he didn't. However, the point is, it is normally NOT necessary.

If it were necessary, it would be in the User Manual.


.
rjspring, pos1121, blatz8 and 1 others like this.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49807 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Indiana
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
No, he didn't. However, the point is, it is normally NOT necessary.

If it were necessary, it would be in the User Manual.


.
If it were necessary, they'd bake it into the firmware update process! I've never had issues after FW updates....maybe I'm just lucky.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vizio P55-C1 | Marantz SR6011 | Oppo UDP-203 | PS4 Pro | PS3
JBL ES Series Speakers | Dayton Audio ME650C Ceiling Speakers
dlkuhn1974 is offline  
post #49808 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2054 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAB View Post

NF stated I need ~25.


I can tell you that 20Mbps works at off-peak local hours. Plus, the modem I have is multi-bonded.
Off-peak, I get 4K 99.9% of the time. I've seen it drop under 4K during peak-demand hours.


.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49809 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 12:45 PM
 
Sbuchanan813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlkuhn1974 View Post
If it were necessary, they'd bake it into the firmware update process! I've never had issues after FW updates....maybe I'm just lucky.


I've never had issues much either but I have found after doing a factory reset the picture is better where as before reset it seemed the picture never changed. It literally takes 2 min so who cares either way


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shoman94 likes this.
Sbuchanan813 is offline  
post #49810 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2054 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlkuhn1974 View Post

If it were necessary, they'd bake it into the
firmware update process! I've never had
issues after FW updates... maybe I'm just lucky.

Nah, not luck. Problems after a Firmware Update are not the norm.

So, any problems after a Firmware Update are like what
they say in some infomercials:

Problems "Not Typical".


If I were always Meter-Calibrating my Display, perhaps I would
always do a FR to make sure it's 'all clean'. Why waste hours
of Meter-Calibrating and some bug-a-boo is still there when a
Factory Reset would have cleared it up in the first place.



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49811 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Maybe if I reset enough times I'll unlock a secret code to a golden remote with even more buttons.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
CleCakYngMfd and Jill Moore like this.
rjsmith2007 is offline  
post #49812 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2863 Post(s)
Liked: 1665
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
I guess you missed the July 1st, 2017 post from
Matt.

Matt stated it is NOT necessary unless there
are some issues after a MAJOR Update.



.
I didn't miss anything. You and the other guy misunderstood, misread, and reworded what he said.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McRae View Post
It is not necessary but sometimes it can clean up issues after a major update.
He said "It is not necessary". Which is correct. I, nor anyone else said it was. I have stated numerous times that it shouldn't be necessary, but I and many others do recommend it as a preventative measure.

He never specified "unless" as you quoted. When you reword a quote that way, it changes the context like he is saying you shouldn't. It also makes it sound like there is a risk involved, which there isn't. If you are going to paraphrase, then please make sure you aren't rewording it and/or changing the context.

Again. It shouldn't be necessary to factory reset after a firmware update, but us more experienced ones here do recommend it as a preventative measure. This does not mean you have to, but it is merely a recommendation.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
shoman94 and blatz8 like this.

Last edited by skschatzman; 07-20-2017 at 01:18 PM.
skschatzman is offline  
post #49813 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,900
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
There has never been a promise to increase peak brightness. It's a "wish" of some, but I don't see it happening, otherwise they might compromise other PQ aspects. Shoman has been keeping an eye and pushing for higher peaks, but nothing that I am aware of yet.
At one point early on they pushed a new version of Vudu along with a firmware update. It drastically changed the way Dolby Vision looked. At that point eyes of characters would glow like headlights. It gave an interesting effect but wasn’t really beneficial.

Subsequent updates corrected this behavior and made the picture much more uniform. I think it is much better now.

I have been testing creating my own “True” HDR content for my P75 lately and it is actually quite hard to grade it so everything looks right. There is so much more latitude available with HDR than with SDR. It is easy to over do it just because the TV can handle it.

We are no longer under the limitations of REC.709. However, we have to be careful not to push things to the extreme so that they look unnatural now.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #49814 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,900
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman65 View Post
I have 4k DirecTV and honestly it sucks. Audio on normal hd channels will disappear very briefly every couple of minutes, which has forced me to leave Closed captioning on nearly all the time. Takes nearly a minute to tune to a 4k channel of which you only have three, one is pay per view, one is a 4k documentary channel (like planet Earth 2 and foreign language snowboarding stuff), and the other channel has Garth Brooks concerts and 4k baseball (but you can't watch your home team)
Hopefully they will have 4k NFL games this year. I think the fights will be in 4K as well. That is better than nothing. The 4K streams I have seen aren't really much better than 1080p but that is SOOOO much better than 1080i or 720p.

Last edited by mpgxsvcd; 07-20-2017 at 01:55 PM.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #49815 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 01:23 PM
DAB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SF CA
Posts: 2,665
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Last night watch a NF show.. Then calibrated the AVR w/Audyssey Muti EQ[ have done this a couple of time but not with p65}. turn off when to bed. Turn the system on this morning- just to hear the results. CAN NOT get vizio to play NF thru the AVR[did last night].
I have hard powered OFF AVR> vizio. factory reset both and the tablet . reset all setting...
Unplugged all HDMI and plugged back in..
Spend a good hour + on this Vizio--- and I am PS%$**%$. I can not recommend this display to anyone................
PQ is good thu..
DAB is offline  
post #49816 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2054 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post

...It changes the context like he is saying you shouldn't.
It also makes it sound like there is a risk involved,
which there isn't...


I read it again. It reads the same to me, however, I edited my post for extra-crisp clarity.



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49817 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 01:28 PM
DAB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SF CA
Posts: 2,665
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 88
FWIW-- "factory reset after a firmware update", I agree with SK--- it doesn't hurt- but could remove a clitch or two
shoman94 and blatz8 like this.
DAB is offline  
post #49818 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2863 Post(s)
Liked: 1665
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
I read it again. It reads the same to me, however, I edited my post for extra-crisp clarity.



.
The problem was I quoted a guy telling people not to factory reset as advised from Matt. If you read his post. Not necessary isn't the same as not advised. It's all about context.

Remember the telephone game when you were a kid? Did the message ever come back to you as you first said it?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
skschatzman is offline  
post #49819 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2054 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAB View Post

FWIW-- "factory reset after a firmware update", I agree with SK---
it doesn't hurt- but could remove a glitch or two.

That's implying 'glitches' are high enough of a chance to be there, so
'we here on the Forum recommend it' whereas with Matt and Vizio,
they have not recommend this as a 'preventative' procedure.

I'd be doing this myself after every Firmware Update if Matt and Team
Vizio said/recommended so.

I just want other members here to see 'the other side of this' from
Matt/Vizio's standpoint. Let each owner do as they wish with their Display,
with the understanding what Vizio is saying, also.


.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49820 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2863 Post(s)
Liked: 1665
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
That's implying 'glitches' are high enough of a chance to be there, so
'we here on the Forum recommend it' whereas with Matt and Vizio,
they have not recommend this as a 'preventative' procedure.

I'd be doing this myself after every Firmware Update if Matt and Team
Vizio said/recommended so.

I just want other members here to see 'the other side of this' from
Matt/Vizio's standpoint. Let each owner do as they wish with their Display,
with the understanding what Vizio is saying, also.


.
Glitches are a common issue after firmware updates. This thread is bombarded after each update. I would say the chances are pretty fair.

Matt hasn't made a statement condoning it, but he hasn't condemned it either. If it was an issue, he would have voiced it already. This whole issue aroused from someone telling others that "Matt advised not to". That just simply is not true. It didn't need to spin off into this whole fiasco.



Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Last edited by skschatzman; 07-20-2017 at 02:27 PM.
skschatzman is offline  
post #49821 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5324 Post(s)
Liked: 3682
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
No, he didn't. However, the point is, it is normally NOT necessary.

If it were necessary, it would be in the User Manual.


.
I can tell you for a fact (meter read) that I have seen Vizio Calibrated changes not take effect even after resetting the color tuner. After a factory reset they took. Do what you want with those facts. They can help and they don't hurt. We don't need another 10 arguing posts on factory resets.

I did one yesterday before calibrating and it took all of 15 minutes to reset and reset all my personal settings prior to calibrating.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
promike and Ph8te like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #49822 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2054 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post

I can tell you for a fact (meter read) that I have seen Vizio
Calibrated changes not take effect even after resetting the
color tuner. After a factory reset they took. Do what you want
with those facts. They can help and they don't hurt.
We don't need another 10 arguing posts on factory resets.


No arguing. Just if the 'changes don't take effect' after a Firmware
Update was a common issue, then Vizio would address it or change
their stance on Firmware Updates.

Like I said in my other post, if I were Meter-Calibrating, I'd do regular
FR, also.

I 'regularly' have not seen issues after a number of these Firmware Updates.
This latest one from what I can tell is fine and dandy, except for the bugs
we all know about, here.


.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49823 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Mustang66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Mt. Prospect, IL USA
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbuchanan813 View Post
I've never had issues much either but I have found after doing a factory reset the picture is better where as before reset it seemed the picture never changed. It literally takes 2 min so who cares either way


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Don't you have to enter all the different app's login info again after a factory reset? I know I can't do that in "literally 2 minutes"

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Mustang66 is offline  
post #49824 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5324 Post(s)
Liked: 3682
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang66 View Post
Don't you have to enter all the different app's login info again after a factory reset? I know I can't do that in "literally 2 minutes"

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
15 minutes with reset and redoing settings for 4 inputs for two pic modes. It also included logging into 4 apps in SmartCast.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #49825 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 03:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5324 Post(s)
Liked: 3682
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
No arguing. Just if the 'changes don't take effect' after a Firmware
Update was a common issue, then Vizio would address it or change
their stance on Firmware Updates.


.
Yea sure they would, just like it took 3 months of complaining and 2 videos showing the CMS problem.



Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Ph8te likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #49826 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
quantumparticle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CHI / NYC / MKE
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by slippery44 View Post
Hello, I've been experiencing the picture freezes/vertical blinds freezes for several months now. I've called Vizio support a few times but it's hard to reproduce on demand. We always seem to do a reset and it goes away and then comes back in a month or so. Has anyone came across a definitive fix for this, at what point will they replace the TV? It's a 2016 P series so I do worry about it being out of warranty now, but I have been trying to work with customer support since April on this but I'm almost at the end of my rope.
My P55-C1 was doing this since I bought it in January. Maybe every couple weeks/months, couldn't reproduce on-demand. I opened a support case to document in early June, and when it happened again in late June followed up. They sent me a "new" set a few weeks ago. So far, no problems.

Better to report and document early, so that you can get it swapped out before the warranty goes.
quantumparticle is offline  
post #49827 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2054 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang66 View Post

Don't you have to enter all the different app's
login info again after a factory reset?
I know I can't do that in "literally 2 minutes"


Not that I'm aware of. It holds. Unless you Factory Reset
the Tablet. Don't know about the Web-based Apps.

If a lot of owners are in default mode only, then maybe
'2-Minutes'. If all goes ok.

Myself, I have 6 Custom Picture Modes. If I touched up
the 11-Point, more time needed. If there's a fussy problem
with connection of the Tablet and/or to my router, more
time on top of that.

If I suspect something fishy going on, I'd first do the other
two Cycling methods before a FR. I know. Some problems
require the FR.

(At least these recent postings is a change in pace from the
'remote' postings.)


.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #49828 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 03:23 PM
DAB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SF CA
Posts: 2,665
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Going back to my original> to reset or not to reset <. Being a Beta tester where we are working on bugs/fails etc...
It came to the conclusion that it would be a "helpful asset''. However, maybe a - public FW update- has all the glitches out. so reset is a mot point..... YMMV
DAB is offline  
post #49829 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 03:30 PM
Member
 
sgondek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Athlon646464 View Post
Got to thinking about part of your answer. DirecTV's channel 106 plays 4k content - am I still okay running it through my DVR if I will be watching that channel??
I also have the DirecTV 4K genie and agree that the channel program content is nothing special.
Now, as to the hookup, I have to connect via HDMI from the 4K genie directly to the TV.
The reason I cannot connect the 4K genie to the AVR and then to the Vizio is because my old Denon (2310CI) is not HDCP compliant. New AVR's will not have this limitation.

Vizio P65, Denon X1400H AVR, DirecTV 4K, Sony UHD BlueRay UBP-X800, Apple TV 4K, Cambridge PSW-1 sub, Cambridge center channel, ELAC B4 fronts, Klipsch rears;
sgondek is offline  
post #49830 of 64423 Old 07-20-2017, 03:45 PM
Member
 
tondeezy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Has anyone ever recieved a support ticket from Vizio without ever filing a claim? I just recieved an email from Vizio with a support ticket...but I never contacted Vizio...?
tondeezy99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off