Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1681 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288724Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #50401 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 02:26 PM
Member
 
weeber24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
Which one of these would you say has the best image?
<SNIP>
I think I like the 940 image the best. But there is no doubt that the 2017 upscaling improved significantly vs. the 2016. Yeah, it's not as good as the Sony's upscaling, but I don't think that keeping the score the same from 2016 is fair.

I have a hard time believing they gave the TCL P607 upscaling an 8 vs. Vizio's. The TCL's upscaling looks horrible (nearly the same or worse than 2016 P-series).

I don't think they're giving the Vizio a fair shake on the upscaling test, and that really does hurt the overall score.
mpgxsvcd, shoman94 and blatz8 like this.
weeber24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #50402 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Amays32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by weeber24 View Post
I think I like the 940 image the best. But there is no doubt that the 2017 upscaling improved significantly vs. the 2016. Yeah, it's not as good as the Sony's upscaling, but I don't think that keeping the score the same from 2016 is fair.

I have a hard time believing they gave the TCL P607 upscaling an 8 vs. Vizio's. The TCL's upscaling looks horrible (nearly the same or worse than 2016 P-series).

I don't think they're giving the Vizio a fair shake on the upscaling test, and that really does hurt the overall score.

Why should there be any difference at all between the '16 and '17? Aren't they the same exact panel minus the tablet?

PSN: amays32
Amays32 is offline  
post #50403 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Amazon App

When using the Amazon App the Vizio remote keyboard doesn't work. You have to use the clunky onscreen keyboard. Not big deal but I haven't seen it mentioned here yet.
blatz8 likes this.
smhealey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #50404 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,961
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2073 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang66 View Post

I've been meaning to ask, why are your posts
formatted so strangely? Makes them hard to
read, at least for me.


Hmm. Got a screen capture to post so I can see what you're seeing? Looks ok here at this end.
I know when I first started on AVS long ago, there were more computer users then vs now. So
I don't know what the text looks like on various devices today. I know that AVS has had to change
the board software to accommodate for portable devices over the years. (Probably not much desktop
users nowadays?)

(I'd do a screen capture and post it from my end, except I've had two computer crashes last week
when trying to Drag-n-Drop images to the Forum. I'm NOT seeing the usual Thumbnail icons in recent
attachments, including here in this Thread. There's some ongoing discussion about it the Forum
Operations Center.)



.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #50405 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,961
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2073 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amays32 View Post

Why should there be any difference at all between the '16 and '17?
Aren't they the same exact panel minus the tablet?


It supposed to be the same hardware. Could it be Firmware differences?
Maybe updated internal adjustments with the 2017 versions?
Different panels from the 2016 versions?


.

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #50406 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 04:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4,082
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3111 Post(s)
Liked: 1829
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
It supposed to be the same hardware. Could it be Firmware differences?
Maybe updated internal adjustments with the 2017 versions?
Different panels from the 2016 versions?


.
Asthetically and operationally they are identical, however it is not uncommon for manufacturers to make component adjustments to either improve stability or because the original component is no longer manufactured or accessable. They are treated as identical, including firmware.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
skschatzman is online now  
post #50407 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
Which one of these would you say has the best image?
<SNIP>
I like pic #4 the most. The Sony ones seem to be oversharpened, and the ropes have funky colors.
If that's the 2017 P series, that looks great to me.

LG 65B7 | Odroid N2 with CoreELEC | LG SK10Y+SPK8-S | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #50408 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amays32 View Post
Why should there be any difference at all between the '16 and '17? Aren't they the same exact panel minus the tablet?
Likely software improvements.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #50409 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Just Got My XRT136 Remote!!!
Attached Images
 
O'neil026 is online now  
post #50410 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 05:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sorry if that has been talked about multiple time but I might have an issue and I wonder if it is due to the new FW. Here are my settings:
Input: HDMI 5
Full UHD Color: Tried both on/off
Picture Mode: Game
Resolution: 3840 x 2160 (Native)
FW version: 3.3.18.1
HDMI cable: Tried a few I have on ends. My computer sits next to my TV (10ft max - HDMI port to port)

I have a GTX 1080 connected to the TV on HDMI port 5. When set to 60 Hz, I can only choose the following settings:
Output Color Format: YCbCr420
Output Color Depth: 8 bpc

When switching back to 30Hz I can chose from the following:
Output Color Format: YCbCr444
Output Color Depth: 8 bpc
OR
Output Color Format: YCbCr422
Output Color Depth: 8 bpc. 10 bpc, 12 bpc


Does anyone has some experience using their PC to play games on this TV? Are you seeing the same behavior? I had another set when I last did this and don't remember my older P65-C1 having this type of limitation. Also, after checking again and again the specs of the TV it should handle 60Hz with YCbCr422 at 8 bpc OR YCbCr420 at 10 bpc no issues.
ToxiCRabbit is offline  
post #50411 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 06:30 PM
Member
 
mytommy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 9
any news on when the firmware that contains the on screen apps will be available for non beta owners?

~~~
Vizio P55-C1
Sony HTCT790 Sound Bar with 4K and HDR Support
PlayStation 4 Pro
Google Chromecast Ultra (2nd Generation)
ASUS MG28UQ 4K/UHD 28-Inch FreeSync Gaming Monitor
mytommy is offline  
post #50412 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4,082
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3111 Post(s)
Liked: 1829
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytommy View Post
any news on when the firmware that contains the on screen apps will be available for non beta owners?
... seriously.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
skschatzman is online now  
post #50413 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 06:35 PM
Member
 
playadel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytommy View Post
any news on when the firmware that contains the on screen apps will be available for non beta owners?
Find the link to order the remote earlier in the thread. The new FW will be pushed to you after you order it

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
shoman94 and mtthwgrms like this.
playadel2001 is offline  
post #50414 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxiCRabbit View Post
Sorry if that has been talked about multiple time but I might have an issue and I wonder if it is due to the new FW. Here are my settings:
Input: HDMI 5
Full UHD Color: Tried both on/off
Picture Mode: Game
Resolution: 3840 x 2160 (Native)
FW version: 3.3.18.1
HDMI cable: Tried a few I have on ends. My computer sits next to my TV (10ft max - HDMI port to port)

I have a GTX 1080 connected to the TV on HDMI port 5. When set to 60 Hz, I can only choose the following settings:
Output Color Format: YCbCr420
Output Color Depth: 8 bpc

When switching back to 30Hz I can chose from the following:
Output Color Format: YCbCr444
Output Color Depth: 8 bpc
OR
Output Color Format: YCbCr422
Output Color Depth: 8 bpc. 10 bpc, 12 bpc


Does anyone has some experience using their PC to play games on this TV? Are you seeing the same behavior? I had another set when I last did this and don't remember my older P65-C1 having this type of limitation. Also, after checking again and again the specs of the TV it should handle 60Hz with YCbCr422 at 8 bpc OR YCbCr420 at 10 bpc no issues.
It does not do 10bit on HDMI 5.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
rjsmith2007 likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #50415 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Big Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
... seriously.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

So when does it come out? XD

I need to stop coming to this thread until I get the firmware update (and the silly remote talk dies down). I see a post where someone gets the update, and then I check my P65 and no update. C'Mon Vizio! Get with the program!

PSN ID/XBOX Live! Gamertag: BiffCo
Big Brad is offline  
post #50416 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 07:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Brad View Post
So when does it come out? XD

I need to stop coming to this thread until I get the firmware update (and the silly remote talk dies down). I see a post where someone gets the update, and then I check my P65 and no update. C'Mon Vizio! Get with the program!
The firmware is still technically a beta. The only other people getting the update are those that received the free remote. That was the wider release. It is not official, it is not posted on the VIZIO website. You want the firmware, then contact Vizio for a remote or order one using the link that had been provided. Otherwise, wait for it to be official.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #50417 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 08:24 PM
Member
 
mytommy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The firmware is still technically a beta. The only other people getting the update are those that received the free remote. That was the wider release. It is not official, it is not posted on the VIZIO website. You want the firmware, then contact Vizio for a remote or order one using the link that had been provided. Otherwise, wait for it to be official.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
i ordered the remote, but that was when you had to contact the team and the remote ordering link wasn't a thing. My TV did not update still.

~~~
Vizio P55-C1
Sony HTCT790 Sound Bar with 4K and HDR Support
PlayStation 4 Pro
Google Chromecast Ultra (2nd Generation)
ASUS MG28UQ 4K/UHD 28-Inch FreeSync Gaming Monitor
mytommy is offline  
post #50418 of 64739 Old 07-31-2017, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
It does not do 10bit on HDMI 5.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk


It also doesn't do 8bit 4:4:4 [email protected] on hdmi 5. Switch to HDMI 1-4 and use game mode (for low latency) and you'll be able to get 8bit 4:4:4 [email protected]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rjsmith2007 is offline  
post #50419 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 02:06 AM
Member
 
cmg2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 52
With the new review of the P Series by rtings.com guys what is your take about HDR backlight in movies and gaming settings is better then going to max setting like samsung and all the others tvs or you still recommend leaving it in the middle?
cmg2006 is offline  
post #50420 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 03:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@cmg2006

Yes, backlight has to be left at 50.
mpgxsvcd and shoman94 like this.

LG 65B7 | Odroid N2 with CoreELEC | LG SK10Y+SPK8-S | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #50421 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 03:34 AM
Member
 
cmg2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
@cmg2006

Yes, backlight has to be left at 50.
And for hdr gaming also?
cmg2006 is offline  
post #50422 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 03:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxiCRabbit View Post
Sorry if that has been talked about multiple time but I might have an issue and I wonder if it is due to the new FW. Here are my settings:
Input: HDMI 5
Full UHD Color: Tried both on/off
Picture Mode: Game
Resolution: 3840 x 2160 (Native)
FW version: 3.3.18.1
HDMI cable: Tried a few I have on ends. My computer sits next to my TV (10ft max - HDMI port to port)

I have a GTX 1080 connected to the TV on HDMI port 5. When set to 60 Hz, I can only choose the following settings:
Output Color Format: YCbCr420
Output Color Depth: 8 bpc

When switching back to 30Hz I can chose from the following:
Output Color Format: YCbCr444
Output Color Depth: 8 bpc
OR
Output Color Format: YCbCr422
Output Color Depth: 8 bpc. 10 bpc, 12 bpc


Does anyone has some experience using their PC to play games on this TV? Are you seeing the same behavior? I had another set when I last did this and don't remember my older P65-C1 having this type of limitation. Also, after checking again and again the specs of the TV it should handle 60Hz with YCbCr422 at 8 bpc OR YCbCr420 at 10 bpc no issues.
Try turning off Full UHD Color for input 5.
dsertedsun is offline  
post #50423 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 04:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmg2006 View Post
And for hdr gaming also?
Why would it matter what kind of "hdr" it is?
You can adjust your set however you like, but if you want an accurate representation of what's supposed to be on the screen, you'll leave it at 50.
Big Brad, Ph8te, shoman94 and 2 others like this.

LG 65B7 | Odroid N2 with CoreELEC | LG SK10Y+SPK8-S | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #50424 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 05:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Big Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The firmware is still technically a beta. The only other people getting the update are those that received the free remote. That was the wider release. It is not official, it is not posted on the VIZIO website. You want the firmware, then contact Vizio for a remote or order one using the link that had been provided. Otherwise, wait for it to be official.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

In all honesty I meant it as a joke (hence the XD). I'm definitely an impatient person though haha. I know it's still in a beta, but it's fun to try and lighten the mood in here as there are a few folks who tend to get riled up anytime someone asks a question that was answered a couple hundred pages back.

People forget this is supposed to a fun hobby.
shoman94 likes this.

PSN ID/XBOX Live! Gamertag: BiffCo
Big Brad is offline  
post #50425 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
DirkBelig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Suburban Detroit
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Hmm. Got a screen capture to post so I can see what you're seeing? Looks ok here at this end.
Here's a typical example for you. Your posts are always only half or two-thirds the width of the forum, regardless of browser or OS. This is from Firefox on Win7, but your stuff looks the same in Chrome on Win10 for me. I've wondered too why your posts were showing that way.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CleCak.JPG (116.3 KB, 124 views)

PimpVision® Quantum: Vizio PQ65-F1 | Denon AVR-X4400H | Def Tech ProCinema 600 + ProCenter 1000 + Monoprice Caliber #4104 (Atmos) + Monolith 10" THX Select (5.2.4) | Nvidia SHIELD (2015) | Apple TV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | XBOX Project Scorpio | Xbox 360 | PS4 Pro | PS3 | Toshiba HD-A30 | Harmony 650 | Monoprice 8-Port gigabit switch
My DVD Profiler List | DirkFlix: My Movie Viewing Diary and Reviews
DirkBelig is offline  
post #50426 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 06:33 AM
Member
 
cappy24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: remsenburg ny 11960
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Send a message via Yahoo to cappy24
got the update yesterday...went smooth...except i get audio dropouts when using cast...mostly on netflix....on roku ultra everything works fine...
blatz8 likes this.
cappy24 is offline  
post #50427 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,926
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2972 Post(s)
Liked: 2629
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
For me looking at them with my phone, the 900e is the better one, just slightly. The a1e looks good as well but the bluer image throws me off. The P has improved a lot! They have the TCL an 8.0 for 480 and 720 is it looks the same as the Vizio P

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
For me I think the 940E and the 2016 P-series pictures are the worst ones. I think the 2017 P-series looks as good or better than the 900E picture. Lets be honest though. All of them are really bad. It makes me wonder why we are so worried about which one of the lowest resolution images looks the best.

Again, I think the 480p upscaling criteria is a bogus thing to rank the TVs on. Even if you are looking at the best 480p possible you are still looking at the worst image quality available today.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #50428 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 06:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,926
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2972 Post(s)
Liked: 2629
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
I like pic #4 the most. The Sony ones seem to be oversharpened, and the ropes have funky colors.
If that's the 2017 P series, that looks great to me.
Yes picture 4 is the 2017 P-series and yes I agree that it looks the best. However, they all still look really bad when compared to all of the other resolutions.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #50429 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,926
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2972 Post(s)
Liked: 2629
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
It does not do 10bit on HDMI 5.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
I think it can do 4K @ 30 FPS 10 BIT on HDMI 5 if I am not mistaken. I believe the only thing it can't do on HDMI 5 is 4K @ 60 FPS 4:4:4 and read the HDR headers. I believe those are the only limitations for that port.

For HDMI 1-4 they can now do everything that the TV is capable of except they have higher input lag than HDMI 5 even if GLL is turned on for the inputs. 1080p @ 120 FPS even works properly on HDMI 1-4 now. I still game on HDMI 5 because I like the super low input lag.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #50430 of 64739 Old 08-01-2017, 06:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytommy View Post
any news on when the firmware that contains the on screen apps will be available for non beta owners?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
... seriously.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
It's been available for about a week. I'm not on the beta program, and I got the update last week. Have you manually checked for an update via the app or TV menu?
blatz8 likes this.
OmenBoy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off