Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1780 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288450Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #53371 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reallynotnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonj64 View Post
I didnt think about bandwith demands being the holdup but that could be possible. HDR is just metadata so I doubt it's really that heavy no?



And I know Vizio has nothing to do with it, certification is on Amazon's end.


It’s 10bit WCG/HDR vs 8bit, the metadata just tells how to render that’s HDR. That said the data usage is probably like 20% so not a huge usage increase compared to 4K which is about a 100% increase. But yeah there is no way this is over data usage.

Vizio 2016 P65, Denon x2200, 5.0.2 Elac Debut F5, C5, B4, and A4
PS4 Pro, AMD Vega 56, and Nvidia Shield
reallynotnick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #53372 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brandon B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA lalalalala
Posts: 4,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 90
My guess would be Amazon has just rolled out a recent batch of new UHD/HDR cable hardware and wants to have it get a foothold.

Also, an alleged Amazon engineer has been posting over at Reddit that the aTV Amazon app will roll out 10/26. Maybe updates to existing Amazon apps will roll out in the same time frame.
hockeythug and toonj64 like this.
Brandon B is online now  
post #53373 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
I really like green "new" next to smartcast
toonj64 and him7403 like this.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #53374 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,036
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4964 Post(s)
Liked: 3527
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post
I really like green "new" next to smartcast
I think it's Dumb amateurish...

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk
Schwa, hockeythug, toonj64 and 3 others like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 10-25-2017 at 06:42 PM.
shoman94 is online now  
post #53375 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
lordj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 497 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I think it's Dumb amateurish...
Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk
Does yours still have the NEW tag? Mine did for a while now it's gone. I did scroll through all the apps the other day maybe that's what did it.

Vizio P65-C1

Last edited by lordj; 10-25-2017 at 08:45 PM.
lordj is offline  
post #53376 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 08:45 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

Don't know what to try next except a factory reset?

I now know why I've been having so many problems watch 4k on Vudu on the Vizio. I'm only getting 10 Mbps or less when watching anything with the built-in apps or while casting. I've done the "Test Network" several times and still get this speed...


As others have noted, the Vizio Speed Test is way too short. It'll under-report your speed with that short of a test.

My favorite site is TestMy.Net. Select Download. Manually select 100MB file size and away you go.

Nobody yet has posted Voodew is on par with NetFlix with problem-free watching 4K or 4K and HDR-DV/10. Can anyone report Voodew is the same in performance as with NetFlix?

Is your performance better with NetFlix? BTW, when I view some the NetFlix Test Patterns that show the speed-rate, I see when it ramps up to 8Mbps, 4K kicks-in.


- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #53377 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordj View Post
Does yours still have the NEW tag? Mine did for a while now it's gone. I did scroll through all the apps the other day maybe that's what did it.
Mine is still there. I guess I still haven't discovered whats new yet.
shoman94 and toonj64 like this.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
post #53378 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 09:00 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post

Mine is still there. I guess I still haven't discovered whats new yet.


Auto-playing of trailers or previews, more than ever now. I don't know what else, as I mainly still use my Tabby. I did use the Web-based CastSmart to check the Monkey War movie on Amazon. I see it's down to $6. Will it go any lower within 3-to-6 months? Otherwise, it's the Free show/movie Apps for me.


- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #53379 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 09:02 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Auto-playing of trailers or previews, more than ever now. I don't know what else, as I mainly still use my Tabby. I did use the Web-based CastSmart to check the Monkey War movie on Amazon. I see it's down to $6. Will it go any lower within 3-to-6 months? Otherwise, it's the Free show/movie Apps for me.


- Pj
I did notice the auto-play on the Nexflix app last night/this morning.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
post #53380 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 09:28 PM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtthwgrms View Post
YUV 420 10-bit Rec 2020 is auto set by the Shield when Full UHD color is enabled on the input. I first hooked up the Shield on 10/5 and color was great at this auto setting until the last couple of days. I think it happened about the same time I got the 3.4.8.5 firmware but can't say for sure. Manually setting any other Rec 2020 on the Shield is the same result including the 12-bit options.


I really don't want to factory reset the Shield too, ugh
Hey I am having the same exact issue. I thought I was going crazy. Not sure what changed. Do you think it was the latest TV firmware that did it?

I was able to get it looking better by changing from rec 2020 to rec 709, but I think rec 2020 is better and required for HDR right? Not sure if this is a fix. Rec 2020 definitely looks very washed out, colors muted, reds look very dull.
mzaur is offline  
post #53381 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 09:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,036
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4964 Post(s)
Liked: 3527
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordj View Post
Does yours still have the NEW tag? Mine did for a while now it's gone. I did scroll through all the apps the other day maybe that's what did it.
I'll check it out.

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #53382 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 09:36 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzaur View Post

Hey I am having the same exact issue. I thought I was going crazy. Not sure what changed. Do you think it was the latest TV firmware that did it?

I was able to get it looking better by changing from rec 2020 to rec 709, but I think rec 2020 is better and required for HDR right? Not sure if this is a fix. Rec 2020 definitely looks very washed out, colors muted, reds look very dull.


Someone did a 'Power Cycle' (see Sig below) and it cleared the problem.


- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #53383 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 09:49 PM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Someone did a 'Power Cycle' (see Sig below) and it cleared the problem.


- Pj
Thanks for the tip. Just tried it and no dice
mzaur is offline  
post #53384 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 09:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Torqdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Go ahead and try this. I tried MindHunter. Seems good to me. I will be spending more time on this soon hopefully.

Spoiler!
I tried out these settings tonight on my 75" and watched Spider Man Homecoming DV again. Looked much better. Thanks Shoman.
toonj64 likes this.
Torqdog is offline  
post #53385 of 63863 Old 10-25-2017, 10:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
DirkBelig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Suburban Detroit
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Someone did a 'Power Cycle' (see Sig below) and it cleared the problem.


- Pj
Who? Because I tried it and while it initially looked improved over its prior instantly recognizable as craptastic look, switching back to Rec709 revealed it is still weak in reds, rendering skin tones very pallid and beige.

I couldn't get the rows to duplicate, but look at the difference between Rec2020 and Rec709 in the photos.

Posted by sheer force of will from my Nexus 6P!

PimpVision® Quantum: Vizio PQ65-F1 | Denon AVR-X4400H | Def Tech ProCinema 600 + ProCenter 1000 + Monoprice Caliber #4104 (Atmos) + Monolith 10" THX Select (5.1.4) | Nvidia SHIELD (2015) | Apple TV 4K | Sony UBP-X800 | XBOX Project Scorpio | Xbox 360 | PS4 Pro | PS3 | Toshiba HD-A30 | Chromecast Ultra | Harmony 650 | Monoprice 8-Port gigabit switch
My DVD Profiler List | DirkFlix: My Movie Viewing Diary and Reviews
DirkBelig is offline  
post #53386 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 12:00 AM
Member
 
AdaptDaBuLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkBelig View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Someone did a 'Power Cycle' (see Sig below) and it cleared the problem.


- Pj
Who? Because I tried it and while it initially looked improved over its prior instantly recognizable as craptastic look, switching back to Rec709 revealed it is still weak in reds, rendering skin tones very pallid and beige.

I couldn't get the rows to duplicate, but look at the difference between Rec2020 and Rec709 in the photos.

Posted by sheer force of will from my Nexus 6P!
This has also just begun happening to me, also on firmware version 3.4.8.5. I must have received the update today, as the image was not washed out and dull looking last night.

I really wish Vizio wouldn't push updates like this that break one of the best features of the display (HDR). Is there not a single person at Vizio who can plug in and test one of the few (Shield TV, Fire TV, Apple TV, Roku) boxes laying around the office, and actually TEST these updates PRIOR to pushing them out to us? If Vizio claims that (which I'm sure they will) the issue lies with the Shield TV, then please work it out with them before breaking what, just yesterday, was working perfectly well. Unbelievable.
:::face palm:::
CleCakYngMfd, mzaur and toonj64 like this.
AdaptDaBuLL is offline  
post #53387 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 06:11 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 106
OK ARC.... you win smh. I've been haunted by the frustration of not getting ARC working again for 6 days now, and for the life of me have no idea why it will not work. I currently have my PS4 going to HDMI 2 and my OTA DVR going to HDMI 2 in the P65-C1. The only HDMI going into the Integra AVR is going into the HDMI out and into HDMI 1(ARC) on the TV. ARC used to work flawlessly for over 6 months ie.... Turn on the TV and switch the TV speakers off and the AVR would turn right on. Turn the TV off and the receiver would turn off. I have tried for different high speed and ultra high speed HDMI cables but cannot get the TV to recognize the AVR. It used to show "DTR 30.2" for HDMI 1, now shows nothing. When I "discover devices", the TV finds the PS4 but never the DTR 30.2. WHAT AM I MISSING LOL?????

I have retreated with my tale between my legs and I'm using OPT for the time being. I have the AVR settings HDMI Control "On", ARC "On".... Everything per the AVR manual.

If anyone knows any tricks or sequences that may work.....PLEASE LET ME KNOW. After previously having ARC working, I miss the benefits of setting the TV sleep timer and everything will turn of when the TV turns off.

Thanks all......
blatz8 is offline  
post #53388 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,036
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4964 Post(s)
Liked: 3527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqdog View Post
I tried out these settings tonight on my 75" and watched Spider Man Homecoming DV again. Looked much better. Thanks Shoman.
Thanks. That Cal led me to the direction I want to go and I did a final Cal last night. I'll share it soon.

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk
toonj64 likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #53389 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 07:14 AM
Member
 
Brianb326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Go ahead and try this. I tried MindHunter. Seems good to me. I will be spending more time on this soon hopefully.

Spoiler!


Would these settings work for my P65 even though I'm only running xfinity cable/Blu-ray movies (from Ps-3) upscaled through my Onkyo 757?


Thanks!
Brianb326 is offline  
post #53390 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,394
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2563 Post(s)
Liked: 1535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brianb326 View Post
Would these settings work for my P65 even though I'm only running xfinity cable/Blu-ray movies (from Ps-3) upscaled through my Onkyo 757?


Thanks!
He labeled it Dolby Vision so there wouldn't be any confusion.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
shoman94 and toonj64 like this.
skschatzman is online now  
post #53391 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Brianb326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
[QUOTE=skschatzman;55020392]He labeled it Dolby Vision so there wouldn't be any confusion.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk[/QUOTE


My 2nd day trying to navigate this forum. I am not as 'seasoned' as some of the other members as far as electronics know how. What are the best general settings then? I am eventually going to purchase a UHD 4k player but for now I'd like to run the TV on the best settings possible. Any advice would be appreciated.....

Vizio P65-C1/Onkyo TX-NR757/ (2) Klipsch R-5650-WII/(4) Klipsch CDT-5650-CII/ (1) Klipsch R-25/PS-3/FireStick
Brianb326 is offline  
post #53392 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 07:51 AM
Member
 
rdh86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
OK ARC.... you win smh. I've been haunted by the frustration of not getting ARC working again for 6 days now, and for the life of me have no idea why it will not work. I currently have my PS4 going to HDMI 2 and my OTA DVR going to HDMI 2 in the P65-C1. The only HDMI going into the Integra AVR is going into the HDMI out and into HDMI 1(ARC) on the TV. ARC used to work flawlessly for over 6 months ie.... Turn on the TV and switch the TV speakers off and the AVR would turn right on. Turn the TV off and the receiver would turn off. I have tried for different high speed and ultra high speed HDMI cables but cannot get the TV to recognize the AVR. It used to show "DTR 30.2" for HDMI 1, now shows nothing. When I "discover devices", the TV finds the PS4 but never the DTR 30.2. WHAT AM I MISSING LOL?????

I have retreated with my tale between my legs and I'm using OPT for the time being. I have the AVR settings HDMI Control "On", ARC "On".... Everything per the AVR manual.

If anyone knows any tricks or sequences that may work.....PLEASE LET ME KNOW. After previously having ARC working, I miss the benefits of setting the TV sleep timer and everything will turn of when the TV turns off.

Thanks all......
When I had the M65 ARC had stopped working for me and did not return until I performed a factory reset on the TV.

Vizio P65-E1 | Denon X4400H | Nvidia Shield TV 2017 | Roku Ultra | AppleTV 4K | Chromecast Ultra| Sony UBP-X800 | Samsung BD-6500| PS4 Pro | Switch | Wii-U | SNES Classic | NES Classic| 1080ti Powered Gaming PC | 1060 Powered HTPC
rdh86 is offline  
post #53393 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,871
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6253 Post(s)
Liked: 5880
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
OK ARC.... you win smh. I've been haunted by the frustration of not getting ARC working again for 6 days now, and for the life of me have no idea why it will not work. I currently have my PS4 going to HDMI 2 and my OTA DVR going to HDMI 2 in the P65-C1. The only HDMI going into the Integra AVR is going into the HDMI out and into HDMI 1(ARC) on the TV. ARC used to work flawlessly for over 6 months ie.... Turn on the TV and switch the TV speakers off and the AVR would turn right on. Turn the TV off and the receiver would turn off. I have tried for different high speed and ultra high speed HDMI cables but cannot get the TV to recognize the AVR. It used to show "DTR 30.2" for HDMI 1, now shows nothing. When I "discover devices", the TV finds the PS4 but never the DTR 30.2. WHAT AM I MISSING LOL?????



I have retreated with my tale between my legs and I'm using OPT for the time being. I have the AVR settings HDMI Control "On", ARC "On".... Everything per the AVR manual.



If anyone knows any tricks or sequences that may work.....PLEASE LET ME KNOW. After previously having ARC working, I miss the benefits of setting the TV sleep timer and everything will turn of when the TV turns off.



Thanks all......


What you are describing is HDMI CEC control NOT ARC. ARC is Audio Return Channel and that allows audio to go from your TV to your AVR. CEC Control is what allows the "remote" power off/on. CEC is finicky and while it's "nice" it's never been reliable since there are no standards and can break/be fixed randomly. If possible you should always have everything go through your AVR, unless your AVR dosent support 4k HDR or another feature you want/need. You say you have 2 devices going to HDMI 2, so we have to guess that one is on AVR and one is on TV? Have you tried removing the device connected to the TV and only leaving the AVR connected?
shoman94 and toonj64 like this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #53394 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Roku issue but I"m not sure if I should post that here or in the Roku forums.

I'm wondering if someone else is experiencing this issue.

I have a Roku Premiere + that is connected via one of the first 4 HDMI ports. It was connected to port 1 but it kept "blanking" out or the picture would randomly distort and the only way out of it fully reboot the roku.

I noticed a lot of these issues disappeared once I plugged the roku into a different port. The Roku display output is set to Auto.

Now, I will be playing something off any one of the apps I have installed on the roku. It can be a standard def movie or a live sports event via the Fox app.
Out of nowhere the picture will suddenly "blow up" or magnify as if the camera has suddenly just zoomed. The only way to get it out of this is to either completely restart the app/broadcast or retart the roku.

Any ideas?

2017 Vizio P65
2015 Vizio M50
Fernzilla88 is offline  
post #53395 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 08:57 AM
Member
 
gstro19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 25
[quote=Brianb326;55020456]
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
He labeled it Dolby Vision so there wouldn't be any confusion.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk[/QUOTE


My 2nd day trying to navigate this forum. I am not as 'seasoned' as some of the other members as far as electronics know how. What are the best general settings then? I am eventually going to purchase a UHD 4k player but for now I'd like to run the TV on the best settings possible. Any advice would be appreciated.....
Check post #1 of the thread, it has all the info you need
shoman94, callworth and Brianb326 like this.
gstro19 is offline  
post #53396 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Brianb326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
[quote=gstro19;55020880]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brianb326 View Post

Check post #1 of the thread, it has all the info you need
Thank you for pointing me in the right direction!
Most of those posts are dated a year ago, will that make any difference?


Again, I apologize if this is a stupid question...

Vizio P65-C1/Onkyo TX-NR757/ (2) Klipsch R-5650-WII/(4) Klipsch CDT-5650-CII/ (1) Klipsch R-25/PS-3/FireStick
Brianb326 is offline  
post #53397 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I have my TV hooked up via ARC to my Yamaha AVR.

When casting, I need turn by AVR Volume a lot higher to achieve same level of sound than if I am using an external device like PS4 playing games. Any idea why?

When using ARC and turning up volume via my AVR remote, the TV also shows a volume bar on it. When I turn my AVR to say 16bd it will show 65 volume on my tv. Is this normal?
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #53398 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,871
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6253 Post(s)
Liked: 5880
[quote=Brianb326;55021038]
Quote:
Originally Posted by gstro19 View Post
Thank you for pointing me in the right direction!
Most of those posts are dated a year ago, will that make any difference?


Again, I apologize if this is a stupid question...


For settings you'll want to check the calibration thread. Rule #1 there is no such thing as "Best" or ""General Consensus". If you try settings and you don't like them they are easily removed. Remember the settings posted are usually meant for accuracy so they may look "off" if you haven't been watching a calibrated picture before. The 1st post does get updated when Thomas gets a chance to as well. So while much of the information is "old" it is still valid.
thomasfxlt and Brianb326 like this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #53399 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
DirkBelig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Suburban Detroit
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdaptDaBuLL View Post
I really wish Vizio wouldn't push updates like this that break one of the best features of the display (HDR). Is there not a single person at Vizio who can plug in and test one of the few (Shield TV, Fire TV, Apple TV, Roku) boxes laying around the office, and actually TEST these updates PRIOR to pushing them out to us?
Or, I dunno, have a process where a limited group of volunteers receive a proposed update and report back on errors and issues they discover. They could call it something like a VHS. (For Vizio Hot Shots) Or something.
Quote:
If Vizio claims that (which I'm sure they will) the issue lies with the Shield TV, then please work it out with them before breaking what, just yesterday, was working perfectly well. Unbelievable. :::face palm:::
They can't claim it's the SHIELD (even if they want to) because the only thing that changed from before to after was the firmware. When troubleshooting anything, the first question you ask is, "What was the last thing you did before it stopped working?" If your colors are fine, you update the firmware, and now your colors aren't fine, it's the firmware. Own it. Fix it. Stop breaking things, Vizio.
shoman94 likes this.

PimpVision® Quantum: Vizio PQ65-F1 | Denon AVR-X4400H | Def Tech ProCinema 600 + ProCenter 1000 + Monoprice Caliber #4104 (Atmos) + Monolith 10" THX Select (5.1.4) | Nvidia SHIELD (2015) | Apple TV 4K | Sony UBP-X800 | XBOX Project Scorpio | Xbox 360 | PS4 Pro | PS3 | Toshiba HD-A30 | Chromecast Ultra | Harmony 650 | Monoprice 8-Port gigabit switch
My DVD Profiler List | DirkFlix: My Movie Viewing Diary and Reviews
DirkBelig is offline  
post #53400 of 63863 Old 10-26-2017, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Brianb326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
[quote=Ph8te;55021306]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brianb326 View Post



For settings you'll want to check the calibration thread. Rule #1 there is no such thing as "Best" or ""General Consensus". If you try settings and you don't like them they are easily removed. Remember the settings posted are usually meant for accuracy so they may look "off" if you haven't been watching a calibrated picture before. The 1st post does get updated when Thomas gets a chance to as well. So while much of the information is "old" it is still valid.
Thank you!

Vizio P65-C1/Onkyo TX-NR757/ (2) Klipsch R-5650-WII/(4) Klipsch CDT-5650-CII/ (1) Klipsch R-25/PS-3/FireStick
Brianb326 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off