Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1785 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288457Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #53521 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 198 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5016 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtthwgrms View Post
Good luck, the response I received from support was "I've checked with our software people and we've reviewed the pictures. This TV is working as intended. Sometimes when firmware updates occur the default settings for the display change slightly. I'd recommend tinkering around with the picture settings and advanced picture settings until it's exactly how you like it."


Is it something about the Shield that prompts this?

I've seen Shield threads elsewhere with same Rec2020 problems on different manufacturer displays.
Yea there is proof all over the forums that the Shield is the common denominator.
mtthwgrms likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #53522 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 05:46 PM
Newbie
 
ziccup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been able to get their set back to the color settings they had before the update happened? My reds are still orange-y and I don't know enough about the advanced settings to mess with them. I have P50-C1.
ziccup is offline  
post #53523 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 05:52 PM
Member
 
i3igi3yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3igi3yrd View Post
I bought my p65-c1 at best buy in may of last year.

Last night I watched tv and then today it is restarting every 5 minutes. I messaged earlier and someone mentioned they called support and an update was pushed to the TV and the issue was all but resolved.

I just called support and, being a good end user, redid all the steps I had already taken: changing the power outlet, holding down the power to reset, et al.

Support informed me that there is a physical issue with my TV after these steps and that since I bought it outside of a year, there was nothing else they could do to assist. He offered to provide me with repair services in my area so I could pursue paying out of pocket. . .

There's not much I can do tonight, but please tell me that I'm not about to be a negative review and writing Vizio off entirely.

Edit: I forgot to mention, when I asked about a firmware problem, I was informed there was "no way" firmware would ever affect a restarting device.

Update

Called back. Got another rep. Somehow ARC was turned on for CEC setting (which isnt being used). Turning that off resolved the issue. Just a heads up.
i3igi3yrd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #53524 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 06:40 PM
 
Sbuchanan813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by C0pp3r View Post
I was under the impression that prior to the Vizio 'patch', YouTube HDR wouldn't work on this display via Chromecast or any other device. It now works for Chromecast. I'm speculating that if Nvidia updates the Shield to YouTube HDR, it will also work on the Vizio, and not just somehow be restricted to Chromecast or internal Cast.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk


You’re still wrong. YouTube hdr doesn’t work unless using an outside source such as a chrome cast ultra. The shield doesn’t have it. Has nothing to do with a Vizio display


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sbuchanan813 is offline  
post #53525 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3igi3yrd View Post
Update

Called back. Got another rep. Somehow ARC was turned on for CEC setting (which isnt being used). Turning that off resolved the issue. Just a heads up.
Good thing you called back, because you would of paid a couple hundred for someone to press the button.
toonj64 likes this.
steba is offline  
post #53526 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 06:51 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcel101 View Post

Does Vizio still have someone monitoring this thread or do I need to call regarding the Shield problem?


Vizio is now on Reddit.


- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #53527 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 07:07 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziccup View Post

Has anyone been able to get their set back to the color settings they had before the update happened?
My reds are still orange-y and I don't know enough about the advanced settings to mess with them. I have P50-C1.


I also have the Pea-Fitty-See-One, and the Red/Red-Orange color.

This happened a while back, before 3.4.8.5.

Maybe I got use to it or something, as it doesn't appear as ugly as it did at first sight. Then, I tried adjusting the Color Tuner (by eye) and ended up leaving it at default. Even though the Test Pattern is showing Red-Orange, I do see 'real' red with content viewing. The Red-Orange is easiest seen during off-axis viewing, at the far side of the Display. To minimize Red-Orange, your eyes have to be dead-center and sit at a longer distance from the Display.

Red-Orange is the New Vizio.


- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!

Last edited by CleCakYngMfd; 10-29-2017 at 07:56 PM. Reason: Updated Info for Clarity, Clarence. Crystal Clear? ;D&=:
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #53528 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 198 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5016 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
For those that care, I updated calibrations for SDR and DV for the new Firmware and includes screenshots from the session.
mpgxsvcd, lujan, Torqdog and 2 others like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #53529 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 07:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2957 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Red face

HLG HDR with the Chromecast is definitely the real deal. It really allows the colors to utilize the full potential of the P75. I have some test footage that I am working with that really shows shows off what can be done with HLG. I will post it as soon as I finish the video.

The only that stinks is that the files end up being 50 Gigabytes or more and it takes forever to upload.

I tried HDR with the Samsung UHD player and it didn't work with youtube at all. No HDR10 and no HLG.

Can you update the first page to reflect that the P-series now supports HLG HDR over HDMI?

Last edited by mpgxsvcd; 10-30-2017 at 04:27 AM.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #53530 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
DirkBelig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Suburban Detroit
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Yea there is proof all over the forums that the Shield is the common denominator.
Someone replied to my Reddit thread that he was seeing orangey reds on his XBox One S as well and someone else complained that their PS4 looked bad.
blatz8 likes this.

PimpVision® Quantum: Vizio PQ65-F1 | Denon AVR-X4400H | Def Tech ProCinema 600 + ProCenter 1000 + Monoprice Caliber #4104 (Atmos) + Monolith 10" THX Select (5.1.4) | Nvidia SHIELD (2015) | Apple TV 4K | Sony UBP-X800 | XBOX Project Scorpio | Xbox 360 | PS4 Pro | PS3 | Toshiba HD-A30 | Chromecast Ultra | Harmony 650 | Monoprice 8-Port gigabit switch
My DVD Profiler List | DirkFlix: My Movie Viewing Diary and Reviews
DirkBelig is offline  
post #53531 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 08:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,917
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3288 Post(s)
Liked: 6112
Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
HLG HDR with the Chromecast is definitely the real deal. It really allows the colors to utilize the full potential of the P75.

Can you update the first page to reflect that the P-series no supports HLG HDR over HDMI?

I will do that.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
mpgxsvcd likes this.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #53532 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 08:51 PM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkBelig View Post

Someone replied to my Reddit thread that he was seeing orangie-reds on his XBox One S as well and someone else complained that their PS4 looked bad.


Are you 'Bigmoco' over there? I replied and don't have X-Box or any box. The Red-Orange has been around for months, before 3.4.8.5.


- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #53533 of 63893 Old 10-29-2017, 09:17 PM
Member
 
dooda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
has some update gone thru in the last couple of days or week perhaps?

i turned on my tv (p55-c1) today for some reason arc wouldn't work. i didn't touch or change anything as i live alone. i tried everything to get it to work again but to no avail. i would have thought maybe my avr receiver has died because it's quite old (denon ht-r580) but i connected my xbox one s using the receiver and sound was working perfectly. i dont understand can just arc die by itself on the receiver? i dont think so.

would appreciate any help instead of having to get newer model receiver and still have this problem because something is wrong with the tv.

thanks.
blatz8 likes this.

Last edited by dooda; 10-29-2017 at 09:25 PM.
dooda is offline  
post #53534 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 01:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 198 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5016 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkBelig View Post
Someone replied to my Reddit thread that he was seeing orangey reds on his XBox One S as well and someone else complained that their PS4 looked bad.
Last I knew we were talking about the Shield connected to the Vizio and having the shield set to rec709 vs rec2020.

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk
Ph8te likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #53535 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 01:58 AM
Member
 
SolRage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by dooda View Post
has some update gone thru in the last couple of days or week perhaps?

i turned on my tv (p55-c1) today for some reason arc wouldn't work. i didn't touch or change anything as i live alone. i tried everything to get it to work again but to no avail. i would have thought maybe my avr receiver has died because it's quite old (denon ht-r580) but i connected my xbox one s using the receiver and sound was working perfectly. i dont understand can just arc die by itself on the receiver? i dont think so.

would appreciate any help instead of having to get newer model receiver and still have this problem because something is wrong with the tv.

thanks.
I'm pretty sure there was an update. I also use my P-75 as a PC monitor and when I turned it on a few days ago I was suddenly getting annoying lag on everything (mouse movement, keyboard hits) and the picture settings had been changed. I went into the picture settings and noticed "game low latency" had been turned off, but even turning it back on didn't clear up the lag. I've contacted Vizio about this and so far all I've gotten is a response asking for my serial number, which I don't know.
blatz8 likes this.

Last edited by SolRage; 10-30-2017 at 02:11 AM.
SolRage is offline  
post #53536 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 02:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
pwishart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolRage View Post
I'm pretty sure there was an update. I also use my P-75 as a PC monitor and when I turned it on a few days ago I was suddenly getting annoying lag on everything (mouse movement, keyboard hits) and the picture settings had been changed. I went into the picture settings and noticed "I've contacted Vizio about this and so far all I've gotten is a response asking for my serial number, which I don't know.
Your serial number is in "system Information" or on the back of your display or on the box it came in, you can also get it from the Vizio App on your tablet or phone.
pwishart is offline  
post #53537 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 02:11 AM
Member
 
SolRage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwishart View Post
Your serial number is in "system Information" or on the back of your display or on the box it came in, you can also get it from the Vizio App on your tablet or phone.
Thanks.
SolRage is offline  
post #53538 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 02:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,581
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4279 Post(s)
Liked: 2414
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkBelig View Post
Someone replied to my Reddit thread that he was seeing orangey reds on his XBox One S as well and someone else complained that their PS4 looked bad.
I watched "Annabelle: Creation" 4k DV on Vudu using the built-in app last night and the faces seemed to be orangey so not sure it's the XBox? As usually the movie started off just fine but at around 43 minutes I started getting the "Loading" screen every few minutes. I had to switch over to the Chromecast Ultra. They somehow messed up the Vudu app for the last couple of firmware versions. I've talked to Vizio and they say to call Vudu. Vudu has had a case open for about 6 weeks now but nothing has been done about it. Don't know if others have experienced the same with Vudu?

lujan
506 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #53539 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 04:37 AM
7-Year Tribulation Soon?
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

...The faces seemed to be orangie...


First suspect is the Color is too high. Turn the Color Level down.

Red-Orange Reds:

I wonder if the 'Red-Orange' introduction was to get 'better face' color. Vizzy-Oh, you 'sneaking' around here yet?


- Pj

- PjThis is The End-Age GenerationTime is Running OutQuakes, Sinkholes, Meteors
EvilutionMankind Was CreatedWe Didn't Come From ApesThere Was a Worldwide Flood!
The End of This Age is Near!I'm Ready For The Rapture!Are You Ready?The Time is Now!
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #53540 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 04:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 71
My last day as a p 50 owner. I thank everyone for their help in this thread. I hope the Sony 900e lives up to the hype. Again thanks!

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
shoman94 likes this.
jopat is offline  
post #53541 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by dooda View Post
has some update gone thru in the last couple of days or week perhaps?

i turned on my tv (p55-c1) today for some reason arc wouldn't work. i didn't touch or change anything as i live alone. i tried everything to get it to work again but to no avail. i would have thought maybe my avr receiver has died because it's quite old (denon ht-r580) but i connected my xbox one s using the receiver and sound was working perfectly. i dont understand can just arc die by itself on the receiver? i dont think so.

would appreciate any help instead of having to get newer model receiver and still have this problem because something is wrong with the tv.

thanks.
My ARC stopped working and I am working with Vizio to see if they can fix the issue. I suspected my receiver to be the culprit, but I disconnected and tried it on my neighbors TV and the receiver ARC worked just fine. I will let you know if I get ARC working on my P5-C1.
blatz8 is offline  
post #53542 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 05:27 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolRage View Post
I'm pretty sure there was an update. I also use my P-75 as a PC monitor and when I turned it on a few days ago I was suddenly getting annoying lag on everything (mouse movement, keyboard hits) and the picture settings had been changed. I went into the picture settings and noticed "game low latency" had been turned off, but even turning it back on didn't clear up the lag. I've contacted Vizio about this and so far all I've gotten is a response asking for my serial number, which I don't know.
I received the same email asking for my serial number, which I supplied, and have not heard back yet. Fingers crossed.
blatz8 is offline  
post #53543 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by weeber24 View Post
OK, my turn for yet another issue with this new firmware.

Whenever I'm watching on another input (say HDMI-1 or -4) and then I try to switch over to SmartCast, my display get stuck at "Starting SmartCast...Please Wait" and the spinning circle. No matter how long you wait, SmartCast never starts. Switching inputs then going back to SmartCast does not work. Although the display appears as a castable device, trying to cast while in the spinning circle mode is futile.

I have to turn off the TV, then turn it back on with it set to start on the SmartCast input, then SmartCast starts right up into the Ad screen (no spinning circle at all).

To my knowledge, this started happening with the newest firmware (3.4.8.5) I'm considering doing a system reset, but any other ideas before I do that?
You are exactly right that the issue started after the latest update. I cast youtube to my P65-C1 very frequently and noticed that whenever I find a video to watch, no matter whether on my phone, iPad, or vizio tablet, I hit the cast icon and it will hang on the youtube/loading screen until I select another video and then hit the back button to take me to the original video I wanted to watch. Very frustrating.
toonj64 likes this.
blatz8 is offline  
post #53544 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
What aspect ratio do you have it set on?
What aspect ratio? I have not changed the aspect ratio..... I just fire up the PS4 Pro and start killing stuff

Here's a pic of the outline of the score while playing "the crucible" on Destiny.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171028_161842.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	1.33 MB
ID:	2307380  
blatz8 is offline  
post #53545 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 06:43 AM
Member
 
accohn12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
try using an optical cable between the Vizio and the soundbar....
Thanks, I ordered an optical cable to give that a try. Just so annoying when you're setting up a brand new tv and something that should be so simple just doesn't work. And I'm not necessarily blaming the tv, my guess is it's more the soundbar than the TV. Anyone else have any ideas on how to get the HDMI to work that I can try?
accohn12 is offline  
post #53546 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1563
Quote:
Originally Posted by accohn12 View Post
Thanks, I ordered an optical cable to give that a try. Just so annoying when you're setting up a brand new tv and something that should be so simple just doesn't work. And I'm not necessarily blaming the tv, my guess is it's more the soundbar than the TV. Anyone else have any ideas on how to get the HDMI to work that I can try?
Unfortunately you are SOL using ARC between equipment made by different companies. I had a Samsung sound bar and never got ARC to work properly. I ended up getting the new Vizio 36" 5.1 system for under $200. It works amazing.

ARC was never standardized so every company has their own revision of it and it likely will have issues when you mix match equipment.

eARC with the upcoming HDMI 2.1 standard is said to resolve these issues.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
skschatzman is offline  
post #53547 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 07:17 AM
Member
 
accohn12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Unfortunately you are SOL using ARC between equipment made by different companies. I had a Samsung sound bar and never got ARC to work properly. I ended up getting the new Vizio 36" 5.1 system for under $200. It works amazing.

ARC was never standardized so every company has their own revision of it and it likely will have issues when you mix match equipment.

eARC with the upcoming HDMI 2.1 standard is said to resolve these issues.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Thanks for the feedback, makes sense unfortunately. Interesting about the Vizio soundbar...I'm hoping I can just get the Samsung one to work via Optical. What made you chose to buy a new soundbar instead of simply hooking your Samsung up via optical?
accohn12 is offline  
post #53548 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by accohn12 View Post
Thanks, I ordered an optical cable to give that a try. Just so annoying when you're setting up a brand new tv and something that should be so simple just doesn't work. And I'm not necessarily blaming the tv, my guess is it's more the soundbar than the TV. Anyone else have any ideas on how to get the HDMI to work that I can try?
I hate using optical after having ARC/CEC work perfectly for months. Gotta look for extra remotes, change settings/inputs, etc..... Come on Vizio...Get..It....Fixed....Please
blatz8 is offline  
post #53549 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3igi3yrd View Post
Last night I watched Stranger Things without much incident. Today, I start to finish it and the TV is restarting every few minutes.

Before I started troubleshooting, i wanted to see if this is happening to anyone else. Thanks in advance
Watched 4 episodes this weekend. Looked good and didnt have any issues. I started them on my phone then just cast to tv.

On a side note, is the sky grainy slightly on certain scenes for you?
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #53550 of 63893 Old 10-30-2017, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 994 Post(s)
Liked: 1753
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
On a side note, is the sky grainy slightly on certain scenes for you?
Even though it was shot digitally, the grain is intentional for a nostalgic 80's look. http://www.technicolor.com/en/who-we...anger-things-2
Quote:
Technicolor colorist Skip Kimball, who completed the SDR and HDR grades, was focused on giving the show its unique 1980’s film look and feel, even developing his own color system to immolate film grain. “That’s very specific to only Skip and Technicolor – this technology,” explained Ross Duffer. “It blew us away. I remember holding up a still from E.T. [against one of ours] and thinking, ‘This guy is a genius.’ It’s been incredible working with Skip; he really is a magician working with these tools.”
Ph8te and toonj64 like this.
puddy77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off