Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 188 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288720Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5611 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:47 AM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
I have had a couple of days with my P75 so far and I can tell you it has no issues whatsoever with upscaling, compression artifacts, or the mythical term of “upscaling”.

The RTINGS.com recommendation of turning Sharpness to zero is not a beneficial recommendation in my opinion. Their blanket recommendation of turning on the noise reduction settings is equally as bad in my opinion.
...

If you have excessive signal noise also called “Mosquito Noise” then adjust the “Reduce Signal Noise” setting from low to high in order to reduce that noise if it is terribly bothersome to you. However, I must also say that if you have excessive “Mosquito Noise” then it is more than likely that some other setting adjustment has caused or exaggerated that noise.
I just wanted to add that a boarder line HDMI cable can cause something that might look like "Mosquito Noise" or sparkles to some people.

If it's alright with you I'm going to reply to "bad scaling and bad interlacing posts" with a link to your post.

Thanks.
hernanu and kfevola like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5612 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
pos1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Michigan
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halo3492 View Post
Thanks. But Rtings did measure the blacks on the S64 better than the Vizio P.

I'm very interested in this TV though. $2000 for the 65" is great.
The blacks are very good on the P65 I have. I have the Panasonic ST-60 and a GT30 and the blacks are different in the fact that they seem warmer on the plasma, thus richer to me. I will agree with fellow posters the bars are darker on the P. All in all I don't think I'm losing that much in terms of black level with the P. Shadow detail and contrast ratio on the other hand is great on the plasma, and very good on the P. I'd give the nod to the plasma in that regard.

I don't miss the plasma as much as I thought I would (also still have it )

Last edited by pos1121; 04-12-2016 at 11:59 AM.
pos1121 is offline  
post #5613 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Scoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post
I can't remember if it's in the settings but it should auto default to the LAN connection when you plug it in. You can test it by switching to another input or when you turn the TV on and the info pops up at the top of the screen and there will be a little ethernet jack icon instead of a wifi signal icon.
thats whats weird. I hooked up the LAN before I even turned it on and during the setup process it didn't even give me the option it just went to wifi and asked for my network password. Was very odd. I guess I just have to keep tinkering. The menu isn't that difficult to navigate but I cant for the life of me find an option to use the LAN or get the tv to recognize its hard wired.
Scoob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5614 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Anago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Ana, Ca
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoob View Post
thats whats weird. I hooked up the LAN before I even turned it on and during the setup process it didn't even give me the option it just went to wifi and asked for my network password. Was very odd. I guess I just have to keep tinkering. The menu isn't that difficult to navigate but I cant for the life of me find an option to use the LAN or get the tv to recognzied its hard wired.
There is no setup for a LAN connection. It will automatically pick up an IP address through your router. WiFi has to be setup because there is a password to enter. Check for the ethernet connection icon on your display.

Vizio P75-C1, P50-C1, P65-C1- FW 9.0.7.3
Samsung UHD Bluray K8500 - LG UBK90 DV Bluray player
Vizio SB46514-F6 Soundbar - Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
Directv Genie HR34 - Chromecast Ultra
Anago is offline  
post #5615 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoob View Post
thats whats weird. I hooked up the LAN before I even turned it on and during the setup process it didn't even give me the option it just went to wifi and asked for my network password. Was very odd. I guess I just have to keep tinkering. The menu isn't that difficult to navigate but I cant for the life of me find an option to use the LAN or get the tv to recognize its hard wired.
I just edited my post. Go into settings, network. Connection Type should say Ethernet.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
post #5616 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:54 AM
Member
 
accord 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoob View Post
thats whats weird. I hooked up the LAN before I even turned it on and during the setup process it didn't even give me the option it just went to wifi and asked for my network password. Was very odd. I guess I just have to keep tinkering. The menu isn't that difficult to navigate but I cant for the life of me find an option to use the LAN or get the tv to recognzied its hard wired.
Open the smartcast app, go to settings > network. It doesn't say ethernet under connection settings?
accord 4 me is offline  
post #5617 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,964
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 2279
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
I just wanted to add that a boarder line HDMI cable can cause something that might look like "Mosquito Noise" or sparkles to some people.

If it's alright with you I'm going to reply to "bad scaling and bad interlacing posts" with a link to your post.

Thanks.
Agree completely. If you want to reproduce the sharpened processing from other TVs, that's fine - the controls are there and are not that hard to change.

If you want better processing to give you better definition without the sharpening artefacts, get a Darbee, put the cable HDMI connection through it and you get improved definition; I have an Oppo 103D and it cleans rogue cable signals well.

I don't have a P series (yet, may go with an R if it's updated), but would have no problem getting one. Upscaling is not an issue with this TV in my opinion, it just seems to have a clean signal with no undefeatable processing; exactly what I'd want.

This, paired with a UHD Oppo (DV/HDR hopefully) would be a killer package.
WiFi-Spy likes this.
hernanu is offline  
post #5618 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3333 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Has anyone confirmed a signal passing at 4k/60 4:2:2 or 4:2:0 at 30bit or 36 bit? I have't passed anything above 4k/60 4:2:0 24bit or 4k/24 4:4:4 24 through my AVR and I'm don't think there's any way to read the color depth on the P itself. Needs someone with an HTPC and a source that will either play or it won't.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #5619 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Anago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Ana, Ca
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by accord 4 me View Post
Open the smartcast app, go to settings > network. It doesn't say ethernet under connection settings?
It's weird but sometimes mine says ethernet and sometimes it says wired and I have made no changes.
FYI, WiFi is a form of ethernet too.

Vizio P75-C1, P50-C1, P65-C1- FW 9.0.7.3
Samsung UHD Bluray K8500 - LG UBK90 DV Bluray player
Vizio SB46514-F6 Soundbar - Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
Directv Genie HR34 - Chromecast Ultra
Anago is offline  
post #5620 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 11:58 AM
Member
 
supremekizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anago View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by supremekizzle View Post
How can we improve upscaling on this TV? Debating returning it. Can we unlock a hidden menu to upscale better? Thanks.
Yes. there is a hidden menu in the smartcast app. It's called the Unicorn menu, gives you everything you want.
Can't seem to find it.
supremekizzle is offline  
post #5621 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
zeekle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: nashville tn
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSonntag View Post
as i understand it, a powerline adapter works very well too, for those that don't have ethernet cable near their tv.
PowerLine is one of those your mileage may vary sorts of things but they are great when they work. Just don't put one in a power strip they tend to hate those things.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
zeekle is offline  
post #5622 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Besides Amazon, what other apps are missing from the P Series? Can you get pretty much anything in the Google Play store (besides Amazon)? How about the Sling app?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
buju22 is offline  
post #5623 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
TinyRK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by supremekizzle View Post
Can't seem to find it.
mpgxsvcd, turts85, Anago and 1 others like this.

LG 65E6 | Denon x3200 | Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RS-62II - R-115SW
TinyRK is offline  
post #5624 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
TinyRK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by buju22 View Post
Besides Amazon, what other apps are missing from the P Series? Can you get pretty much anything in the Google Play store (besides Amazon)? How about the Sling app?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Some app show "Not compatible with device" - or something like that.
Example: SmartThings App


But technically everything in the Google Play Store should work.

LG 65E6 | Denon x3200 | Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RS-62II - R-115SW
TinyRK is offline  
post #5625 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,924
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2969 Post(s)
Liked: 2627
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
I just wanted to add that a boarder line HDMI cable can cause something that might look like "Mosquito Noise" or sparkles to some people.

If it's alright with you I'm going to reply to "bad scaling and bad interlacing posts" with a link to your post.

Thanks.
Yes defective HDMI cables can produce something akin to Mosquito noise. However, it would be rare that someone has that happen and thinks it is the TVs fault. You can use my post as you see fit. We have freedom of speech so I really can't and wouldn't stop anyone from using my words however they want to.
htwaits and thomasfxlt like this.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #5626 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Order placed for the P75 through Vizio! Good god I'm excited. Hopefully they don't take an eternity to ship. I'm feeling pretty impatient right now lol.

My only concern is that my stand has a 14 inch depth, which is about the depth of the legs (13.75 inches I believe). I'm wondering if I should order the shopjimmy stand that a few of you are using. The TV isn't in a place where it would get moved, but I wouldn't want to take any chances either. Any suggestions? The Jimmyshop might work if the feet aren't placed too close to the edges of the base...
daravelli is offline  
post #5627 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Nantucket ....
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by supremekizzle View Post
Can't seem to find it.


It's in the tablet settings under a rainbow icon

Last edited by Ian c2; 04-12-2016 at 12:11 PM.
Ian c2 is offline  
post #5628 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3333 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Quote:
Originally Posted by daravelli View Post
Order placed for the P75 through Vizio! Good god I'm excited. Hopefully they don't take an eternity to ship. I'm feeling pretty impatient right now lol.

My only concern is that my stand has a 14 inch depth, which is about the depth of the legs (13.75 inches I believe). I'm wondering if I should order the shopjimmy stand that a few of you are using. The TV isn't in a place where it would get moved, but I wouldn't want to take any chances either. Any suggestions? The Jimmyshop might work if the feet aren't placed too close to the edges of the base...
Do you have kids?
mpgxsvcd likes this.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #5629 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
promike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, KY
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 102
I'm sure that there are many potential owners like myself who follow this forum closely. I just posted my experience with ordering direct from Vizio in the deals section. Didn't want to take up space in this great forum. Just some things that buyers should know. I'm still getting a P75-C1, just going to wait for Costco or Amazon.
mpgxsvcd and Johnnyice426 like this.

Speakers: Klipsch RF-7II(2), RC-64II, RS-62II(2), RP-160M(2), Rythmik Atlantic Technology IC-6-OBA(4)
AVP: Yamaha CX-A5200, BJC certified cables
Amps: Emotiva XPA-5(2), XPA-3
Oppo UDP-203, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield, Sony UBP-X800
JVC DLA-RS540K, (132" screen), LG C977 OLED, Samsung HWQ90R Soundbar
promike is offline  
post #5630 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3333 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Quote:
Originally Posted by promike View Post
I'm sure that there are many potential owners like myself who follow this forum closely. I just posted my experience with ordering direct from Vizio in the deals section. Didn't want to take up space in this great forum. Just some things that buyers should know. I'm still getting a P75-C1, just going to wait for Costco or Amazon.
I won't ask.... sorry to hear that you have to wait.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #5631 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:08 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I think it is because SD sources look really bad? I do not really know how else to say that. For most people that is not a problem, but they are beyond grainy. SD looks worse than on a tube TV from 1980
That's all we had then. When HDTV came out there were constant articles pointing out that people were buying them with no access to HD sources, and that in most cases the buyers were not aware that there were better sources available.

I collected 49er games using Super Betamax and SuperVHS VCRs. I didn't know that they looked bad on our Sony XBR SDTV. I threw them all into a recycle bin once we got a 60" 1080p set that had outstanding scaling and deinterlacing. That was really garbage in, garbage out. The more reveling a display is the better the garbage will be seen for what it is -- garbage.

It feels weird to me to be reading the same conversations that came up with introduction of HDTV.
mpgxsvcd likes this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #5632 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halo3492 View Post
Crazy. Which do you prefer for movie viewing?
The P75 by a long mile. That's why it's in my TV room. It's bigger, brighter, more color saturation, better blacks, higher resolution, less heat, etc...The ZT65 had it's place when all you could get was edge lit LED.
mpgxsvcd likes this.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #5633 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
promike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, KY
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
I won't ask.... sorry to hear that you have to wait.
Just wanted to say how much I appreciate all of the helpful advice and knowledge that you bring to the table. Hopefully it won't be too long. I know that I won't be the only one waiting.
thomasfxlt likes this.

Speakers: Klipsch RF-7II(2), RC-64II, RS-62II(2), RP-160M(2), Rythmik Atlantic Technology IC-6-OBA(4)
AVP: Yamaha CX-A5200, BJC certified cables
Amps: Emotiva XPA-5(2), XPA-3
Oppo UDP-203, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield, Sony UBP-X800
JVC DLA-RS540K, (132" screen), LG C977 OLED, Samsung HWQ90R Soundbar
promike is offline  
post #5634 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
atbroome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Not being an android guy, I've noted a few apps labeled as not compatible. Does this just mean they won't stream but I can still download and run the app? Because I thought this was just an android tablet that should run regular (aka not casting specific apps).

Basically I want to play around with Android via my free tablet and it seems I'm being limited to only apps that can cast to the Vizio.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TinyRK View Post
Some app show "Not compatible with device" - or something like that.
Example: SmartThings App


But technically everything in the Google Play Store should work.

Vizio P65-C1
atbroome is offline  
post #5635 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:14 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeekle View Post
I don't think they felt like they needed to.. Its rarely the market leader that adds expensive features to differentiate themselves if they don't have to.

Right now they get to say they have HDR

Next year they might say they have HDR now with Dolby Vision
... and they will sell some of their customers a new set both years.
zeekle likes this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #5636 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
Agree completely. If you want to reproduce the sharpened processing from other TVs, that's fine - the controls are there and are not that hard to change.

If you want better processing to give you better definition without the sharpening artefacts, get a Darbee, put the cable HDMI connection through it and you get improved definition; I have an Oppo 103D and it cleans rogue cable signals well.

I don't have a P series (yet, may go with an R if it's updated), but would have no problem getting one. Upscaling is not an issue with this TV in my opinion, it just seems to have a clean signal with no undefeatable processing; exactly what I'd want.

This, paired with a UHD Oppo (DV/HDR hopefully) would be a killer package.
What % Darbee are you using?
GardenVariety is offline  
post #5637 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcat View Post
Considering this set coming from a Panny p60st50. Watch Dish 80%, Amazon 20%. Don't own a Blu ray player. Devon avr-1712 that's used now and then on a DVD (OPPO 980h). Have not looked much but the Samsung curved at Sams Club looked really nice to me. I love the specs and reviews of this Vizio, but for my watching, not sure if it's worth the extra $500. Thoughts from anyone coming from a Plasma who's on Dish?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
If you are only interested in 1080i and below, I would just keep what you have. Are you OK with the brightness on the Panny?
GardenVariety is offline  
post #5638 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
WRXpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
This is an impression, and you should look at Visio's description of their speaker system when it's released. My understanding that the surround speakers are wireless. For all I know the sub and the sound bar (FL, C, FR) are wireless. I don't see any reason to involve ARC because there is no AVR involved. I think it's very unlikely that you will have to run speaker wires using the speakers Visio is releasing for the P-Series.
Their current 'wireless' 5.1 soundbar isn't entirely - there's no wires between the bar (FL/C/FR) and the sub. But there ARE wires from the sub to the rear surrounds. Still, running wires along 1 wall (rear) is highly preferable to running them all around the room as I had to with my old AVR. The bar IS the AVR, so ARC works the same w/ these as any other AVR.

The new systems look very similar to the current ones, with SmartCast capability added, although the flagship model has a redesigned 'flat' sub (curious about the details on that one).

Quote:
Originally Posted by SillieBazzillie View Post
I was actually asking in relation to the current M's. I use a projector for my main sports and movie watching but I want to get an LCD for video gaming, 2nd tv. After doing some research it seems I can spend like $700 on a decent 1080p set (current M) or $1,300 on a fantastic set. My only remaining issue (albeit a very small one) is that the biggest I can go is 55 and it sounds like the panels for the 55 and 50 may not be quite as good as the bigger ones.
What sort of gaming are you talking? Since neither the PS4 nor XBO can output above 1080p, I wouldn't necessarily be looking for a 4K TV for console gaming as my first choice. There's also no color standards for gaming, so the HDR features of the P aren't going to mean much for that purpose either. I'd personally be (and am) waiting to see what the 2016 M- and E- series turn out to look like before making a purchase decision if 4K/HDR content is not your primary viewing criteria. It'd also be nice to see that HDR10 comes as promised (and works) on the P before committing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
The RTINGS.com recommendation of turning Sharpness to zero is not a beneficial recommendation in my opinion. Their blanket recommendation of turning on the noise reduction settings is equally as bad in my opinion.

First turning the sharpness down will introduce more and more “blurriness” to the image. At a value of zero you will most definitely say that the TV lacks resolution and is inferior to other TVs. So don’t do that. Start with 20 and turn ALL of the noise reduction values to zero.
I'm going to come right out and say it: I am not impressed with RTings reviews, and am very hesitant to base purchasing decisions on them. They (he?) makes subjective calls about key settings seemingly without thorough testing, then makes definitive conclusions about the displays based on those calls. His complaints about this P-series (and the 2015 M-) upscaling, and FALD settings (which he apparently reversed course on from 2015 to 2016) are perfect examples.

Quote:
Originally Posted by atbroome View Post
The FIOS box does not have many settings. I currently have it set to output 1080i and NBC is a 1080i network. I haven't found any setting on the box related to output refresh rate.
Don't look to hard; there isn't one. I have the newest Quantum DVR, and it's the same story. 1080i or 720p are the only 'HD' output options. Set to 1080i, some channels (even main networks) are noticeably soft, even on a 1080p TV. Since there is no native output option, that's just the way it is.
thomasfxlt and JoinTheBattle like this.
WRXpilot is offline  
post #5639 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:20 PM
Member
 
accord 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by atbroome View Post
Not being an android guy, I've noted a few apps labeled as not compatible. Does this just mean they won't stream but I can still download and run the app? Because I thought this was just an android tablet that should run regular (aka not casting specific apps).

Basically I want to play around with Android via my free tablet and it seems I'm being limited to only apps that can cast to the Vizio.
I've not run into any apps I couldn't install. Do you recall what you weren't able to install? You're right in that you should be able to install anything as this is just a generic android tablet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anago View Post
turn on Unknown sources under Security settings.
I wouldn't advise this unless you know 100% for sure the site you're getting the apk from is legitimate. You don't need this for anything you get from the play store. But would need it for apps from the amazon app store for example
JoinTheBattle likes this.
accord 4 me is offline  
post #5640 of 64733 Old 04-12-2016, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,964
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 2279
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
What % Darbee are you using?
For me and my panel - a Vizio xvt473sv (FALD, 160 zones) which has great dimming performance, I set it to 49.

I know it's higher than some suggest (35%), but it seems to do the enhancements without any ill effects. Great player for everything, will go into my bedroom when the new Oppos come out, which is when I'll upgrade my entire setup, possibly with a P65.
thomasfxlt likes this.
hernanu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off