Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 1983 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288453Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #59461 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,547
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4243 Post(s)
Liked: 2398
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
Has anyone tried Vudu to see if it is playing DV correctly? I tried and it is still not working.
No, it didn't work for me either this morning but Vudu has been known to give false information in the past so I'm not holding my breath.
shoman94 likes this.

lujan
505 Ultra HD
720 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #59462 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
abouttreefitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by campiosa View Post
Not sure if this has been discovered already, too many posts to search through at this point.

For anyone having issues with the 4k/HDR/60Hz thing, I did some testing and you should be able to solve the problem with a combination of 2 settings.

First you need to go to the input settings and cycle the UHD setting off and then back on. This will reset the communication down the HDMI line for what the TV is capable of.

Secondly, unless you want to have to set this every time you turn on the TV, you will need to go to the system settings and make sure you are on "quick start" rather than "eco mode". I tested and it will hold the proper TV capabilities for HDMI communication if you are in quick-start, but will not if in Eco mode. My guess is that in quick start the memory is still held actively and the display panel is just turned off, whereas in Eco mode the entire TV is shut down, and on restart has to read configs from a file. The problem in this firmware is most likely in the recording/reading of this file, which is why you have to cycle the UHD every restart if you are in Eco mode.

Seems like there are still people asking about this so I wanted to share what I have found.

Thanks.
Doesn’t work for me with my P65 and PS4. Thanks though.
abouttreefitty is offline  
post #59463 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 09:42 AM
Member
 
tyscherb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by abouttreefitty View Post
Doesn’t work for me with my P65 and PS4. Thanks though.
This doesn't work for me either with my Yamaha CX-A5100 and PS4 Pro. I'm glad it works for you though...Regardless though, Vizio needs to step up and make a statement while also announcing a time line for this issue to be fixed ASAP.
tyscherb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #59464 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,313
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1254 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
This process is what's worked consistently for me to get [email protected] back. You have to fiddle with the ARC setting AND the Full UHD Color setting.
shoman94 likes this.
Schwa is offline  
post #59465 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,416
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2580 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
They created a case number for me and said he will forward all my feedback. Also said my firmware is up to date and if I keep experiencing issues to contact support and reference the case number to continue troubleshooting etc
Quote:
Originally Posted by O'neil026 View Post
Trouble shoot what. All we need is a firmware update to the current cast which is 127 like the one for the P's
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
That’s what I said which is why I told him we need a firmware upgrade to make sure things run smooth. He said he’ll forward the info so we’ll see.
We aren't waiting for a firmware update to fix the Vudu DV issue. We are waiting for Vudu to update their DV profiles from DV4 to DV5.
blatz8 likes this.
skschatzman is online now  
post #59466 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 09:51 AM
Member
 
gstro19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Looks like if you want an Oppo player, you may want to grab it soon.

https://www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker/2018/4/3/17191912/hi-fi-audio-disc-player-oppo-digital-shut-down
gstro19 is offline  
post #59467 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
We aren't waiting for a firmware update to fix the Vudu DV issue. We are waiting for Vudu to update their DV profiles from DV4 to DV5.


I know (which still hasn’t happened yet) what I was talking to him about was having Vizio update the cast software like on their displays for their sound bars specifically the 2016 models

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #59468 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 202
So casting from my laptop directly to my display works better as I am getting DV on all the newer titles that I have but my old titles still play in SDR for example FF8, Transformers TLK .. Going to try casting from my iphone then the native app one more time.

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #59469 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
We aren't waiting for a firmware update to fix the Vudu DV issue. We are waiting for Vudu to update their DV profiles from DV4 to DV5.
Well, something is clearly up with that since they first said it was going to happen Monday and nothing happened. Then it was supposed to happen today and it hasn't. And no news from them whatever; absolute silence. Something is clearly wrong, no?
GEORGEXXX is offline  
post #59470 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 10:46 AM
Member
 
Alan_Arkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is anyone having serious networking problems with the new 4.0.3.2 firmware? Ever since it upgraded, my P-75 has had trouble connecting to the same network it has been connected to without a problem. I did a factory reset, which fixed it temporarily, and find that a soft power reset will also fix it for awhile. But this never happened before the firmware update.
Alan_Arkin is offline  
post #59471 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Character_Zero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
So casting from my laptop directly to my display works better as I am getting DV on all the newer titles that I have but my old titles still play in SDR for example FF8, Transformers TLK .. Going to try casting from my iphone then the native app one more time.
Old titles are going to play in SDR until Vudu goes back and updates each one individually to Profile 5. Two steps forward, 1 step back.
shoman94 and leojj25 like this.
Character_Zero is offline  
post #59472 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by GEORGEXXX View Post
Well, something is clearly up with that since they first said it was going to happen Monday and nothing happened. Then it was supposed to happen today and it hasn't. And no news from them whatever; absolute silence. Something is clearly wrong, no?
well i have some good news the newer titles are finally playing correctly on the native app. For example I tried Justice League, Thor Ragnarok, Spiderman Homecoming, COCO etc. So hopefully my older titles get updated soon. Finally a step in the right direction.

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #59473 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,704
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1793 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Character_Zero View Post
Old titles are going to play in SDR until Vudu goes back and updates each one individually to Profile 5. Two steps forward, 1 step back.
So this is Vizio fault, they should have supported both Profile 4 and 5. When Vudu made the switch to Profile 5 for newer titles, our displays would of recognized 5 and enabled DV.

It's a shame, because they have access to the same DV Profile white paper everyone that's not in firmware development.

Sent from my SM-G360T1 using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #59474 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,704
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1793 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
well i have some good news the newer titles are finally playing correctly on the native app. For example I tried Justice League, Thor Ragnarok, Spiderman Homecoming, COCO etc. So hopefully my older titles get updated soon. Finally a step in the right direction.
There's way to many titles. Vizio would be better off, just adding Profile 4 support while newer titles use Profile 5.

Sent from my SM-G360T1 using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #59475 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,061
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4987 Post(s)
Liked: 3542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Character_Zero View Post
Old titles are going to play in SDR until Vudu goes back and updates each one individually to Profile 5. Two steps forward, 1 step back.
I still don't understand that....Profile 4 doesn't work with Vudu but yet it does work Netflix since Vudu claims Vizio shut off profile 4 support. I don't believe anyone anymore.

Sent from my LG-V30 using Tapatalk
reallynotnick, naustin and leojj25 like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #59476 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,061
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4987 Post(s)
Liked: 3542
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
well i have some good news the newer titles are finally playing correctly on the native app. For example I tried Justice League, Thor Ragnarok, Spiderman Homecoming, COCO etc. So hopefully my older titles get updated soon. Finally a step in the right direction.
So you have a CCU? If so can you try that?

Sent from my LG-V30 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #59477 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
So this is Vizio fault, they should have supported both Profile 4 and 5. When Vudu made the switch to Profile 5 for newer titles, our displays would of recognized 5 and enabled DV.

It's a shame, because they have access to the same DV Profile white paper everyone that's not in firmware development.

Sent from my SM-G360T1 using Tapatalk
Why does Netflix work then? Aren't they using Profile 4?
GEORGEXXX is offline  
post #59478 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 11:40 AM
Member
 
-griffy-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Man, we are worrying about DV Vudu support, meanwhile DV is still borked on this set where you gotta choose if you want bright highlights but dim overall at 30 backlight, or dim highlights and normal brightness at 50 backlight. I'm honestly getting close to issuing a claim with my CC to get a refund due to all this crap and getting a 2018 TCL or Samsung.
-griffy- is offline  
post #59479 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 11:41 AM
Member
 
mtthwgrms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The NIC is 100mbps. Are there any TV's that have a gigaport? Even 8K will will only use 50mbps
Just popped by to confirm port is 10/100...
Not that it matters but to answer your question-- my nearly 8 year old Sony Google TV has a gigabit ethernet port.
mtthwgrms is offline  
post #59480 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
So you have a CCU? If so can you try that?

Sent from my LG-V30 using Tapatalk


Yes I do I’ll try casting it to my CCU in a few and report back. Settings look great btw.
shoman94 likes this.

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #59481 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by -griffy- View Post
Man, we are worrying about DV Vudu support, meanwhile DV is still borked on this set where you gotta choose if you want bright highlights but dim overall at 30 backlight, or dim highlights and normal brightness at 50 backlight. I'm honestly getting close to issuing a claim with my CC to get a refund due to all this crap and getting a 2018 TCL or Samsung.


Samsung doesn’t even have DV so the highlights won’t even matter there. I would probably get a Sony, Lg oled or hopefully a better future Vizio P

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #59482 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 12:02 PM
Member
 
-griffy-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
Samsung doesn’t even have DV so the highlights won’t even matter there. I would probably get a Sony, Lg oled or hopefully a better future Vizio P
Yeah I know, but might be worth ditching DV to get a TV that doesn't get progressively worse the longer you own it.
Schwa, lujan and reallynotnick like this.
-griffy- is offline  
post #59483 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,061
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4987 Post(s)
Liked: 3542
I just tried a whole bunch of random films on Vudu and a bunch of them are working.... Even some older ones. Some still aren't also.

Cast from the app is still broken and casting to the CCU is still broken on newer titles.

Sent from my LG-V30 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #59484 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I just tried a whole bunch of random films on Vudu and a bunch of them are working.... Even some older ones. Some still aren't also.

Cast from the app is still broken and casting to the CCU is still broken on newer titles.

Sent from my LG-V30 using Tapatalk


At least we have some progress after many months. For me only Coco, Justice League and Thor Ragnarok casted in HDX but my other movies including my old ones played in UHD DV through my CCU

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #59485 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Anago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Ana, Ca
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Almost all of my movies on VUDU are now playing in Dolby vision except the Mummy.
leojj25 likes this.

Vizio P75-C1, P50-C1, P65-C1- FW 6.0.18.1
Samsung UHD Bluray K8500 - LG UBK90 DV Bluray player
Vizio SB46514-F6 Soundbar - Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
Directv Genie HR34 - Chromecast Ultra
Anago is offline  
post #59486 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ericthemidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Picking up the set later today! I'm going for a 65" for my basement. I'm currently using a 55" X900e that allows me to play PC games at 120hz at 1080P. Does this set allow the same?
leojj25 likes this.
Ericthemidget is offline  
post #59487 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I just tried a whole bunch of random films on Vudu and a bunch of them are working.... Even some older ones. Some still aren't also.

Cast from the app is still broken and casting to the CCU is still broken on newer titles.

Sent from my LG-V30 using Tapatalk
Ditto here, seems they're switching them over, perhaps one at a time, or perhaps in batches? Wonder Woman and Spiderman Homecoming now show DV again (YAY), but Mad Max and Star Trek Beyond still no DV (boo).
tazzarias is offline  
post #59488 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 12:52 PM
Member
 
playadel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
At least we have some progress after many months. For me only Coco, Justice League and Thor Ragnarok casted in HDX but my other movies including my old ones played in UHD DV through my CCU
Are you sure you waited long enough for UHD to buffer? Those titles work for me.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
playadel2001 is offline  
post #59489 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 12:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,061
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4987 Post(s)
Liked: 3542
Quote:
Originally Posted by playadel2001 View Post
Are you sure you waited long enough for UHD to buffer? Those titles work for me.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
He says on the CCU.

Sent from my LG-V30 using Tapatalk
playadel2001 and leojj25 like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #59490 of 63875 Old 04-03-2018, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,313
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1254 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
So, lemme see if I understand the current status... Casting from the Vudu app still doesn't work correctly, but using the display's built-in Vudu app is (almost) fixed? Is that correct?
Schwa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off