Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 201 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288562Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6001 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 04:26 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
Vizio didn't focus it's engineering on trying to cleanup poor signals. That's a negative for some people. It's out in the open and was disclosed by Vizio first. It's really no surprise that reruns of Mash don't look great on the P.
Damn Pioneer 60" Kuro looked like crap playing my home made copy of the 1995 Superbowl which was first done on a SuperVHS at top speed, and then recopied to a Super Betamax to remove the commercials -- again at top speed.

What were those Pioneer engineers thinking, and I paid a lot of good money for that Pioneer piece of trash. I hope they go out of business!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Spine Guy, THX1720, Ph8te and 5 others like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 04-13-2016 at 08:51 PM.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6002 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 04:31 PM
Member
 
isaurio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: New York
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootman_head_fi View Post
Not debating the greatness of the box.
But if you are an Amazon prime customer not sure if much else gets you Prime in 4k w/HDR.

Hopefully something can be resolved becasue I can't argue over the hardware differences just the content availability one.

...or I can build a NUC and run everything.
I could built me a nice system. I just dont want to mess with that right now, if i could get something out of the box is a win. This company this to get their **** together. I come late from work to be dealing with the same thing i do at work. Servers, systems, cisco switches, upgrades, builts, scripting, AD, DNS, DHCP. ETC. you name it. lol

P65-C1 (2016)
Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR
Bose Double Cube x4 (Presence Speakers)
Klipsch RP-250C(C) - R-14S(SR) - RP-250F(F)
Nvidia Shield--FIOS 100/100
-obsolete (Pioneer AVR SC81)
isaurio is offline  
post #6003 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
rick98761's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Lots of HTPC talk in here. If your card supports it just output at 119hz. Avoids any refresh rate switching you need to do and any audio sync issues that are common at 23hz.
rick98761 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6004 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
pearsco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Am I correct in understanding that the only way you can switch to a particular HDMI input is thru the Vizio App? With the dedicated IR remote or more importantly, Harmony hub based remotes you have to cycle thru the inputs? I would ideally like to be able to switch HDMI inputs back and forth for different activities with my harmony Elite.
pearsco is offline  
post #6005 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 04:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Just a random thought. These forums need a FAQ subsection for each thread. Cut done on the repeats Q&A.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
zer0cool2007 likes this.
buju22 is offline  
post #6006 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
SpectraCal releases CalMAN 5.7 beta for DolbyVision...
Nice
jopat likes this.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500

Last edited by hockeythug; 04-13-2016 at 05:10 PM.
hockeythug is offline  
post #6007 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
About to purchase my 55 today

So I've been following this thread for about a week or more and i have to say thank you for all the information!!! Thank you again! So heres my question. I haven't seen much info on the 55 but has anyone that purchased it, have you calibrated it yet? And if so does it look a lot better when you've done so? Also do you feel that your blacks are just as black as the 65 if you've seen the 65? Are you having the same kind of issues that the owners of the 65 are having too? And do you think you should of went with the 65 outside of it being a bigger tv? Thanks and sorry if i broke any rules with my question..
nossirre is offline  
post #6008 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:13 PM
 
atomic4877's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Just curious if anyone had any thoughts on if this is just something in the screen or dead pixels? It does not move when pressure applied. Trying to see if they are indeed dead pixels as it it near the center of the screen and noticeable at about 7-8 ft viewing distance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1460589160814.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	1378234  
atomic4877 is offline  
post #6009 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by nossirre View Post
So I've been following this thread for about a week or more and i have to say thank you for all the information!!! Thank you again! So heres my question. I haven't seen much info on the 55 but has anyone that purchased it, have you calibrated it yet? And if so does it look a lot better when you've done so? Also do you feel that your blacks are just as black as the 65 if you've seen the 65? Are you having the same kind of issues that the owners of the 65 are having too? And do you think you should of went with the 65 outside of it being a bigger tv? Thanks and sorry if i broke any rules with my question..
Oh! and cables! Like what kind of cables quality wise should i get for this tv to go from it and my xbox?
nossirre is offline  
post #6010 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
GunmetalR56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Hi Djoberg,

The bars are pitch black on these TVs. No hint of backlight... I believe Vizio has implemented their own version of Cinema Black like Samsung's flagship TVs that turns off the backlight when it detects black bars from a movie.

I have to say that the whole screen on this TV produces some inky black levels to the point I wonder if the Cinema Black was even needed.
mpgxsvcd and jopat like this.
GunmetalR56 is offline  
post #6011 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I understand that we cannot cast Amazon HDR content using the tablet.

If I use a Tivo Bolt connected to the Vizio with HDMI can I view Amazon HDR content using the Bolt app?

Thanks
NavyGuy69 is offline  
post #6012 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:26 PM
Member
 
whizzer4113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Got my p65 yesterday, which is awesome so far. However, I've run into a few issues that I hope to get some guidance with. Some, if not all, maybe related to an also new Denon x3200. Setup is as follows; Directv HR54 -> Denon x3200 -> P65. P65 ARC back to Denon.
- Sound through ARC to Denon is very intermittent when playing MadMax UHD from VUDU. Video is great.
- Lost the volume bar GUI. It did work at first. I think I made a change which broke this and I can’t figure out which change.
- When powering on P65 after some time being off (Denon in standby) I get a “No Signal” message on screen. I then have to power on the Denon to get video back. If I power off the Denon back to standby, video is still passed through.
whizzer4113 is offline  
post #6013 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djoberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Central Minnesota
Posts: 6,616
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1439 Post(s)
Liked: 2156
Quote:
Originally Posted by GunmetalR56 View Post
Hi Djoberg,

The bars are pitch black on these TVs. No hint of backlight... I believe Vizio has implemented their own version of Cinema Black like Samsung's flagship TVs that turns off the backlight when it detects black bars from a movie.

I have to say that the whole screen on this TV produces some inky black levels to the point I wonder if the Cinema Black was even needed.
Sounds good! I can't wait to see one "up close and personal," but the nearest Best Buy has no idea when they're getting them in.

LG OLED 77C8...Denon X4300H 9.2 AVR...LG UHD UBK90 (Dolby Vision BDP)...Philips UHD BDP-7501...Toshiba HD-A30...Dish Hopper 3...Roku Premiere Plus...Harmony One

5.2.4 Set-up: SVS Prime Bookshelf Speakers (4)...SVS Prime Center...SVS Prime Elevation (4)...SVS PC-2000 & PC12-NSD Subs
djoberg is offline  
post #6014 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by djoberg View Post
So, "the black levels are as good as the Pioneer." Does that mean the "black bars" turn to "dark gray" when the aspect ratio is 2.40:1 and you're watching a really dark scene? I say this because my Kuro Elite, which has amazing black levels in most scenes, still suffers from "gray bars" in very dark scenes. If so, that would NOT be acceptable to me, for that INSTANTLY takes me out of the movie. I want COMPLETELY BLACK BARS or it's a deal-breaker for me. So, unless the bars are BLACK like they are on an OLED, I will NOT be purchasing a Vizio P-Series display.
can honestly say absolutly on the 50 in and other va panels the 55 is ips so not sure but have heard very good as well
djoberg likes this.
jopat is offline  
post #6015 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by pearsco View Post
Am I correct in understanding that the only way you can switch to a particular HDMI input is thru the Vizio App? With the dedicated IR remote or more importantly, Harmony hub based remotes you have to cycle thru the inputs? I would ideally like to be able to switch HDMI inputs back and forth for different activities with my harmony Elite.
yes the ir remote has a button to switch hdmi ports. dont have a harmony but do have a tablet with an ir blaster though. wich i will be using when i get a reciever.
jopat is offline  
post #6016 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyGuy69 View Post
I understand that we cannot cast Amazon HDR content using the tablet.

If I use a Tivo Bolt connected to the Vizio with HDMI can I view Amazon HDR content using the Bolt app?

Thanks
yes any streaming device that isnt google
jopat is offline  
post #6017 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
ANEWMadrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Question: does the Display come with the screws M6 14MM Already in the TV? I literally want to take off 8550 and put this on. Thanks.
ANEWMadrid is offline  
post #6018 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
GunmetalR56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 416
It does.. M6 16 I believe
GunmetalR56 is offline  
post #6019 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANEWMadrid View Post
Question: does the Display come with the screws M6 14MM Already in the TV? I literally want to take off 8550 and put this on. Thanks.
It does but people have said they are basically just there to fill the holes(not that good of quality) and advised to get better screws.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
post #6020 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Cool, Ill try it out. Has anyone done a tutorial using it?

Weird how the MyHarmony software doesn't have it. I use the Logitech Harmony Desktop software 7 for my Harmony One and that one has it.

I'm ok with it if it was going to be handled by firmware. Not having @Matt McRae giving us the attention in the beginning surely lowers my gut feelings about it. I think we were spoiled but now reality is back.
Was out of office last week and just digging back in but schedule is pretty slammed for the next few days... just FYI to group. We are making progress on local dimming attack times on scene transitions (actually root caused to pixel compensation), ARC ATMOS compatibility, tearing on fast pans (as reported above)...

Also working on getting some simple demo DolbyVision content OK'd for release that could be loaded onto USB for quick demo of HDR content.

Just got through my PMs and will go through the threads more in the next few days.

Again, thank you to all of our customers and for your suggestions/communications.
MCaugusto, Googer, VBB and 33 others like this.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #6021 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Castle Rock. CO, usa
Posts: 3,858
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I went back to best buy today to take a look now that they had it setup, and they did have the box around the remote so I couldn't touch it which as disappointing. I don't know if Best Buy just hasn't calibrated it yet, but it the demo material they are using on this guy just doesn't hold up. I really wish I could see a calibrated unit somewhere to help make a decision. Seeing this next to the 2016 Samsungs and Sony's I can't say that I'd currently be interested in this unit, but I keep hearing its so nice. Maybe over time it will be available at more places where I can actually go in and see a nice one with good demo content.

chap is offline  
post #6022 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
k124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 77
While calibrating, I adjusted Gamma to 2.4 to get an accurate curve.

I started watching some DV via Netflix, and it switched into Calibrated Dark, settings snapped to 50 backlight, etc, ok good.

But then I noticed the Gamma remained set to 2.4. I went and reset the Calibrated Dark mode, and Gamma stuck at 2.4.

Perhaps it retains that while in DV similar to how it retains the color settings? Or do you think it was maybe just glitching on me?

Regardless, I moved Gamma around, and noticed it did a decent job of adjusting. Perhaps Gamma is a decent stopgap to adjust for playing DV content in brighter environments?

Curious what others have experienced and think.
k124 is offline  
post #6023 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
pearsco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Matt, any way you guy could supply the IP protocol commands to Logitech for their harmony hub based lineup? Specifically the direct HDMI and Cast input switching commands.
mpgxsvcd, pilgrimpete and Ronman79 like this.
pearsco is offline  
post #6024 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
k124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McRae View Post
Was out of office last week and just digging back in but schedule is pretty slammed for the next few days... just FYI to group. We are making progress on local dimming attack times on scene transitions (actually root caused to pixel compensation), ARC ATMOS compatibility, tearing on fast pans (as reported above)...

Also working on getting some simple demo DolbyVision content OK'd for release that could be loaded onto USB for quick demo of HDR content.

Just got through my PMs and will go through the threads more in the next few days.

Again, thank you to all of our customers and for your suggestions/communications.
Welcome back Matt. We have been so busy enjoying our new sets, we hardly noticed you were gone. I kid, but really, am loving my P65. Thanks for the update on upcoming fixes. Nothing earth shattering for a new release with lots of new tech built in.
k124 is offline  
post #6025 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by GunmetalR56 View Post
Hi Djoberg,

The bars are pitch black on these TVs. No hint of backlight... I believe Vizio has implemented their own version of Cinema Black like Samsung's flagship TVs that turns off the backlight when it detects black bars from a movie.
We have an algorithm that we call Black Bar Detection... this coupled with careful backlight design allows us to really get the black bars to just fall away to nearly pure black. Has been a major focus for us over the last 3-4 years since movie watching is such an important use case.
Googer, VBB, Spine Guy and 11 others like this.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #6026 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
k124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McRae View Post
Was out of office last week and just digging back in but schedule is pretty slammed for the next few days... just FYI to group. We are making progress on local dimming attack times on scene transitions (actually root caused to pixel compensation), ARC ATMOS compatibility, tearing on fast pans (as reported above)...

Also working on getting some simple demo DolbyVision content OK'd for release that could be loaded onto USB for quick demo of HDR content.

Just got through my PMs and will go through the threads more in the next few days.

Again, thank you to all of our customers and for your suggestions/communications.
One more thing - I had some pretty bad panel issues with my initial set and needed a replacement. I just wanted to mention that Vizio customer service was truly outstanding. I especially appreciate the support that I received from Leah Anderson in coordinating.
k124 is offline  
post #6027 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by pearsco View Post
Matt, any way you guy could supply the IP protocol commands to Logitech for their harmony hub based lineup? Specifically the direct HDMI and Cast input switching commands.
It actually isn't quite that easy but we are open to talking to several automation partners... some of the high end guys have already reached out to us.
Googer, VBB, mpgxsvcd and 5 others like this.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #6028 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by k124 View Post
One more thing - I had some pretty bad panel issues with my initial set and needed a replacement. I just wanted to mention that Vizio customer service was truly outstanding. I especially appreciate the support that I received from Leah Anderson in coordinating.
That is great news and I will pass on your comments. Shipping TVs is still a bit of a gamble despite our best efforts to protect the product in route through careful packaging design and clear guidelines. So glad we made you a happy customer and please let us know if you need anything else.
mpgxsvcd likes this.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #6029 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
pos1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Michigan
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Just a quick follow up on my screen issue that I had a week ago- where the screen was blue on one half for a few power cycles-. I spoke with Vizio last week and received a follow up call today but was at work. So I called them back and the person who was helping me was going to replace the set because she thought it was a permanent issue. Told her I'm watching it right now, since doing the factory reset it hasn't reared it's discolored head again.

So kudo's to Vizio. I'm impressed that they offered to replace the set in the first place and will if it happens again. This kind of service and response is what makes a loyal customer !

So those of you that are on the fence about this set, that's the kind of support you will receive...awesome !!!
Bamaboi89, Oldways7 and el_carro like this.
pos1121 is offline  
post #6030 of 64349 Old 04-13-2016, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
@Matt McRae

ETA on the DV golden reference files now that the Calman 5.7 beta is out?

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off