Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 209 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288702Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6241 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 03:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McRae View Post
A fix has been checked in for the tearing issue (and the other issue showing slightly different image on left vs right for 40% cal window). It is checked in to our normal release schedule which means it could be 6-8 weeks to release... I am determining if we can do a point release earlier... stay tuned.
Matt, could you please look into the Color dE results as reported by the rtings. review? Post cal dE was 2.0181. This result is pretty bad compared even to the Vizio E and M series, both of which were 1 or less. Rtings also stated that fixing oversaturated primaries "resulted in an undersaturation of less-saturated colors.".

Second, when upscaling 1080(i/p) content, is the display applying smoothing / noise reduction as well? That could be resulting in some loss of detail. Any way to defeat it if is doing that?

Thank you !
sr250 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6242 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 03:42 PM
Member
 
jfwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone not using the casting at all? I don't have the display yet but i cant really see where I'd use casting at all. Between my cable box, ps3, and amazon fire tv 4k box with kodi I think I've pretty much got the apps covered. In fact they are a bit redundant. I actually prefer it this way as I'd rather not use arc. Just curious if there's anything I'd be missing out on. I can't think of anything.
jfwil is offline  
post #6243 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,205
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfwil View Post
Is anyone not using the casting at all? I don't have the display yet but i cant really see where I'd use casting at all. Between my cable box, ps3, and amazon fire tv 4k box with kodi I think I've pretty much got the apps covered. In fact they are a bit redundant. I actually prefer it this way as I'd rather not use arc. Just curious if there's anything I'd be missing out on. I can't think of anything.


You're not going to get any HDR content with those devices.

LG 55C9, Samsung 55KS8000, Panasonic 50VT25
b_rad4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6244 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Anago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Ana, Ca
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfwil View Post
is anyone not using the casting at all? I don't have the display yet but i cant really see where i'd use casting at all. Between my cable box, ps3, and amazon fire tv 4k box with kodi i think i've pretty much got the apps covered. In fact they are a bit redundant. I actually prefer it this way as i'd rather not use arc. Just curious if there's anything i'd be missing out on. I can't think of anything.
hdr and how often do those apps get updates?

Vizio P75-C1, P50-C1, P65-C1- FW 9.0.7.3
Samsung UHD Bluray K8500 - LG UBK90 DV Bluray player
Vizio SB46514-F6 Soundbar - Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
Directv Genie HR34 - Chromecast Ultra
Anago is offline  
post #6245 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,054
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2992 Post(s)
Liked: 2839
sr250 are you interested on buying the Vizio P series ? because it doesn't look like based on your post history.

I apologize if I'm wrong.


is a bad idea to judge a TV based on what we see on the booth ,the Sony and Samsung will always look better on the booth do to all the artificial picture enhancements.I always end turning off all those enhancements even when I evaluate the TV at the store.

I set the TV to movie mode instead the torch mode.


If someone want to artificially boost some colors a 3d lut box can do that.

if someone want to artificially enhance low resolution there is also a box for that.

Last edited by losservatore; 04-14-2016 at 04:50 PM.
losservatore is offline  
post #6246 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
rick98761's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Sounds like the tearing has a fix incoming. Any fixs slated for the random lockups? Trying to figure out if this is a hardware of software issue.
rhaas12321 likes this.
rick98761 is offline  
post #6247 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stankia View Post
Well, after 3 weeks of waiting I finally got my P Series today:

Please contact support... that looks like shipping damage
Matt McRae is offline  
post #6248 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 04:03 PM
Member
 
jfwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_rad4 View Post
You're not going to get any HDR content with those devices.

Ahh.. Thank you. I have Vudu and netflix on the fire box. I was thinking those would go thru.
jfwil is offline  
post #6249 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1091
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
I updated the firmware on the K8500 and it still has that issue. Not only this but I can't get Netflix or Amazon to do 5.1 unless I select PCM. It's so strange. It seems like the only thing this player does right is play discs.
Not sure what you mean. I don't have my P65 yet but my K8500 does every flavor of immersive audio from DD5.1to DD+ to Atmos... I have the video going form the K8500 HDMI 1 going to the display and the audio HDMI from the K8500 to my AVR.
SO sorry to say that the player does indeed play discs but also all the apps play flawless audio.
If your saying your trying to pass audio through your display then I can see your issue but it's not the K8500..

Living Room Sam. UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 / M-5010 Amp. /Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player.
DEN TCL 65R617 65-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.2.4 / Philips 4K UHD Dolby Vision Player (P7502) BEDROOM Sam. 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player

Last edited by bargervais; 04-14-2016 at 04:25 PM.
bargervais is offline  
post #6250 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
turboedsupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfwil View Post
Is anyone not using the casting at all? I don't have the display yet but i cant really see where I'd use casting at all. Between my cable box, ps3, and amazon fire tv 4k box with kodi I think I've pretty much got the apps covered. In fact they are a bit redundant. I actually prefer it this way as I'd rather not use arc. Just curious if there's anything I'd be missing out on. I can't think of anything.
I was in the same boat as you. I never wanted a smart tv as I had devices to run apps/games. But now that I can just use the casting there is now need for other devices. To me the PQ looks better coming from the cast, so I have moved the shield to another room. I now cast Netflix, vudu, Kodi, ect.. But as others stated the HDR is a nice feature to take advantage of.
imobilizer likes this.
turboedsupe is offline  
post #6251 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 04:47 PM
Member
 
SillieBazzillie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I called 2 Best Buy's and they won't honor Vizio's 5% discount. What are folks doing for extended warranties?
imobilizer likes this.
SillieBazzillie is offline  
post #6252 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
sr250 are you interested on buying the Vizio P series ? because it doesn't look like based on your post history.

I apologize if I'm wrong.


is a bad idea to judge a TV based on what we see on the booth ,the Sony and Samsung will always look better on the booth do to all the artificial picture enhancements.I always end turning off all those enhancements even when I evaluate the TV at the store.

I set the TV to movie mode instead the torch mode.


If someone want to artificially boost some colors a 3d lut box can do that.

if someone want to artificially enhance low resolution there is also a box for that.
:-) I sure do want to purchase the vizio, as it seems to be the best value out there. I think color and resolution are important, certainly to me, and most of my viewing is going to be 1080 (i/p), so thats why the questions.I don't like to purchase and return, so I'd rather make myself a fully informed pre-owner. For example, re sharpness, I can see that other vendors TVs right next to the vizio in store have more detail. Its not artificial. Its the pores of the skin, blemishes, the hair strands etc. They aren't creating that from low res source. My guess is the vizio is applying some noise reduction or smoothing, so that skin looks too smooth. I think my question on color dE error is similarly valid. Why shouldn't it be able to match its own cousins, like the E and M series?

I am not trying to find faults for its own sake. I am looking for fixes, if that makes sense. The yellow banding or corner brightness etc type issues don't bother me.
sr250 is offline  
post #6253 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
k124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I cannot get MLB At Bat to install on tablet
Just the unsupported device message
I tried the setting to allow untrusted providers but that made no difference
Any other ideas? Just use my iPhone? Haha
imobilizer and el_carro like this.
k124 is offline  
post #6254 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_rad4 View Post
You're not going to get any HDR content with those devices.
Not really true.
Amazon HDR will come through on the 4k fire but not the vizio tablet.
Nexflix HDR over the 4k Fire is also possible.

So what HDR would he not get over the fire that I may have missed?

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #6255 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by k124 View Post
I cannot get MLB At Bat to install on tablet
Just the unsupported device message
I tried the setting to allow untrusted providers but that made no difference
Any other ideas? Just use my iPhone? Haha
Google "how to sideload android apps on a tablet".

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #6256 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootman_head_fi View Post
Not really true.
Amazon HDR will come through on the 4k fire but not the vizio tablet.
Nexflix HDR over the 4k Fire is also possible.

So what HDR would he not get over the fire that I may have missed?
Since when can the Fire do HDR? I think you are mistaken. Although I wish you weren't.
Contuzzi is offline  
post #6257 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Tedbay11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedbay11 View Post
Currently casting is working great, LOVE this TV but not able to get the smartcast app to change my directv channels. I set it up for Directv San Francisco but seems like the app is not able to see the directv hr54 and mini genie 4K that are on the same network. To watch direcTV currently I go to that input and use the Harmony 1 to change channels which works fine but it would be great to use the tablet to watch Live TV. Anyone else having this issue? It might be something really simple/stupid I am not doing! thanks.

Note: I watch TV on HDMI 2 direct from the 4K genie box. I don't put it through my Denon as that box is not 2.2 compliant and 4K wont work unless directly connected.

Ted
Hi Does anyone have Smartcast and is able to watch Live TV from SmartCast via DirecTV HR54 with 4K Genie? I verified on my network map that the TV and the HR54 are on the same network via IP address check of the HR54. Yet cannot switch channels and use cast with DirecTV.

I just spoke with Vizio and they are saying it could be DirecTV issue as they may not support casting (very plausible). I also verified they have not tested SmartCast in their lab w the HR54/4K Genie setup per person just spoke with. I am fine just using Harmony to change channels for live TV using DirecTV receiver/4K Genie and not use Smartcast if need be but would prefer using SmartCast if it is possible. So wanted to see if any other 4K directv users have it working. thanks.
Tedbay11 is offline  
post #6258 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:13 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzy714 View Post
Hm, and if I dropped it off at a Best Buy directly I wonder if they'll even bother having it make its way to Vizio.
The included HDMI cable is probably worth less than $2. If it made it back to Visio, what could they do with it?

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #6259 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,054
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2992 Post(s)
Liked: 2839
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr250 View Post
:-) I sure do want to purchase the vizio, as it seems to be the best value out there. I think color and resolution are important, certainly to me, and most of my viewing is going to be 1080 (i/p), so thats why the questions.I don't like to purchase and return, so I'd rather make myself a fully informed pre-owner. For example, re sharpness, I can see that other vendors TVs right next to the vizio in store have more detail. Its not artificial. Its the pores of the skin, blemishes, the hair strands etc. They aren't creating that from low res source. My guess is the vizio is applying some noise reduction or smoothing, so that skin looks too smooth. I think my question on color dE error is similarly valid. Why shouldn't it be able to match its own cousins, like the E and M series?

I am not trying to find faults for its own sake. I am looking for fixes, if that makes sense. The yellow banding or corner brightness etc type issues don't bother me.
If you look at my signature I haven't miss those displays including the VT60.

That is my only recommendation to test the TV at home ,your evaluation at the store won't be a fair evaluation.


if you ge the chance to evaluate one at home ,watch this video and let me know.



Last edited by losservatore; 04-14-2016 at 05:31 PM.
losservatore is offline  
post #6260 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:23 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by nossirre View Post
So i purchased my tv yesterday and i wanted to know if the bestbuy level of calibration good enough for this tv? And if so should i wait before there is a god standard for them to reference before i get it done? Thank s
Not now because it's too early for the best professionals. Maybe never for BB.

Check the top of the second post in the owner's calibration reports link at the bottom of my post for comments from AVS owners that have had BB calibrations.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #6261 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contuzzi View Post
Since when can the Fire do HDR? I think you are mistaken. Although I wish you weren't.
Since HDR content was available on Amazon Prime, no?
Only two shows but it is a start.

http://www.amazon.com/b?ie=UTF8&node=11652987011

Was I wrong in making that assumption?

I don't own a 4k HDR display or the fire 4k yet thus why I'm in this thread, but if i'm wrong, that is cool.
I only made the logical conclusion since Amazon is now streaming HDR content.
One would assume their own 4K device would support it.


EDIT I emailed Amazon asking this question and I got a response that said, yes it should work.
I posted over at the Fire 4K thread to see if anyone with a HDR display and a 4K can verify.

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)

Last edited by bootman_head_fi; 04-15-2016 at 05:46 AM.
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #6262 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by SillieBazzillie View Post
I called 2 Best Buy's and they won't honor Vizio's 5% discount. What are folks doing for extended warranties?
You get 10% rewards if you use your card this month.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
tcat is offline  
post #6263 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1935 Post(s)
Liked: 1160
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr250 View Post
:-) I sure do want to purchase the vizio, as it seems to be the best value out there. I think color and resolution are important, certainly to me, and most of my viewing is going to be 1080 (i/p), so thats why the questions.I don't like to purchase and return, so I'd rather make myself a fully informed pre-owner. For example, re sharpness, I can see that other vendors TVs right next to the vizio in store have more detail. Its not artificial. Its the pores of the skin, blemishes, the hair strands etc. They aren't creating that from low res source. My guess is the vizio is applying some noise reduction or smoothing, so that skin looks too smooth. I think my question on color dE error is similarly valid. Why shouldn't it be able to match its own cousins, like the E and M series?

I am not trying to find faults for its own sake. I am looking for fixes, if that makes sense. The yellow banding or corner brightness etc type issues don't bother me.
As someone who owns a P-series display, the contrast setting was clipping white 235, adjusting that one setting unmasked that detail. These displays are very bright. Contrast just needs to be brought down with in spec. My personal feeling, is that the P-series is a enthusiast display. It's for the people that visit this forum and many like it.

I use to work for Directv, and have been in many homes installing satellite services, only to have some disappointed by what they see, because when they get the display home after, making a decision based on what was presented to them in a store, doesn't pan out when they get it home.
DisplayCalNoob is online now  
post #6264 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
the7mcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 544 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceames View Post
Personally I'm happy that Vizio is stepping up their game. Partly to Keep Sony and Samsung on their toes but also for the benefit of UHD BD adoption. It's great that an HDR10 FALD set can be purchased for under $1000, and prices will only go down from here.

I guess I could be called a Sony fanboy. I just bought the 930C when the Vizio P was announced and I could have returned to Best Buy. But after a lot of consideration, I decided against it. All brands have their advantages and disadvantages and I just felt the 930C was the better match for me. I would have liked to owned the P65 for the Dolby, and maybe I will own a Vizio another day. Anyway glad to see such happiness here and the more the merrier.
Why didn't you go with the FALD 940C?
the7mcs is offline  
post #6265 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootman_head_fi View Post
Since HDR content was available on Amazon Prime, no?
Only two shows but it is a start.

http://www.amazon.com/b?ie=UTF8&node=11652987011

Was I wrong in making that assumption?

I don't own a 4k HDR display or the fire 4k yet thus why I'm in this thread, but if i'm wrong, that is cool.
I only made the logical conclusion since Amazon is now streaming HDR content.
One would assume their own 4K device would support it.
The Fire does not support hdr. Some of their content will stream hdr through other brand tvs with hdr, or other devices that support it (Samsung Bluray). Seems very stupid move by Amazon, as was the move not to put their app on Smartcast.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
tcat is offline  
post #6266 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
remedy1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzy714 View Post
So if that wasn't a horror story delivery I'm not sure what is.
Go through Vizio. They have been nothing but exceptional.
remedy1978 is offline  
post #6267 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcat View Post
The Fire does not support hdr. Some of their content will stream hdr through other brand tvs with hdr, or other devices that support it (Samsung Bluray). Seems very stupid move by Amazon, as was the move not to put their app on Smartcast.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
thank you for clearing that up.
It seems Amazon has an upgrade to do on their 4k fire TV!

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #6268 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 05:47 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr250 View Post
For example, re sharpness, I can see that other vendors TVs right next to the vizio in store have more detail. Its not artificial. Its the pores of the skin, blemishes, the hair strands etc. They aren't creating that from low res source.
You may be missing the fact that before you can do a valid side by side, all the sets you are comparing must be calibrated to their individual best performance level. The only P75 I've seen at a best buy had all "the pores of the skin, blemishes, the hair strands etc" that anyone could want. The Samsung on one side looked washed out by comparison. They both needed work done on them.

The secret is that you can't do a valid analysis in that kind of situation.

To reduce the "guessing" component in choosing a display, it's best to buy from a vendor that allows a reasonable return period and procedure. I also pay a lot of attention to current owners who seem to me to know what they are talking about.
johnnytex likes this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #6269 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 06:03 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzy714 View Post
So if that wasn't a horror story delivery I'm not sure what is.

The contracted BB delivery guys just showed up with my replacement, immediately I notice the box had already been opened up and was not bothered to be re-taped - so the top was flaps open. I ask what the deal with that was and they stated that they're instructed to open, pull out, and inspect all displays in their warehouse before delivering. Whether this us true or not, the first two delivery's I had gotten would have fooled me into believing it was anything other than being untouched and brand new - no fingerprints, everything intact, taped white film, and box tape appeared to have never been stripped off, perfect. This set came without the white soft film covering the display, hand and fingerprint smudges ALL over the screen itself, missing box that included the power cable, hdmi & standard remote. I refused delivery of the set needless to say, horrible. This has got me considering going through Vizio warranty directly.
I would not have accepted delivery if you were supposed to get a new replacement set.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #6270 of 64686 Old 04-14-2016, 06:04 PM
Member
 
birish21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How can you tell if the tv is upscaling bluray movies played by the ps3 directly connected to the tv
birish21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off