Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 2138 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288512Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #64111 of 64186 Old 10-18-2019, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post

Any with a P-50C1 notice the Film mode stays OFF and can't be toggled?

Also, streaming content with 25 VF still has motion issues.


- Pj


@VizioService
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64112 of 64186 Old 10-19-2019, 02:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
My p50-c1 is now unwatchable when hdr kicks in. It is so dark on calibrated default setting, that raising backlight to 100 does not help at all...still dull, dim, and washed out. Never had this problem before.
bobkat008 is offline  
post #64113 of 64186 Old 10-19-2019, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat008 View Post

My P50-C1 is now unwatchable when HDR kicks in. It is so dark on calibrated default setting, that raising backlight to 100 does not help at all...still dull, dim, and washed out. Never had this problem before.


Did this happen after a Vizio Firmware Update? Did you Soft and/or Hard/Factory Reset? When Dolby-HDR kicks-in, check your Picture settings. (Settings are different between SDR and HDR.)


- Pj
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64114 of 64186 Old 10-19-2019, 05:06 PM
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2838 Post(s)
Liked: 1655
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat008 View Post
My p50-c1 is now unwatchable when hdr kicks in. It is so dark on calibrated default setting, that raising backlight to 100 does not help at all...still dull, dim, and washed out. Never had this problem before.
Backlight only effects the mid tone Luminance for HDR.

If HDR looks dull, dim and washed out, then there is a much bigger issue. You may have inadvertently messed with a setting that you shouldn't have.

Try a hard reset first by draining the TV power completely after unplugging it and hold the power button for 15 seconds.

If that doesn't work, then try performing a factory reset.
skschatzman is offline  
post #64115 of 64186 Old 10-19-2019, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Edit is broken.

Last edited by brownknuckles; 10-19-2019 at 06:56 PM.
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64116 of 64186 Old 10-19-2019, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Any with a P-50C1 notice the Film mode stays OFF and can't be toggled?

Also, streaming content with 25 VF still has motion issues.


- Pj
Film mode on the p50 can only toggled on/off if RJ is 0.

If RJ is on 1-10 then film mode gets blurred out and is on whatever it was previously set to.

It can be toggled at any point with the p55-75's since those are 120hz panels.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64117 of 64186 Old 10-20-2019, 03:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,130
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4723 Post(s)
Liked: 2755
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownknuckles View Post
Edit is broken.
Edit has been broken for a long time (at least a year) and I've contacted forum administrators on several occasions but they've done nothing about it.

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #64118 of 64186 Old 10-20-2019, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Backlight only effects the mid tone Luminance for HDR.

If HDR looks dull, dim and washed out, then there is a much bigger issue. You may have inadvertently messed with a setting that you shouldn't have.

Try a hard reset first by draining the TV power completely after unplugging it and hold the power button for 15 seconds.

If that doesn't work, then try performing a factory reset.
I will do a complete factory reset and repeat setup. Will post back whether that corrects problem.
CleCakYngMfd likes this.
bobkat008 is offline  
post #64119 of 64186 Old 10-20-2019, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Did this happen after a Vizio Firmware Update? Did you Soft and/or Hard/Factory Reset? When Dolby-HDR kicks-in, check your Picture settings. (Settings are different between SDR and HDR.)


- Pj
It must be on new firware, since I have not used this tv for hdr content for some time. I do know this was not an issue over one year ago. All Dolby Vision and HDR/HGL looked great.
bobkat008 is offline  
post #64120 of 64186 Old 10-24-2019, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownknuckles View Post

Film mode on the P50 can only toggled on/off if RJ is 0.


Ah, but I have RJ at 0. I can't toggle Film Mode. It's stuck in the OFF position. It's been like this since the last Firmware Update or the one before.


Motion problem is still there with 25Hz content.


- Pj

@VizioService
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #64121 of 64186 Old 10-24-2019, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

Edit has been broken for a long time (at least a year) and I've contacted forum administrators on several occasions but they've done nothing about it.


Posting New for me is bustededededededed like Edit izzz.

When trying to Post as New, the Forum times-out with a Data Base Error after 30 seconds exactly - every time - on this long, long, long, long, long, very long Thread.

I have to Quote the most recent message, delete the Quote in the Editor and it'll Post as a New Post.

VerticalScope, what you say?

@VerticalScope


- Pj (FireFox 69.0.3, Windows 7 Pro SP1 on a DeskTop)
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #64122 of 64186 Old 10-25-2019, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1780 Post(s)
Liked: 1134
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat008 View Post
It must be on new firware, since I have not used this tv for hdr content for some time. I do know this was not an issue over one year ago. All Dolby Vision and HDR/HGL looked great.
We have been on 7.0.8.2-1 firmware for a couple of months. A factory reset is probably your best option if you haven't used the set in many months and are a few firmware updates behind. Good luck.
naustin is online now  
post #64123 of 64186 Old 10-26-2019, 02:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,211
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Vizio where are you?!?! Fix Clear Action!!! It's almost been a year already!!! Ridiculous!!!

Geez. My TV is not even 2yrs old and Clear Action has been broken for half that. I mean come on. I'm sure you've lost me and many others as customers.

Also, someone fix the forum. lol

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #64124 of 64186 Old 10-26-2019, 09:21 AM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by davefi View Post
vizio where are you?!?! Fix clear action!!! It's almost been a year already!!! Ridiculous!!!

Geez. My tv is not even 2yrs old and clear action has been broken for half that. I mean come on. I'm sure you've lost me and many others as customers.

Also, someone fix the forum. Lol
for real! This is ridiculous
bigxboss is offline  
post #64125 of 64186 Old 10-27-2019, 07:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,888
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 922 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Vizio where are you?!?! Fix Clear Action!!! It's almost been a year already!!! Ridiculous!!!

Geez. My TV is not even 2yrs old and Clear Action has been broken for half that. I mean come on. I'm sure you've lost me and many others as customers.

Also, someone fix the forum. lol
I'm outta the loop. What's up w/ CA?

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #64126 of 64186 Old 10-27-2019, 11:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,211
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
I'm outta the loop. What's up w/ CA?
https://forums.blurbusters.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4676

This thread explains it quite well.

When I turn on Clear Action my screen flickers like mad. It's unusable.
rightintel likes this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #64127 of 64186 Old 10-28-2019, 04:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
This thread explains it quite well.

When I turn on Clear Action my screen flickers like mad. It's unusable.
Huh, you actually have the exact opposite problem that I'm having. Clear Action isn't working for me at all (I turn it on, it engages for a second or two, then the flicker effect stops altogether). It's been like this ever since the 6.0.18.1 update.

But if you're saying the flicker effect is too strong, maybe you're having a different issue? Do you also have a P65-C1 like me, or is it a different model?
Sanctine is online now  
post #64128 of 64186 Old 10-28-2019, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,211
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanctine View Post
huh, you actually have the exact opposite problem that i'm having. Clear action isn't working for me at all (i turn it on, it engages for a second or two, then the flicker effect stops altogether). It's been like this ever since the 6.0.18.1 update.

But if you're saying the flicker effect is too strong, maybe you're having a different issue? Do you also have a p65-c1 like me, or is it a different model?
p65-e1

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #64129 of 64186 Old 10-28-2019, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
https://forums.blurbusters.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4676



This thread explains it quite well.



When I turn on Clear Action my screen flickers like mad. It's unusable.
That is literally what clear action is supposed to do lol. It's black frame insertion. Some ppl are more sensitive to the "flicker" than others especially in lighter/brighter scenes.
Your clean action actually works lmao

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64130 of 64186 Old 10-28-2019, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanctine View Post
Huh, you actually have the exact opposite problem that I'm having. Clear Action isn't working for me at all (I turn it on, it engages for a second or two, then the flicker effect stops altogether). It's been like this ever since the 6.0.18.1 update.



But if you're saying the flicker effect is too strong, maybe you're having a different issue? Do you also have a P65-C1 like me, or is it a different model?
I have the same issue as you with clear action. P55-c1. I think that's what is happening to everyone's 120hz panels on the c1's at least.

Send a PM to @VizioService outlining specific scenerios when this occurs. Inputs/SDR/HDR source etc. The more ppl they hear from directly, and the more scenerios/information their debugging team can get the better for us all.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64131 of 64186 Old 10-28-2019, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,211
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownknuckles View Post
That is literally what clear action is supposed to do lol. It's black frame insertion. Some ppl are more sensitive to the "flicker" than others especially in lighter/brighter scenes.
Your clean action actually works lmao

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
It doesn't- not in the way that it should. I'll try and post a video of it. It worked properly before the firmware update last Dec and in combination with Game Mode is totally unusable.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #64132 of 64186 Old 10-28-2019, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
It doesn't- not in the way that it should. I'll try and post a video of it. It worked properly before the firmware update last Dec and in combination with Game Mode is totally unusable.
It might be difficult to show in a video because of the BFI rate and video framerate.

I'll take your word for it but send Vizio service a PM describing the issue and maybe link them to an unlisted YouTube video or something of the issue. Factory reset doesn't hurt but you've probably tried that already

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64133 of 64186 Old 10-28-2019, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,888
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 922 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
It doesn't- not in the way that it should. I'll try and post a video of it. It worked properly before the firmware update last Dec and in combination with Game Mode is totally unusable.
What are your picture settings for Xbox?

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #64134 of 64186 Old 10-29-2019, 03:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,211
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 271
I'm gamestreaming to my Shield from my PC at 4k/60Hz. Yes it's flickering as normal but every few secs it's exhibiting another flicker where the picture is going from light to dark. This is a common problem with CA now.

It's not my TV because it otherwise works fine. I just use game mode with CA off.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #64135 of 64186 Old 10-29-2019, 07:02 AM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanctine View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
This thread explains it quite well.

When I turn on Clear Action my screen flickers like mad. It's unusable.
Huh, you actually have the exact opposite problem that I'm having. Clear Action isn't working for me at all (I turn it on, it engages for a second or two, then the flicker effect stops altogether). It's been like this ever since the 6.0.18.1 update.

But if you're saying the flicker effect is too strong, maybe you're having a different issue? Do you also have a P65-C1 like me, or is it a different model?
Having this same issue.

Why aren’t they updating us?
bigxboss is offline  
post #64136 of 64186 Old 10-29-2019, 07:03 AM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
@VizioService Please update us on the Clear Action fix.
bigxboss is offline  
post #64137 of 64186 Old 10-30-2019, 02:45 PM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Never buying a Vizio again. **** this brand. I hope y’all lose your jobs
bigxboss is offline  
post #64138 of 64186 Old 10-30-2019, 02:46 PM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Worst customer service I have ever experienced.
bigxboss is offline  
post #64139 of 64186 Old 11-01-2019, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
We have been on 7.0.8.2-1 firmware for a couple of months. A factory reset is probably your best option if you haven't used the set in many months and are a few firmware updates behind. Good luck.
No go after complete factory reset and upgrade. Same washed out dull colors. Bright sunny day appears overcast and dreary when any form of HDR kicks in.
bobkat007 is offline  
post #64140 of 64186 Old 11-01-2019, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post

No go after complete factory reset and upgrade. Same washed out dull colors. Bright sunny day appears overcast and dreary when any form of HDR kicks in.


After HDR-Dolby kicks-in (not before), what are your Picture settings?


- Pj
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off