Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 2139 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288726Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #64141 of 64743 Old 11-01-2019, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
After HDR-Dolby kicks-in (not before), what are your Picture settings?


- Pj
I use stock calibration but played around with a few settings for my bright room and dark room tvs. Feel free to try em out

Bright room:
Calibrated. HDR10/DV
Color 65/58
Gamma 2.0
Else stock

Calibrated Dark HDR10/DV
Color 63/56
Gamma 2.1
Else stock

Dark room:
Calibrated Dark HDR10/DV
Color 63/56
Gamma 2.2
Else stock

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64142 of 64743 Old 11-01-2019, 08:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JKR1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 158
I have had my P65-C1 for two years or so. I bought the Oppo 203 almost two years ago for DV disc use. It has always had some issues sending DV signals to my P65.........some type of color screen (red, purple etc). Then I would turn things off or change settings and could usually get the DV to work. I have the correct certified cables (Monoprice, and Panasonic) and tried different cables with no change.


Now the last month or so...........I cannot get it to work. I pulled my Panasonic 820 out of my main/projector system and into the family room system with the Vizio. DV disc's all display without issue.


Is anyone here getting issues with their Oppo 203 P65-C1 based system with DV encoded disc's?
JKR1963 is offline  
post #64143 of 64743 Old 11-01-2019, 10:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,009
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1978 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
After HDR-Dolby kicks-in (not before), what are your Picture settings?


- Pj
I leave everything at stock with some Gain calibration settings, that I discovered work very well for streaming DV. Not as well on UHD BD DV(HDMI).

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64144 of 64743 Old 11-02-2019, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
After HDR-Dolby kicks-in (not before), what are your Picture settings?


- Pj
All settings at default. Same washed out dull HDR picture even with backlight moved to max. I have recorded both SDR and HDR versions(fox Thursday night football) from Directv. Will now watch them both on my newer oled tv. That will tell me whether it is the Vivio or the Directv broadcast.
bobkat007 is offline  
post #64145 of 64743 Old 11-02-2019, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,438
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1371
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKR1963 View Post
I have had my P65-C1 for two years or so. I bought the Oppo 203 almost two years ago for DV disc use. It has always had some issues sending DV signals to my P65.........some type of color screen (red, purple etc). Then I would turn things off or change settings and could usually get the DV to work...

Is anyone here getting issues with their Oppo 203 P65-C1 based system with DV encoded disc's?
I just tried a DV disc (The Last Jedi) with my P65-C1 and Oppo 203.... no problems.

Remember on the Oppo that under HDR settings DolbyVision must be set to TV led since the Vizio has DV decoded on its SOC (system on a chip) unlike the Sony that requires the sending device to do the heavy processing. Good luck.
naustin is offline  
post #64146 of 64743 Old 11-02-2019, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JKR1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I just tried a DV disc (The Last Jedi) with my P65-C1 and Oppo 203.... no problems.

Remember on the Oppo that under HDR settings DolbyVision must be set to TV led since the Vizio has DV decoded on its SOC (system on a chip) unlike the Sony that requires the sending device to do the heavy processing. Good luck.

I had tried that setting already......and the auto setting to no avail. What are your other related Oppo video settings? Maybe I have some other setting that is incorrect.
JKR1963 is offline  
post #64147 of 64743 Old 11-02-2019, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,438
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1371
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKR1963 View Post
I had tried that setting already......and the auto setting to no avail. What are your other related Oppo video settings? Maybe I have some other setting that is incorrect.
Here you go. Also check https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...-s-thread.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic 1.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	43.7 KB
ID:	2635724   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic2.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	2635726   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic 3.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	42.1 KB
ID:	2635728  
naustin is offline  
post #64148 of 64743 Old 11-02-2019, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JKR1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post

Thank you naustin, I have tried that combo, but the nits I set are brighter...........I will play around. Might need to do a reset on the Vizio.
JKR1963 is offline  
post #64149 of 64743 Old 11-02-2019, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JKR1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 158
I got my DV from the Oppo 203 working again. Cleared the Persistent storage, then Device Setup/ Reset Factory Defaults/ Erase Settings. Tried a few disc's and no more issues. The weird thing was how DV disc's would play properly sometimes.........until finally they never did no matter what I did.
naustin likes this.
JKR1963 is offline  
post #64150 of 64743 Old 11-03-2019, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,961
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2073 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post

All settings at default. Same washed out dull HDR picture even with backlight moved to max. I have recorded both SDR and HDR versions(fox Thursday night football) from Directv. Will now watch them both on my newer oled tv. That will tell me whether it is the Vivio or the Directv broadcast.


Does this problem still happen with streaming within the Vizio Apps or Apps on your mobile?


- Pj
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #64151 of 64743 Old 11-04-2019, 09:37 AM
Newbie
 
koohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have a solution to the random restart problem?

So my P75-C1 has been randomly restarting for a few months. Only suggestion I've found is to do a factory reset. I tried that (via the menus) and it still occurs. Anyone have any other suggestions? Is there a difference between a reset via the menus and the method of unplugging and holding down the power button for 30 seconds?

Thanks for any other suggestions or solutions.
koohead is offline  
post #64152 of 64743 Old 11-04-2019, 11:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Is there an up to date calibration setting guide for the latest firmware? One that includes SDR, DV, HDR10?
GCM707 is offline  
post #64153 of 64743 Old 11-07-2019, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,438
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1371
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCM707 View Post
Is there an up to date calibration setting guide for the latest firmware? One that includes SDR, DV, HDR10?
Personally I think the factory ones are now very good. I did adjust the Contrast to 49 for Calibrated Dark.
naustin is offline  
post #64154 of 64743 Old 11-07-2019, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,375
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1259 Post(s)
Liked: 2773
It seems that the 2018/19 models are getting a new firmware right now that adds HDR10+ decoding. Anyone see a new firmware for ours? Any chance we're getting HDR10+ too @VizioService
puddy77 is offline  
post #64155 of 64743 Old 11-08-2019, 01:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
It seems that the 2018/19 models are getting a new firmware right now that adds HDR10+ decoding. Anyone see a new firmware for ours? Any chance we're getting HDR10+ too @VizioService
I can confirm that the 4.0.20.3 firmware did add HDR10+ to the following televisions: 2019 P-Series Quantum and P-Series Quantum X models, 2018 P-Series and P-Series Quantum models, and 55- and 65-inch 2019 M-Series Quantum models. The following models will receive the update: PX75-G, PX65-G, P759-G, P659-G, PQ65-F, P75-F, P65-F, P55-F, M658-G, M558-G, M657-G, M557-G.

I am unaware of other models receiving a similar update at this time.
VizioService is offline  
post #64156 of 64743 Old 11-09-2019, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,375
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1259 Post(s)
Liked: 2773
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
It seems that the 2018/19 models are getting a new firmware right now that adds HDR10+ decoding. Anyone see a new firmware for ours? Any chance we're getting HDR10+ too @VizioService
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizioService View Post
I can confirm that the 4.0.20.3 firmware did add HDR10+ to the following televisions: 2019 P-Series Quantum and P-Series Quantum X models, 2018 P-Series and P-Series Quantum models, and 55- and 65-inch 2019 M-Series Quantum models. The following models will receive the update: PX75-G, PX65-G, P759-G, P659-G, PQ65-F, P75-F, P65-F, P55-F, M658-G, M558-G, M657-G, M557-G.

I am unaware of other models receiving a similar update at this time.
Looks like a definite no:

Quote:
Due to hardware limitations of the 2016/17 models, they will not be getting the HDR10+ update. Thanks! -GM
https://mobile.twitter.com/VIZIO/sta...49273652088833
puddy77 is offline  
post #64157 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Boonies, MA
Posts: 18,486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1039 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
Vizio is quick to abandon their older models. I’ll never purchase another Vizio again.

I’m tempted to use Costco’s warranty policy because Clear Action hasn’t worked properly for almost a year.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #64158 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 08:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,438
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1371
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Vizio is quick to abandon their older models. I’ll never purchase another Vizio again.

I’m tempted to use Costco’s warranty policy because Clear Action hasn’t worked properly for almost a year.
You can try or buy a cheap TCL as Black Friday sales continue.

Personally I'm impressed with the regular firmware updates over the last 3 years, versus my Sony and Samsung devices. Of course firmware updates are two edged, sometimes breaking new things.
Brandon B and twan69666 like this.
naustin is offline  
post #64159 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
zeekle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: nashville tn
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
You can try or buy a cheap TCL as Black Friday sales continue.

Personally I'm impressed with the regular firmware updates over the last 3 years, versus my Sony and Samsung devices. Of course firmware updates are two edged, sometimes breaking new things.

certainly that is longer than most phone manufactures and those things can cost as much as TV
Jill Moore likes this.
zeekle is offline  
post #64160 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Vizio is quick to abandon their older models. I’ll never purchase another Vizio again.

I’m tempted to use Costco’s warranty policy because Clear Action hasn’t worked properly for almost a year.
calm down larry. you think they are lying about the limitation of older models? also, until i see reports of hdr10+ adding actual value to PQ i'm not going to lose any sleep over it
lujan, twan69666 and Jill Moore like this.
AVS Commenter is offline  
post #64161 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Vizio is quick to abandon their older models. I’ll never purchase another Vizio again.



I’m tempted to use Costco’s warranty policy because Clear Action hasn’t worked properly for almost a year.
All things considered Vizio is the only manufacturer that I'm aware of that supported older models with Apples Airplay Update where most other companies kept it as a 2019 exclusive. So they've actually supported the P 16/17 models well. As for the clear action it wouldn't hurt to use the Costco warranty as you could probably score a pq or a pqx model.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
Brandon B, shoman94 and naustin like this.
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64162 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,355
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1285 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Vizio is quick to abandon their older models. I’ll never purchase another Vizio again.

I’m tempted to use Costco’s warranty policy because Clear Action hasn’t worked properly for almost a year.
Oh FFS. CA issue notwithstanding, show me any other TV manufacturer that provides feature updates as long as Vizio has.
Brandon B, shoman94 and naustin like this.
Schwa is offline  
post #64163 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Boonies, MA
Posts: 18,486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1039 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
Oh FFS. CA issue notwithstanding, show me any other TV manufacturer that provides feature updates as long as Vizio has.
I bought the TV mostly for gaming. The one feature I bought the TV for hasn’t worked for more than half the time I’ve owned it, almost a year. That seems like a lack of support to me.

If you are happy with the support you get that’s fine, I am not.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #64164 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Update 8.0.20.3 P55-C1

Clear Action still broken

Screen will strobe for a brief second then stop and the entire panel will be dimmed.
@VizioService

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
rhelliott2 likes this.
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64165 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
zeekle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: nashville tn
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 74
looks like my P65-C1 has bit the dust.



I was playing a game on a PS4 when the screen went all pink and grey static. I tried reseating all the cables and finally pulled the plug on the TV as it would not power down. It would not power back up with the power button on the back or with my harmony remote.
zeekle is offline  
post #64166 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeekle View Post
looks like my P65-C1 has bit the dust.



I was playing a game on a PS4 when the screen went all pink and grey static. I tried reseating all the cables and finally pulled the plug on the TV as it would not power down. It would not power back up with the power button on the back or with my harmony remote.
After unplugging, try holding the power button for 30seconds. Then plug the tv back in and try turning it on using the power button on the set.

If it still doesn't power then I "F-key" for you sir.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64167 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 85
What's is new in the new firmware update plz?
O'neil026 is offline  
post #64168 of 64743 Old 11-11-2019, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Does anyone that has the new Firmware know what Chromium Version SX7A-1.0.49.0 is under System Information? That is New
O'neil026 is offline  
post #64169 of 64743 Old 11-12-2019, 12:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Anago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Ana, Ca
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 463
So, I just got the Disney+ app and when I tried casting I got this message. "Disney+ is not available on this Chromecast device."
It does however work fine on my Chromecast Ultra and by fine I mean stuff plays at 4k normal, no atmos.
It's early days so hopefully things will improve.

Vizio P75-C1, P50-C1, P65-C1- FW 9.0.7.3
Samsung UHD Bluray K8500 - LG UBK90 DV Bluray player
Vizio SB46514-F6 Soundbar - Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
Directv Genie HR34 - Chromecast Ultra
Anago is offline  
post #64170 of 64743 Old 11-12-2019, 12:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anago View Post
So, I just got the Disney+ app and when I tried casting I got this message. "Disney+ is not available on this Chromecast device."
It does however work fine on my Chromecast Ultra and by fine I mean stuff plays at 4k normal, no atmos.
It's early days so hopefully things will improve.
Apologies if not thread related but are any of the marvel/star wars movies available in Dolby vision or just HDR when you use your Chromecast ultra?

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off