Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 2143 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288557Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #64261 of 64317 Old 12-01-2019, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5143 Post(s)
Liked: 3615
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
The FireTV4K stick will do DolbyVision for Disney+ and just HDR10 for AppleTV.
HUH? I get DV on my AppleTV but only HDR10 on my Sony Android TV. I have an Amazon FireTV4k but I haven't tried it yet.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64262 of 64317 Old 12-01-2019, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,819
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1856 Post(s)
Liked: 1120
This is the best DV streaming calibration Vizio team has done in almost 4 years.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
blatz8 likes this.
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #64263 of 64317 Old 12-01-2019, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
The FireTV4K stick will do DolbyVision for Disney+ and just HDR10 for AppleTV.
HUH.
Disney+ does DV on apple tv dude.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
shoman94 likes this.
brownknuckles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64264 of 64317 Old 12-01-2019, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1821 Post(s)
Liked: 1166
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
HUH? I get DV on my AppleTV but only HDR10 on my Sony Android TV. I have an Amazon FireTV4k but I haven't tried it yet.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownknuckles View Post
HUH.
Disney+ does DV on apple tv dude.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
Yes the ATV4K is the best way to get DV on most services. I own the Apple, Fire & Roku. I repeat my earlier statement, Disney+ will do DV of the FireTV stick IF that program is so encoded.
naustin is online now  
post #64265 of 64317 Old 12-01-2019, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1821 Post(s)
Liked: 1166
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownknuckles View Post
HUH.
Disney+ does DV on apple tv dude.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
I was referring to the AppleTV App on the FireTV stick. Apple did a crappy job with naming things.
shoman94 likes this.
naustin is online now  
post #64266 of 64317 Old 12-01-2019, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I was referring to the AppleTV App on the FireTV stick. Apple did a crappy job with naming things.
I expect nothing less from the great apple

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
shoman94 likes this.
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64267 of 64317 Old 12-02-2019, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
This is the best DV streaming calibration Vizio team has done in almost 4 years.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
Can I ask what calibration settings you are using, sir? Are they the same from the calibration thread?
tommyknocker2121 is offline  
post #64268 of 64317 Old 12-02-2019, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vader182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
This is the best DV streaming calibration Vizio team has done in almost 4 years.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
Interesting, it's the opposite on my P 75. It has a yellow hue across all content in DV. It's rather ugly. I'm pissed.



-Vader
Vader182 is offline  
post #64269 of 64317 Old 12-02-2019, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
zer0cool2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I was referring to the AppleTV App on the FireTV stick. Apple did a crappy job with naming things.


I get DV from the AppleTV+ app on my Firetv stick4k
zer0cool2007 is offline  
post #64270 of 64317 Old 12-03-2019, 01:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1821 Post(s)
Liked: 1166
Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0cool2007 View Post
I get DV from the AppleTV+ app on my Firetv stick4k
That has not been my experience with the FireTV 4K stick playing either the AppleTV+ channel or the AppleTV App. For All Mankind & my iTunes DV movies play only in HDR10. The Disney+ channel definitely does DV on the FireTV 4K stick. I'll be curious how the future Vizio Apps work.
naustin is online now  
post #64271 of 64317 Old 12-03-2019, 06:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5143 Post(s)
Liked: 3615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader182 View Post
Interesting, it's the opposite on my P 75. It has a yellow hue across all content in DV. It's rather ugly. I'm pissed.







-Vader
Probably because the calibration changed and now you need a touch-up.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #64272 of 64317 Old 12-04-2019, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vader182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Probably because the calibration changed and now you need a touch-up.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
I'm certain that's it, but if I buy a touch up every time Vizio has one of these updates I might as well buy a new TV. I never wound up buying the tools myself.

If Vizio let people lock in PQ settings / algorithm it would have solved a lot of issues.


-Vader
Vader182 is offline  
post #64273 of 64317 Old 12-04-2019, 08:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,752
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2840 Post(s)
Liked: 1658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader182 View Post
I'm certain that's it, but if I buy a touch up every time Vizio has one of these updates I might as well buy a new TV. I never wound up buying the tools myself.



If Vizio let people lock in PQ settings / algorithm it would have solved a lot of issues.





-Vader
It is more cost effective to touch up calibrate than it is to perform a new calibration or buy a new TV. Buying a new TV will not guarantee better image accuracy. It is unfortunate, but common.

Locking the settings isn't really an option either. Firmware updates often change the output properties. This is why it is up to the consumer to become educated before making investments. Paying for a calibration does not guarantee the results will remain intact when a new firmware is released. This is why a lot of people use external sources and never connect the TV to the internet.

It is usually best to wait for calibrators in the forum to confirm if there is changes to the output properties before deciding to update the firmware.

Last edited by skschatzman; 12-05-2019 at 10:33 AM.
skschatzman is offline  
post #64274 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Apple TV 4K Dolby Vision Tearing

Hi guys, is there a known fix to using Dolby Vision on P65's/P75's (2016 Models) with Apple TV 4k?

I have a brand new Apple TV 4k, and while Apple TV 4k will recognize Dolby Vision capabilities and seem to work ok at first, it will then periodically have screen tearing.

It was reported on the Vizio reddit here: https://www.reddit.com/r/VIZIO_Offic...from_apple_tv/

It looks like Vizio support responded, but no definite fix was posted and it's a year old.

I've seen other users here report that Apple TV 4k is the way to go for DV, so it sounds like this is working for other users.

Does anyone know any kind of fix/solution I can attempt? I've tried different picture settings, Standard, Calibrated, Calibrated Dark. They all seem to have the same tearing.


I greatly appreciate any help anyone can provide so I can utilize Apple TV 4k with my P65-C1!

Thank you!
Walddo is offline  
post #64275 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walddo View Post
Hi guys, is there a known fix to using Dolby Vision on P65's/P75's (2016 Models) with Apple TV 4k?

I have a brand new Apple TV 4k, and while Apple TV 4k will recognize Dolby Vision capabilities and seem to work ok at first, it will then periodically have screen tearing.

It was reported on the Vizio reddit here: https://www.reddit.com/r/VIZIO_Offic...from_apple_tv/

It looks like Vizio support responded, but no definite fix was posted and it's a year old.

I've seen other users here report that Apple TV 4k is the way to go for DV, so it sounds like this is working for other users.

Does anyone know any kind of fix/solution I can attempt? I've tried different picture settings, Standard, Calibrated, Calibrated Dark. They all seem to have the same tearing.


I greatly appreciate any help anyone can provide so I can utilize Apple TV 4k with my P65-C1!

Thank you!
Interesting. I was not aware this was a known issue.

FWIW, I have the P65-C1 and use a 4K ATV and the TV works currently great with DV. On the Vizio, full HD is turned ON (I'm using HDMI 2 for no specific reason) and the ATV set to fixed 60fps 4K DV to avoid handshake pauses for daily viewing by the family. Both the Vizio and ATV are on the latest public firmwares.

BUT....I was having some of those tearing symptoms and it turned out to be a faulty ATV. When it kept getting worse I swapped the ATV and it fixed the problem. The *bad* ATV now lives in the basement connected to a 1080p screen and is doing fine.

__________
Visio P65-C1 / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K / TiVo Bolt
Yamaha RX-A2060 5.1.4 / KEF iQ / Speakercraft (Ceiling) / Hsu sub / Ruipro 15 Meter Fiber HDMI
bluechunks is offline  
post #64276 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1821 Post(s)
Liked: 1166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walddo View Post
Hi guys, is there a known fix to using Dolby Vision on P65's/P75's (2016 Models) with Apple TV 4k?

I have a brand new Apple TV 4k, and while Apple TV 4k will recognize Dolby Vision capabilities and seem to work ok at first, it will then periodically have screen tearing.

It was reported on the Vizio reddit here: https://www.reddit.com/r/VIZIO_Offic...from_apple_tv/.....

I greatly appreciate any help anyone can provide so I can utilize Apple TV 4k with my P65-C1!

Thank you!
That Reddit post is from a year ago with 4.1 firmware, we can now on 8.0.20.3. I have no problems with my P65-C1 and ATV4K.
naustin is online now  
post #64277 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
That Reddit post is from a year ago with 4.1 firmware, we can now on 8.0.20.3. I have no problems with my P65-C1 and ATV4K.
You run 4k DV 60hz? No tearing at all?
Walddo is offline  
post #64278 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post
Interesting. I was not aware this was a known issue.

FWIW, I have the P65-C1 and use a 4K ATV and the TV works currently great with DV. On the Vizio, full HD is turned ON (I'm using HDMI 2 for no specific reason) and the ATV set to fixed 60fps 4K DV to avoid handshake pauses for daily viewing by the family. Both the Vizio and ATV are on the latest public firmwares.

BUT....I was having some of those tearing symptoms and it turned out to be a faulty ATV. When it kept getting worse I swapped the ATV and it fixed the problem. The *bad* ATV now lives in the basement connected to a 1080p screen and is doing fine.
Wow. I'm so stoked to make a return....Was setting up the new ATV 4K a hassle? Not sure I understand how it authenticates/resumes your old setup from your other ATV 4k.
Walddo is offline  
post #64279 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walddo View Post
Wow. I'm so stoked to make a return....Was setting up the new ATV 4K a hassle? Not sure I understand how it authenticates/resumes your old setup from your other ATV 4k.
It's pretty painless, all things considered, as it can back up the config to iCloud if you have it turned on.

__________
Visio P65-C1 / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K / TiVo Bolt
Yamaha RX-A2060 5.1.4 / KEF iQ / Speakercraft (Ceiling) / Hsu sub / Ruipro 15 Meter Fiber HDMI
bluechunks is offline  
post #64280 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1821 Post(s)
Liked: 1166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walddo View Post
You run 4k DV 60hz? No tearing at all?
Correct. I run 4K SDR with Match Content (frame & dynamic range ON). The rationale on the ATV4K forum to prevent the Apple from forcing all content (including SDK & HDR10) to DV incorrectly. Chroma is 4:2:0
naustin is online now  
post #64281 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walddo View Post
Wow. I'm so stoked to make a return....Was setting up the new ATV 4K a hassle? Not sure I understand how it authenticates/resumes your old setup from your other ATV 4k.
Also, make sure you are using a decent HDMI cable. If in doubt, quality cables are cheap these days so swap out the cable also.

60Hz 4K DV uses lots of bandwidth.
naustin likes this.

__________
Visio P65-C1 / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K / TiVo Bolt
Yamaha RX-A2060 5.1.4 / KEF iQ / Speakercraft (Ceiling) / Hsu sub / Ruipro 15 Meter Fiber HDMI
bluechunks is offline  
post #64282 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Correct. I run 4K SDR with Match Content (frame & dynamic range ON). The rationale on the ATV4K forum to prevent the Apple from forcing all content (including SDK & HDR10) to DV incorrectly. Chroma is 4:2:0
Ok, yeah so not 4K DV 60hz mode then. This was the mode I had tearing in, 4K HDR did not tear.

I tried running 4K SDR and it stated I didn't have the right cables or to check my cables...I'm using Monoprice Certified Premium cables, literally brand new out the bag last night. Do you know why I may get that error?

I am wondering if I can get it to run in 4K SDR and use Match content like you, I won't see the tearing anymore.

Thanks for the help man, much appreciated.
Walddo is offline  
post #64283 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post
Also, make sure you are using a decent HDMI cable. If in doubt, quality cables are cheap these days so swap out the cable also.

60Hz 4K DV uses lots of bandwidth.
Yes sir, brand new Monoprice Certified Premiums out the bag last night. Just to be clear you leave your ATV in 4K DV 60hz correct?

Because without a doubt, I cannot leave it in that mode without the flicker/ tear on the 1/3 bottom of the screen.
Walddo is offline  
post #64284 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walddo View Post
Just to be clear you leave your ATV in 4K DV 60hz correct?
Yes, absolutely.

(FWIW, it is passed though the AVR so ATMOS is also in AUTO.)

__________
Visio P65-C1 / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K / TiVo Bolt
Yamaha RX-A2060 5.1.4 / KEF iQ / Speakercraft (Ceiling) / Hsu sub / Ruipro 15 Meter Fiber HDMI
bluechunks is offline  
post #64285 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1821 Post(s)
Liked: 1166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walddo View Post
Ok, yeah so not 4K DV 60hz mode then. This was the mode I had tearing in, 4K HDR did not tear.

I tried running 4K SDR and it stated I didn't have the right cables or to check my cables...I'm using Monoprice Certified Premium cables, literally brand new out the bag last night. Do you know why I may get that error?

I am wondering if I can get it to run in 4K SDR and use Match content like you, I won't see the tearing anymore.

Thanks for the help man, much appreciated.
All cables in your video chain to the TV must be good (certified is best). Apple has a test cable (AV chain) option. If it fails no DV is possible.
naustin is online now  
post #64286 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
All cables in your video chain to the TV must be good (certified is best). Apple has a test cable (AV chain) option. If it fails no DV is possible.
Ok I'll try and check this. Thank you.
Walddo is offline  
post #64287 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1821 Post(s)
Liked: 1166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walddo View Post
Ok I'll try and check this. Thank you.
I initially ran 4K DV (with Frame & Range matching On) but switched later to 4K SDR for default menu. I never saw any Screen tearing either way, but both were with Frame & Range matching on. Good luck.
naustin is online now  
post #64288 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post
Yes, absolutely.

(FWIW, it is passed though the AVR so ATMOS is also in AUTO.)
So safe to say, any flickering/tearing at the 1/3 bottom of the screen on the 4K DV 60HZ setting should be concluded as a bad ATV 4K you think?

I'm using Monoprice certified's from the TV to the AVR, and the AVR to the ATV 4K. So I don't think it's the cables, but I even have an extra unopened Monoprice Certified cable I can switch in.

I appreciate your feedback.
Walddo is offline  
post #64289 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I initially ran 4K DV (with Frame & Range matching On) but switched later to 4K SDR for default menu. I never saw any Screen tearing either way, but both were with Frame & Range matching on. Good luck.
Thanks for the feedback. I have never turned the match content setting on the ATV 4K on, so I'll try that. The flicker/tear isn't constant, but it's frequent enough that it reminds me of the white line issue from a year back or so. I am thinking if the match content setting doesn't fix the tear, i'll exchange the ATV 4K. Again, thank you for the feedback and insight.
Walddo is offline  
post #64290 of 64317 Old 12-05-2019, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walddo View Post
So safe to say, any flickering/tearing at the 1/3 bottom of the screen on the 4K DV 60HZ setting should be concluded as a bad ATV 4K you think?
No, we really don't know what is causing the problem yet.

Personally, I'd try the new cable with the ATV plugged directly into the TV and see what happens before replacing the ATV or assuming it's the TV. The AVR could also be a suspect in your situation, so have you verified that it also has current firmware?

__________
Visio P65-C1 / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K / TiVo Bolt
Yamaha RX-A2060 5.1.4 / KEF iQ / Speakercraft (Ceiling) / Hsu sub / Ruipro 15 Meter Fiber HDMI
bluechunks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off