Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 2149 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288614Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #64441 of 64471 Old 02-06-2020, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by b5fan001 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
Should have tried it with a FireStick 4k so you could have experienced it in 4k HDR.

Maybe next year, if Roku and Fox Sports figure out their contract differences.

P65-e1 huh?
Hi,

The Vizio p65-e1 indicated HDR as active. The app worked flawlessly on the Roku. Gave us a great experience!

Cheers!
Roku and Fox Sports had a contract dispute so Fox dropped Roku devices from supporting 4k HDR. Interesting
blatz8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64442 of 64471 Old 02-06-2020, 05:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,587
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
Roku and Fox Sports had a contract dispute so Fox dropped Roku devices from supporting 4k HDR. Interesting
Yes they had a dispute, but they came to an agreement last Friday evening, so the Fox Sports app did work on Roku for the SB.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656 (5.1.2 setup)
JBL Studio S-Center, JBL Studio S26ii (FL/FR), JBL N24 (LS/RS), JBL N24 (Overhead Atmos), JBL Studio SUB250
Nvidia Shield TV 2019 Pro / Fire Stick 4K
taz291819 is offline  
post #64443 of 64471 Old 02-06-2020, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by blatz8 View Post
Roku and Fox Sports had a contract dispute so Fox dropped Roku devices from supporting 4k HDR. Interesting
Yes they had a dispute, but they came to an agreement last Friday evening, so the Fox Sports app did work on Roku for the SB.
Cool cool. Glad to hear they cleared it up. I usually tell my customers that there isn't much of a difference between FireStick and Roku. Then on Friday before the SB, Fox dropped Roku support.

Relieved for all my Roku customers.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cne...per-bowl-2020/
blatz8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64444 of 64471 Old 02-07-2020, 06:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,320
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 322
t sent one final email to the corporate CSR at Vizio about getting Clear Action working. It’s been well over a year now and if it doesn’t get resolved shortly I’m going to attempt to file a warranty claim with Amex and see what happens
blatz8 and Sanctine like this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #64445 of 64471 Old 02-08-2020, 10:02 AM
Member
 
tvuser1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I need some troubleshooting help. I have had my setup working for a few years with no problems. I just moved, and had to set everything up again.

I can no longer get my casting apps to play through my amp speakers. TV cable box and DVD player work fine.

Everything else works fine.

I thought it may be CEC or ARC settings, but I tried a variation on each - both TV and amp - but no luck.

I have an Onkyo NR-656 receiver.

As I said - no problems before I moved. One possibility - I am using HDMI 4 to connect to ARC on my amp. (Easier to connect in my new setup)

Should I go back to using HDMI 1, or is it something else?

Thanks.
tvuser1 is offline  
post #64446 of 64471 Old 02-08-2020, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
kemac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mesa,AZ
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvuser1 View Post
I need some troubleshooting help. I have had my setup working for a few years with no problems. I just moved, and had to set everything up again.

I can no longer get my casting apps to play through my amp speakers. TV cable box and DVD player work fine.

Everything else works fine.

I thought it may be CEC or ARC settings, but I tried a variation on each - both TV and amp - but no luck.

I have an Onkyo NR-656 receiver.

As I said - no problems before I moved. One possibility - I am using HDMI 4 to connect to ARC on my amp. (Easier to connect in my new setup)

Should I go back to using HDMI 1, or is it something else?

Thanks.
You should go back to using HDMI1 for ARC.
kemac is offline  
post #64447 of 64471 Old 02-08-2020, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,290
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1931 Post(s)
Liked: 1275
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvuser1 View Post
I need some troubleshooting help. I have had my setup working for a few years with no problems. I just moved, and had to set everything up again.

I can no longer get my casting apps to play through my amp speakers. TV cable box and DVD player work fine.

Everything else works fine.

I thought it may be CEC or ARC settings, but I tried a variation on each - both TV and amp - but no luck.

I have an Onkyo NR-656 receiver.

As I said - no problems before I moved. One possibility - I am using HDMI 4 to connect to ARC on my amp. (Easier to connect in my new setup)

Should I go back to using HDMI 1, or is it something else?

Thanks.
HDMI 1 is the ARC channel on the Vizio, so TV Apps won't provide audio unless it is connected to your AVR.
shoman94 likes this.
naustin is online now  
post #64448 of 64471 Old 02-08-2020, 12:12 PM
Member
 
tvuser1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That solved the problem.

Simple fix.

Thanks again
tvuser1 is offline  
post #64449 of 64471 Old 02-10-2020, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
d34dl1n3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommyknocker2121 View Post
Who has been watching Thursday Night Football in HDR?

I’m sure most know that the Super Bowl will be broadcast in 4k upres’d from 1080p HDR. Does anyone have any particular picture settings that they feel does live sports in HDR justice?

Watched a portion of the Super Bowl on my P55-E1 in 4K / HLG. It was crystal clear, but even with the backlight maxed out it was WAY too dark and "gloomy?" looking. I think it would have looked much better broadcast in just 4K, no HDR/HLD. I ended up watching the non HD stream because it was just SO much more natural looking except for the resolution. Every other stream was only 720p.
d34dl1n3r is online now  
post #64450 of 64471 Old 02-10-2020, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
d34dl1n3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
t sent one final email to the corporate CSR at Vizio about getting Clear Action working. It’s been well over a year now and if it doesn’t get resolved shortly I’m going to attempt to file a warranty claim with Amex and see what happens

Weren't you going to file a claim through your 4 yr warranty? What did they tell you? I'm interested to see how it turns out, as my Warranty is over is July of this year.
blatz8 likes this.
d34dl1n3r is online now  
post #64451 of 64471 Old 02-10-2020, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,320
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by d34dl1n3r View Post
Weren't you going to file a claim through your 4 yr warranty? What did they tell you? I'm interested to see how it turns out, as my Warranty is over is July of this year.
I’m not sure who picks it up after the first two years (which it has been). I want to do something because it’s pretty clear this will never be resolved and it’s false advertising at best.
blatz8 likes this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #64452 of 64471 Old 02-12-2020, 09:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So, since the Disney+ app on PS4 doesn't support HDR and the casting to the TV from the smartphone app is limited to 720p max, what is a good alternative for being able to use Disney+ in 4k/HDR (along with the rest of the streaming apps in 4k/HDR)?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
DirgeExtinction is offline  
post #64453 of 64471 Old 02-13-2020, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,320
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirgeExtinction View Post
So, since the Disney+ app on PS4 doesn't support HDR and the casting to the TV from the smartphone app is limited to 720p max, what is a good alternative for being able to use Disney+ in 4k/HDR (along with the rest of the streaming apps in 4k/HDR)?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Your cheapest bet is just to go with a 4K Fire TV Stick. Problem is No Atmos support on the app for some reason. A lot of streamers don’t support Atmos with the Disney+ app. At this point if all you want is Disney+ and DV just get the stick.

I’ve totally lost faith that Vizio will ever deliver on any of their promises.
dante1976 and blatz8 like this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #64454 of 64471 Old 02-13-2020, 11:30 AM
Newbie
 
dante1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Your cheapest bet is just to go with a 4K Fire TV Stick. Problem is No Atmos support on the app for some reason. A lot of streamers don’t support Atmos with the Disney+ app. At this point if all you want is Disney+ and DV just get the stick.

I’ve totally lost faith that Vizio will ever deliver on any of their promises.
Chromecast Ultra 2019 or 4K Fire TV Stick? Same price compared with 4K Stick with LAN adapter. Or go "wild" (double the price) with Nvidia Shield 2019? Which is better for YT 4K/DV HDR/60FPS? I'm guessing Chromecast Ultra is the best for YT? And a noob final question... Vizio P series 2016 display can output 4K/DV HDR/60FPS or its limited to HDR10 when doing 60FPS? With built in Netflix app it's only doing HDR10 when 4K DV HDR 60FPS is triggered!?

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
dante1976 is offline  
post #64455 of 64471 Old 02-13-2020, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,193
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 2406
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1976 View Post
Chromecast Ultra 2019 or 4K Fire TV Stick? Same price compared with 4K Stick with LAN adapter. Or go "wild" (double the price) with Nvidia Shield 2019? Which is better for YT 4K/DV HDR/60FPS? I'm guessing Chromecast Ultra is the best for YT? And a noob final question... Vizio P series 2016 display can output 4K/DV HDR/60FPS or its limited to HDR10 when doing 60FPS? With built in Netflix app it's only doing HDR10 when 4K DV HDR 60FPS is triggered!?
The Fire Stick 4k regularly goes on sale for $25-35. It does YouTube 4k 60p in both HDR10 and HLG. And yes, even though the 2016 P can't do 60p DV internally, it works just fine from an external source. Although honestly, there's only a couple of demo videos on Netflix you'd need it for, besides the Gemini Man 4k disc.
shoman94, naustin and dante1976 like this.
puddy77 is offline  
post #64456 of 64471 Old 02-13-2020, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
dante1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for a quick answer. Btw how come that I can cast 4k HDR10+ video (recorded with a phone, TV recognize it as 2160p HDR10) using Local Cast app while for example Disney+ is limited to 720p when casting from the same phone, on the same TV, using the same network, etc...!!!??? That doesn't make any sense... Disney should hire Local cast dev!

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
dante1976 is offline  
post #64457 of 64471 Old 02-13-2020, 11:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,320
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
The Fire Stick 4k regularly goes on sale for $25-35. It does YouTube 4k 60p in both HDR10 and HLG. And yes, even though the 2016 P can't do 60p DV internally, it works just fine from an external source. Although honestly, there's only a couple of demo videos on Netflix you'd need it for, besides the Gemini Man 4k disc.

Really the only HDR YT video I watch on a regular basis. This one blows me away every time. I think this is the best of theirs. It even looks amazing without HDR. Otherwise YT HDR is mostly a wasteland.
blatz8 likes this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #64458 of 64471 Old 02-14-2020, 01:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1976 View Post
Thanks for a quick answer. Btw how come that I can cast 4k HDR10+ video (recorded with a phone, TV recognize it as 2160p HDR10) using Local Cast app while for example Disney+ is limited to 720p when casting from the same phone, on the same TV, using the same network, etc...!!!??? That doesn't make any sense... Disney should hire Local cast dev!

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
Because your TV doesn't meet the cast version requirements that have been set by DRM. Which has been said so many times since Disney+ launched....

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64459 of 64471 Old 02-14-2020, 04:33 AM
Newbie
 
dante1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownknuckles View Post
Because your TV doesn't meet the cast version requirements that have been set by DRM. Which has been said so many times since Disney+ launched....

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
Thanks for explaining... so it's a good old "consume, obey, stfu and move on" then?

Is there any Android box device out there with similar capabilities as Fire stick 4k? I just went through a ton of negative feedback about freezing/boot looping/remote not working/completely dying after a month/etc...

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
dante1976 is offline  
post #64460 of 64471 Old 02-14-2020, 08:13 AM
Member
 
StopTheExcuses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 21
What kind of longevity are you getting out of these sets? I purchased a P75-C1 on July 11th, 2016 and it's already defective. It developed a black blob in the lower left corner where the back light is going out. I had to dump it for $50! I'm pretty ticked off I got less than 3.5 years out of a set that was so expensive, and heralded as a "Good Buy". And, it's not like I abused it. It was used in a non smoking home, kept cool, and used maybe 1.5 hours a day.

Fwiw, before the Vizio I had nothing but Panasonic Plasmas that are ALL still functioning just fine today, with the youngest being over 7 years old! I sure hope my LG B855 in the bedroom and the Samsung Q80R 75 I purchased to replace the Vizio last longer.

Am I right to be salty I didn't get more usage out of what is still a relatively "New" Tv? I'm not sure I will buy Vizio again.
StopTheExcuses is offline  
post #64461 of 64471 Old 02-14-2020, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,427
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4947 Post(s)
Liked: 2965
Quote:
Originally Posted by StopTheExcuses View Post
What kind of longevity are you getting out of these sets? I purchased a P75-C1 on July 11th, 2016 and it's already defective. It developed a black blob in the lower left corner where the back light is going out. I had to dump it for $50! I'm pretty ticked off I got less than 3.5 years out of a set that was so expensive, and heralded as a "Good Buy". And, it's not like I abused it. It was used in a non smoking home, kept cool, and used maybe 1.5 hours a day.

Fwiw, before the Vizio I had nothing but Panasonic Plasmas that are ALL still functioning just fine today, with the youngest being over 7 years old! I sure hope my LG B855 in the bedroom and the Samsung Q80R 75 I purchased to replace the Vizio last longer.

Am I right to be salty I didn't get more usage out of what is still a relatively "New" Tv? I'm not sure I will buy Vizio again.
I purchased my P75 around the same time as you and I'm still using it but in a secondary location. I also don't think I will be buying any more Vizio sets as I have an LG OLED in my primary viewing location now. Back in 2016, the OLEDs were much too expensive to consider but the prices have come down a lot.

lujan
621 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #64462 of 64471 Old 02-14-2020, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
blatz8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1976 View Post
Thanks for explaining... so it's a good old "consume, obey, stfu and move on" then?

Is there any Android box device out there with similar capabilities as Fire stick 4k? I just went through a ton of negative feedback about freezing/boot looping/remote not working/completely dying after a month/etc...

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
Freezing with the 4k Fire Stick? I use one on my P-65 and I recommend and install these for all my customers. Not issues so for. If you get a faulty one, you can return to Amazon. You can get them for $25
blatz8 is offline  
post #64463 of 64471 Old 02-14-2020, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1976 View Post
Thanks for explaining... so it's a good old "consume, obey, stfu and move on" then?

Is there any Android box device out there with similar capabilities as Fire stick 4k? I just went through a ton of negative feedback about freezing/boot looping/remote not working/completely dying after a month/etc...

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
Nvidia Shield.
Everything else is a lottery

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64464 of 64471 Old 02-14-2020, 05:37 PM
Newbie
 
dante1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just ordered Firestick 4k + Cable matters ethernet adapter = Chromecast ultra (I'm in Canada). Shield is more than twice that price and then you have xbone s digital edition for only 40 cad more (Shield should be priced less). And when you spend 200 cad for shield you can as well add another 100 and get Xbone s with optical drive , etc... Thank you all for hints&tips! P.s. Main reason for this buy is Disney+ of course and that DRM nonsense, capping at 720p!? Btw Local cast is awesome app for wireless streaming (supports pretty much everything) that dev should be a millionaire (if he is not already that is)

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk

Last edited by dante1976; 02-14-2020 at 05:42 PM.
dante1976 is offline  
post #64465 of 64471 Old 02-14-2020, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1976 View Post
I just ordered Firestick 4k + Cable matters ethernet adapter = Chromecast ultra (I'm in Canada). Shield is more than twice that price and then you have xbone s digital edition for only 40 cad more (Shield should be priced less). And when you spend 200 cad for shield you can as well add another 100 and get Xbone s with optical drive , etc... Thank you all for hints&tips! P.s. Main reason for this buy is Disney+ of course and that DRM nonsense, capping at 720p!? Btw Local cast is awesome app for wireless streaming (supports pretty much everything) that dev should be a millionaire (if he is not already that is)

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
If you have a spare iPhone airplay works with Disney+. 4K and DV support. I use an old iPhone 6 for the bedroom tv that doesn't have an atv connected.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
dante1976 likes this.
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64466 of 64471 Old 02-15-2020, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
dante1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
You can also use Macos through Win VM machine to cast Airplay 2 to Vizio but iPad will do just fine. I still need a stick for YT HDR and for HDR 10+ (recorded on phone)

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
dante1976 is offline  
post #64467 of 64471 Old 02-16-2020, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,320
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1976 View Post
You can also use Macos through Win VM machine to cast Airplay 2 to Vizio but iPad will do just fine. I still need a stick for YT HDR and for HDR 10+ (recorded on phone)

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
Eh, as I stated earlier you’ll probably burn through all the interesting YT HDR content in a day or two anyways.

As for the Ckear Action issue, the PR guy I’m dealing with at Vizio wasn’t sure if an update for our models was coming out soon. My back is still healing or I’d initiate a warranty claim with whoever is handling it at this point. Pretty dispicable on Vizio’s part that an advertised feature hasn’t worked for more than half the time I’ve owned the tv. I suspect if it was Amex I wouldn’t have an issue getting some sort of exchange for a different model (frankly I’d rather have a refund so I could purchase a TV from a different manufacturer) but I think some other warranty company picks things up after the 2yr mark.

Once my back feels a little better I’m definitely looking into it.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #64468 of 64471 Old 02-16-2020, 08:06 PM
Newbie
 
dante1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Don't know about you and how important clear action is to you ("wild guess" is gaming?) but I'll buy Vizio again. Pretty much unbeatable price/performance ratio out there. In May it will be 4 years and beside minor DSE I don't have any complaints. Use to have Panny plasma's before 4k craze and they all had waaaay more flaws than Vizio. One of the reasons I'm still not considering oled is that I watch a lot of tennis and after couple of hours (in Tennis that happens very often) you end up having a whole court burned in ;( Add for example subtitle usage, gaming with huds on and you are @#$ewed

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
dante1976 is offline  
post #64469 of 64471 Old 02-16-2020, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1976 View Post
Don't know about you and how important clear action is to you ("wild guess" is gaming?) but I'll buy Vizio again. Pretty much unbeatable price/performance ratio out there. In May it will be 4 years and beside minor DSE I don't have any complaints. Use to have Panny plasma's before 4k craze and they all had waaaay more flaws than Vizio. One of the reasons I'm still not considering oled is that I watch a lot of tennis and after couple of hours (in Tennis that happens very often) you end up having a whole court burned in ;( Add for example subtitle usage, gaming with huds on and you are @#$ewed

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
If response time is important have you considered an Asus BFG display?
Or a Samsung q8 even though I can't stand their motion processing and still lacking Dolby vision support.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
brownknuckles is offline  
post #64470 of 64471 Old 02-17-2020, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
dante1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
For that money you can buy the same size 8k 120hz screen!
384 zones and 24hz more ("overclocked" plus AMVA 8bit panel!?) can't raise your eyebrows as 4x pixel density

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
dante1976 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off