Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 471 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288502Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14101 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Just did a service check and it looks like it finally pushed to my tv.
shoman94 and GardenVariety like this.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500

Last edited by hockeythug; 05-26-2016 at 02:32 PM.
hockeythug is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14102 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 02:37 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0cool2007 View Post
As I spend another day without 1.1.14.4, a thought on The Vizio Tablet and Smartcast:
I've experienced multiple issues when viewing Netflix via the Dish Hopper 3 on my P75.
I always cast Netflix from the Tablet, but my wife (who, if not for me, would be fine with a small TV, no AVR, et.), finds it much easier to just start up Netflix from Dish using our Harmony remote (she's also the reason I bought a Harmony remote in the first place).
Yesterday, my 6-year old granddaughter was here and wanted to watch Monster High on Netflix. My wife tried to turn everything on, via the Harmony remote, but could not get a signal (I think she refers to our Home entertainment system as "Christine"). I stepped in, and suggested she let me cast Netflix instead of going through the Hopper, so we wouldn't have a failure/reboot in the middle of viewing.
I grabbed the Tablet, but my granddaughter said "Let me do it", so without any assistance from me, she opened the Netflix app, searched Monster High, found the one she wanted to watch, and started playing it on the P75. (Granted, she is a tablet/smartphone savvy kid, as most are these days).
I looked at my wife and said "did you see that?", she just replied "Shut up..."

Bottom line: seems to me Vizio is on the right track with Smartcast!
So now you know where a big chunk of the problems with casting are coming from.
zer0cool2007 likes this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #14103 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Furyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
It seems like the P55-C1, will the last of the displays to get the update.


Mine was updated by the pairing process shortly after release.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-65X900E / Sony STRDN1080 / Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 Series / Vizio P55-C1 / Vizio SB4031-D5 / DirecTV Genie (non-4K) / Apple TV 4 / Apple TV 4K / Roku Premiere+
Furyus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14104 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0cool2007 View Post
Decided to take a short break and play a little DOOM this afternoon. Turned everything on and lo and behold "An update 1.1.14.4 has been applied to your display".
Now I'm gonna' check out some of that Flash finale to see if the screen tearing has improved!
What size do you have? Matt says that tearing is fixed for everyone but P75's and that patch is on it's way.


On a side note, can someone please check to see if subtitles are improved? Just want to know if the overall screen dimming is better.
shoman94 likes this.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #14105 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 02:58 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristopherSteel View Post
I've been using Plex since way back and it's an excellent media streamer. Basically you store any file type (audio, video, image) on a computer. Install the Plex software on the machine and select the folder that has your Movies, Music, Videos and the like. Once setup, you install the client on the viewing end. For instance, Plex now has an Apple TV app. Fire up the app and you can now watch anything in your library on your TV. The beauty of Plex is it does transcoding on the fly. You don't have to worry what format the file is in. It's pretty damn good and covering them all. Great product if you want to rip your entire library and store it on a machine so you never have to touch a disk again.
Is there a source for the options to copy Movies, Music, and Videos to HD in a format that Plex can trans-code. What does Plex do with .ISO files?

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 05-26-2016 at 03:01 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #14106 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Donster View Post
Honestly, if it is important to you go back and read through Matt's posts.
You mean you're not going to search back, find the the post and quote it for him?
shoman94 and zer0cool2007 like this.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #14107 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Is there a source for the options to copy Movies, Music, and Videos to HD in a format that Plex can trans-code. What does Plex do with .ISO files?
I don't believe Plex handles ISO files. You need to extract the main movie file using a program and convert to MKV, MP4 or any other transcode-able containerz
GardenVariety is offline  
post #14108 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
That might depend on who "everyone" happens to be. You've posted your settings and indicated why you like them. Why not discuss other related issues in the calibration thread for these sets?

There is no need to tell my why I'm wrong. I have a full time persons who handles that for me.
I stopped explaining myself hours ago. I understand there are professional calibrators on here. I'm just a regular Jo that cant afford one well golden reference isn't out yet anyway. But yeah I've stopped. Sorry that I'm screwing up peoples panels,even though no one has commented on how they look. Just a reader till I have a problem now.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
jopat is offline  
post #14109 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
zer0cool2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
What size do you have? Matt says that tearing is fixed for everyone but P75's and that patch is on it's way.





On a side note, can someone please check to see if subtitles are improved? Just want to know if the overall screen dimming is better.


I've got the P75. The tearing was vastly improved on The Flash. If I hadn't already seen it, I likely wouldn't have noticed it. Still need to do further testing with other known videos that show tearing clearly.
Definitely a step in the right direction.
shoman94 and tampabayrays like this.
zer0cool2007 is offline  
post #14110 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0cool2007 View Post
I've got the P75. The tearing was vastly improved on The Flash. If I hadn't already seen it, I likely wouldn't have noticed it. Still need to do further testing with other known videos that show tearing clearly.
Definitely a step in the right direction.
Have you tried one of the test files in this thread to make it as obvious as possible? The reason I ask is that Matt says it's not fixed yet but I wonder if they already did something to lessen the effect. When you say improved does that mean it's more transparent or less frequent?
GardenVariety is offline  
post #14111 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,337
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6529 Post(s)
Liked: 6257
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
If Matt is still checking out the thread, I would like know if the grayscale and gamma of Dolby Vision Color Tuner, could be more accurate. The grayscale/gamma is to dark and hides detail. I don't expect it to be exact, but it would go along way towards selling people on the display and Dolby Vision.


It may have more to do with the grading of the encodes more than the mode itself. When calibrating DV to the GR it should be getting as close to possible to creator intent. Now if said result is too dark is that the fault of the TV or the creator


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is online now  
post #14112 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:11 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Randall View Post
they price matched a previous bb purchase since it went on sale and gave you a credit, similar to what costco does? p.s. i know we're not supposed to talk price here but this isnt a price question...its a bb policy question
We aren't supposed to talk BB policy either.
Ph8te likes this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #14113 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
zer0cool2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
Have you tried one of the test files in this thread to make it as obvious as possible? The reason I ask is that Matt says it's not fixed yet but I wonder if they already did something to lessen the effect. When you say improved does that mean it's more transparent or less frequent?


Kinda' both, I only noticed it in a couple of spots, and even those were harder to see.
I haven't had a chance to re-watch any of the test files here today. I'll definitely be doing so tomorrow though. (Seeing X-Men Apocalypse tonight)
zer0cool2007 is offline  
post #14114 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:21 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by jopat View Post
I stopped explaining myself hours ago. I understand there are professional calibrators on here. I'm just a regular Jo that cant afford one well golden reference isn't out yet anyway. But yeah I've stopped. Sorry that I'm screwing up peoples panels,even though no one has commented on how they look. Just a reader till I have a problem now.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
Your interest in calibration is great. The calibration thread is a great place to learn. Have at it.

As far as I know we have had one professional calibrator visit this thread and post that he was ready to do full calibrations on the P-Series. Some members have suggested that waiting for the full HDR10 (part 2) install would be a good idea to get the most bang for the buck.
Vader182 likes this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 05-26-2016 at 03:25 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #14115 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Looks like the update broke auto switching on my AVR to TV audio via ARC when switching to casting. AVR power off as well. AVR power on works though. Not that big of a deal but I will file a bug report to Vizio. Didn't change any settings and I synced everything again.

Did anybody else's change after the update?
htwaits and imobilizer like this.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500

Last edited by hockeythug; 05-26-2016 at 03:38 PM.
hockeythug is offline  
post #14116 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:29 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
I don't believe Plex handles ISO files. You need to extract the main movie file using a program and convert to MKV, MP4 or any other transcode-able containerz
Thanks. My backups are all .ISO so I'll limp along with a USB plug and play system.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #14117 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:32 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
Have you tried one of the test files in this thread to make it as obvious as possible? The reason I ask is that Matt says it's not fixed yet but I wonder if they already did something to lessen the effect. When you say improved does that mean it's more transparent or less frequent?
Matt may have meant that more work was needed for the P75 sets.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #14118 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
Have you tried one of the test files in this thread to make it as obvious as possible? The reason I ask is that Matt says it's not fixed yet but I wonder if they already did something to lessen the effect. When you say improved does that mean it's more transparent or less frequent?
I believe its improved. The only time I see it is the whacky strobe video. The tone difference between the 2 sides is improved also.
Anago likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #14119 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post
Looks like the update broke auto switching on my AVR to TV audio via ARC when switching to casting. AVR power off as well. AVR power on works though. Not that big of a deal but I will file a bug report to Vizio. Didn't change any settings and I synced everything again.

Did anybody else's change after the update?
Did you try resetting CEC from scratch on all components involved?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #14120 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Thanks. My backups are all .ISO so I'll limp along with a USB plug and play system.
The Plex people claim that since they are images of the disc the content is going to be behind some sort of menu system and would make navigating Plex harder to do and "goes against it's purpose".
VBB likes this.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
post #14121 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2829
VBB thanks for the clarification, it was not my intention to post any wrong info.

My post will be deleted to avoid repeating reply's about this.


Thank you
losservatore
VBB likes this.

Last edited by losservatore; 05-26-2016 at 04:23 PM.
losservatore is offline  
post #14122 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Swamibob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by friendlysmith View Post
I just recieved firmware update too. I have denon 2112 and casting gives me the chirps too except for pcm on both ends. Tried 4 different cables( cablemart rated 26gps) including vizio one with no luck. On a positive note, ran the ufo motion test for 4k 60 fps and 1080p 120 fps with and without clear action on input 2 and 5 and I see no doubling or blur at the end of character anymore. Yes !!! Thanks Matt...
Since I am going to be using my new P75-C1 for HD gaming, can you explain which port I would want to use and why one would be preferred? I notice you say that it is working great it either port now. Also, is gaming better with clear action on or not? I will probably be doing more 1080p120 gaming but I haven't seen the 4k60 yet and if the quality difference is worth the lower frame rates or not. Thanks.
Swamibob is offline  
post #14123 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Did you try resetting CEC from scratch on all components involved?
Yeah. I guess the next step would be a factory reset of the tv. I'll wait and see as I don't want to re-input all my calibrations settings at this moment.
shoman94 likes this.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
post #14124 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
zer0cool2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I believe its improved. The only time I see it is the whacky strobe video. The tone difference between the 2 sides is improved also.
Exactly this. I'm sure my results were the same as other P75 owners who initially reported it fixed, then found it wasn't fully fixed after putting their displays through torture tests.
Big improvement though, and though I didn't find it super noticable before, the blooming around subtitles seems better as well.
Can't comment on any yellow banding improvement though, as I've never really noticed that on my set.
shoman94 and thomasfxlt like this.
zer0cool2007 is offline  
post #14125 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Heavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttnuagmada View Post
Hey guy, if you're watching movies on it with your computer, you absolutely need to get MPC-HC along with MadVR. MadVR is a crazy awesome renderer that can take full advantage of all of a 980ti's processing power and then some (I know because I also have dual 980ti's). If you have a colorimeter you can even make 3DLut's for it. It's generally considered to be superior to just about any external video processor and is serious enough that Calman has MadVR 3Dlut creation built into it's enthusiast edition.

Hey thank for the info. I download the MadVR and installed it. I already had MPC-HC on my pc and before installing MadVR. MPC-HC was stutter like vlc. Now with MadVRinstalled, the 4k video plays smooth without stuttering using MPC-HC until I go to full screen and the video freezes. MPC-HC crashes and I have go to task manger to close it.
Heavie is offline  
post #14126 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post
Looks like the update broke auto switching on my AVR to TV audio via ARC when switching to casting. AVR power off as well. AVR power on works though. Not that big of a deal but I will file a bug report to Vizio. Didn't change any settings and I synced everything again.

Did anybody else's change after the update?
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post
Yeah. I guess the next step would be a factory reset of the tv. I'll wait and see as I don't want to re-input all my calibrations settings at this moment.
Yea no kidding it sucks! @Matt McRae Please update the APP to include +/- buttons.
johnnytex likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #14127 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:31 PM
Member
 
Snowknight26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevmo View Post
As per other responses, the issue could be at several points in the P65 - Denon - Tivo chain, but I don't have a different display to swap with to validate the P65 is contributing, vs. it being only on Tivo / Tivo apps issue.

But thanks for the workaround on Tivo to set the video out to only 1080/60, then I don't have the lip synch issues from streamed content so I'll probably leave it there.
It's not a TiVo/Denon issue specifically. I have a PC (i3-6100 and a GTX 950, it's fast enough) connected to a Marantz NR1606, going to HDMI1, and if I have my media player auto-change refresh rate to 24Hz, the audio sync issue occurs too.

As I'm having a replacement set shipped next week for a separate issue, I'll be able to check that unit, but I'm pretty sure it's a firmware issue. Even happens with 1.1.14.4.
Bevmo likes this.
Snowknight26 is offline  
post #14128 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Dickcheneyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swamibob View Post
Since I am going to be using my new P75-C1 for HD gaming, can you explain which port I would want to use and why one would be preferred? I notice you say that it is working great it either port now. Also, is gaming better with clear action on or not? I will probably be doing more 1080p120 gaming but I haven't seen the 4k60 yet and if the quality difference is worth the lower frame rates or not. Thanks.
HDMI-5 for gaming, its easy to tell the difference in input lag between 1~4 vs 5 (At least in shooters which is what i play) and the 120hz is a no brainer for certain games. The 4K quality difference is acceptable to me @ 4:2:0 but the HDMI 5 issues (again...for me) have my input on HDMI-2 for the time being.

Overall id say if your a gamer and can drive [email protected] or [email protected] this TV is awesome as no other tv's have come close to the input lag / pixel response (outside oled...imo)
Dickcheneyx is offline  
post #14129 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Dickcheneyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavie View Post
Hey thank for the info. I download the MadVR and installed it. I already had MPC-HC on my pc and before installing MadVR. MPC-HC was stutter like vlc. Now with MadVRinstalled, the 4k video plays smooth without stuttering using MPC-HC until I go to full screen and the video freezes. MPC-HC crashes and I have go to task manger to close it.
have you tried setting it to Nvidia Quvid or DXVA2 ?
Dickcheneyx is offline  
post #14130 of 64119 Old 05-26-2016, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
NeronetFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post
Looks like the update broke auto switching on my AVR to TV audio via ARC when switching to casting. AVR power off as well. AVR power on works though. Not that big of a deal but I will file a bug report to Vizio. Didn't change any settings and I synced everything again.

Did anybody else's change after the update?
With the TV and AVR on. Power off your AVR, remove the powercord. Wait about 20 secs then reconnect power and power it back on. This will re-initiate the HDMI Handshake. I am not sure this will fix it but it is worth a try.
VBB and hockeythug like this.


Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help


Vizio P65-C1
Denon AVR-X1100w
LG BD570
NeronetFi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off