Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 472 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288502Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14131 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
I'm not exactly sure but I'll find out. It's one robust cable. It's a passive cable btw.

I provided you with a link to the BJ series cable back in the middle of April. Here is a link to the post which has the links to BJC HDMI cables.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post43318818

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14132 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
It's not a TiVo/Denon issue specifically. I have a PC (i3-6100 and a GTX 950, it's fast enough) connected to a Marantz NR1606, going to HDMI1, and if I have my media player auto-change refresh rate to 24Hz, the audio sync issue occurs too.

As I'm having a replacement set shipped next week for a separate issue, I'll be able to check that unit, but I'm pretty sure it's a firmware issue. Even happens with 1.1.14.4.
If connecting to the Display solves everyone's 24hz audio sync then how its it the Vizio's fault? Sounds like the AVR. What AVR doesn't have an auto sync function these days? I would never get one without... for sure.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #14133 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 04:47 PM
Member
 
friendlysmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swamibob View Post
Since I am going to be using my new P75-C1 for HD gaming, can you explain which port I would want to use and why one would be preferred? I notice you say that it is working great it either port now. Also, is gaming better with clear action on or not? I will probably be doing more 1080p120 gaming but I haven't seen the 4k60 yet and if the quality difference is worth the lower frame rates or not. Thanks.
Well, I have tested and tinkered with both inputs for gaming and video. I have a bluray optical disk on my computer and of course there is youtube and netflix 4k. In my opinion, there is a slight improvement in color while playing pc games and watching movies on input 2 versus 5. But again my opinion, there is a clear difference in feel(input lag) between 2 and 5. I play pc multiplayer games 80 to 90% of the time with 1080p 120fps enabled. So much smoother than 60 fps. Modern single player games with 7950 crossfire struggle unless i turn settings down with 4k 60fps. So I have settled on input 5 for pc and all other consoles run through denon 2112 to input 1 with game mode on. Clear action causes strobing. I have never had this option on a tv or monitor and it has taken me some time to get used to it. Now if I had A receiver with 2 outputs I could have the best of both worlds. I will be hanging the tv on the wall soon so tinkering will not be an option soon.
tampabayrays likes this.
friendlysmith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14134 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 04:59 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post
The Plex people claim that since they are images of the disc the content is going to be behind some sort of menu system and would make navigating Plex harder to do and "goes against it's purpose".
Right.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #14135 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 05:05 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post
Yeah. I guess the next step would be a factory reset of the tv. I'll wait and see as I don't want to re-input all my calibrations settings at this moment.
I'd try the AVR first. Factory reset should not be necessary, but you want to unplug it for a minute. I have to do this every time my Onkyo has issues with CEC/ARC, which could very well be triggered by a TV firmware update.
hockeythug likes this.

Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline  
post #14136 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 05:08 PM
Member
 
Heavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dickcheneyx View Post
have you tried setting it to Nvidia Quvid or DXVA2 ?
No, not all. Where or what do I need to do, to try this?
Heavie is offline  
post #14137 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Dickcheneyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavie View Post
No, not all. Where or what do I need to do, to try this?

Open MPC - Options - Internal Filters - Video Decoder (Bottom / Middle) - Choose from the drop down under Hardware Acceleration.

Definitely mess with it and find what works best for you.
mpgxsvcd and tampabayrays like this.
Dickcheneyx is offline  
post #14138 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 05:16 PM
Member
 
Heavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by fljoe View Post
Amen brother ... with my fat fingers that was the most frustrating thing I had to do when calibrating this set to some of the settings posted in the calibration thread. Wish the simple remote had the ability to increase/decrease the values.
I have big finger. I paired a samsung note 8 and a old note 2 phone. Both include a pen and make it very easy for fine selection in settings.
Brandon B likes this.
Heavie is offline  
post #14139 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 05:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Can anyone here compare the 2015 M Series with the 2016 P Series? I am watching the NBA Playoffs and NHL Playoffs from a 60 inch 2015 M Series almost every night so I've gotten a good idea of the quality. Is it a huge difference?
Psycidelicos is offline  
post #14140 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 05:19 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavie View Post
No, not all. Where or what do I need to do, to try this?
If you want to keep using MPC-HC and madVR, check out this thread https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-hom...tup-guide.html, as well as this one created by @Onkyoman : https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-hom...light=onkyoman

Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline  
post #14141 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1852 Post(s)
Liked: 1116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
It may have more to do with the grading of the encodes more than the mode itself. When calibrating DV to the GR it should be getting as close to possible to creator intent. Now if said result is too dark is that the fault of the TV or the creator


Sent from nowhere
You would think thats the case, but the adjustments it appears Shoman had to make to grayscale/gamma is too large to not make a difference. I even tried his settings and they made the picture brighter and giving the picture a 3D effect. More detail was present across the entire picture from scene to scene.

Last edited by DisplayCalNoob; 05-26-2016 at 06:10 PM.
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #14142 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
movd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
If connecting to the Display solves everyone's 24hz audio sync then how its it the Vizio's fault? Sounds like the AVR. What AVR doesn't have an auto sync function these days? I would never get one without... for sure.
It is hard to say where the problem lies, but the issue seems to be with a Denon/Marantz AVR and Vizio P Series combination only with 24Hz. This wasn't an issue for me with my previous TV. Otherwise, I would agree that this is not a Vizio issue.

For reference, I have a Denon X1200W and P55. I've tried with multiple devices and they all have a lip sync issue with 24Hz.
htwaits, shoman94, ma1746 and 1 others like this.
movd is offline  
post #14143 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
If connecting to the Display solves everyone's 24hz audio sync then how its it the Vizio's fault? Sounds like the AVR. What AVR doesn't have an auto sync function these days? I would never get one without... for sure.
Because it is from every model AVR that people have tested so far and they are already using auto lip sync. The issue is there regardless.
Do you notice it at all on yours? You have to pay super close attention though it is very close. I probably wouldn't haven't noticed unless I was looking for it. So it doesn't really bother me much.

Last edited by shortyg83; 05-26-2016 at 06:15 PM.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #14144 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Govnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Couple of questions, yes I searched the thread and just need some advice/confirmation. I am getting audio dropouts via VUDU and Netflix over ARC to a Marantz 7010 and have replaced the HDMI cable to high-end audioquest. I have read that some have the issue and others do not, any other suggestions or should I just move on to optical and wait for Vizio to address?

Lastly, anyone had any success pairing a Nvidia Shield K1 tablet via BT? According to the specs, the Shield K1 has BT LE and should work, but have been unsuccessful. WIFI is a hit and miss...

P65-C1 and latest firmware (1.1.14).

Thanks

Last edited by Govnah; 05-26-2016 at 07:10 PM.
Govnah is offline  
post #14145 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1852 Post(s)
Liked: 1116
Quote:
Originally Posted by movd View Post
It is hard to say where the problem lies, but the issue seems to be with a Denon/Marantz AVR and Vizio P Series combination only with 24Hz. This wasn't an issue for me with my previous TV. Otherwise, I would agree that this is not a Vizio issue.

For reference, I have a Denon X1200W and P55. I've tried with multiple devices and they all have a lip sync issue with 24Hz.
Try turning lip sync off on one of the devices, allow one to have control.
jopat likes this.

Last edited by DisplayCalNoob; 05-26-2016 at 06:09 PM.
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #14146 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Try turning lip sync off on one of the devices, allow one to have control.
Tried both ways.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #14147 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Red face

My P65 was delivered today and I'm very impressed with the picture. I had no issues setting up the casting/remote and all seems to be casting fine. The only issues with casting seem that some of the YouTube 4K content can be jittery but that's probably on the content side not the Vizeo.
Marco Polo on Netflix looks amazing and content from my old Directv HR24 look decent (HR 54 is being installed tomorrow so I will get a chance to view 4K content from them.

I see no visual issues at all with my set although I have not spent a great deal of time with it yet.

Pretty much given up on ARC it worked for a couple hrs but stopped and I just threw on an digital optical cable. I tried several fixes from pg1 post1 but nothing ever worked (Onkyo TX RZ900). Hopefully this is a firmware issue for the future.

I'm not sure what software version I have and can't remember how to check!

Very happy with my Vizeo P65 regardless of the ARC.
Paulf1 is offline  
post #14148 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:25 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Because it is from every model AVR that people have tested so far and they are already using auto lip sync. The issue is there regardless.
Do you notice it at all on yours? You have to pay super close attention though it is very close. I probably wouldn't haven't noticed unless I was looking for it. So it doesn't really bother me much.
The word every usually means 100%. Have we heard from the people who don't know they have a problem, or just the ones who hear a problem, remove their AVR, and then don't hear the problem.

I guess I'm just old fashioned about diagnosing problems.

For testing purposes I would not use auto lip sync and I would setup AVRs and the display to do as little video processing as possible. I would also make sure that the same HDMI cable is being used to go from the AVR to the display that's used to go directly from the source to the display.
Ph8te, NeronetFi and RayWK like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 05-26-2016 at 06:31 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #14149 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reallynotnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 325
I got the software update today! Only been using it for one episode of Fresh Off the Boat, but holy cow the dimming is SOOO much better now. The start credits that would play over the first few minutes of the show used to wreck havoc on the dimming and it looked perfectly stable now. 2 thumbs up!

Can't fully comment on motion yet since it's so sporadic when it would happen, BUT YouTube 4K looks incredibly smooth now and this video used to look like absolute garbage with tons of weird frame drops. So assuming this translates to everything that's awesome news.
https://youtu.be/iNJdPyoqt8U

That said it didn't fix the yellow band on my P65, I didn't expect it to, but I know someone claimed it did for them and I wanted to dispel that rumor. I'll probably end up calling Vizio this week and seeing if I could possibly get a replacement as mine is rather obvious.
reallynotnick is offline  
post #14150 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Every is 100%. Have we heard from the people who don't know they have a problem, or just the ones who hear a problem, remove their AVR, and then don't hear the problem.

I guess I'm just old fashioned about diagnosing problems.
Every is not 100% when it directly referred to my next line which was every avr that was tested so far.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #14151 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 77
24Hz Lipsynch problem

Here are my troubleshooting steps.

No trouble connected through an AVR with 60 Hz signal

No trouble directly connected to Media Display with 24 Hz signal.

Need to add about 200 ms delay in AVR with 24Hz signal.

P Series Media Display is not sending appropriate delay parameter to AVR with 24 Hz signal. The parameter is appropriate for 60Hz signal.

When the Media Display is connected directly to the source the Media Display is handling the audio and bis applying the correct amount of delay.

When the Media Display is connected to the source through an AVR, the AVR is handling the Audio and needs to have the Media Display send the amount of delay to be applied to the AVR. This is not being handked correctly on 24Hz.

The problem is in the Media Display. Firmware update required.
RDHolmes is offline  
post #14152 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:33 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Govnah View Post
Couple of questions, yes I searched the thread and just need some advice/confirmation. I am getting audio dropouts via VUDU and Netflix over ARC to a Marantz 7010 and have replaced the HDMI cable to high-end audioquest. I have read that some have the issue and others do not, any other suggestions or should I just move on to optical and wait for Vizio to address?
What firmware are you running, and what display do you have?

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #14153 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Snowknight26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDHolmes View Post
The problem is in the Media Display. Firmware update required.
Then all of us should contact Vizio to speed up the process of getting a fix out.
NeronetFi likes this.
Snowknight26 is offline  
post #14154 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:37 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulf1 View Post
I'm not sure what software version I have and can't remember how to check!
Welcome, enjoy, and read post number one in this thread.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #14155 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:45 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Every is not 100% when it directly referred to my next line which was every avr that was tested so far.
I added some diagnostic ideas to my post that have helped me in the past.

And yes, I read your whole post before I commented on the issue related to discounting the effect of removing the AVRs from the source chain to the display. Also, you only know about the relative small number of tests that have been reported.

I've always found that if simplification doesn't work in diagnosing a problem, I've overlooked something that should be simplified further. It's worth a try.
imobilizer and NeronetFi like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #14156 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 06:58 PM
Member
 
grossag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Govnah View Post
Couple of questions, yes I searched the thread and just need some advice/confirmation. I am getting audio dropouts via VUDU and Netflix over ARC to a Marantz 7010 and have replaced the HDMI cable to high-end audioquest. I have read that some have the issue and others do not, any other suggestions or should I just move on to optical and wait for Vizio to address?

Lastly, anyone had any success pairing a Nvidia Shield K1 tablet via BT? According to the specs, the Shield K1 has BT LE and should work, but have been unsuccessful. WIFI is a hit and miss...

Thanks
About the ARC stuff, I don't have any good workaround. I have been fighting it for a month and every once in a while checking more configurations, only to go back to optical. I just really want CEC and my Denon receiver won't let me enable CEC without also enabling ARC!

Moving on to optical and letting things sort themselves out is a good step, although I would definitely encourage you to call Vizio support to tell them. They may or may not acknowledge it but at least it adds a +1 internally to the issue.
grossag is offline  
post #14157 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeronetFi View Post
With the TV and AVR on. Power off your AVR, remove the powercord. Wait about 20 secs then reconnect power and power it back on. This will re-initiate the HDMI Handshake. I am not sure this will fix it but it is worth a try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
I'd try the AVR first. Factory reset should not be necessary, but you want to unplug it for a minute. I have to do this every time my Onkyo has issues with CEC/ARC, which could very well be triggered by a TV firmware update.
Negative for both of those. Thanks for the suggestions. The casting still works perfectly though so I'm fine with it but will report it to Vizio.
VBB and tampabayrays like this.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
post #14158 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 07:02 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDHolmes View Post
Here are my troubleshooting steps.

No trouble connected through an AVR with 60 Hz signal

No trouble directly connected to Media Display with 24 Hz signal.

Need to add about 200 ms delay in AVR with 24Hz signal.

P Series Media Display is not sending appropriate delay parameter to AVR with 24 Hz signal. The parameter is appropriate for 60Hz signal.

When the Media Display is connected directly to the source the Media Display is handling the audio and bis applying the correct amount of delay.

When the Media Display is connected to the source through an AVR, the AVR is handling the Audio and needs to have the Media Display send the amount of delay to be applied to the AVR. This is not being handked correctly on 24Hz.

The problem is in the Media Display. Firmware update required.
If you are a Vizio engineer then I can't argue with your analysis and you should get a fix done ASP. Otherwise I don't see enough simplification. I don't use ARC so I can't discuss it other than it's poor reputation.

If you've concluded that the P-series sets are messing up the sync for audio going back to the AVR only when 24Hz is involved then I would recommend getting owners who don't see the problem to contribute. I would especially be interested in OPPO owners going through an AVR to the "Media Display." Of course, those trouble free owners may not be using ARC.

I'm totally out of the picture because all my streaming goes through our AVR and we don't have a P-Series display. Therefore we don't need ARC.

I don't understand the 24Hz contribution. I'll keep quiet now.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 05-26-2016 at 07:15 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #14159 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Welcome, enjoy, and read post number one in this thread.
The link for Vizio's site is not working for me.
Paulf1 is offline  
post #14160 of 64106 Old 05-26-2016, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Govnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
What firmware are you running, and what display do you have?
P65-C1 and the latest firmware, 1.1.14...

Thanks

Last edited by Govnah; 05-26-2016 at 07:09 PM.
Govnah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off