Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 522 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288562Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15631 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 02:34 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmzz2 View Post
Like I said in a previous post. I think my p75 is incorrectly telling you tube my speed is 20mbps lower than it really is but that doesn't explain why a lot of people are getting the YouTube 4k resolution with a very similar speed. Its not even really a big deal to me I just think it's a bug.
... what is your theory about what your P75 is telling Vudu and Netflix?

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15632 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vader182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Phew! So after hearing that Best Buy's stores in the Midwest would be out of stock of the set for another month or two I started checking Best Buy's site daily. I put an order through and it'll be here on Thursday. I sacrificed able to get any price match but I'm happy anyway.


-Vader
htwaits and BurtimusPrime like this.
Vader182 is offline  
post #15633 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader182 View Post
Phew! So after hearing that Best Buy's stores in the Midwest would be out of stock of the set for another month or two I started checking Best Buy's site daily. I put an order through and it'll be here on Thursday. I sacrificed able to get any price match but I'm happy anyway.


-Vader
You should still be able to price match through customer service. Possibly in store too.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
BurtimusPrime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15634 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmzz2 View Post
Like I said in a previous post. I think my p75 is incorrectly telling you tube my speed is 20mbps lower than it really is but that doesn't explain why a lot of people are getting the YouTube 4k resolution with a very similar speed. Its not even really a big deal to me I just think it's a bug.
... what is your theory about what your P75 is telling Vudu and Netflix?
Lol I don't have one. I just know when I cast a 4k video it says 4k in the system info. That was really the only thing I could come up with because other than that it just doesn't make any sense to me. I'm pretty sure I'm getting 4k on youtube Even though the system info says I'm not. The videos are stunning. Its probably just a glitch in my set. Not a big deal I'm still very much enjoying my p75 and if this is the only issue I have compared to other people's than I'm a happy guy.
htwaits likes this.
Helmzz2 is offline  
post #15635 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anago View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmzz2 View Post
Ok hopefully your right. I just know what I read on youtube it says that it will automatically adjust resolution based on the internet speed and that was the only explanation I could come up with. I have no idea if that is what's happening or not. If they gave you the option of the quality adjustment my problem would be solved.
Personally I wouldn't sweat it. The YouTube demos still look stunning. It's not like you're paying for it.
Netflix and VUDU still show 2160.
Yep that's very true.
Helmzz2 is offline  
post #15636 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vader182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader182 View Post
Phew! So after hearing that Best Buy's stores in the Midwest would be out of stock of the set for another month or two I started checking Best Buy's site daily. I put an order through and it'll be here on Thursday. I sacrificed able to get any price match but I'm happy anyway.


-Vader
UPDATE: Best Buy called me back. The guy misread it. It's July 7th, not June.


-Vader
Vader182 is offline  
post #15637 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 167
They should offer the HDR 10 beta build firmware to us here, so we can watch ID4 & Ghostbusters and give them feedback on it in the next few days.
el_carro likes this.

LG OLED65B6P. Klipsch: RF82, RC62, RS52, RB61, RP-140SA. SVS PB-U13. Denon 6300H. Oppo 103D. Oppo UPD 203.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #15638 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
FYI, I've also experienced a slightly different version of the tearing problem while gaming at 120 FPS with the new firmware. The screen is essentially slightly darker on one side. I hope they are working on a fix. The problem goes away after the usual warm up and power cycle.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #15639 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
turboedsupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
What I'm trying to say is it doesn't matter. Once casting takes over, it will use the best format it can.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
This is not true. Go to vudu and try to play a uhd movie. If you start it on the tablet first it will play the hdx version as that's the best the tablet can do. Then if you hit cast it will tell the TV to play the hdx version. You have to hit cast first then select the movie. People don't belive me but go try for yourself.

On a sidenote I love your calibration settings on my p65 it looks way better then even the cal and cal dark modes
turboedsupe is offline  
post #15640 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,327
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5152 Post(s)
Liked: 3622
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboedsupe View Post
This is not true. Go to vudu and try to play a uhd movie. If you start it on the tablet first it will play the hdx version as that's the best the tablet can do. Then if you hit cast it will tell the TV to play the hdx version. You have to hit cast first then select the movie. People don't belive me but go try for yourself.

On a sidenote I love your calibration settings on my p65 it looks way better then even the cal and cal dark modes
I already posted earlier that I'm not sure about Vudu 😉

Thank you. I updated the SDR call last night.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #15641 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Anago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Ana, Ca
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboedsupe View Post
This is not true. Go to vudu and try to play a uhd movie. If you start it on the tablet first it will play the hdx version as that's the best the tablet can do. Then if you hit cast it will tell the TV to play the hdx version. You have to hit cast first then select the movie. People don't belive me but go try for yourself.

On a sidenote I love your calibration settings on my p65 it looks way better then even the cal and cal dark modes
At least on VUDU it's easy to fix. Just select UHD and watch now from the app.

Vizio P75-C1, P50-C1, P65-C1- FW 8.0.20.3
Samsung UHD Bluray K8500 - LG UBK90 DV Bluray player
Vizio SB46514-F6 Soundbar - Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
Directv Genie HR34 - Chromecast Ultra
Anago is offline  
post #15642 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:25 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by pos1121 View Post
I do believe if your router or modem has a usb port you might be able to cast from a program such as Plex. I used to do that a few years back.
I was just pointing out one way to watch USB stored videos.

While I was using a HTPC to play DVD sources on a DLP display back in 2004, I lost interest in HTPC inputs when we got the Kuro. I'm probably going to upgrade a four year old router before we get into casting, and I'll make sure the new one has a USB port. The old one does, so maybe they are standard now.

Thanks for the information.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #15643 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:26 PM
Member
 
FoReVeR0515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 43
These sets must be in pretty high demand. I ordered a P75 through Best Buy's site on Friday, June 3rd, with a home delivery date of June 11th. I thought "Phew, glad I ordered when I did", because right after, they were unavailable again. Everything looked fine. The next day, I checked my order status online, and it now shows as back-ordered. *Sigh* It still shows the same delivery date, but I doubt it will happen.

What hurts is that I had an opportunity on May 31st to order it through a local Best Buy store and have it by June 3rd. There was only one available though. At that point, I hadn't done much research and they only had the P65 on display with nothing connected to demo. I was leaning toward the Sony 75" X850D anyway, so ordered. Of course, I wound up doing more research on both the Sony and Vizio, then had buyer's remorse. I wound up cancelling the next day and going back to the store for the Vizio. Well, what do you know, there weren't any more available.

So here I wait, not knowing when.
FoReVeR0515 is offline  
post #15644 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3331 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
Anyone using the P series with a Harmony remote? I'm using the Smart Home and every time it switches the input on the TV it cycles through to the wrong input and then to the right one. It's weird.


Is this w the new Harmony profile for the P series in the last 2 weeks?

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #15645 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:40 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmzz2 View Post
Ok hopefully your right. I just know what I read on youtube it says that it will automatically adjust resolution based on the internet speed and that was the only explanation I could come up with. I have no idea if that is what's happening or not. If they gave you the option of the quality adjustment my problem would be solved.
I can't explain what is causing your problem, but I've read this entire thread and I almost never take an absolute position on anything. I also have a background that involves debugging of several different kinds. Based on the information in this thread, your problem isn't because the speed reporting software doesn't work.

I understand your frustration, but enjoy your good performance while you look for a solution.
imobilizer likes this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #15646 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1839 Post(s)
Liked: 1171
Dumb question. My P65 arrives tomorrow & I've downloaded & reviewed the User Manual.

HDMI 5 is the port for gaming devices, but can it be used for mundane devices? 4K Satellite, Roku, Blu Ray, Amazon Fire, VCR? I need that 5th connection, any recommendations as to what would work best on that port would be appreciated. TIA.
naustin is online now  
post #15647 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:46 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
What I'm trying to say is it doesn't matter. Once casting takes over, it will use the best format it can.
I understand. What might help the thread is a myth killer list of the sequences that you know work on which services.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 06-06-2016 at 04:05 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #15648 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
pilgrimpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoReVeR0515 View Post
These sets must be in pretty high demand.....

So here I wait, not knowing when.
I haven't even been able to place an order as Best Buy tied up over $1,100 in rewards points I want to use, while they upgrade their rewards system.

Does Vizio not make many of these TV's? I recall the 2014 P series didn't seem to be in stock all that long. I was better organized back then and snagged one within the first month or so - I did a horrible job this time, even though I wanted the new P75 since before it was announced.

Oh well. Patience is a virtue or something. In the meantime, it's nice to read this thread each day and learn more about it.
imobilizer likes this.
pilgrimpete is offline  
post #15649 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
Is this w the new Harmony profile for the P series in the last 2 weeks?
It's been 3 weeks max. I deleted the old TV profile and put the new one on as soon as Matt mentioned he'd changed the codes for direct access to Casting.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #15650 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3331 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
It's been 3 weeks max. I deleted the old TV profile and put the new one on as soon as Matt mentioned he'd changed the codes for direct access to Casting.


Yeah.. Mine shows input 2 on the display but switches to the correct on specified in the activity.
shoman94 likes this.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #15651 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Dumb question. My P65 arrives tomorrow & I've downloaded & reviewed the User Manual.

HDMI 5 is the port for gaming devices, but can it be used for mundane devices? 4K Satellite, Roku, Blu Ray, Amazon Fire, VCR? I need that 5th connection, any recommendations as to what would work best on that port would be appreciated. TIA.
Either gaming or VCR to really take advantage of low lag time when watching old "Are you being served?" reruns. Anyways, the port is the lowest LAG so it works well for gaming. If you don't game just use it for anything, no difference since nothing else pushes that kind of bandwidth yet.
naustin likes this.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #15652 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
Yeah.. Mine shows input 2 on the display but switches to the correct on specified in the activity.
Yeah, that sounds about right. It's weird because if the code was really discreet it would seem like it wouldn't need to rotate like that .
GardenVariety is offline  
post #15653 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:57 PM
Member
 
quaff2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post

Is this w the new Harmony profile for the P series in the last 2 weeks?
I have the latest firmware on my P65 and just deleted my tv from my Harmony and added it back and updated my activities on Saturday. It was working fine before that. Now when I switch activities from casting, it goes to hdmi 2 for a few seconds and then back to hdmi 1.
quaff2001 is offline  
post #15654 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 03:59 PM
Member
 
FoReVeR0515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilgrimpete View Post
I haven't even been able to place an order as Best Buy tied up over $1,100 in rewards points I want to use, while they upgrade their rewards system.

Does Vizio not make many of these TV's? I recall the 2014 P series didn't seem to be in stock all that long. I was better organized back then and snagged one within the first month or so - I did a horrible job this time, even though I wanted the new P75 since before it was announced.

Oh well. Patience is a virtue or something. In the meantime, it's nice to read this thread each day and learn more about it.
I hear you. I came to this thread only about a week ago, so haven't read the whole thing obviously, but just trying to keep up now. I figured I'd do the same and glean some useful information until I get it.

Maybe Vizio didn't realize how much demand there would be. Maybe something else completely. I'd have gotten one earlier, but I wasn't in the market for a new TV when it first launched.
FoReVeR0515 is offline  
post #15655 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 04:05 PM
Newbie
 
nimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian c2 View Post
Depends on what else you are connecting ..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian c2 View Post
2 3 or 4 .
1 to the receiver .

Or into receiver .
And arc back through 1 for casting audio .
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmzz2 View Post
I've watched entire videos. It only says 1080 p and so does the YouTube info. I've watched it ramp up watching vudu or Netflix 4k but YouTube stays at 1080p.
Where exactly are you seeing the YouTube info. that is saying 1080p? Is this somewhere else than the sys. info. on the tablet?
nimh is offline  
post #15656 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by nimh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian c2 View Post
Depends on what else you are connecting ..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian c2 View Post
2 3 or 4 .
1 to the receiver .

Or into receiver .
And arc back through 1 for casting audio .
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmzz2 View Post
I've watched entire videos. It only says 1080 p and so does the YouTube info. I've watched it ramp up watching vudu or Netflix 4k but YouTube stays at 1080p.
Where exactly are you seeing the YouTube info. that is saying 1080p? Is this somewhere else than the sys. info. on the tablet?
It's in the YouTube app. Go into the YouTube settings and enable stats for nerds then when you hit the 3 little dots in the top right hand corner you can select the stats.
Helmzz2 is offline  
post #15657 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Dumb question. My P65 arrives tomorrow & I've downloaded & reviewed the User Manual.

HDMI 5 is the port for gaming devices, but can it be used for mundane devices? 4K Satellite, Roku, Blu Ray, Amazon Fire, VCR? I need that 5th connection, any recommendations as to what would work best on that port would be appreciated. TIA.
I have my Nvidia Shield TV connected to port 5. I'm waiting for the 3.2 system upgrade to happen. Netflix and Hulu are suffering from a lot of stuttering and Netflix has no audio. Not a big deal as Smart Casting both works great. Marco Polo looks the best so far(really fantastic picture). My Xbox-One looks fantastic in up-scaled 1080p. No 4k from the Xbox-One.

Again Smart Casting movies that have it gets both UHD and Dolby Vision so I'll use that.

I'm thinking about getting a Roku 4K just for the simple reason that it has Amazon Prime( I hear lots of UHD content coming) and has a app that puts that UHD content in one place. The one thing I can't find in my searching is whether Roku 4k supports Dolby Vision or will support HDR10.

Anybody Know?

Vizio P65-c1
Vizio SB4551-D5
Nvidia Shield Android TV Update 3.2
Xbox-One S
Zulu0001 is offline  
post #15658 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 114


Anyone know if selecting Bitstream includes DD but also DTS? Seems like an obvious thing but this list used to have Auto, PCM and DD+DTS, I believe.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
a61688 is offline  
post #15659 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zulu0001 View Post
I have my Nvidia Shield TV connected to port 5. I'm waiting for the 3.2 system upgrade to happen. Netflix and Hulu are suffering from a lot of stuttering and Netflix has no audio. Not a big deal as Smart Casting both works great. Marco Polo looks the best so far(really fantastic picture). My Xbox-One looks fantastic in up-scaled 1080p. No 4k from the Xbox-One.

Again Smart Casting movies that have it gets both UHD and Dolby Vision so I'll use that.

I'm thinking about getting a Roku 4K just for the simple reason that it has Amazon Prime( I hear lots of UHD content coming) and has a app that puts that UHD content in one place. The one thing I can't find in my searching is whether Roku 4k supports Dolby Vision or will support HDR10.

Anybody Know?
I bought a Roku 4 on a whim for the exact same reason. Returned it the next day when I found out it didnt. Shame! I'm hoping the PS4.5 will support HDR and will be reasonably priced. Otherwise I'll have to figure out another option.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Vizio P65-C1, PS4, XBOX One
Onkyo TX-NR646, Goldenear 5.1.2, Velodyne DD-15
kepowers1 is offline  
post #15660 of 64341 Old 06-06-2016, 04:46 PM
Member
 
jbernardk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zulu0001 View Post
I have my Nvidia Shield TV connected to port 5. I'm waiting for the 3.2 system upgrade to happen. Netflix and Hulu are suffering from a lot of stuttering and Netflix has no audio. Not a big deal as Smart Casting both works great. Marco Polo looks the best so far(really fantastic picture). My Xbox-One looks fantastic in up-scaled 1080p. No 4k from the Xbox-One.

Again Smart Casting movies that have it gets both UHD and Dolby Vision so I'll use that.

I'm thinking about getting a Roku 4K just for the simple reason that it has Amazon Prime( I hear lots of UHD content coming) and has a app that puts that UHD content in one place. The one thing I can't find in my searching is whether Roku 4k supports Dolby Vision or will support HDR10.

Anybody Know?
The current Roku does not support either HDR format.
jbernardk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off