Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 535 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288467Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16021 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,922
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3292 Post(s)
Liked: 6117
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Simple question. I didn't see the answer on the first post or in the User manual that I downloaded and read. How do you do a true reboot and clear the internal cache? I'm not talking about a factory reset (the nuclear option). I haven't needed it yet, but...

Oh as an aside I turned off Vizio's spyware "feature". http://www.cnet.com/how-to/disable-v...art-tv-spying/
Turn off the display and un-plug it. Hold the Power button on the back of the panel in for 10 seconds. Plug it back in.
RJ_Reda, shoman94 and naustin like this.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16022 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,673
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4346 Post(s)
Liked: 2444
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Simple question. I didn't see the answer on the first post or in the User manual that I downloaded and read. How do you do a true reboot and clear the internal cache? I'm not talking about a factory reset (the nuclear option). I haven't needed it yet, but...

Oh as an aside I turned off Vizio's spyware "feature". http://www.cnet.com/how-to/disable-v...art-tv-spying/
Great posting, thanks for letting us know!
ataneruo likes this.

lujan
515 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #16023 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
EMINENT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by F34R View Post
So I went to BB in Augusta, GA. They didn't have any in stock. However, they found one in stock in Columbia, SC. So, I was ordering it in Augusta, and would drive to Cola to pick it up. During the process, it showed SOLD. Ugh. So, I went ahead and ordered for deliver to BB in Augusta, and I'll pick it up Sunday coming. Now...

I'm looking for a stand to mount this to, and will sit on top of a dresser (that doesn't fit the stand width dimensions). Any suggestions?

I was looking at this: but it says only up to 60". Any suggestions would be helpful.

http://www.amazon.com/Universal-Tabl...=sr_1_1&sr=8-1
This is the one I got and it's been working great.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
F34R likes this.

2016 Vizio P65-C1
2014 Vizio P50-B1E
2011 Vizio E3D420VX
2016 Vizio Smartcast Soundbar 5.1 SB4551-D5, Xbox One S, Roku 3, Mini-itx HTPC w/i7-6700k Plex Server
EMINENT1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16024 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by friendlysmith View Post
On amd card displayport is always seen as display #1. Once in awhile my setup also flakes out and I just unplug displayport and replug in. I always power cycle before changing input to 5 with pc because of similar issues in the past.
The last straw for me was when I accidentally hit a button on my keyboard and it sent a command to only show display 2 (receiver) and my main screen went blank. I ended up having to unplug both, powercycle, plug the receiver only in and then the TV. After this I had to extend displays again and it worked. I'm just not willing to hassle with it like that every few days. If my current solution doesn't work, I'm going back to optical.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #16025 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Missouri
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Over the past week with my p65 replacement I have been watching a lot of skateboarding competitions and shows on discovery featuring the ocean or lots of sky shots. Tuesday I started noticing a very faint 2" white line on the left side of the screen as the camera followed skaters etc. Well today I turned on the set and it's extremely bad as in it's always visible especially on lighter scenes regardless of movement. I have also noticed the yellow line in the middle becoming more visible with each day. When I first turned this tv on and checked the white levels there wasn't a yellow line except on the very tip top so I'm not exactly sure what is causing the screen issues other than use. I have also noticed on a completely white screen the left side has a blue tint around the size of a 1 foot square. The first p65 didn't have this issue or the white line so it's definitely not a software issue. I really don't want to return this tv for the same thing but I can't justify paying for something that's going to make me crazy in the end and I have spent hours researching every other 4k hdr tv that's available this year and they all have issues. Does anyone know just how many times best buy will allow return exchanges?
Stonedgimp is offline  
post #16026 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Was BestBuy a good choice for an exclusive?

Judging by the current shortage of the P65 and P75 the answer might be yes. It looks as if initial sales volume might have exceeded Vizios forecast. Though the initial production runs might have been kept low intentionally to work out problems without having a large inventory to modify.

Based on my experience at the Pasadena, CA Store this afternoon, I would have to say, based on a sample of one, the answer would have to be no.

Went to the Magnolia Design Center first and asked to see the P75. The response was, "not on display, but we can order it for you." The Magnolia Rep then led me over to the Store Area and handed me off to a blue shirt who happened to be wearing a blue shirt with Samsung embroidered on it. He told me that the store had received a P65 as a display model, but had sold it. I then asked if I could speak to the Department Manager. The Manager was busy, but another blue shirt helped me. I inquired about the P50 and P55. He looked them up and told me that the P55 had been "closed out" and the P50 was no longer a stock item, order only. I was also informed that the entire "TV - Display" area was scheduled to be redone in a few weeks.

The only Vizios larger than 60" were 2015 M models.

I have no idea what the return rate has been for the P Series. If it has been significantly higher than "Normal" that could explain the decision to no longer stock the P50 and P55.

In any case there is not enough information available to understand what might really be going on.

What we do know is that Vizio has pushed hard on the Display Technology Envelope and, when it is working as intended, offers truely advanced technology at an unbelievably low price.

We should all remember that the Pioneers are easy to identify. They are the ones with the arrows in their backs.
RDHolmes is offline  
post #16027 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stonedgimp View Post
Over the past week with my p65 replacement I have been watching a lot of skateboarding competitions and shows on discovery featuring the ocean or lots of sky shots. Tuesday I started noticing a very faint 2" white line on the left side of the screen as the camera followed skaters etc. Well today I turned on the set and it's extremely bad as in it's always visible especially on lighter scenes regardless of movement. I have also noticed the yellow line in the middle becoming more visible with each day. When I first turned this tv on and checked the white levels there wasn't a yellow line except on the very tip top so I'm not exactly sure what is causing the screen issues other than use. I have also noticed on a completely white screen the left side has a blue tint around the size of a 1 foot square. The first p65 didn't have this issue or the white line so it's definitely not a software issue. I really don't want to return this tv for the same thing but I can't justify paying for something that's going to make me crazy in the end and I have spent hours researching every other 4k hdr tv that's available this year and they all have issues. Does anyone know just how many times best buy will allow return exchanges?


They all have the yellow thing.

We're hoping Matt says something- otherwise we'll all have different shades of defective product that will likely get worse over time.

LG OLED65B6P. Klipsch: RF82, RC62, RS52, RB61, RP-140SA. SVS PB-U13. Denon 6300H. Oppo 103D. Oppo UPD 203.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #16028 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stonedgimp View Post
Over the past week with my p65 replacement I have been watching a lot of skateboarding competitions and shows on discovery featuring the ocean or lots of sky shots. Tuesday I started noticing a very faint 2" white line on the left side of the screen as the camera followed skaters etc. Well today I turned on the set and it's extremely bad as in it's always visible especially on lighter scenes regardless of movement. I have also noticed the yellow line in the middle becoming more visible with each day. When I first turned this tv on and checked the white levels there wasn't a yellow line except on the very tip top so I'm not exactly sure what is causing the screen issues other than use. I have also noticed on a completely white screen the left side has a blue tint around the size of a 1 foot square. The first p65 didn't have this issue or the white line so it's definitely not a software issue. I really don't want to return this tv for the same thing but I can't justify paying for something that's going to make me crazy in the end and I have spent hours researching every other 4k hdr tv that's available this year and they all have issues. Does anyone know just how many times best buy will allow return exchanges?
I returned a Sony 3 times. You shouldn't have a problem since its defective. I'd take pictures of the defective screen just so you have proof if you go into the store to inquire about an exchange.
Helmzz2 is offline  
post #16029 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Kruppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Just powered up to this - first time. Power cycle fixed it and I hope to never see again.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Kruppa is offline  
post #16030 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 04:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruppa View Post
Just powered up to this - first time. Power cycle fixed it and I hope to never see again.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I've had that happen while casting. super not cool
vizayoh is offline  
post #16031 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboedsupe View Post
Why are you guys so quick to return a TV? You didn't have local dimming on. So what do you expect a black screen to look like with dimming off?


I have a feeling this is a big reason they are sold out. People aren't patient enough to learn how to adjust settings before they exchange it. You know, just in case there's a problem.
Ph8te, tdwilli1 and Bootnylee like this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #16032 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
djdrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Latitude: 39° 44' N Longitude: 86° 17' W
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by priyajeet View Post
444 Chroma results if anyone cares about that
http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/viz...question_18179

The blur is quite high for 4k60
Per my previous post on this matter, we are (or I am) experiencing more than "blur." The colors for most of the image are washed out and not displaying the full colors of that particular 4:4:4 chroma test. Also, have you tried the ufotest.com motion tests? I am getting sync issues/dropped frames etc...

Aren't you gonna take your skates off?
djdrock is offline  
post #16033 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:09 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,235
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stonedgimp View Post
Does anyone know just how many times best buy will allow return exchanges?
If you do your exchanges through Vizio it seems that they allow three then they refund your money. Ask the store manager were you bought your Vizio. It's probably up to him.
Golf Nut and thomasfxlt like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 06-09-2016 at 05:14 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #16034 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdrock View Post
Per my previous post on this matter, we are (or I am) experiencing more than "blur." The colors for most of the image are washed out and not displaying the full colors of that particular 4:4:4 chroma test. Also, have you tried the ufotest.com motion tests? I am getting sync issues/dropped frames etc...
What kind of 4:4:4 test are you running? The tv can't accept 4:4:4 4k60p through hdmi.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #16035 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
F34R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by EMINENT1 View Post
This is the one I got and it's been working great.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Thank you. I put it on the wish list just in case the other one I bought doesn't work out. I appreciate the info and link.
EMINENT1 likes this.
F34R is offline  
post #16036 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,922
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3292 Post(s)
Liked: 6117
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
What kind of 4:4:4 test are you running? The tv can't accept 4:4:4 4k60p through hdmi.
HDMI specs...

HDMI 1-4 support the following:

[email protected] 4:4:4, up to 8bit per color
[email protected] 4:2:2, up to 12bit per color
[email protected] 4:2:0, up to 12 bit per color

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #16037 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Not only does this display not WoW me i think i even got a lemon:

Fald enabled:


Fald disabled:


The corner bleed looks so much worse in person even with FALD enabled, in movies or even on my HTPC you can clearly see the lightbleed. Is this 100% a lemon?

Last edited by Fascinate; 06-09-2016 at 05:45 PM.
Fascinate is offline  
post #16038 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
HDMI specs...

HDMI 1-4 support the following:

[email protected] 4:4:4, up to 8bit per color
[email protected] 4:2:2, up to 12bit per color
[email protected] 4:2:0, up to 12 bit per color
Yea that is what I mean. At 10 bit it can't do 4:4:4 and it is a 10 bit panel.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #16039 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,922
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3292 Post(s)
Liked: 6117
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Yea that is what I mean. At 10 bit it can't do 4:4:4 and it is a 10 bit panel.
4k/60 4:4:4 10bit exceeds the spec for 600mhz HDMI.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #16040 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
EMINENT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by F34R View Post
Thank you. I put it on the wish list just in case the other one I bought doesn't work out. I appreciate the info and link.
Yeah, I can't tell you how much I use the swivel. I'm so glad it's there. If only it offered a tilt and was motorized... it'd be perfect.

2016 Vizio P65-C1
2014 Vizio P50-B1E
2011 Vizio E3D420VX
2016 Vizio Smartcast Soundbar 5.1 SB4551-D5, Xbox One S, Roku 3, Mini-itx HTPC w/i7-6700k Plex Server
EMINENT1 is offline  
post #16041 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
djdrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Latitude: 39° 44' N Longitude: 86° 17' W
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Yea that is what I mean. At 10 bit it can't do 4:4:4 and it is a 10 bit panel.
Very interesting! So, are you saying that because we are using a 10 bit panel, this is the reason we are not getting 4:4:4 chroma correctly when pushing 8 bits from our video cards? I do know that my Nvidia GTX 960 is outputting @ 8 bits, with no option for 10bits, nor do I think there ever will be with HDMI 2.0 due to bandwidth restrictions. So, does it seem reasonable that our TV should be able to "emulate" itself as an 8 bit panel when receiving such a signal from a video card?

Aren't you gonna take your skates off?
djdrock is offline  
post #16042 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 06:09 PM
Member
 
KaBone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it's upscaling, why does it look the same?

OK - decided to make the jump to 4K. Did my research & and the P50 recommended as best value for a set with true HDR capability. I just don't know if I'm doing it right. My tablet remote tells me no HDR; maybe because there's no HDR signal to enable. Please forgive my lack of proper AV enthusiast terms and acronymns or even the proper use thereof. I have HD cable via fiber with the box connected to HDMI1. I DVR the US Costa Rica game. Why don't the lines on field look smooth? They look Nintendo 64 jagged.
I play a blue-ray disk with the player connected to HDMI5. With the picture setting on calibrated-dark or calibrated it looks nice it just doesn't look like life with the vividness and depth perception that I though the LED array was supposed to provide. It has that faint haze that keeps you from feeling like you're in the movie. The most lifelike it gets is with the picture setting on vivid. From what I've read in this enormously long thread is that calibrated and calibrated-dark are the best settings for picture quality.
I figured the upscaling engine would make it look better than 1080p otherwise why bother. What am I doing wrong? Is upscaling something I have to turn on? Are my eyes bad; my expectations too high?
KaBone is offline  
post #16043 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
4k/60 4:4:4 10bit exceeds the spec for 600mhz HDMI.
Yep that is why I asked what test he was running. He said he was having drop outs. I figured it could have been from being out of spec.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #16044 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 06:30 PM
Member
 
cwills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by EMINENT1 View Post
Yeah, I can't tell you how much I use the swivel. I'm so glad it's there. If only it offered a tilt and was motorized... it'd be perfect.
I'm assuming you're using this for your p65? How much space is there between the base of the mount and the bottom of your TV? I'd like to place my center channel on top of the base but want to make sure it doesn't cover the TV.
cwills is offline  
post #16045 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaBone View Post
OK - decided to make the jump to 4K. Did my research & and the P50 recommended as best value for a set with true HDR capability. I just don't know if I'm doing it right. My tablet remote tells me no HDR; maybe because there's no HDR signal to enable. Please forgive my lack of proper AV enthusiast terms and acronymns or even the proper use thereof. I have HD cable via fiber with the box connected to HDMI1. I DVR the US Costa Rica game. Why don't the lines on field look smooth? They look Nintendo 64 jagged.
I play a blue-ray disk with the player connected to HDMI5. With the picture setting on calibrated-dark or calibrated it looks nice it just doesn't look like life with the vividness and depth perception that I though the LED array was supposed to provide. It has that faint haze that keeps you from feeling like you're in the movie. The most lifelike it gets is with the picture setting on vivid. From what I've read in this enormously long thread is that calibrated and calibrated-dark are the best settings for picture quality.
I figured the upscaling engine would make it look better than 1080p otherwise why bother. What am I doing wrong? Is upscaling something I have to turn on? Are my eyes bad; my expectations too high?
The only hdr material that is currently available is Netflix Marco polo and vudu uhd movies for rent or you can buy them. You can stream 4k from YouTube but that isn't hdr and you have to have enough internet speed to get the 4k resolution. It sounds like your looking for over saturated colors (more pop) try using the standard picture mode for 4k YouTube. Youd probably like that. If hdr is detected your tv will automatically switch to that mode Their is no setting you have to change. Just make sure your in the calibrated dark pic setting before you cast It.
Helmzz2 is offline  
post #16046 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 07:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaBone View Post
OK - decided to make the jump to 4K. Did my research & and the P50 recommended as best value for a set with true HDR capability. I just don't know if I'm doing it right. My tablet remote tells me no HDR; maybe because there's no HDR signal to enable. Please forgive my lack of proper AV enthusiast terms and acronymns or even the proper use thereof. I have HD cable via fiber with the box connected to HDMI1. I DVR the US Costa Rica game. Why don't the lines on field look smooth? They look Nintendo 64 jagged.
I play a blue-ray disk with the player connected to HDMI5. With the picture setting on calibrated-dark or calibrated it looks nice it just doesn't look like life with the vividness and depth perception that I though the LED array was supposed to provide. It has that faint haze that keeps you from feeling like you're in the movie. The most lifelike it gets is with the picture setting on vivid. From what I've read in this enormously long thread is that calibrated and calibrated-dark are the best settings for picture quality.
I figured the upscaling engine would make it look better than 1080p otherwise why bother. What am I doing wrong? Is upscaling something I have to turn on? Are my eyes bad; my expectations too high?
Also search 4k oled demo on youtube. The vizio looks tremendous due to the incredible blacks it has.
Helmzz2 is offline  
post #16047 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 07:36 PM
Member
 
jrarnold4385's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdrock View Post
Very interesting! So, are you saying that because we are using a 10 bit panel, this is the reason we are not getting 4:4:4 chroma correctly when pushing 8 bits from our video cards? I do know that my Nvidia GTX 960 is outputting @ 8 bits, with no option for 10bits, nor do I think there ever will be with HDMI 2.0 due to bandwidth restrictions. So, does it seem reasonable that our TV should be able to "emulate" itself as an 8 bit panel when receiving such a signal from a video card?
There shouldn't be any problem displaying 8 bit on the panel as 8 bit is Rec.709 and is the majority of the content you, or any of us, are viewing. 10 bit is part of Rec or BT.2020 for UHD which is DV or HDR content. You can still pass 10 bit by changing your 960 to output 4:2:2 or 4:2:0.

For reference I am also using a 960 set at 4:4:4 8 bit.
jrarnold4385 is offline  
post #16048 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by fascinate View Post
not only does this display not wow me i think i even got a lemon:



Fald enabled:





fald disabled:





the corner bleed looks so much worse in person even with fald enabled, in movies or even on my htpc you can clearly see the lightbleed. Is this 100% a lemon?


p55?

LG OLED65B6P. Klipsch: RF82, RC62, RS52, RB61, RP-140SA. SVS PB-U13. Denon 6300H. Oppo 103D. Oppo UPD 203.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #16049 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 08:11 PM
Member
 
brewsbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just a quick FYI on my stuttering and audio dropouts. It appears to be our directv c61k 4k mini. People around the net are experiencing the same. Replaced mini with a normal mini genie from another room and no more dropouts. Just info in case someone else has the same mini genie?
Schwa, htwaits, shoman94 and 2 others like this.
brewsbro is offline  
post #16050 of 63935 Old 06-09-2016, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Jeremy Wadian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do we all have the yellow problem?

I had my 65" (which did not have a noticeable yellow problem) replaced because of the issue you can see in the photo. After waiting 2 weeks for it to arrive my replacement model has a yellow band at the center/bottom of the screen. I don't notice while watching programs in color but I do in black and white. Im trying to not pay attention to it. But after spending $2000 I don't feel like I should have to "put up with it".

How are the rest of you dealing with the yellow band problem?

Is the yellow band problem covered under warranty?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1188.JPG
Views:	283
Size:	296.0 KB
ID:	1488929  
Jeremy Wadian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off