Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 546 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288502Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16351 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,640
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 2247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian c2 View Post
The resale value at the moment is higher than the factory price in some cases !!!



I think they'll drop quite a lot in the next 12xmonths though .



I thought about buying a 105d to experiment with my active 5.1 set-up , but I'm going to wait for the new one now as its that close ...


I got $900 for it. Not bad at all for using something for three years. I'd say if you buy a used one you can probably get out of it for about the same but probably for only a couple more months.

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream Junior | Furman IT-Reference 15i | Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | roon
drewTT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16352 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Nantucket ....
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 331
I was thinking the same thing , but I should be in a similar position with the preamp I'm using now so didn't want to have the same amount of money as the new oppo should cost tied up in 2 products while I wait for it , then have the hassle of dealing with the public twice when selling the 2 items

I'm using that cash to upgrade to 7.2 while I wait .
Ian c2 is offline  
post #16353 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 01:56 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamageMcRamage View Post

I was not aware that apps on a streaming device such as Roku could not be updated? Interesting.
Updates to smart devices like TVs, disk players and streaming devices are possible, but in general they would rather sell the new version. By the way, it's not a table it's a tablet.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16354 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 01:59 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian c2 View Post
Are you streaming to the plasma at the moment ?
We have a Roku 3 for streaming. We could use the OPPO or the Kuro but we never have. Neither one is connected to the Internet.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #16355 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 02:05 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian c2 View Post
The resale value at the moment is higher than the factory price in some cases !!!

I think they'll drop quite a lot in the next 12xmonths though .

I thought about buying a 105d to experiment with my active 5.1 set-up , but I'm going to wait for the new one now as its that close ...
That will be a first if there is a big drop. My 93, with .ISO permitting firmware, is probably worth more than it's original retail price, but I have never checked it.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 06-12-2016 at 02:09 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #16356 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
DamageMcRamage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Charlestown, RI
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Ha! Must have been some sort of auto correct hijinks or thumbs missing letters going on.
DamageMcRamage is offline  
post #16357 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 02:10 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamageMcRamage View Post
Ha! Must have been some sort of auto correct hijinks or thumbs missing letters going on.
Auto correct would be devastating if I used it. I have enough trouble just marking the typo and spelling errors.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #16358 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1852 Post(s)
Liked: 1117
So looks like the LG Dolby Vision demo files have to be converted to .mp4. You can't just change the container. The file will play at 4k resolution, but DV will not activate. Plex does not or appears to not support HDR or DV in general.

My started watching TV, so I can't test it at the usb port.
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #16359 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
the7mcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
I'm keeping our 60" plasma until it dies.
so............HT decides to wait?
the7mcs is online now  
post #16360 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
the7mcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Its always been 90 to 120.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
This is isn't a reply directly to you Shoman, just quoting you to give some context to my post.

So here's what I don't understand.

I can see if it was Dolby Vision that we had to wait for update for but 2015 tvs had HDR10 so what exactly is the 90-120 day hold up about?

It's just super confusing if you think about it.
the7mcs is online now  
post #16361 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
This is isn't a reply directly to you Shoman, just quoting you to give some context to my post.

So here's what I don't understand.

I can see if it was Dolby Vision that we had to wait for update for but 2015 tvs had HDR10 so what exactly is the 90-120 day hold up about?

It's just super confusing if you think about it.
While 2015 tvs had hdr there was literally almost no content for it. When Vizio made the set it was harder for them to do dolby vision. Which also requires a separate chip in the tv. So they released it with dolby vision since it had more available content at the time. And they started working on the firmware to enable hdr10 and the HDMI update. to 2.0a. They stated it would take around 90-120 days for it to be complete.
shoman94 likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #16362 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
the7mcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
While 2015 tvs had hdr there was literally almost no content for it. When Vizio made the set it was harder for them to do dolby vision. Which also requires a separate chip in the tv. So they released it with dolby vision since it had more available content at the time. And they started working on the firmware to enable hdr10 and the HDMI update. to 2.0a. They stated it would take around 90-120 days for it to be complete.
Again that's exactly what I was saying... regardless of if there was content for it or not, it's now half way towards 2017, HDR 10 is nothing new if tvs last year had that feature.

That's what I'm saying.
the7mcs is online now  
post #16363 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
Again that's exactly what I was saying... regardless of if there was content for it or not, it's now half way towards 2017, HDR 10 is nothing new if tvs last year had that feature.

That's what I'm saying.
So what you are saying is even though at the time the tv was being developed there was no use for hdr10 outside of maybe a sticker on the box that said hdr10, they should have implemented it because other tvs had it?

The main hdr10 content is UHD discs and the players really were not expected quite as early as they came out. So when they were designing the tv they had a choice in order to meet the release deadline.
A. Implement Dolby Vision which required more work and at the time was more widely used.
or
B. Implement hdr10 which at the time had no content at all, and be left with a more difficult harder to add hdr format to add later on.
shoman94 likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #16364 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1852 Post(s)
Liked: 1117
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
While 2015 tvs had hdr there was literally almost no content for it. When Vizio made the set it was harder for them to do dolby vision. Which also requires a separate chip in the tv. So they released it with dolby vision since it had more available content at the time. And they started working on the firmware to enable hdr10 and the HDMI update. to 2.0a. They stated it would take around 90-120 days for it to be complete.
There's testing as well, player compatibility is big. The Samsung will not be the only player available, so they probably got early access to them to make sure there aren't any compatibility issues.
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #16365 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 43
new xbox one slim leaked online should be showed off tomorrow at e3 supports 4k video and hdr http://www.gamespot.com/articles/xbo.../1100-6440714/
Bamaboi89 is offline  
post #16366 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
There's testing as well, player compatibility is big. The Samsung will not be the only player available, so they probably got early access to them to make sure there aren't any compatibility issues.
Yes apparently that is part of the current hold up as far as HDR10 over hdmi is.
They said testing different players caused different issues. But that would possibly be the same if they ever start doing dolby vision over hdmi as well.
But they should all be able to be handled as the firmware evolves.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #16367 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:37 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
so............HT decides to wait?
That was for home theater HD in 2002-2004.

Now I'm just happy, but interested.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #16368 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:43 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
This is isn't a reply directly to you Shoman, just quoting you to give some context to my post.

So here's what I don't understand.

I can see if it was Dolby Vision that we had to wait for update for but 2015 tvs had HDR10 so what exactly is the 90-120 day hold up about?

It's just super confusing if you think about it.
It's Vizio's resource allocation and their business, so maybe thinking about it is an unproductive use of time.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 06-12-2016 at 03:46 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #16369 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
the7mcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
So what you are saying is even though at the time the tv was being developed there was no use for hdr10 outside of maybe a sticker on the box that said hdr10, they should have implemented it because other tvs had it?

The main hdr10 content is UHD discs and the players really were not expected quite as early as they came out. So when they were designing the tv they had a choice in order to meet the release deadline.
A. Implement Dolby Vision which required more work and at the time was more widely used.
or
B. Implement hdr10 which at the time had no content at all, and be left with a more difficult harder to add hdr format to add later on.


I'm saying there's no reason why they couldn't have had both when the tv came out.
the7mcs is online now  
post #16370 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
the7mcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
It's Vizio's business, do maybe thinking about it is an unproductive use of time.
I mean it's their product so ultimately they can decide to wait 2-3 years before updating it for HDR 10 and whatnot but all I'm saying is that from my perspective it's hard to comprehend.
the7mcs is online now  
post #16371 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
I'm saying there's no reason why they couldn't have had both when the tv came out.
I would guess you are wrong. They didn't just pick to not include it. It takes time to do this. Just because it exists doesn't mean it takes 1 second to implement.
They had a deadline to release the tv. They didn't have time to implement both.
The other option would have been to not release the tv for another month or so.
Brandon B and callworth like this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #16372 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
the7mcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
I would guess you are wrong. They didn't just pick to not include it. It takes time to do this. Just because it exists doesn't mean it takes 1 second to implement.
They had a deadline to release the tv. They didn't have time to implement both.
The other option would have been to not release the tv for another month or so.
and now it is my turn to guess........ and you know this because......... you know someone's dad whose brother babysits the dog of someone's aunt who works at Vizio?
TinyRK likes this.
the7mcs is online now  
post #16373 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
and now it is my turn to guess........ and you know this because......... you know someone's dad whose brother babysits the dog of someone's aunt who works at Vizio?
I know this because the CTO of Vizo said it. Have you not read this thread?
shortyg83 is offline  
post #16374 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:56 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
I mean it's their product so ultimately they can decide to wait 2-3 years before updating it for HDR 10 and whatnot but all I'm saying is that from my perspective it's hard to comprehend.
Do you know what resource were needed to do both at the same time?

Do you know what resources Vizio actually has?

Do you know what their overall marketing plan is?

You may wish that they had the resource to do it all, and get it right for their March release date, but none of us know what they had to deal with to get the release timing that they did achieve.

I fail to understand how it's relevant today. They announced when they would have HDR10 and so far it looks like they will be reasonably close given industry standards.

If Vizio never delivers HDR10, then you've got a topic for a new thread.
shoman94 and callworth like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #16375 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Do you know what resource were needed to do both at the same time?

Do you know what resources Vizio actually has?

Do you know what their overall marketing plan is?

You may wish that they had the resource to do it all, and get it right for their March release date, but none of us know what they had to deal with to get the release timing that they did achieve.

I fail to understand how it's relevant today. They announced when they would have HDR10 and so far it looks like they will be reasonably close given industry standards.

If Vizio never delivers HDR10, then you've got a topic for a new thread.
It seems pointless trying to explain this stuff to him. He must not have read any of this thread and didn't realize the CTO of Vizio is the one who has given all the info we have on when\why\how it is coming.
callworth likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #16376 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Andrew_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oregon
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Is 4k youtube the easiest free way to show this display off?

I have netflix and amazon prime, but would rather not have to rent anything just to make my friends jealous.
Andrew_B is offline  
post #16377 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
the7mcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Do you know what resource were needed to do both at the same time?

Do you know what resources Vizio actually has?

Do you know what their overall marketing plan is?

You may wish that they had the resource to do it all, and get it right for their March release date, but none of us know what they had to deal with to get the release timing that they did achieve.

I fail to understand how it's relevant today. They announced when they would have HDR10 and so far it looks like they will be reasonably close given industry standards.

If Vizio never delivers HDR10, then you've got a topic for a new thread.
I don't know any of that stuff just as much as you don't.

I have a right to voice my opinion on it.

Not sure why you guys are viewing it as a personal attack.

Kinda reminds of the type of things I'd see console fanboys do when defending their console of choice.

All I'm saying is I don't understand why the wait for the update.... nothing wrong with wondering.
the7mcs is online now  
post #16378 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
the7mcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
It seems pointless trying to explain this stuff to him. He must not have read any of this thread and didn't realize the CTO of Vizio is the one who has given all the info we have on when\why\how it is coming.
it seems pointless arguing with you especially if you believe EVERYTHING you read on the internet. Sure the CTO said it and I have had personal message exchanges with him concerning other decisions they made (like the whole bestbuy exclusivity thing).

He's not going to give us the "real reasons" behind these decisions of course. As a company man he will give us the PR versions that sounds nice. I understand that's the nature of the business and all.

again like I said.... it's their product so they can do whatever the hell they want to. They can decide tomorrow to announce that an update has been scrapped & never coming and I wouldn't care either way.

All I'm saying is it's my thoughts and so I can wonder all I want.
the7mcs is online now  
post #16379 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1852 Post(s)
Liked: 1117
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
I don't know any of that stuff just as much as you don't.

I have a right to voice my opinion on it.

Not sure why you guys are viewing it as a personal attack.

Kinda reminds of the type of things I'd see console fanboys do when defending their console of choice.

All I'm saying is I don't understand why the wait for the update.... nothing wrong with wondering.
The same can said for Samsung or Sony, if consumers wanted the option to use DV(HDR) or studios started including both formats on disc. The owners wouldn't have that option.
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #16380 of 64119 Old 06-12-2016, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,337
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6529 Post(s)
Liked: 6257
Official Vizio 2016 P Series Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
I don't know any of that stuff just as much as you don't.



I have a right to voice my opinion on it.



Not sure why you guys are viewing it as a personal attack.



Kinda reminds of the type of things I'd see console fanboys do when defending their console of choice.



All I'm saying is I don't understand why the wait for the update.... nothing wrong with wondering.


And they have given you the reason(s) Matt McRae CTO of Vizio has given us. You have chosen to ignore them however. It's about going in circles with a subject when youve been given the best answers we have, yet continue to "question" them.

You wondered why the TV came with DV and not HDR10. DV was the focus in the initial release as they partnered with Dolby and are one of the few manufacturers who support DV currently. Why not also release HDR10? The answers could be numerous, what we've been told was that the focus was on DV 1st. We don't know when this TV started development and the decision to add HDR10 could have been late cycle thus needing more time to implement. Just because TV's had HDR10 in 2015 doesn't mean it's easy to implement. Especially when adding that implementation to an already existing HDR implementation.

There is nothing wrong with wondering why there is a wait, I mean it's one of the most asked questions. You started a back and forth however after being given the answer we got directly from the CTO. If you still question this, then by all means feel free to reach out for more details.

Heck FALD has been available for many many years, yet Vizio is basically the only manufacturer to implement it outside of their flagship line. It seems you are skeptical about things said, so I'm going to leave this post as the last on the subject.


Sent from nowhere

Last edited by Ph8te; 06-12-2016 at 04:29 PM.
Ph8te is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off