Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 579 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288526Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17341 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:01 PM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
The best way to watch regular blu-rays would be on HDMI5 using my PS4, right?


I should use HDMI5 for everything to get the best quality?
bigxboss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17342 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SE Iowa
Posts: 1,385
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 363
This would be the most straightforward. I haven't had a Playstation since my PS1...

Is there lossless audio on games these days that is perceivably better than the DD you would probably get over optical?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Addixion View Post
I could also run the PS4 directly to HDMI5 on the TV, but then I would have to run audio via optical and that would restrict the audio codecs that can be passed via bitstream, yes?
baniels is offline  
post #17343 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vader182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 465 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian c2 View Post
Try shoman's settings with the backlight turned up , and all color settings plus 2 , apart from blues .
Turn them minus 2 .

Doing this made the picture have a distinct yellow tint. Skin tones and color in general still looks pretty off sometimes. The good news is I somehow got ARC to work after serious dropouts previously.

Additionally, after watching a lot of content I'm noticing more and more that there's a lot of distinct vertical bands that show up almost anytime the camera pans over a mostly solid color like sand, water, the sky, a building, etc. Even a curtain. I'm noticing it a lot in Orange is the New Black, Marco Polo, Max, LOST, and quite a few others. I also see a faint yellow band in test patterns but luckily I can't see it in any content, including old B&W movies.

To your guys' estimation, is this an "Average" amount of banding or does my set exhibit particularly bad issues?


-Vader
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1670.JPG
Views:	237
Size:	87.4 KB
ID:	1509994   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1665.JPG
Views:	218
Size:	70.6 KB
ID:	1510002  
Vader182 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17344 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ataneruo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Official Vizio 2016 P Series Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader182 View Post
Doing this made the picture have a distinct yellow tint. Skin tones and color in general still looks pretty off sometimes. The good news is I somehow got ARC to work after serious dropouts previously.



Additionally, after watching a lot of content I'm noticing more and more that there's a lot of distinct vertical bands that show up almost anytime the camera pans over a mostly solid color like sand, water, the sky, a building, etc. Even a curtain. I'm noticing it a lot in Orange is the New Black, Marco Polo, Max, LOST, and quite a few others. I also see a faint yellow band in test patterns but luckily I can't see it in any content, including old B&W movies.



To your guys' estimation, is this an "Average" amount of banding or does my set exhibit particularly bad issues?





-Vader


Off-center yellow jumps right out at me. Can you take any photos of the banding you see during actual content viewing?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ataneruo is offline  
post #17345 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
lordj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 497 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader182 View Post
To your guys' estimation, is this an "Average" amount of banding or does my set exhibit particularly bad issues?


-Vader
That's not bad at all for a gigantic LCD. I'd watch the **** out of that TV (:

Last edited by lordj; 06-22-2016 at 12:23 PM.
lordj is offline  
post #17346 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by twxabfn View Post
Two quick questions on this, as I'm interested in this TV primarily as a PC gaming monitor:

1. Which HDMI input were you using [email protected]? What's more important, staying on HDMI5 for the low input lag or going to one of the others for 4:4:4?

2. Is running [email protected] ok if you're pushing less than 120FPS? AFAIK, the 1080 can't even hit that framerate at 1080p at max settings in every game (and I was pondering an upgrade to "only" a 1070 or an RX 480 from my 960). Would I need to turn settings down in order to hit 120, or would max settings at, say, 80FPS still be tolerable?
1. I am using input 5 but don't run [email protected] because I prefer 1080P/120. I would think the reduction in lag would be paramount when gaming.

2. While I definitely prefer games to be steady at 120FPS, I think it's still much better to hit 90 or 100 than run at 60FPS. The more frames the better. You'll have to decide what you makes you happier, frames or quality. You're right though, my 1080 can't maintain a solid 120FPS on Tomb Raider or Doom. It does about 95% of the time. I can definitely tell when the frames dip but it's all good.
GardenVariety is offline  
post #17347 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 882 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by gifyku View Post
I talked to a Costco TV area rep in store a couple of weeks ago. maybe take it with a grain of salt but he said they were not planning to carry the P series in-store, just the M
It's very possible they wont carry it in stores and that will vary from region to region. A Quebec Costco does not have the same stock as a BC Costco for sure.
toonj64 is offline  
post #17348 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigxboss View Post
The best way to watch regular blu-rays would be on HDMI5 using my PS4, right?


I should use HDMI5 for everything to get the best quality?
No that would be ports 1-4
toonj64 likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #17349 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 882 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Ugh!...

So people are still getting all flustered over which HDMI to use??? Unless you have VERY specific needs or that you are acutally super human and can't live with a 15-20 ms increase in lag, you don't HAVE to be torn between HDMI 1 and using ARC or going for HDMI 5 because it is, after all, the "best"

HDMI 5 isnt the second coming of jesus people, stop acting like the difference is night and day. You should only worry about this if you need 4k60hz (or 1080p120hz)or have specific chroma needs
skip61 likes this.
toonj64 is offline  
post #17350 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:46 PM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigxboss View Post
The best way to watch regular blu-rays would be on HDMI5 using my PS4, right?


I should use HDMI5 for everything to get the best quality?
No that would be ports 1-4
Okay, why is that? I'm a bit confused on the whole chroma subsampling and color bit and stuff.

If i were to plug my PS4 in 1-4 and then another PS4 into 5, what would be the difference besides input lag?

Would the image quality in games be the same for 1-4 & 5?

1-4 has better image quality for games but will feature roughly double the input lag
Compared to 5?
bigxboss is offline  
post #17351 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,597
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2109 Post(s)
Liked: 2143
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigxboss View Post
The best way to watch regular blu-rays would be on HDMI5 using my PS4, right?


I should use HDMI5 for everything to get the best quality?
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
No that would be ports 1-4
What shorty said. HDMI 5 is really only for gaming.
mpgxsvcd likes this.
Mattopotamus is online now  
post #17352 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:48 PM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonj64 View Post
Ugh!...

So people are still getting all flustered over which HDMI to use??? Unless you have VERY specific needs or that you are acutally super human and can't live with a 15-20 ms increase in lag, you don't HAVE to be torn between HDMI 1 and using ARC or going for HDMI 5 because it is, after all, the "best"

HDMI 5 isnt the second coming of jesus people, stop acting like the difference is night and day. You should only worry about this if you need 4k60hz or have specific chroma needs
lol I haven't bought a new TV in awhile and I didn't pay attention to the stuff back then. I just want to make sure I have the best image quality for both movies and games:

I want to know what the trade offs are for HDMI 5.
bigxboss is offline  
post #17353 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:49 PM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post

What shorty said. HDMI 5 is really only for gaming.
Okay, my PS4 will be plugged into that one.

But why should I watch movies on 1-4 rather than 5?
bigxboss is offline  
post #17354 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,338
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1273 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader182 View Post
Doing this made the picture have a distinct yellow tint. Skin tones and color in general still looks pretty off sometimes. The good news is I somehow got ARC to work after serious dropouts previously.

Additionally, after watching a lot of content I'm noticing more and more that there's a lot of distinct vertical bands that show up almost anytime the camera pans over a mostly solid color like sand, water, the sky, a building, etc. Even a curtain. I'm noticing it a lot in Orange is the New Black, Marco Polo, Max, LOST, and quite a few others. I also see a faint yellow band in test patterns but luckily I can't see it in any content, including old B&W movies.

To your guys' estimation, is this an "Average" amount of banding or does my set exhibit particularly bad issues?


-Vader
That looks perfectly acceptable to me.
Schwa is offline  
post #17355 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Turn cec control on and hit the tv audio button on remote.
found my pioneer vsx520 does not support arc
bobkat007 is offline  
post #17356 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Nantucket ....
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader182 View Post
Doing this made the picture have a distinct yellow tint. Skin tones and color in general still looks pretty off sometimes. The good news is I somehow got ARC to work after serious dropouts previously.

Additionally, after watching a lot of content I'm noticing more and more that there's a lot of distinct vertical bands that show up almost anytime the camera pans over a mostly solid color like sand, water, the sky, a building, etc. Even a curtain. I'm noticing it a lot in Orange is the New Black, Marco Polo, Max, LOST, and quite a few others. I also see a faint yellow band in test patterns but luckily I can't see it in any content, including old B&W movies.

To your guys' estimation, is this an "Average" amount of banding or does my set exhibit particularly bad issues?


-Vader
Did it clear the blue\grey problem though ?
Or is it too bad the other way to tell ?
You could try taking everything But blues back to as they were .


My first settings of blues -1 helped a lot with tint on snow scenes .
And my second settings of blues -2 eliminated it .

I'm still watching on all others +2 and haven't noticed anything real bad with my limited vowing upto now .
Ian c2 is offline  
post #17357 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigxboss View Post
lol I haven't bought a new TV in awhile and I didn't pay attention to the stuff back then. I just want to make sure I have the best image quality for both movies and games:

I want to know what the trade offs are for HDMI 5.
HDMI 5 is an older version 1.4 port. It has low input lag due to reducing some of the video processing features the tv performs and passes the video faster. But some features that remove signal noise are disabled and cannot be controlled on this port.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #17358 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:04 PM
Member
 
FoReVeR0515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Well, we watched The Revenant yesterday and I noticed the top-middle faint yellowing without thinking about it. I only noticed it in some scenes, but it was there. My wife confirmed that my eyes weren't playing tricks on me. We didn't notice it in Deadpool or 10 Cloverfield Lane.

Hmm, what to do. I hate to be one to nitpick and complain about stuff like this, but that's a lot of money spent (to me) on the P75, to have to notice yellowing during normal viewing. I wish there was some easy way to correct it, like loosening a screw just a bit, or gently "massaging" the location on the screen. Although, I haven't tried either, so maybe I should.

What I'm worried about is sticking with my current display, and the possibility of the yellowing getting worse over time.
FoReVeR0515 is offline  
post #17359 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
HDMI 5 is an older version 1.4 port. It has low input lag due to reducing some of the video processing features the tv performs and passes the video faster. But some features that remove signal noise are disabled and cannot be controlled on this port.
UM WTF are you talking about?


HDMI 5 Tech Specs370MHz pixel clock rate: [email protected], 4:2:2, 8-bit | [email protected], 4:2:0, 10-bit
[email protected], 4:4:4, 10-bit | [email protected], 4:2:2, 12-bit
Additional Inputs
GardenVariety is offline  
post #17360 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
UM WTF are you talking about?


HDMI 5 Tech Specs370MHz pixel clock rate: [email protected], 4:2:2, 8-bit | [email protected], 4:2:0, 10-bit
[email protected], 4:4:4, 10-bit | [email protected], 4:2:2, 12-bit
Additional Inputs
LOL? wtf does what you posted have to do about what I posted? Everything I posted is correct.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #17361 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reallynotnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenVariety View Post
UM WTF are you talking about?


HDMI 5 Tech Specs370MHz pixel clock rate: [email protected], 4:2:2, 8-bit | [email protected], 4:2:0, 10-bit
[email protected], 4:4:4, 10-bit | [email protected], 4:2:2, 12-bit
Additional Inputs
LOL? wtf does what you posted have to do about what I posted? Everything I posted is correct.
This is where things get really fuzzy with HDMI 2.0. There is a low speed 10Gb/s variant and a high speed 18Gb/s variant. Both technically are HDMI 2.0.

I think his point of quoting that was to show that HDMI 2.0 can do 2160p60 with subsampling. While HDMI 1.4 can only do 2160p30 despite it also being 10Gb/s because it can not do subsampling.
reallynotnick is offline  
post #17362 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:24 PM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigxboss View Post
lol I haven't bought a new TV in awhile and I didn't pay attention to the stuff back then. I just want to make sure I have the best image quality for both movies and games:

I want to know what the trade offs are for HDMI 5.
HDMI 5 is an older version 1.4 port. It has low input lag due to reducing some of the video processing features the tv performs and passes the video faster. But some features that remove signal noise are disabled and cannot be controlled on this port.
Awesome! Thanks for the response.

So the image quality for games on my PS4 will be better on 1-4?

I doubt 15ms on input lag will make much a difference for me.
bigxboss is offline  
post #17363 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by reallynotnick View Post
This is where things get really fuzzy with HDMI 2.0. There is a low speed 10Gb/s variant and a high speed 18Gb/s variant. Both technically are HDMI 2.0.

I think his point of quoting that was to show that HDMI 2.0 can do 2160p60 with subsampling. While HDMI 1.4 can only do 2160p30 despite it also being 10Gb/s because it can not do subsampling.
Well he would be wrong because HDMI 5 is hdmi version 1.4. Which he could have read by reading 1 inch above what he posted.

HDMI Ports5 (2 side; 3 down)
VersionPorts 1-4 support v2.0 (upgrade 2.0a coming soon); Port 5 supports v1.4
HDCP Version2.2
HDMI 1-4 Tech Specs600MHz pixel clock rate: [email protected], 4:4:4, 8-bit | [email protected], 4:2:2, 12-bit
[email protected], 4:2:0, 12-bit
HDMI 5 Tech Specs370MHz pixel clock rate: [email protected], 4:2:2, 8-bit | [email protected], 4:2:0, 10-bit
[email protected], 4:4:4, 10-bit | [email protected], 4:2:2, 12-bit
Brandon B and mpgxsvcd like this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #17364 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:30 PM
Member
 
twxabfn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Well he would be wrong because HDMI 5 is hdmi version 1.4.
It can't be, because everywhere I looked online when I was trying to figure this out says that you can't do [email protected] over HDMI 1.4.

Note that the specs only say that HDMI 5 "supports" 1.4. It's likely because it's the 10Gb/s variant of HDMI 2.0 that reallynotnick was talking about, but they didn't want to call it a 2.0 port like the other four because it doesn't support the 18Gb/s that 2.0 requires.
imobilizer likes this.
twxabfn is offline  
post #17365 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by twxabfn View Post
It can't be, because everywhere I looked online when I was trying to figure this out says that you can't do [email protected] over HDMI 1.4.

Note that the specs only say that HDMI 5 "supports" 1.4. It's likely because it's the 10Gb/s variant of HDMI 2.0 that reallynotnick was talking about, but they didn't want to call it a 2.0 port like the other four because it doesn't support the 18Gb/s that 2.0 requires.
1080p120 is part of HDMI version 1.4B
Brandon B, mpgxsvcd and shoman94 like this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #17366 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reallynotnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Yes 1080p120 is 1.4 but 4K60 and 4:2:0 are HDMI 2.0 features.

It's not a 1.4 port, it's a low speed 2.0 port. Even if the site calls it 1.4, it simply can't be as the spec doesn't support those features. I'm open to being proved wrong though, not that I care what the arbitrary version number is, just the features of the port
reallynotnick is offline  
post #17367 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by reallynotnick View Post
Yes 1080p120 is 1.4 but 4K60 and 4:2:0 are HDMI 2.0 features.

It's not a 1.4 port, it's a low speed 2.0 port. Even if the site calls it 1.4, it simply can't be as the spec doesn't support those features.
The port has literally every spec for 1.4 outside of the 4k60. Which still may be possible since it is not at full chroma and only 8 bit.
It would be more likely for them to have a typo in a spec then listing which hdmi version it is.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #17368 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:42 PM
Member
 
twxabfn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
1080p120 is part of HDMI version 1.4B
Not quite, according to gamersnexus.net:

Quote:
1080p at 120Hz, then, would fit within even HDMI 1.4b's 340MHz pixel clock (1920 * 1080 = 2.07 million * 120 = 248 million pixels per second). There's more to it than that, though, and HDMI 1.4b simultaneously supports and does not support 1920x1080 at 120Hz. It supports the 120Hz 1080p throughput only for 3D processing, which it does by cloning the data packet for concurrent output to the display device. For 2D viewing – which is what almost all gamers mean when they want “120Hz” – HDMI 1.4b is stuck at just 60Hz for 1080p. This is commonly misunderstood in the HDMI 1.4b spec language.
http://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/21...ed-1080p-120hz

HDMI 1.4b also only has support for 8-bit color depths at 4k, which doesn't match the HDMI5 spec that supports 4:2:0 10-bit at 4k (but HDMI 2.0 does). It makes more sense that Vizio is doing something like this:

Quote:
So many HDMI 2.0 4K displays (say like the Sony 500ES projector) have in fact only HDMI 1.4 chipsets with one HDMI 2.0 feature (4K [email protected] 8 bits) which allows them to claim HDMI 2.0 compatibility, but the bandwidth is the same as the HDMI 1.4 chipset, 10.8Gb/s. This is HDMI 2.0 Level B. The full speed version, HDMI 2.0 Level A, with 18Gb/s, is only available on a few devices at this stage.
That comment was from a couple years ago, but it looks right based on the specs on HDMI5; it's probably another HDMI 1.4 chipset with 2.0 features added.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinions/hdmi-2-0-vs-1-4

My theory stands that Vizio didn't want to confuse people by having to refer to HDMI 1-4 as "high speed 2.0" and HDMI 5 as "low speed 2.0", even though they certainly managed to confuse some of us by including 2.0 features on a port seemingly labeled as 1.4!
Brandon B and mpgxsvcd like this.

Last edited by twxabfn; 06-22-2016 at 01:59 PM.
twxabfn is offline  
post #17369 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
While using a HTPC playing 1080p BR/BR quality movies would it be better to output (through NVcontrol panel) 4k res to the tv or 1080p. Not quite sure how the upscaling works. What about playing games at 1080p (since no "affordable" cards really run 4k 60 yet).

Thanks again!
Whicker is offline  
post #17370 of 64213 Old 06-22-2016, 01:54 PM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I know you guys are having fun debating this stuff, but this all spawned from my question!

Using my PS4 (1080p/60fps) on the P65, what's the difference between using HDMI 1-4 and HDMI 5?

Is it just input lag?

Or is there a difference in image quality?

Thanks guys.
bigxboss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off