Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 786 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288562Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23551 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,207
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4781 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Character_Zero View Post
Best Buy is running a promotion next week that gives $125 for an old Xbox One.
I wouldn't believe anything BB says about giving you something off an old XXX. They have the promotion that they'll give you $100 off for an old Harmony remote but when I went they had the Elite for sale at $289.00. When I took them my old Harmony 880 they said the promotion was off the regular price and not the sale price so they would only sell me the new one for $249.99 ($349.99 regular price minus $100 for the old Harmony). I think that it should be $100 off whatever the current price of the new Harmony is. It only makes sense to me?
zer0cool2007 likes this.

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23552 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 02:41 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by brehiser View Post
My p65 was delivered today, and i think something might be wrong with it. There is a distinct gap around the entire set where the picture ends and the bezel begins. Does anyone elses have this gap? It happens on both 1080 and 4k content.
There are no pixels in that area so it's normal. Our plasma looks the same way.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #23553 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 02:45 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
I thought HDR10 titles can be streamed in the same way DV titles are streamed?
They will be when the second phase of Vizio's HDR10 upgrade is released. Phase 1 is HDMI sources only.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23554 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
OK, thanks. hometheaterreview.com must have it wrong.


The update according to matt was green lit for people who had a uhd player already and wanted to use it before the full roll out. Off you sent him you serial and don't have a uhd player, that was dumb. Netflix could do hdr and Dolby vision. But if you are only using the tv you would never get a title to cast in hdr10 since Netflix stated if a device supports both hdr10 and Dolby Vision it would automatically choose Dolby vision.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
callworth likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #23555 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 02:47 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by brehiser View Post
I wish i was using a magnifying glass to see it, but its really noticeable even from the 10+ft i sit from the screen.
Try watching your new display in a dimly lit room.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #23556 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 02:52 PM
Member
 
bigxboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 62
So let me get this straight:

I should keep my Backlight at 50 for HDR content?

bigxboss is offline  
post #23557 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Character_Zero View Post
Actually there is no way to know for sure. This update could enable HDR10 for streaming, although how would they test it. So maybe not, could have some placeholder code based on what they do for DV and when content comes available they might be able to implement fairly quickly.
See the following quote on Netflix site:

Netflix is now streaming in HDR10 and Dolby Vision. Marco Polo is the first TV series to be available in HDR. Daredevil will follow soon
Read more at http://www.flatpanelshd.com/netflix....lGeG7L1uTpI.99
bobkat007 is offline  
post #23558 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
turboedsupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
I had read in hometheaterreview.com that Netflix had both HDR10 and DV content? ("On the software side, Netflix is actually streaming content in both HDR10 and Dolby Vision, so everything I said above about Netflix content applies to HDR10, too.")
The shield and the k8500 will not play Netflix HDR10 on this display. As others said Netflix is better just casting DV. I just wanted HDR to work on the shield for future material. I'm gonna run some HDR videos tonight on the shields usb and see what's up
turboedsupe is offline  
post #23559 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 56
do you now if the xbox one has to working to use as a trade in and what else do you have to turn in with the xbox for the credit ? controlers and stuff ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Character_Zero View Post
Best Buy is running a promotion next week that gives $125 for an old Xbox One.
ShadyCoh is offline  
post #23560 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
There are no pixels in that area so it's normal. Our plasma looks the same way.
This is correct. Totally normal.

It is called "black matrix" and is the small black border on all LCD displays. This is the area around the "active" pixel area where the trace lines are run down to the bottom (where it then connects to the system).

In fact, over the years we have been attempting to reduce the "black matrix" year after year to get the picture as close to the bezel as possible. UHD made this harder because there are more lines to run since there are more pixels.
htwaits, Ph8te, Shindo and 6 others like this.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #23561 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 56
You did not fight hard enough for it.

I just did the trade in when I got my P65 for the harmony elite when it was on sale they tried that bs with me and I asked for the manager he had no problems giving me the elite for 189 with trade in.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I wouldn't believe anything BB says about giving you something off an old XXX. They have the promotion that they'll give you $100 off for an old Harmony remote but when I went they had the Elite for sale at $289.00. When I took them my old Harmony 880 they said the promotion was off the regular price and not the sale price so they would only sell me the new one for $249.99 ($349.99 regular price minus $100 for the old Harmony). I think that it should be $100 off whatever the current price of the new Harmony is. It only makes sense to me?
ShadyCoh is offline  
post #23562 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
More HDR10

Have enabled all serial numbers I have seen so far today... so everyone should be activated for update. Please see previous posts on how to get the update and what settings to use for HDR.

Also, seen discussion on HDR10 streaming etc.

This release is HDR10 over HDMI only. But doesn't matter yet because the CAST apps that stream high dynamic range on our displays are Netflix and VUDU and both support DolbyVision. In fact, as pointed out Netflix supports HDR10 and DolbyVision but because DolbyVision is better quality they will default to sending you DolbyVision stream if your display is capable of it.

So right now you are missing nothing... we are working on HDR10 streaming support now but I split the releases to get the HDMI code earlier. And by the time we support HDR10 streaming there may be some services that would use it.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #23563 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Netflix has never seemed to be in a hurry to upgrade their apps.
They update their Android and iOS quite often :-)

One of the benefits of CAST over proprietary embedded systems.
Schwa, Brandon B, htwaits and 6 others like this.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #23564 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:09 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
See the following quote on Netflix site:

Netflix is now streaming in HDR10 and Dolby Vision. Marco Polo is the first TV series to be available in HDR. Daredevil will follow soon
Read more at http://www.flatpanelshd.com/netflix....lGeG7L1uTpI.99
You seem to be missing a basic fact. The Vizio M & P Series home theater displays will not stream HDR10 until Vizio releases the second phase of their HDR10 upgrade. If you stream HDR content form Netflix now it will default to Dolby Vision. Maybe LG's OLED displays will do what you want now.
Ph8te, Shindo and NeronetFi like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #23565 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:10 PM
Member
 
NETPCTECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeronetFi View Post
It could be a loop hole but I believe it is the studio wanting you to use the services they want you to use to redeem the UHD copy for Ultra Violet library.

When I redeemed BvS through vudu and noticed I did not get the UHD version. I contacted Vudu, UV, and Flixster support and worked through all of them referencing each support ticket#. I started with Vudu and they said that the code I had was not for the UHD copy, so I contacted Ultraviolet and they said I should contact Vudu support (after providing them with pictures of the code, box, and discs) I contacted Flixster and after providing the same info I had to the other 2, Flixster said I should contact Vudu and I let them know I already had a ticket open with them, providing the support ticket #. Flixster replied back that they placed the UHD copy in my UV Library and sure enough it was on my Vudu account
Thanks for the reply.

Like i mentioned before, this is a crazy process that may not work for everyone. I will just wait until I purchase another movie and then I will follow the alternate procedure. The BvS movie is just not worth the trouble for me.

I only purchased the UHD version so I would not have to buy it again when I finally purchase a UHD player. I am waiting for the Oppo or PS4K.
Brandon B and NeronetFi like this.
NETPCTECH is offline  
post #23566 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:10 PM
Member
 
needleseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McRae View Post
Have enabled all serial numbers I have seen so far today... so everyone should be activated for update. Please see previous posts on how to get the update and what settings to use for HDR.

Also, seen discussion on HDR10 streaming etc.

This release is HDR10 over HDMI only. But doesn't matter yet because the CAST apps that stream high dynamic range on our displays are Netflix and VUDU and both support DolbyVision. In fact, as pointed out Netflix supports HDR10 and DolbyVision but because DolbyVision is better quality they will default to sending you DolbyVision stream if your display is capable of it.

So right now you are missing nothing... we are working on HDR10 streaming support now but I split the releases to get the HDMI code earlier. And by the time we support HDR10 streaming there may be some services that would use it.
Do you know whether or not the Amazon app on the Xbox One S has HDR capability?
chefjohn1 likes this.
needleseye is offline  
post #23567 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:13 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McRae View Post
They update their Android and iOS quite often :-)

One of the benefits of CAST over proprietary embedded systems.
You got me there.

My only knowledge of proprietory streaming of Netflix comes from the owner's thread for my OPPO Blu-ray player.

I like shiny disks.

I'd like to say thank to you too. Thank you Matt.
rockaway1836 likes this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 07-29-2016 at 03:17 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #23568 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Melbourne Florida
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pos1121 View Post
Could this be because HDMI Color Subsampling is enabled? If I recall correctly I was having what I would say is the same issue with Marco Polo a few months back. It was unwatchable because it was too dark and detail was crushed. Myself and a few others went back and forth for a few weeks and the resolution to the issue was to turn that off. Haven't had an issue since. Unfortunately, it seems it must be enabled for HDR10.


I am having a similar problem on Marco Polo. I am casting from Netflix. System Information confirms I am receiving 4K with HDR on. Checked Color Subsampling. It is off for all HDMI inputs, but could not find control for casting. Picture is very dark with low contrast, unwatchable for indoor scenes. Is there a way to set this for Casting? All other modes seem to be working fine and picture quality for non HDR material is fantastic! I have not tried other 4K HDR for other movies yet. Other ideas??


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
CountMike is offline  
post #23569 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeronetFi View Post
Update on 24hz Lip sync issue

I received the new firmware (didn't have to ask just got it) and I noticed a lip sync problem on Regular Cable 60hz through from Tivo Roamio. I went into my AVR and turned off the Audio Delay I had set before (120ms), loaded up content I had originally noticed lip sync issues on ("Explorers" on Netflix through Tivo, 24hz @ 0:16:38) No more lip sync problem

HAPPY DANCE !!!
Yes. There are many, many small improvements in this release as well. Audio, Arc, FALD, UX, etc. The one that is most interesting besides HDR10 is QuickStart mode. This lets you put the TV into a mode where it eats a little more power when "off"... but this lets you Cast directly to the display when off. Basically the TV remains on enough to listen for CAST requests.

This means the TV can be off... you can browse for content on the tablet or your mobile device. Cast it to the TV and it will turn on and start the stream (no need to turn the TV on first).
Matt McRae is offline  
post #23570 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ikari Warrior View Post
Mine strangely doesn't switch to Calibrated from Standard when casting Dolby Vision Netflix either. That's why I'm having trouble knowing if I'm doing it right and that it's working...it stays on Standard mode (my usual) whether I cast DV or play a UHD disc over HDMI..I can only see if it's even seeing HDR by checking the System Info. I'm glad the update is here and appreciate all Matt's work...just wish the process was a little more streamlined...I don't mind digging around a little for the info to get it working but it doesn't seem Plug and Play enough for the general public. They could almost use a Vizio published Guide to HDR to get people up to speed on why it's important and how to implement it.
Some confusion here...

If you are in Standard picture mode... watching SDR content will be Standard, then watching HDR content will be Standard HDR (different HDR mode within Standard picture mode).

If you are in Calibrated picture mode... watching SDR content will be Calibrated, then watching HDR content will be Calibrated HDR (different HDR mode within Calibrated picture mode).

We don't switch from Standard to Calibrated... you as the user select which type of major picture mode you want that input on. VIZIO recommends to always use Calibrated for everything.
Schwa, Brandon B, htwaits and 12 others like this.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #23571 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Anago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Ana, Ca
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McRae View Post
Yes. There are many, many small improvements in this release as well. Audio, Arc, FALD, UX, etc. The one that is most interesting besides HDR10 is QuickStart mode. This lets you put the TV into a mode where it eats a little more power when "off"... but this lets you Cast directly to the display when off. Basically the TV remains on enough to listen for CAST requests.

This means the TV can be off... you can browse for content on the tablet or your mobile device. Cast it to the TV and it will turn on and start the stream (no need to turn the TV on first).
I saw the QuickStart mode after the update but didn't know what it was for.
zer0cool2007 likes this.

Vizio P75-C1, P50-C1, P65-C1- FW 8.0.20.3
Samsung UHD Bluray K8500 - LG UBK90 DV Bluray player
Vizio SB46514-F6 Soundbar - Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
Directv Genie HR34 - Chromecast Ultra
Anago is offline  
post #23572 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by needleseye View Post
Do you know whether or not the Amazon app on the Xbox One S has HDR capability?
I can't speak on Microsoft or Amazon products/services... we will see :-)
Ph8te likes this.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #23573 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,085
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1582 Post(s)
Liked: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McRae View Post
Yes. There are many, many small improvements in this release as well. Audio, Arc, FALD, UX, etc. The one that is most interesting besides HDR10 is QuickStart mode. This lets you put the TV into a mode where it eats a little more power when "off"... but this lets you Cast directly to the display when off. Basically the TV remains on enough to listen for CAST requests.

This means the TV can be off... you can browse for content on the tablet or your mobile device. Cast it to the TV and it will turn on and start the stream (no need to turn the TV on first).
Is it recommended to keep the backlight at 50? I know you said it is okay to change......a lot of people are saying that things seem so dark and they have to bump gamma to 1.8......also I noticed my CMS didn't translate to HDR 10 too well so I just zeroed everything for now?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #23574 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:19 PM
Member
 
NETPCTECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinyRK View Post
The thing is though, that other with the similar(-ish) AVR have no problems. So this is not an ARC-Standardization issue rather than something with the Display itself.
And I can eliminate the HDMI cables as a potential root cause. I tried 5 different ones. Also, I tried 5 AVRs: A HarmanKardon, an Onkyo 747 and 808, the Denon x2200 and now the x3200. Drop outs with all of them.

I think I am gonna call the Vizio Support.
Wow, this is the fastest moving forum thread I have ever seen.

Have you tried adjusting some of the AVR HDMI settings like CEC (sorry if I missed this in your responses). Other people have had success changing the CEC or the expanded color (or whatever it is called) settings.
NETPCTECH is offline  
post #23575 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:23 PM
 
alexanderg823's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3128 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
Update is live to download on Vizio website to update via USB. Just did it since I didn't get the push. 250ish mb
RichLB likes this.
alexanderg823 is offline  
post #23576 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
TinyRK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by NETPCTECH View Post
Wow, this is the fastest moving forum thread I have ever seen.

Have you tried adjusting some of the AVR HDMI settings like CEC (sorry if I missed this in your responses). Other people have had success changing the CEC or the expanded color (or whatever it is called) settings.
I went through everything. The update was my last hope, but it did not resolve the issue.





Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

LG 65E6 | Denon x3200 | Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RS-62II - R-115SW
TinyRK is offline  
post #23577 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:27 PM
Member
 
NETPCTECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Character_Zero View Post
Actually there is no way to know for sure. This update could enable HDR10 for streaming, although how would they test it. So maybe not, could have some placeholder code based on what they do for DV and when content comes available they might be able to implement fairly quickly.
It is my understanding that DV and HDR10 streaming support is a two step process. First, the device has to support it in the hardware. Second, the app has to be updated by the streaming manufacturer to support the capability.

For example, just because the Netflix App for the Vizio P series supports HDR does not mean every version of the app on other platforms will. Netflix would have to write new code for that platform to support HDR.

Anyway, these are my observations that seem to be inline with what is happening.
NETPCTECH is offline  
post #23578 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Jeff Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Matt,

Can you elaborate at all on the changes to the FALD system? I had a P50 that had what I would best call FALD lag when going from a bright scene to a dark scene. The FALD wasn't keeping up with the brightness change and you could see it go from bright to dim. It was very distracting.
Jeff Williams is offline  
post #23579 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1169 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 866 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Williams View Post
Matt,

Can you elaborate at all on the changes to the FALD system? I had a P50 that had what I would best call FALD lag when going from a bright scene to a dark scene. The FALD wasn't keeping up with the brightness change and you could see it go from bright to dim. It was very distracting.
Fine tunings on timings and the algorithm... there will always be some lag or delay designed in. The reason is if we speed up the algorithm too much you will start seeing flashing and strobing artifacts... so the ramps are smoothed to balance everything. But we are constantly fine tuning... the last update had a big improvement... this one is very minor but better.
Brandon B, A.Bell, htwaits and 9 others like this.
Matt McRae is offline  
post #23580 of 64337 Old 07-29-2016, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
You seem to be missing a basic fact. The Vizio M & P Series home theater displays will not stream HDR10 until Vizio releases the second phase of their HDR10 upgrade. If you stream HDR content form Netflix now it will default to Dolby Vision. Maybe LG's OLED displays will do what you want now.
Just wish Vizio would put out some rather detailed description of exactly what the version addresses. And maybe do a better job of detailing current capabilities of there sets as it relates to current content providers. After all, this site, as helpful as it has been for me, still contains a lot of miss-information.
Hyabusha and pcp7 like this.
bobkat007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off