Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners ONLY Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 825 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288562Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24721 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3331 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newhomelabber View Post
So I just got an Xbox one S and the Martian 4k Blu-ray, and I cant get HDR10 to kick in. I have the latest firmware from vizio and the xbox is up to date, I went through some settings on my xbox to find a message that says my TV cant display HDR10. Anyone else having this issue? I would post a pic, but my count is too low.
Do you have HDMI Subsampling on? It's under Inputs in settings on the Smartcast app.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24722 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ronman79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Memphis area
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riztnack View Post
Just got my p75 last night hooked up to a Yamaha CX-a5100 and put 3 hours on over ARC (including ATMOS playback), never dropped out using VUDU,Netflix, or Youtube. Using monoprice certified premium HDMI cables for all connects. http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15427
Love me some Monoprice!

Sent from my XR6P10 using Tapatalk

Equipment List: Theater - JVC DLA-X770R / Denon X4300H / Panasonic 820 4K BD Player / Polk Audio RTiA9 Towers / Polk CSiA6 Center / Polk 65RT (6), FXi5 (2) Atmos and Surrounds / (4) Polk PSW505 12" Subs / Black Flame Painted Screen Wall / Nvidia Shield TV / Dish Hopper 3 - 4K/ XBOX One S / Harmony Elite / Echo Dot / Tripp Lite UPS Backup / Furman Conditioner / App and Tap controlled Philips Hue Lighting / Monoprice Cabling
Ronman79 is offline  
post #24723 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
Do you have HDMI Subsampling on? It's under Inputs in settings on the Smartcast app.
yes, just turned it on. That worked to make the xbox recognize it, but that band at the top when i change inputs still shows "normal" as the mode, and not HDR10. Unless it's supposed to say normal, and not HDR10?
Newhomelabber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24724 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
Do you have HDMI Subsampling on? It's under Inputs in settings on the Smartcast app.


Had this problem and took me about 30 minutes to find the answer. After you turn on subsampling for the input you have the Xbox connected to, make sure to close the Blu-Ray app on the Xbox and restart it. Otherwise it still won't switch over the HDR.
Brandon B, thomasfxlt and Anago like this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #24725 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
DarthDoxie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canady117 View Post
I've owned three Vizios in the past 6 years and have not had a problem with any of them. Obviously that is a small sample size and one person, but the point I'm trying to get at is that most people will complain about things but you will hardly see anyone commend things. When things work, we don't tend to appreciate them or recognize them. But when they don't work, we all voice our concerns about them.
That's exactly my point, it's a gamble with Vizio as to whether you get a good panel, more so than with other brands. You have three good ones, I've had two so-so panels. My biggest gripe with Vizio has been with the way they implement firmware updates. Just search this site and you'll find an extensive thread on how Vizio screwed up the PQ on the 2013-14 M series and took 6 months to fix it, all the while being completely silent on the matter. After they fixed the problem I disconnected my set from my wi-fi to avoid any future nightmare with the firmware.
imobilizer likes this.

LG OLED55C7P -- OPPO UDP-203 -- Denon 1613 -- BIC America F12 Sub -- SVS Prime LCR

I find your lack of schadenfreude disturbing.
DarthDoxie is offline  
post #24726 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3331 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newhomelabber View Post
yes, just turned it on. That worked to make the xbox recognize it, but that band at the top when i change inputs still shows "normal" as the mode, and not HDR10. Unless it's supposed to say normal, and not HDR10?
See Jeremy's response?

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #24727 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ronman79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Memphis area
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newhomelabber View Post
yes, just turned it on. That worked to make the xbox recognize it, but that band at the top when i change inputs still shows "normal" as the mode, and not HDR10. Unless it's supposed to say normal, and not HDR10?
That's just referring to aspect ratio of the display. You'll have to check under "system" for whether it's HDR content being displayed or not.

Sent from my XR6P10 using Tapatalk

Equipment List: Theater - JVC DLA-X770R / Denon X4300H / Panasonic 820 4K BD Player / Polk Audio RTiA9 Towers / Polk CSiA6 Center / Polk 65RT (6), FXi5 (2) Atmos and Surrounds / (4) Polk PSW505 12" Subs / Black Flame Painted Screen Wall / Nvidia Shield TV / Dish Hopper 3 - 4K/ XBOX One S / Harmony Elite / Echo Dot / Tripp Lite UPS Backup / Furman Conditioner / App and Tap controlled Philips Hue Lighting / Monoprice Cabling
Ronman79 is offline  
post #24728 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Hyabusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Those with the XB1S & Samsung 4K Player, can you use "Game" mode and still get HDR to activate and play?

Video Games, and Home Theater Forever! ^_^

My Youtube Channel-https://www.youtube.com/rvspawn
Hyabusha is offline  
post #24729 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyabusha View Post
Those with the XB1S & Samsung 4K Player, can you use "Game" mode and still get HDR to activate and play?
yes
Hyabusha likes this.
Newhomelabber is offline  
post #24730 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
jamesmil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I dont understand the concern with lag on inputs 1 - 4. I have a Leo Bodnar lag tester and I only see 35ms of lag on Inputs 1-4 in Calibrated mode (with GLL off). Personally, I don't start to notice lag until more than twice that when I play (though I'm not a competitive gamer), so I think 35ms is pretty impressive!
DaverJ and Bootnylee like this.
jamesmil is offline  
post #24731 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Character_Zero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newhomelabber View Post
yes, just turned it on. That worked to make the xbox recognize it, but that band at the top when i change inputs still shows "normal" as the mode, and not HDR10. Unless it's supposed to say normal, and not HDR10?
HDR is only indicated on the Tablet under System, Display Information. I can't remember how deep it is but it's in the system info.
Character_Zero is offline  
post #24732 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,204
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesmil View Post
I dont understand the concern with lag on inputs 1 - 4. I have a Leo Bodnar lag tester and I only see 35ms of lag on Inputs 1-4 in Calibrated mode (with GLL off). Personally, I don't start to notice lag until more than twice that when I play (though I'm not a competitive gamer), so I think 35ms is pretty impressive!


You mean with GLL on? Rtings measured it over 100ms with out GLL

LG 55C9, Samsung 55KS8000, Panasonic 50VT25
b_rad4 is offline  
post #24733 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jamesmil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_rad4 View Post
You mean with GLL on? Rtings measured it over 100ms with out GLL


No GLL is definitely off. I tested for over 30 seconds and the reading stayed between 33 and 37ms. Maybe not a perfect test since the tester outputs 1080p and not 2160p, but the reading came right up and stayed steady.
jamesmil is offline  
post #24734 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:31 PM
Member
 
houseofbugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heinz68 View Post
I don't have the display but since purchasing Vizio TV or Display is on my list since January 2014 CES, I always try to be fully informed.

Based [H]ardForum post the 4:4:4 chroma fix was not included in this firmware update and I also believe if it was it would be posted on the OP page.

On the other hand some of the most influential people in this thread believe such upgrade is not needed since they believe the 4:4:4 chroma is already there. There is even a post on OP disputing the RTINGS review about Supported Resolution @ 4:4:4.

The post described as "good rebut In regards to the Rtings claim" actually shows none of the images in that post support 4:4:4 chroma and should have never been posted on first page as rebut.

Anyway all the above is mainly important for people using the display as PC monitor, I believe very small percentage in this thread so it might never get fixed. Some people also claim they can see the difference in PC gaming I don't have any experience with that.
Small percentage or not it was advertised to do 4K 60HZ with 4:4:4 and it doesn't do that, it's false advertising. I am glad that I went with the KS8000 then over the Vizio. It's a shame, on paper the Vizio looks like the superior TV (mainly for the FALD) but no real 4:4:4 is a dealbreaker for me as I use a PC at [email protected] with 4:4:4 on my TV set for 4K gaming. All you AVS people keep discounting this but the fact is that no one has shown anything showing that it does it correctly. There was one post on here but the guy was using it at 1080p and you can tell the image was scaled so that doesn't help.

Anyone here have the P series hooked up to a PC to test the 4:4:4 running [email protected]? I don't understand why no one has not tried it again and shown it's running at the 4K 60hz res.

I only ask because the Vizio does look better than the KS8000 but the 4:4:4 kills it for me. I can return my KS8000 but I want to make sure that the P series can do what they advertise before swapping out a 65" TV.
houseofbugs is offline  
post #24735 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
F34R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesmil View Post
I dont understand the concern with lag on inputs 1 - 4. I have a Leo Bodnar lag tester and I only see 35ms of lag on Inputs 1-4 in Calibrated mode (with GLL off). Personally, I don't start to notice lag until more than twice that when I play (though I'm not a competitive gamer), so I think 35ms is pretty impressive!
Well, for me, it's not so much a concern as it is the "science" behind it. I am really interested in knowing the "why" it is the way it is. I'm definitely not complaining or really concerned about it.
imobilizer likes this.
F34R is offline  
post #24736 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,204
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesmil View Post
No GLL is definitely off. I tested for over 30 seconds and the reading stayed between 33 and 37ms. Maybe not a perfect test since the tester outputs 1080p and not 2160p, but the reading came right up and stayed steady.


Hmmm, quote from rtings below


Input Lag Show Help : 17.7 ms
With Interpolation Show Help : 107.1 ms
Outside Game Mode Show Help : 113.2

For some reason, our Leo Bodnar input lag tester doesn't work on the HDMI 5 port (it works well on 1-4), so we had to use the old two screens method with a high frame rate camera. We used our Vizio D50u-D1 as a reference, and the Vizio P65-C1 was about 4ms slower, resulting in an input lag of 17.7ms, which is great. HDMI 1-4 have higher input lag (34.7 with GLL), but it's still manageable.
Brandon B likes this.

LG 55C9, Samsung 55KS8000, Panasonic 50VT25
b_rad4 is offline  
post #24737 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 138
It's still not clear to me if having game mode on is hurting picture quality (inputs 1-4).
[email protected] is offline  
post #24738 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 08:56 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newhomelabber View Post
yes, just turned it on. That worked to make the xbox recognize it, but that band at the top when i change inputs still shows "normal" as the mode, and not HDR10. Unless it's supposed to say normal, and not HDR10?
Are you connected to HDMI 1-4?
Ph8te likes this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #24739 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3331 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Quote:
Originally Posted by houseofbugs View Post
Small percentage or not it was advertised to do 4K 60HZ with 4:4:4 and it doesn't do that, it's false advertising. I am glad that I went with the KS8000 then over the Vizio. It's a shame, on paper the Vizio looks like the superior TV (mainly for the FALD) but no real 4:4:4 is a dealbreaker for me as I use a PC at [email protected] with 4:4:4 on my TV set for 4K gaming. All you AVS people keep discounting this but the fact is that no one has shown anything showing that it does it correctly. There was one post on here but the guy was using it at 1080p and you can tell the image was scaled so that doesn't help.

Anyone here have the P series hooked up to a PC to test the 4:4:4 running [email protected]? I don't understand why no one has not tried it again and shown it's running at the 4K 60hz res.

I only ask because the Vizio does look better than the KS8000 but the 4:4:4 kills it for me. I can return my KS8000 but I want to make sure that the P series can do what they advertise before swapping out a 65" TV.
I'm sure it hasn't changed.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #24740 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
P65-C1 Dolby Vision Calibration Settings - Firmware 2.0.13.13

Here is my Dolby Vision Calibration for the P65-C1. You want to leave Backlight, Brightness, and Contrast all at default. Enjoy!

Picture Mode: Calibrated Dark
Auto Brightness Control: Off
Backlight: 50
Brightness: 50
Contrast: 50
Color: 45
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0

--More Picture---
Color temperature: Normal
Black Detail: Off
Active LED Zones: On
Reduce Judder: 1
Reduce Motion Blur: 10
Clear Action: Off
Reduce Signal Noise: Off
Reduce Block Noise: Off
Game Low Latency: Off
Picture Size: [no change]
Picture Position: [no change]
Film Mode: Auto
Color Space: Auto
Gamma: 2.0

---Color Calibration---

Offset
Red: 0
Green: 0
Blue: 0

Gain
Red: -15
Green: 0
Blue: -21

11-point white balance:
[Red, Green and Blue gain]
5%: 19, 17, 15
10%: 12, 7, 14
20%: 0, -4, -5
30%: -5, -12, -5
40%: -12, -15, -14
50%: -10, -12, -11
60%: -31, -32, -34
70%: -25, -26, -26
80%: -21, -28, -24
90%: 0, 0, 0
100%: 0, 0, 0
CMS:
[Red, Green, Blue, Cyan, Magenta, Yellow]
Hue: 0, 0, 0, -3, 0, 0
Saturation: 0, 0, 12, -19, 0, 0
Brightness: 0, 0, 0, 10, 0, 0
Very impressed with these settings, great work. DV, HDR10 and 1080p look outstanding. This really brought the picture quality up all around by smoothing the colors out. Anyone who questions the upscaling on this set should take a look at it again with these settings. Just watched some CNN and the flesh tones are very impressive. They had 4 or 5 heads on at once at the different shades of flesh tones...all natural as well...was impressive. Smoothing the colors out really brought out more of the detail. Level of depth was excellent. You could see makeup application on close ups. TMI, but great work.

I use the above on everything, except for sharpness=5 (above that & ringing begins to get introduced on PC text, below that is too blurry)

Backlight settings:
Non HDR, standard viewing, backlight=50 (cuts thru a bright room, I like 35 in a dark room, YVVM, anything above 50 for me is pain inducing)
HDR Blu Ray backlight=90
DV backlight =50

Tip...set judder to 10 for 30Hz material. 😎

Even my wife was super impressed...and she's still miffed I didn't tell her about buying it until the day before.
junglist1319 and thomasfxlt like this.

Last edited by Karnis2; 08-02-2016 at 09:25 PM.
Karnis2 is offline  
post #24741 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
 
mikestr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Official Vizio 2016 P Series Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Recalibrated HDR with great results! This is for the 65 inch. Looks great with DV and HDR10. For my set color looked better at 45 and only minimal adjustments were needed for CMS. 2.0 gamma brings it right in line with the EOTF. Since Thomas's is a little different I recommend only using these if you have a 65. Enjoy! https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...l#post44498841


Just plugged your new settings into my P65, watching Mad Max on my K8500 and they look Great! Can't wait to watch the other 5 movies I picked up at BB. Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
thomasfxlt and ray0414 like this.

Samsung 55JS9000
Vizio P65-C1
mikestr is offline  
post #24742 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 09:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GardenVariety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
It's still not clear to me if having game mode on is hurting picture quality (inputs 1-4).
I leave it on for all content. Looks great to me
GardenVariety is offline  
post #24743 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 09:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 17,013
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 12155
has anyone done any thorough comparisons yet of Dolby Vision on VUDU and the HDR10 versions on disc? any general feelings yet?

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #24744 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 09:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Setting my receiver and X1S/8500 to NO CEC but yes ARC seems to have gotten rid of of the black screening. Will have to see if I still can ARC Atmos from the tablet/panel to the receiver tho.

Buncha savages in this town.... - Clerks

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #24745 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 10:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
has anyone done any thorough comparisons yet of Dolby Vision on VUDU and the HDR10 versions on disc? any general feelings yet?
I feel mp on Netflix looks better than the revenant disk

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Bootnylee is offline  
post #24746 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
has anyone done any thorough comparisons yet of Dolby Vision on VUDU and the HDR10 versions on disc? any general feelings yet?
I've been beating both versions of BvS to death for the last couple of days. TBH I'm still trying to educate myself on exactly what I'm seeing with both formats. It's a good stress test for the P65 exactly because it's a dark movie.

My first very general impressions are, you just can't go wrong with a high bit rate format like disc. Increased detail translates into more depth/ more pop. UHD blu ray has a sheen to it that is really impressive.

That being said, what DV is doing on VUDU is awesome at the bit rates they work with. The big difference for me is how they control the highlights and blasts of bright colors. When you get those highlights, they control the areas around those highlights which improves perceived contrast. HDR in its current state, those same things look a little blurred and smeared. So with DV there's more impact to the image when there needs to be.

My 2 cents. Still need to check out Pacific Rim for DV Golden reference quality. Just not a huge fan of the movie.

When do we get DV encoded UHD discs?

BTW...Flight of the Butterflys UHD disc at Best Buy. Very impressive natural filmed shots, demo material. Awesome color & detail.
Karnis2 is offline  
post #24747 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 10:10 PM
Senior Member
 
BB1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Anyone get HDR working with a P65, XB1S and a Denon X4200W in the chain?

When I try to enable HDMI Color Subsampling on HDMI 1 I get a black screen / no signal. The XB1S says the TV doesn't support HDR... I've performed the download HDR update for the TV.


Really puzzled
BB1111 is offline  
post #24748 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by BB1111 View Post
Anyone get HDR working with a P65, XB1S and a Denon X4200W in the chain?

When I try to enable HDMI Color Subsampling on HDMI 1 I get a black screen / no signal. The XB1S says the TV doesn't support HDR... I've performed the download HDR update for the TV.


Really puzzled
What HDMI cord are you using?

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
steba is offline  
post #24749 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 10:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,346
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1280 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Character_Zero View Post
Vudu. There are some free DV shorts on Vudu.
I can't figure out how to get those to play back in UHD on my P75. I am able to select UHD as a playback option but once the short begins it plays in HDX and I can't switch it to UHD. It's bizarre because I own a few UHD movies on Vudu and they play just fine. Oh well.
Schwa is offline  
post #24750 of 64351 Old 08-02-2016, 10:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,346
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1280 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by chad473 View Post
Those DV shorts on Vudu have not worked for me. Anyone else have that issue? I don't remember the specific error but it never even tried to stream anything.
Yup, same here. I can only get them to play in HDX. All of my purchased UHD/DV content works fine.
Schwa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016/2017 vizio p-series - nice pic(k)! / netflix , best value , D7000 , dolby vision , latest firmware - 6.0.18.1 - previous 5.0.16.1 , Vizio , Vudu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off