Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 1117 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 180303Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #33481 of 37148 Old 04-05-2018, 05:44 PM
Member
 
chukronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Colleyville, TX
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk114 View Post
I would love to get an OLED. Burn in has me a little scared though. Maybe the LG Nano Cell LED or maybe even a Vizio M series.
Burn in is the only reason I haven't jumped on the OLED wagon. If this year's sets have solved that issue, I will probably go that route. If I did get one, I would have to get the best buy warranty, since it covers burn in. If they haven't fixed it, I will lean heavily to the Q8 - with a hope that I could get the Q9.
I had a row of LED's go out on a vizio that I had. My brother-in-law's vizio also had some LED's go out. Seems to be a common problem with vizios.
ThaBEN likes this.
chukronos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33482 of 37148 Old 04-05-2018, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 917 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
It's very useful information though, and thankyou. It could be the version that appears on the websites soon for all we know!



Very difficult because both Samsung and Amazon refuse to flag HDR10+ in their UIs. It's getting to the point that I'm starting to suspect HDR10+ content existing is a sick joke: Amazon's press release claims that they will stream HDR10+, but is vague about which countries (originally it was just America, then someone said UK as well but I can't find a source).

Amazon has a help page (HERE) saying that they will tag HDR10+ content with a HDR10+ logo in the Amazon Prime Video app, but even the supposedly "supported" 2017 Samsung TVs do not show this logo.
How about this?


Sent from my Samsung S8+ using Tapatalk
Terminader is offline  
post #33483 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeep05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: N.C.
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Mods.............can you please redirect all of the comparison posts to their respective areas? Getting real redundant here, sorting through the issues and comparisons with other brands.
jeep05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33484 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeep05 View Post
Mods.............can you please redirect all of the comparison posts to their respective areas? Getting real redundant here, sorting through the issues and comparisons with other brands.
This may be of a little more help to you and your type of questions. I do apologize for posting my experience in a inappropiate thread.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...libration.html

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is offline  
post #33485 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
talk show host's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...libration.html



I’ve been wondering if those settings still work after so many firmware updates.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
talk show host is offline  
post #33486 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm having issues with color ghosting with my xbox one, it's out of warranty is there any fix found for this??
timoflegends is offline  
post #33487 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Edirol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It looks like 1210 may have been available since mid-Feb according to this post:

https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/...ht/true#M29861

- Edirol

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwecker View Post
Hey everyone,

so I just had a Samsung technician here to look at my set because of the screen issues. While checking, he updated my firmware to 1210.9 via USB drive. I asked him about it, he said they received it recently from Samsung, though he doesn't know about the changes.
Edirol is offline  
post #33488 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,935
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6218 Post(s)
Liked: 9038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edirol View Post
It looks like 1210 may have been available since mid-Feb according to this post:
Yes discussed the other day.

It's not on any websites yet, though.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #33489 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 11:32 AM
Member
 
cleeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Is 1210 the update that's supposed to fix HDR Game Mode?

EDIT - Nevermind. I suppose it would help if I actually read the last few pages
mrtickleuk and tonyjspr9 like this.
cleeve is offline  
post #33490 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 12:57 PM
Member
 
djpault's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Since I updated my U.S. KS8500 to firmware version 1209 vis USB from the Korean website. Will it automatically update to a newer firmware version via the network?
djpault is offline  
post #33491 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,935
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6218 Post(s)
Liked: 9038
Quote:
Originally Posted by djpault View Post
Since I updated my U.S. KS8500 to firmware version 1209 vis USB from the Korean website. Will it automatically update to a newer firmware version via the network?
Yes, it doesn't affect future updates. Check you have "auto update" on though.
djpault likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #33492 of 37148 Old 04-06-2018, 08:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,823
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1499 Post(s)
Liked: 1591
Quote:
Originally Posted by djpault View Post
Since I updated my U.S. KS8500 to firmware version 1209 vis USB from the Korean website. Will it automatically update to a newer firmware version via the network?
If a newer update is deemed "mandatory" by Samsung, it won't matter whether auto update is on or off. You'll still get it as long as your TV is connected to the Internet..
Terminader and djpault like this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #33493 of 37148 Old 04-07-2018, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
pg22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Catching up on recent posts regarding Amazon's hide and seek design of their UHD and/or HDR titles, you can use Instant Watcher to easily add such titles to your watchlist. For example, I just added a couple from my laptop and iPhone. They showed up properly in (i.e., HDR/UHD versions) my Watchlist (via built in TV app). Here's a link with UHD + Prime + Movies + TV:

http://instantwatcher.com/a/search?s...uality%5B%5D=4

If the link doesn't work, simply select some (or all) of the options I listed. Not ideal, but I hope that helps. Better than fishing around that UI.
The_Donster and mrtickleuk like this.

Last edited by pg22; 04-07-2018 at 03:39 PM.
pg22 is offline  
post #33494 of 37148 Old 04-07-2018, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg22 View Post
Catching up on recent posts regarding Amazon's hide and seek design of their UHD and/or HDR titles, you can use Instant Watcher to easily add such titles to your watchlist. For example, I just added a couple from my laptop and iPhone. They showed up properly in (i.e., HDR/UHD versions) my Watchlist (via built in TV app). Here's a link with UHD + Prime + Movies + TV:

http://instantwatcher.com/a/search?s...uality%5B%5D=4

If the link doesn't work, simply select some (or all) of the options I listed. Not ideal, but I hope that helps. Better than fishing around that UI.
Nice but only really useful for the US.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #33495 of 37148 Old 04-08-2018, 02:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Having a pixelation issue on Motorcycle racing content. I used the TV all last year watching Motorcycle racing without any problems. At the start of the new racing season (WSBK) I was surprised to find that the TV was displaying a small pixelation area behind the rider and bike during high speed scenes. I had put this down to the Eurosport channel or the WSBK doing a equipment upgrade during the off season that was causing the issue. But it's the same on MotoGP on BT Sport and BSB on Eurosport so all Motorcycle racing. I haven't changed any settings on the TV if anyone has any ideas to what the problem could be?
HenryPaul is offline  
post #33496 of 37148 Old 04-08-2018, 02:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,465
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Unhappy

Does anyone have some direct contact information for getting an issue resolved beyond 1800Samsung?

After my third panel within the last couple of months on a 10 month old 65KS8000 I am fed up with Samsung bringing me refurbished/defective junk panels (it's obvious at this point that is all they have which is not acceptable).

I spent an hour on the phone with 4 different people at Samsung only to be lied to and then told at the end that I had to call back in a few days because my most recent ticket had not finished processing in their system (I called them the day after my most recent defective panel was installed).

If anyone has an American contact that can possibly help me I would greatly appreciate it, I have had to spend too much time trying to communicate my issue with the standard CSR and case management people (over and over) where English is not their first language (which is obviously not their fault, they are simply trying to do a job, I blame Samsung...).

I am going to seek a comparable replacement (another QD display) or a refund, either of which is fair if they cannot properly repair my under warranty display (there is no way I should have to accept a non QD display as that is what I paid for).

Sorry for the rant but this is getting frustrating.

Thank you for any insight, it is much appreciated.


- Jason

HT = Epson 5050ub @133" / Marantz SR6013 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" x2 / CV 15" / Sony x800 / Panasonic UB820 VOTE BLUE
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI - 9900K PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #33497 of 37148 Old 04-08-2018, 02:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,935
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6218 Post(s)
Liked: 9038
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg22 View Post
Catching up on recent posts regarding Amazon's hide and seek design of their UHD and/or HDR titles, you can use Instant Watcher to easily add such titles to your watchlist. For example, I just added a couple from my laptop and iPhone. They showed up properly in (i.e., HDR/UHD versions) my Watchlist (via built in TV app). Here's a link with UHD + Prime + Movies + TV:

http://instantwatcher.com/a/search?s...uality%5B%5D=4

If the link doesn't work, simply select some (or all) of the options I listed. Not ideal, but I hope that helps. Better than fishing around that UI.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Nice but only really useful for the US.
Yes, thankyou for your kind intentions @pg22 but it seems to be an American-only service, despite being on the world-wide web. .
It's been mentioned a few times and I see that they are inviting suggestions on their "about us" page (http://instantwatcher.com/about) so I've dropped them a quick email to ask politely for them to add UK Amazon support. @blenky and other UKers, please would you do the same? Nothing ventured, nothing gained! TIA.
The_Donster likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #33498 of 37148 Old 04-08-2018, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,935
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6218 Post(s)
Liked: 9038
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryPaul View Post
Having a pixelation issue on Motorcycle racing content. I used the TV all last year watching Motorcycle racing without any problems. At the start of the new racing season (WSBK) I was surprised to find that the TV was displaying a small pixelation area behind the rider and bike during high speed scenes. I had put this down to the Eurosport channel or the WSBK doing a equipment upgrade during the off season that was causing the issue. But it's the same on MotoGP on BT Sport and BSB on Eurosport so all Motorcycle racing. I haven't changed any settings on the TV if anyone has any ideas to what the problem could be?
Sounds like it's just too much compression in the broadcast itself, and they are using too low a bitrate for their broadcast.

You could try this. Start with a clean sheet - check that you have disable all the picture processing options which may exacerbate this and create artefacts in the picture which were not in the broadcast, ie:
  • Sharpness: ZERO
  • Digital Clean View: OFF
  • Dynamic Contrast: OFF
  • Auto Motion Plus: OFF

Next, if you did have any of those on (which isn't recommended to be honest apart from perhaps Auto Motion Plus ), then one by one, put them back to how you had them, and play a recording of the problem broadcast to see if the pixelation comes back. This will help you identify if the TV is causing the problem, which one(s). But I believe the root cause is too low a bitrate for fast-moving action from the broadcaster, you can't polish a turd on your TV if they are delivering one to you.
Terminader likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #33499 of 37148 Old 04-08-2018, 05:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Yes, thankyou for your kind intentions @pg22 but it seems to be an American-only service, despite being on the world-wide web. .
It's been mentioned a few times and I see that they are inviting suggestions on their "about us" page (http://instantwatcher.com/about) so I've dropped them a quick email to ask politely for them to add UK Amazon support. @blenky and other UKers, please would you do the same? Nothing ventured, nothing gained! TIA.
Polite request sent asking for UK Amazon and Netflix support.
mrtickleuk likes this.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #33500 of 37148 Old 04-08-2018, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,253
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 2367
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Nice but only really useful for the US.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Yes, thankyou for your kind intentions @pg22 but it seems to be an American-only service, despite being on the world-wide web. .
.

Well this forum is geared towards the US based market. There is a UK version... AVForums. I've also seen talk in this thread about UK only services....

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #33501 of 37148 Old 04-08-2018, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
pg22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Yes, thankyou for your kind intentions @pg22 but it seems to be an American-only service, despite being on the world-wide web. .
It's been mentioned a few times and I see that they are inviting suggestions on their "about us" page (http://instantwatcher.com/about) so I've dropped them a quick email to ask politely for them to add UK Amazon support. @blenky and other UKers, please would you do the same? Nothing ventured, nothing gained! TIA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Polite request sent asking for UK Amazon and Netflix support.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Coming-Amer.../dp/B000058E3L

The_Donster and mrtickleuk like this.
pg22 is offline  
post #33502 of 37148 Old 04-09-2018, 12:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 297
I just found this official Samsung blog:

Which SUHD TV mode is right for you?

This seems to suggest that you should use HDR+ on HDR content to "further enhance your HDR material".
(See the HDR+ section).

I'm 95% sure that this is incorrect, right?

Isn't it so that using HDR+ with HDR content will decrease picture quality and show incorrect colors?
ThaBEN is offline  
post #33503 of 37148 Old 04-09-2018, 03:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 66
HDR+ with HDR content looks quite similar, to me, to the effect you get with Dynamic Contrast: it enhances the colours and ups the brightness, but not in a particularly natural way. I can see some people liking it, though, and it's at least an option.
Garwoofoo is offline  
post #33504 of 37148 Old 04-09-2018, 06:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
HDR GAME MODE PATCH:

All KS/KU owners who are interested in this feature should make sure that their TVs are configured for automatic updates and are connected to the internet for the entire month of April. The long-awaited patch will be included in the next major OTN software broadcast.
Is this still on?
wotudo is offline  
post #33505 of 37148 Old 04-09-2018, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
LanceX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by wotudo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
HDR GAME MODE PATCH:

All KS/KU owners who are interested in this feature should make sure that their TVs are configured for automatic updates and are connected to the internet for the entire month of April. The long-awaited patch will be included in the next major OTN software broadcast.
Is this still on?
Wouldnt count on it but well see. Many upfates are near end of month
wotudo likes this.
LanceX is offline  
post #33506 of 37148 Old 04-09-2018, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
The_Donster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: PACNW
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 884
Nothing really noteworthy, but despite not having cable or antenna set up on mine the Samsung Extra icon popped up on my KS8000 last night when I was about to watch a movie. Had to select a carrier area and uncheck the Extra in the settings menu (Extra button on remote ->General ->uncheck Extra box)
LG4k likes this.

Official Samsung KS8000/8500 Owners Information PDF
Living Room: LG 55LE5500 Sony BDP‑BX510 XBox 360 w/Kinect
Bedroom: VIZIO E470VL VIZIO VSB200 Sound Bar Sony BDP‑BX510 XBox 360
Inner Sanctum: Samsung 65KS8000, Halo XBox One, GoW Xbox 360, Onkyo HT-S5300
The_Donster is offline  
post #33507 of 37148 Old 04-09-2018, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
imrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by chukronos View Post
Burn in is the only reason I haven't jumped on the OLED wagon. If this year's sets have solved that issue,
Never gonna happen, it's the inherent design of OLED. It's a phosphorus design just like CRTs and Plasmas, it'll always have the possibility of burn-in. So you'll have to wait for the next new hot technology and hope that doesn't happen again.
imrf is offline  
post #33508 of 37148 Old 04-09-2018, 02:40 PM
Member
 
hatman5700's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
~1.5 Year Owner of my KS8000 - Annoying issue on getting my Windows 10 PC to recognize 5.1 on the Samsung TV (HDMI from video GTX980TI Video Card direct to the One Box).

Specifically in my Windows Settings (Right Click Sound > Playback Devices > Highlight SAMSUNG Device > Configure), only STEREO appears in the configuration options. It's not allowing for 5.1 passthrough to my receiver.

I can add more details, but just curious if it's possible to have the SAMSUNG recognize 5.1 as a option from Windows Playback Devices menu, and then passthrough 5.1 output to my receiver.

In my former research, seemed like there might be an impassable EDID software block of this capability? Just wondering if someone more intelligent than I knows any direct fix to this issue!

(I currently work around this by outputting 5.1 direct from my PC to Receiver, and then select my DENON receiver as an output device, ignoring the audio portion of my HDMI connection to my TV. This feels ass-backwards and stupid, having to establish separate connections for my Video and Sound; and is annoying to have to swap around the receiver all the time!)
hatman5700 is offline  
post #33509 of 37148 Old 04-09-2018, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatman5700 View Post
~1.5 Year Owner of my KS8000 - Annoying issue on getting my Windows 10 PC to recognize 5.1 on the Samsung TV (HDMI from video GTX980TI Video Card direct to the One Box).

Specifically in my Windows Settings (Right Click Sound > Playback Devices > Highlight SAMSUNG Device > Configure), only STEREO appears in the configuration options. It's not allowing for 5.1 passthrough to my receiver.

I can add more details, but just curious if it's possible to have the SAMSUNG recognize 5.1 as a option from Windows Playback Devices menu, and then passthrough 5.1 output to my receiver.

In my former research, seemed like there might be an impassable EDID software block of this capability? Just wondering if someone more intelligent than I knows any direct fix to this issue!

(I currently work around this by outputting 5.1 direct from my PC to Receiver, and then select my DENON receiver as an output device, ignoring the audio portion of my HDMI connection to my TV. This feels ass-backwards and stupid, having to establish separate connections for my Video and Sound; and is annoying to have to swap around the receiver all the time!)
Always make sure that the ARC option under audio/expert settings is bistream Dolby Digital or DTS (and the TV does not autoswitch!) make sure it is not outputting PCM
dolbymandts is offline  
post #33510 of 37148 Old 04-09-2018, 03:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Artman22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 509 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by imrf View Post
Never gonna happen, it's the inherent design of OLED. It's a phosphorus design just like CRTs and Plasmas, it'll always have the possibility of burn-in. So you'll have to wait for the next new hot technology and hope that doesn't happen again.


I owned a Panasonic plasma for a couple of years and never had any issues with burn in and I gamed a lot on it too. Image retention yes, but would go away after a while. Don’t know if the issue is as bad on OLED.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PSN: Artman22
Xbox live: Artman22
Artman22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off