Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 1169 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179870Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35041 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
I was more of a "Dallas" fan myself 😋
Mmmm...Pam...(salivating)
jconjason likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35042 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck Ebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Frostbite Falls
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 572
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Yes... Get an articulating mount😋

But the issue with off angle viewing is the panel type, and it cannot be improved.
No thanks on the mount. Read too many posts about panel seperation.


Was 99% certain the software would be a non-issue. Must just be having a good eye day. LOL.

_________________
Samsung KS8000 TV, Samsung UBD-K8500 Blu Ray, Roku Streaming Stick+ (4K/HDR) 3810x, Denon AVR-S720W, Directv HR54 and 4K Genie Mini
Chuck Ebby is offline  
post #35043 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1277 Post(s)
Liked: 2118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Ebby View Post
No thanks on the mount. Read too many posts about panel seperation.


Was 99% certain the software would be a non-issue. Must just be having a good eye day. LOL.
I've had mine wall mounted since I bought it, and haven't had an issue with the back panel. To each their own though! 🙂
Terminader likes this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35044 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 04:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4887 Post(s)
Liked: 7185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
Or not read it at all, as many pop-in, pop-out "visitors" do...
Ha, yeah The "drive-by" posters whose time is so much more precious than everyone else's is, that they don't think that the basics like "read the recent posts before posting" apply to them. Ho hum.
Rolls-Royce and Terminader like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #35045 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Ebby View Post
No thanks on the mount. Read too many posts about panel seperation.

What does panel separation have to do with mount type?
cydeweyz is online now  
post #35046 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 08:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas city
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by cydeweyz View Post
What does panel separation have to do with mount type?
I think it is the concern that the actual back cover of the display has a tendency to separate from the chassis.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #35047 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 08:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
I think it is the concern that the actual back cover of the display has a tendency to separate from the chassis.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


I understand that but no one here has said panel separation is the result of them moving their TV. My understanding was the problem was happening without human intervention. I have a full motion mount and have had no separation issues. Pic from install in 2016-
cydeweyz is online now  
post #35048 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 09:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Is there an adapter that will allow me to plug in wired headphones (ATH-M50x) and change the volume? I would like to be able to use them to watch TV and for game consoles.
KuffarisMaximus is offline  
post #35049 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 10:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Troubleshooting - Warranty claim denied via Memory Express in Canada

Hello everyone. Today I write my first post after viewing the forums for years on and off as a visitor

I am having an irritating issue with my KS8000. It was purchased in January 2017 from Canadian retailer Memory Express. Several months ago I noticed a dark shadow around the entire border of the panel. The Shadow can change colour depending on what is being played back on the panel.

I have taken the Tv to Memory Express twice to investigate since I have a 2 year warranty until January 4, 2019. Both times, I manager Rory has denied my warranty claim and said there is nothing wrong with the panel.

My first attempt to have this solved resulted in a samsung rep visit to my house. He inserted a USB key and displayed a grey jpg. The images I posted here are his photos. I edited them by drawing around the border.

The photos I have submitted were taken from several different sources including, cable TV, nvidia shield and OTA live TV.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3518.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	684.9 KB
ID:	2479896   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3517.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	1,021.0 KB
ID:	2479898   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3493.JPG
Views:	201
Size:	391.7 KB
ID:	2479900   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3488.JPG
Views:	180
Size:	381.3 KB
ID:	2479902   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3484.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	731.6 KB
ID:	2479904  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1554.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	1.03 MB
ID:	2479906   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1552.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	802.4 KB
ID:	2479908   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0416.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	2479910   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3520.JPG
Views:	116
Size:	146.8 KB
ID:	2479912  

Samsung 65" KS8000
Marantz SR 7010 5.1 System
KEF q900, q600, q400 q150
Nvidia Shield
doylet8456 is offline  
post #35050 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by doylet8456 View Post
Hello everyone. Today I write my first post after viewing the forums for years on and off as a visitor

I am having an irritating issue with my KS8000. It was purchased in January 2017 from Canadian retailer Memory Express. Several months ago I noticed a dark shadow around the entire border of the panel. The Shadow can change colour depending on what is being played back on the panel.

I have taken the Tv to Memory Express twice to investigate since I have a 2 year warranty until January 4, 2019. Both times, I manager Rory has denied my warranty claim and said there is nothing wrong with the panel.

My first attempt to have this solved resulted in a samsung rep visit to my house. He inserted a USB key and displayed a grey jpg. The images I posted here are his photos. I edited them by drawing around the border.

The photos I have submitted were taken from several different sources including, cable TV, nvidia shield and OTA live TV.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
My apologies, for some reason, some photos uploaded upside down

The one connect has been replaced, I have used numerous different HDMI cables, and reset the TV picture countless times.

I contacted rtings.com who themselves edited one of the photos.

I also failed to mention, the TV cycles through a redish hue on most of the right side of the panel as well. Sometimes it is there, after a picture reset, it fades away, only to come back a few weeks later.
Here is a sample of the red issue. But also notice the shadow border, most prominently on the far right vertical border.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ks8000red.png
Views:	147
Size:	820.3 KB
ID:	2479916  

Samsung 65" KS8000
Marantz SR 7010 5.1 System
KEF q900, q600, q400 q150
Nvidia Shield
doylet8456 is offline  
post #35051 of 36544 Old 11-08-2018, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by doylet8456 View Post
My apologies, for some reason, some photos uploaded upside down

The one connect has been replaced, I have used numerous different HDMI cables, and reset the TV picture countless times.

I contacted rtings.com who themselves edited one of the photos.

I also failed to mention, the TV cycles through a redish hue on most of the right side of the panel as well. Sometimes it is there, after a picture reset, it fades away, only to come back a few weeks later.
Here is a sample of the red issue. But also notice the shadow border, most prominently on the far right vertical border.

Thanks!
Here is a short video showing the constant shadow on the top and right sides.


Samsung 65" KS8000
Marantz SR 7010 5.1 System
KEF q900, q600, q400 q150
Nvidia Shield
doylet8456 is offline  
post #35052 of 36544 Old 11-09-2018, 02:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
I'm really struggling to understand how anyone could miss my large picture about it. You'd have to furiously ignore the thread's last few posts while typing



Yes Mr Tickle. How dare I miss any of your posts. Most remiss of me. I shan't do it again. To Illuminate you on the process of my missing your post, I opened my laptop and typed a post and sent it. My bad.
Adored Black Stray-Cat is offline  
post #35053 of 36544 Old 11-09-2018, 02:27 AM
Member
 
mzan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Has anyone had any experiences in getting this set to run at 120Hz / 1080p when connected to a PC? The panel is supposed to be rated for 120Hz but is it actually possible?
mzan is offline  
post #35054 of 36544 Old 11-09-2018, 10:00 AM
Member
 
Blue_Calx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Ha, yeah The "drive-by" posters whose time is so much more precious than everyone else's is, that they don't think that the basics like "read the recent posts before posting" apply to them. Ho hum.

Think of how much time you've wasted bitching about other posts in this thread though.
Blue_Calx is offline  
post #35055 of 36544 Old 11-09-2018, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by doylet8456 View Post
Hello everyone. Today I write my first post after viewing the forums for years on and off as a visitor

I am having an irritating issue with my KS8000. It was purchased in January 2017 from Canadian retailer Memory Express. Several months ago I noticed a dark shadow around the entire border of the panel. The Shadow can change colour depending on what is being played back on the panel.

I have taken the Tv to Memory Express twice to investigate since I have a 2 year warranty until January 4, 2019. Both times, I manager Rory has denied my warranty claim and said there is nothing wrong with the panel.

My first attempt to have this solved resulted in a samsung rep visit to my house. He inserted a USB key and displayed a grey jpg. The images I posted here are his photos. I edited them by drawing around the border.

The photos I have submitted were taken from several different sources including, cable TV, nvidia shield and OTA live TV.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Hi there and welcome to the forum! I read all three of your posts and I am not clear exactly what kind of feedback you are after. What you have on your TV is not normal. My set does not suffer from this issue and I have had an opportunity to see several KS8000s since they came out, none of which ever exhibited this problem. I am sure others will chime in with the same perspective. The issue you are seeing looks to be some kind of factory defect, perhaps related to how the LED edge-lighting was installed. Did you buy a new, open-box, or refurbished set? If you bought with a credit card, perhaps you can try to force the matter through your CC provider? Memory Express has typically been good at addressing concerns. Did you try a different store? The problem is so obvious that I am not sure how anyone can claim it's not there or it's normal.
dejanh is offline  
post #35056 of 36544 Old 11-10-2018, 02:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejanh View Post
Hi there and welcome to the forum! I read all three of your posts and I am not clear exactly what kind of feedback you are after. What you have on your TV is not normal. My set does not suffer from this issue and I have had an opportunity to see several KS8000s since they came out, none of which ever exhibited this problem. I am sure others will chime in with the same perspective. The issue you are seeing looks to be some kind of factory defect, perhaps related to how the LED edge-lighting was installed. Did you buy a new, open-box, or refurbished set? If you bought with a credit card, perhaps you can try to force the matter through your CC provider? Memory Express has typically been good at addressing concerns. Did you try a different store? The problem is so obvious that I am not sure how anyone can claim it's not there or it's normal.
Thank you for your response!

I'm very excited to hear that someone finally feels there is an issue with my KS8000. After posting to reddit several months ago and being trolled and receiving negative feedback, its refreshing to hear from enthusiasts like yourself.
I am looking for possible technological reasons for the factory defects. Perhaps it is a LED edge lighting issue. I would love to hear more ideas on why the panel displays the shadows and red hue on the right side.

I have contacted Rory again, and he has assured me he will look into the 2 or 3 issues I am having.

I bought brand new and likely with my CC, but Rory is again on board to check it out.
I have asked that I be a part of the test methodology this time around. By selecting the HDR videos and TV settings, I hope to show Rory in person the issue I am having. The first 2 visits have resulted in the store using inferior SD playback options that typically don't even fill the full screen.

I plan on dropping the TV off November 21st and then going back to the store for several hours on the 22nd to demonstrate the issues. I will keep the forum updated on my progress.

Thanks again for giving me the confidence to pursue my warrantable issues.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Marantz SR 7010 5.1 System
KEF q900, q600, q400 q150
Nvidia Shield
doylet8456 is offline  
post #35057 of 36544 Old 11-11-2018, 11:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by doylet8456 View Post
Thanks again for giving me the confidence to pursue my warrantable issues.
No problem. Please keep us posted how things go.
dejanh is offline  
post #35058 of 36544 Old 11-12-2018, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well... ****. My tv is a week within 2 years and tonight it’s flashed a few red horizontal lines at various places on the screen. On the bottom always but not near each other. I wonder if this signals something going very wrong with the panel.

It was on Netflix and once playing a game. Has anyone seen this? It wasn’t a full line, it was spaced out like Morse code.
otlc is online now  
post #35059 of 36544 Old 11-13-2018, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Just a quick story from me as a "cautionary" tale.


On the weekend I lost ARC on my TV, I tried everything, reset the soundbar, reset the TV, unplugged the TV and bar for hours, changed cables. nothing.



When trying to enable anynet+, he TV would display a spinning circle then reboots, after the reboot there was no option for HDMI in the sound options.



I finally found out that the NUC was apparently outputting a signal that the TV did not like, as soon as I unplugged the NUC from the connect box, anynet+ and ARC was working perfectly.



I updated the AMD drivers(RX Vega M GH) for the NUC and that fixed the problem, I wonder if a windows update made some weird changes to the graphics output.



I leave this here just in case anyone has a similar issue.
dolbymandts is offline  
post #35060 of 36544 Old 11-13-2018, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I composed this message, decided to try unplugging and replugging the TV and that seems to have fixed it, so I thought I'd post anyway as a lesson. Even when it doesnt seem sensible, try a hard reboot before giving up!

Tonight, neither the YouTube nor the YouTube TV app will connect on my KS8000. Both worked fine last night, but tonight I get the message "Error: Please wait a moment and try again." Waiting and retrying is no help. Netflix and Amazon Prime both connect fine, so it's not my network. YouTube and YouTube TV connect fine on my phone, so they are not down. My software version is 1230, "update now" tells me I have the latest version. I don't know if TV software updates include app updates. I've turned the TV off and on to no avail.

But unplugging and counting to ten seems to have done the trick.
Evildad is offline  
post #35061 of 36544 Old 11-13-2018, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 968 Post(s)
Liked: 877
I've enabled CAL-NIGHT and CAL-DAY but can't seem to get them to work. Playing in SD they seem to act as normal picture modes. However if I play an HDR source they don't automatically change to HDR settings. Also if I start in CAL-NIGHT or CAL-DAY and start an HDR source I can select another picture mode but cannot then re select either of them.

What gives?

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #35062 of 36544 Old 11-14-2018, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThaBEN View Post
Here you go:


SDR Game Mode

Backlight 9
Brightness 45
Contrast 90
Sharpness 20
Color 49
Tint (G/R) 50/50
Clean Digital View Off
Auto Motion Plus Off
Smart LED Low
Dynamic contrast Off
Color tone Warm2
Whitebalance Default (all at 0)
Gamma 0
Colorspace Auto


Note:
Sharpness should normally be at 0. But since i'm only playing RDR2 at the moment (who isn't) in 4k i set sharpness to 20. This is to counter the "softness issue" on PS4 Pro while playing this game in 4k mode. Same issue applies if you switch your PS4 to output 1080P resolution with super sampling enabled. In 1080P mode without Super Sampling everything looks sharp. Only PS4 Pro has this "softness issue".

More info on that subject:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDGIU88p-EU
I really enjoyed these settings for my SDR Gaming, do you recommend these same settings for Standard tv aswell/non HDR?
ThaBEN likes this.
jbrady0530 is offline  
post #35063 of 36544 Old 11-14-2018, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Was just given the option to update from 1230 to 1231. Trying to decide whether to stay put or not. Any substantial pros/cons with 1231? Thank you very much in advance.
MeganElisabeth is online now  
post #35064 of 36544 Old 11-15-2018, 04:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrady0530 View Post
I really enjoyed these settings for my SDR Gaming, do you recommend these same settings for Standard tv aswell/non HDR?
Thank you! What i do is target around 200 Nits for gaming based on the firmware 1220 measurements by mrtickleuk which he provided in the graph and Excel spreadsheet in THIS post .
So you need to change Backlight if you use another Picture Mode than 'Game' for Standard tv/non HDR. All the other settings remain the same, only backlight changes depending on the picture mode.

This means that i use identical settings when i use the same picture mode on another source. So my choice of settings are picture mode based, and not so much source based (with some minor exceptions like the sharpness setting on my Nintendo Switch).

Also keep in mind that the room where your TV is set-up will have different lighting conditions than mine. More environmental light means you need to target a higher Nits value, lower environmental light means you need to target a lower Nits value.

Last edited by ThaBEN; 11-15-2018 at 05:34 AM.
ThaBEN is offline  
post #35065 of 36544 Old 11-15-2018, 05:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Was just given the option to update from 1230 to 1231. Trying to decide whether to stay put or not. Any substantial pros/cons with 1231? Thank you very much in advance.
Mine just auto updated no problems that I see
kbhenze is offline  
post #35066 of 36544 Old 11-15-2018, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbhenze View Post
Mine just auto updated no problems that I see
Europe (The Netherlands) unfortunately still hasn't received the new firmware update to download via the Samsung website or OTA
ThaBEN is offline  
post #35067 of 36544 Old 11-15-2018, 08:33 AM
Member
 
Take Two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Was just given the option to update from 1230 to 1231. Trying to decide whether to stay put or not. Any substantial pros/cons with 1231? Thank you very much in advance.
Our KS800D also auto-updated to 1231.1 from 1220 yesterday. So far everything seems to be fine, both picture-wise and in keeping our custom settings.

We have the auto-update feature disabled for our TV. However, Samsung can force an update if they deem it to be a "required/necessary" update. Last night the TV triggered a pop-up banner saying that a "A new version was ready to be installed". The TV did this twice while we were watching, and both times I believe we selected the "Later" option. The third banner/notification said "The new software version 1231.1 was installed". So, I'm guessing that this one is one of the "required" updates. Unless, somehow we chose the wrong option along the way.

P.S.-I will also add that after our TV finished updating the new software, I unplugged the TV's power cord, and let it sit for five minutes before I plugged it back in. I do this every time our TV does a software update. This procedure of completely removing the power source seems to help the TV "reboot", so to say. This power "reboot" won't cure all of this TV's ills, but it is a very good first step to take if your TV (or any of its built in apps) starts to act abnormally.
Terminader likes this.

Last edited by Take Two; 11-15-2018 at 08:51 AM.
Take Two is offline  
post #35068 of 36544 Old 11-15-2018, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThaBEN View Post
Thank you! What i do is target around 200 Nits for gaming based on the firmware 1220 measurements by mrtickleuk which he provided in the graph and Excel spreadsheet
So you need to change Backlight if you use another Picture Mode than 'Game' for Standard tv/non HDR. All the other settings remain the same, only backlight changes depending on the picture mode.

This means that i use identical settings when i use the same picture mode on another source. So my choice of settings are picture mode based, and not so much source based (with some minor exceptions like the sharpness setting on my Nintendo Switch).

Also keep in mind that the room where your TV is set-up will have different lighting conditions than mine. More environmental light means you need to target a higher Nits value, lower environmental light means you need to target a lower Nits value.
Hi ThaBEN, thanks for your SDR settings, what are your HDR settings that you use?
Gimpfont is offline  
post #35069 of 36544 Old 11-15-2018, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimpfont View Post
Hi ThaBEN, thanks for your SDR settings, what are your HDR settings that you use?

HDR Mode

Backlight 20
Brightness 45
Contrast 100
Sharpness 0
Color 49
Tint (G/R) 50/50
Clean Digital View Off
Auto Motion Plus Off
Smart LED High
Dynamic contrast Off
Color tone Warm2
Whitebalance Default (all at 0)
Gamma 0
Colorspace Auto


As you can see only 'Contrast' and 'Smart LED' change compared to SDR
ThaBEN is offline  
post #35070 of 36544 Old 11-15-2018, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
frank xbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Was just given the option to update from 1230 to 1231. Trying to decide whether to stay put or not. Any substantial pros/cons with 1231? Thank you very much in advance.
1231 speeds up the smart hub TV app switching and call up and seems a bit more stable , picture is about the same here
Chuck Ebby, Terminader and ThaBEN like this.

Samsung 55KS8000 ,Samsung 55MU6300 . Sony 55X850C ,LG 42LB5400 ,Roku 2
Sony ES 7.1HT AVR modest 5.1 surround with Elac B6 fronts w/other impedance and sensitivity matched surrounds , center and powered sub that work well for what it is.
frank xbe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off