Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 1180 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179940Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35371 of 36643 Old 01-18-2019, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
quattroatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Xfinity Stream Beta

Why is it that the KS8000 does not have the ability to load the Xfinity Stream app? What is the limitation? My son's $259 TCL Roku TV can use the Xfinity app to play all the TV channels we subscribe to.
quattroatl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35372 of 36643 Old 01-18-2019, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by quattroatl View Post
Why is it that the KS8000 does not have the ability to load the Xfinity Stream app? What is the limitation? My son's $259 TCL Roku TV can use the Xfinity app to play all the TV channels we subscribe to.
Do newer Tizen TV's have that app ? If not then Xfinity just doesn't find that platform has enough value for them, or if yes, the 2016 models might be to outdated or different to support it.



Best to ask Xfinity
dolbymandts is offline  
post #35373 of 36643 Old 01-18-2019, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Jtyettis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would like the link to the 1239 firmware as well please. Thanks in advance.
Jtyettis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35374 of 36643 Old 01-18-2019, 03:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by pausuri View Post
Hi! I've got a Samsung smartTv Ks8000 paired with a Samsung HW-J250 soundbar by SoundConnect, approx. both devices are two years old.
I was really happy with the combo until last month when I updated the TV to the latest firmware available (1231.1) Usually when I switched off the TV the soundbar switched off at the same time (before the latest firm) but I now (randomly) when I switch off the TV switches off the soundbar BUT around 5seg later the soundbar switches back on and I need to turn it off with the remote.
Has anyone experienced this random disconnection problem?
I restarted the Tv back to factory settings but no luck
Thanks!
Thanks to @blenky for sharing the 1239 update, I just installed it and apparently it solved the problem with the disconnection of the soundbar by soundconnect!

many thanks!!!
blenky likes this.
pausuri is offline  
post #35375 of 36643 Old 01-18-2019, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bachelor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 140
......so is there a link going around for the 1239 firmware for the usa? If so please share. PM is fine too
Bachelor is offline  
post #35376 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 01:00 AM
Senior Member
 
camd5pt0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by gp-se View Post
I noticed similar behaviour after the latest firmware update too! However for me I use Bias lighting connected via USB, before the update I would turn the tv off, then 5 seconds later the bias lighting/usb powered down.



With the latest firmware (1231) now I turn the TV off, the usb/bias lighting turns off right way, then 5 seconds later it powers back up for about a minute, then turns off.



I know your issue is with the sounder, which I assume is connected via Bluetooth, but I'm experiencing the same issue with USB. I tried unplugging the TV for 10 mins then plugging it back to "reset" but no change.
I would like the link for USA version, thank you

Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

Home theatre: 65" Sony X950G / LG UBKM9 / Sony UBD-X800 / Xbox One X Project Scorpio / PS4 Pro
Denon AVR-X4400H 7.1.4 config. / Plantronics Dolby Atmos RIG 600LX
Pioneer Andrew Jones L,R,C,SL,SR,SBL,SBR / (4) Polk Atrium 5 series TF,TR
SVS PB-2000 w/ SVS SoundPath Subwoofer Isolation System
camd5pt0 is online now  
post #35377 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 03:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by camd5pt0 View Post
I would like the link for USA version, thank you

Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
the link that's been circulating is Euro-based version, no USA ver. + it's not formally released there either.
camd5pt0 likes this.
3dprojector is online now  
post #35378 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 03:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can I get the new update 1239 please?
It works on Ks7000 model? UE?

Enviado do meu SM-T710 através do Tapatalk
stryyker is offline  
post #35379 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by stryyker View Post
Can I get the new update 1239 please?
It works on Ks7000 model? UE?

Enviado do meu SM-T710 através do Tapatalk
PM sent - it works on all EU KS models
stryyker likes this.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #35380 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 07:55 AM
Member
 
djpault's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi maybe this has already been posted I apologize if it has. I live in the USA and have the 65" Curved KS8500 with the latest firmware 1231.1. When I power off the TV using the remote a few seconds later it powers itself back on. I have turned Anynet on and off, unplugged the TV and done a hard restart none of this helps. I have the TV connected to a Denon X3400H Receiver. This just recently started happening. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.
Sbeezy14 likes this.
djpault is offline  
post #35381 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Can I get the new update 1239 please?
Tiparu is offline  
post #35382 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkyYYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 204
This is just a shot in the dark, but try reseating the batteries in your remote control.
djpault likes this.
SkyYYZ is offline  
post #35383 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 09:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question

Im getting trouble with my UE Ks7000, can anyone help me or know this issue?
My Warranty Finished December 2018.
This month im getting Purple Vertical Lines when using Twitch and Youtube Apps from TV. Its not always this happens, happens in few few times. Anyone know if is a Screen problem? HDMI? Cables?
The vertical purple Lines is not fixed, is moving constantly. If i use TV menu or the remote to change volume the Lines keep moving across the screen.

Thanks


Ps: i cant post atm links or images, but if someone could help me in PM for ex.
stryyker is offline  
post #35384 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 10:15 AM
Member
 
djpault's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyYYZ View Post
This is just a shot in the dark, but try reseating the batteries in your remote control.
Thank you for the response. I tried resetting the batteries with no luck. If I turn off fAnynet the problem is fixed. So I am thinking it is a handshake problem with Anynet.
djpault is offline  
post #35385 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can someone send me pm with 1239 firmware?
I have ks8000 EU model. Tnx

Sent from my MI 8 Lite using Tapatalk
grgic84 is offline  
post #35386 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,049
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 2143
Can some please just post the link for the new firmware here so all these posts asking for it can end? Thanks.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #35387 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Can I get the new update 1239 please?
grgic84 likes this.
Tiparu is offline  
post #35388 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 05:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Has anyone else been experiencing massive UI lag on the 1231.1 firmware release in the USA? It's gotten so bad over the last month or so, give or take. Extreme lag especially upon startup going through the hub or the settings. It seems to resolve after the set has been on and active for a fair amount of time, but I don't remember the lag being that bad, even when the 1231 release first came out. Also starting to be a concern that the 1239 update has not been released in north america. Can't think of any reason why it wouldn't be at this point other than they simply don't want to support it stateside. At the two year mark on the tv it looks like it's just about time to move on to something else, but not quite at the breaking point just yet as it gets the job done adequately....most of the time.
pg22 likes this.
AZCZ is offline  
post #35389 of 36643 Old 01-19-2019, 09:24 PM
Newbie
 
weymaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by djpault View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyYYZ View Post
This is just a shot in the dark, but try reseating the batteries in your remote control.
Thank you for the response. I tried resetting the batteries with no luck. If I turn off fAnynet the problem is fixed. So I am thinking it is a handshake problem with Anynet.
I've got a KS9500 and I'm experiencing the same issue. Plus the remote doesn't work with CEC enabled devices like it used to.

It's probably a bug introduced by the latest update.
weymaster is offline  
post #35390 of 36643 Old 01-20-2019, 05:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Can some please just post the link for the new firmware here so all these posts asking for it can end? Thanks.
If anyone wants a link to the firmware feel free to PM me. Lets not clog thread with requests.
Chuck Ebby, Terminader and joe75xp like this.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #35391 of 36643 Old 01-20-2019, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
joe75xp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 334
1239 PAL build

https://www.mediafire.com/file/1c8we...MDEUC.zip/file
Rudy1, Chuck Ebby and jconjason like this.

___________________
:49KS8000 :TX-NR757
joe75xp is offline  
post #35392 of 36643 Old 01-21-2019, 02:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by gp-se View Post
I noticed similar behaviour after the latest firmware update too! However for me I use Bias lighting connected via USB, before the update I would turn the tv off, then 5 seconds later the bias lighting/usb powered down.

With the latest firmware (1231) now I turn the TV off, the usb/bias lighting turns off right way, then 5 seconds later it powers back up for about a minute, then turns off.

I know your issue is with the sounder, which I assume is connected via Bluetooth, but I'm experiencing the same issue with USB. I tried unplugging the TV for 10 mins then plugging it back to "reset" but no change.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
I've had this since June 2016. I got bias lights soon after purchase and they have always done that. TV goes off and they will either go out immediately or take about 10 seconds. Then quite often they will just come on again. Later they will again go off. Never really bothered me and this behaviour has been consistent through all firmware upgrades up to and including 1239.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingingVelvet View Post
Yeah mine does the same stuff and has since day one. Usually the bias light lingers on for 10 seconds or so, but every once in a while instead it shuts off immediately, then comes back on for 10 seconds or so.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Same. Doesnt bother me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Mine too have done this since day one. I used to try to force them off but I have now been trained and just let it happen. They always shut off after a while and maybe it is the "Smart TV" just giving me more time to get out of the room before all goes dark..
Any difference in behavior whether you have it connected to the USB port on the back of the TV vs the USB ports on the Hub? Or even between the 2 USB ports on the Hub, as one is a high-power 1A port while the other is regular USB?

I've always wondered whether the USB port on the back of the TV is also a 1A port, but bias lighting probably doesn't need more than the standard 500mA.
kreativ is offline  
post #35393 of 36643 Old 01-21-2019, 08:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreativ View Post
Any difference in behavior whether you have it connected to the USB port on the back of the TV vs the USB ports on the Hub? Or even between the 2 USB ports on the Hub, as one is a high-power 1A port while the other is regular USB?

I've always wondered whether the USB port on the back of the TV is also a 1A port, but bias lighting probably doesn't need more than the standard 500mA.
As I trouble shot this phenomenon I tried the USB ports on the TV as well as those on the one connect box and they all randomly performed the "Two Step" turn off so as I said in my earlier post I just gave up and chalked it up to a weird phenomenon that would happen from time to time but always ended up with everything shut off as I wanted. Now what may be a difference is that my bias lights are full power 120 volt AC so I obviously can't power them directly from any USB port on the TV. Instead I use the USB voltage to power a small 5 volt reed relay which draws very little power and let the relay control the 120 volt voltage to the bias lights. Perhaps the power draw on the reed relay is so low that at various times there is just enough residual power in the TV circuitry to the USB ports that they energize for a while every now and then when the TV shuts down. Thus the relay is randomly energized at shutdown and this causes the oddball behavior. So various folks may have different shutdown experiences depending on the current draw of whatever they are powering.


The bottom line is that the bias lights always go off eventually and you can tell from the red light on the TV that it powers down immediately and stays off even though the USB voltage does a weird "bump" during turnoff. No harm no foul.
Terminader likes this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #35394 of 36643 Old 01-21-2019, 11:53 AM
Member
 
eBalita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a 65 inch KS800D connected to an XBox S and to a Denon s740h. I use 6 feet, Monoprice HDMI cables: Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cables, ([email protected], HDR, 18Gbps, 28AWG, YUV 4:4:4).
My TV screen intermittently goes black while watching tv, Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, etc.

Anybody have a solution? Please post your audio and video settings of your Xbox and TV if that is relevant. I have my DirecTv box connected to the Xbox also. Xbox is directly connected to the AVR.

Thank you in advance.
eBalita is offline  
post #35395 of 36643 Old 01-21-2019, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZCZ View Post
At the two year mark on the tv it looks like it's just about time to move on to something else, but not quite at the breaking point just yet as it gets the job done adequately....most of the time.
Well, you may be moving on to something newer but not necessarily better. Rtings replied to me that the KS8000 has held up very well and still bests many sets on the market today. I would agree, even in spite of the shortcomings. The high quality of the HDR and Quantum Dots aren't easy to replicate in the price bracket some of us paid for this, and needless to say, many alternate options on the market currently have issues of their own on both ends of the price range. You might sacrifice one thing for another, which is why I'm sticking with this for the time being...this panel (my 3rd) seems pretty solid so I'm glad I had it swapped out under warranty last spring. I'd still hesitate to buy another Samsung panel but it is a strong TV if you have a working one.
Terminader likes this.

Last edited by DM2006RI; 01-21-2019 at 04:21 PM.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #35396 of 36643 Old 01-21-2019, 08:14 PM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Time to walk out of the room without stubbing your toe on the coffee table.

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post


The bottom line is that the bias lights always go off eventually and you can tell from the red light on the TV that it powers down immediately and stays off even though the USB voltage does a weird "bump" during turnoff. No harm no foul.
blenky likes this.

Jason Rosenfeld
Scenic Labs, LLC
Publisher of Spears & Munsil Benchmark UHD HDR Benchmark.
Maker of The ISF-certified MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System
Scenic Labs is offline  
post #35397 of 36643 Old 01-21-2019, 08:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,049
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 2143
Quote:
Originally Posted by eBalita View Post
Anybody have a solution? Please post your audio and video settings of your Xbox and TV if that is relevant. I have my DirecTv box connected to the Xbox also. Xbox is directly connected to the AVR.

Thank you in advance.
Why do you have your DirecTV box running through your Xbox? You have a Denon AVR, you should be running everything through that.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #35398 of 36643 Old 01-22-2019, 10:44 AM
Member
 
eBalita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Why do you have your DirecTV box running through your Xbox? You have a Denon AVR, you should be running everything through that.
Good point. I'll change that. Btw, I replaced the cable leading to ARC with Monoprice HDMI Cable, [email protected], HDR, 18Gbps, 28AWG, YUV 4:4:4. So far so good!
eBalita is offline  
post #35399 of 36643 Old 01-22-2019, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scenic Labs View Post
Time to walk out of the room without stubbing your toe on the coffee table.
I play that game. I watch TV with just the bias lights on. So when I turn off my TV its a matter of will I reach the room light switch before I'm plunged into darkness.

However it sometimes goes off immediately leaving me stranded - but will always come back on after a few seconds (to then go off a few minutes later!)

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #35400 of 36643 Old 01-22-2019, 02:51 PM
Member
 
pelenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by quattroatl View Post
Why is it that the KS8000 does not have the ability to load the Xfinity Stream app? What is the limitation? My son's $259 TCL Roku TV can use the Xfinity app to play all the TV channels we subscribe to.

I was disappointed when they didn't release the Direct TV now app for our tv and now they aren't releasing the Apple Itunes app either. Still, the tv has a fantastic picture and I haven't encountered the myriad of problems that so many others on this forum have (knock on wood). I do have a cheap Roku hoked up to it to watch Direct Tv Now and maybe I'll get an Apple TV for it to access the Itunes stuff. Still, not regretting this purchase. Great TV,
blenky likes this.
pelenor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off