Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 1219 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179941Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #36541 of 36645 Old 10-18-2019, 05:48 PM
Member
 
LSpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sicklerville, NJ
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by calguy99 View Post
Hi, I wanted to install the PBS Video on my UN65KS8000FXZA. I did a search through the APPS icon on the tv for PBS but the only PBS app available is the PBS for kids app. So I downloaded the PBS Video .apk file from google play and put it on a USB drive. I put the USB drive in the input but only movie files on the drive show up. I don't see a way to access the .apk file to try to install it. It may not be possible to install the app on the tv. Just checking to see if anyone else has bee able to do this. Thanks.
Won't work.. TV is not an Android TV.
LSpera is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36542 of 36645 Old 10-18-2019, 06:03 PM
Member
 
calguy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambria, CA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSpera View Post
Won't work.. TV is not an Android TV.
Thanks, Is there a place to download Samsung apps. I'm afraid my TV is not compatible with more recent Samsung apps.
calguy99 is offline  
post #36543 of 36645 Old 10-19-2019, 06:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSpera View Post
Won't work.. TV is not an Android TV.
As far as I know only Samsung can download apps to this TV so you have to wait on them to do it and they really don't support this old model any longer.
[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36544 of 36645 Old 10-20-2019, 06:35 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Samsung has there own Operating software called TIZEN I believe.

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is online now  
post #36545 of 36645 Old 10-21-2019, 12:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi guys!

So, I bought my 55KS8500 at Visions (Canada) in 2016 when it came out and I was in love with it. Enjoyed it and no issues, it was perfect until a couple of days ago. For some reason, the TV just will not function properly. You can't use the one remote because every time you press anything on it, it'll just say "UNAVAILABLE" on the TV it self. You'll just see blinking red light on it for a while and it stops. The only way I can control the TV is through my PVR's (Shaw's BlueSky) remote controller. And, what's weird is that the TV will just come on by itself after a couple of minutes from being turned off. It is usable but through my PVR. I can't access the smart hub at all. I tried re-pairing the remote, replaced batteries, nothing, it'll just say, UNAVAILABLE still. I even tried pairing my other TV's remote which is a 55Q8FN with my 55KS8500, same thing, "UNAVAILABLE" still on the screen.

I don't see any issues with the outlet since there are couple of appliances plugged in with no problems. We just can't leave the TV plugged in after use since it restarts by itself. I don't know what's going on. I hope somebody here can at least shed some light on what might be happening with TV.

I did buy an extended warranty from Visions and I'm just not sure if they can fix or replace it or whatever, I don't know. I'm just upset. I really love this TV.

All your inputs will help a lot.

Thanks!
jecsb96 is offline  
post #36546 of 36645 Old 10-21-2019, 06:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,213
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1174 Post(s)
Liked: 1256
Could be the remote itself, could be the Bluetooth receiver in the TV. Time for a service call.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #36547 of 36645 Old 10-21-2019, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
h3ro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Has anyone run into an issue where the System Firmware Update/"Check for Update" option is greyed out and 'not available'. Any way to correct this? I'm on 1240.
h3ro is offline  
post #36548 of 36645 Old 10-21-2019, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by h3ro View Post
Has anyone run into an issue where the System Firmware Update/"Check for Update" option is greyed out and 'not available'. Any way to correct this? I'm on 1240.
Did you try a hard reset?
3dprojector is online now  
post #36549 of 36645 Old 10-21-2019, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by h3ro View Post
Has anyone run into an issue where the System Firmware Update/"Check for Update" option is greyed out and 'not available'. Any way to correct this? I'm on 1240.
Normally this only happens when ur not in native "TV" MODE. e.g. in Netflix, YouTube or Prime this function is not available.

Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A5000 mit Tapatalk
MasterJam is online now  
post #36550 of 36645 Old 10-21-2019, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jecsb96 View Post
Hi guys!

So, I bought my 55KS8500 at Visions (Canada) in 2016 when it came out and I was in love with it. Enjoyed it and no issues, it was perfect until a couple of days ago. For some reason, the TV just will not function properly. You can't use the one remote because every time you press anything on it, it'll just say "UNAVAILABLE" on the TV it self. You'll just see blinking red light on it for a while and it stops. The only way I can control the TV is through my PVR's (Shaw's BlueSky) remote controller. And, what's weird is that the TV will just come on by itself after a couple of minutes from being turned off. It is usable but through my PVR. I can't access the smart hub at all. I tried re-pairing the remote, replaced batteries, nothing, it'll just say, UNAVAILABLE still. I even tried pairing my other TV's remote which is a 55Q8FN with my 55KS8500, same thing, "UNAVAILABLE" still on the screen.

I don't see any issues with the outlet since there are couple of appliances plugged in with no problems. We just can't leave the TV plugged in after use since it restarts by itself. I don't know what's going on. I hope somebody here can at least shed some light on what might be happening with TV.

I did buy an extended warranty from Visions and I'm just not sure if they can fix or replace it or whatever, I don't know. I'm just upset. I really love this TV.

All your inputs will help a lot.

Thanks!
as said before check to see if it's the actual remote that is bust .. if the shaw remote works, that seems very likely. I am using my harmony elite for years .. don't even know where my original remote is

The great thing about the visions warranty is, the money back (as giftcard) when you don't use the warranty, so make sure you don't waste the 400 or 500 dollar giftcard on a simple remote replacement
dolbymandts is offline  
post #36551 of 36645 Old 10-21-2019, 08:13 PM
Member
 
MelonSplitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Bernardino, CA.
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a successor to the KS8000?
MelonSplitter is offline  
post #36552 of 36645 Old 10-22-2019, 12:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolbymandts View Post
as said before check to see if it's the actual remote that is bust .. if the shaw remote works, that seems very likely. I am using my harmony elite for years .. don't even know where my original remote is

The great thing about the visions warranty is, the money back (as giftcard) when you don't use the warranty, so make sure you don't waste the 400 or 500 dollar giftcard on a simple remote replacement
Could very well be but I've taken the batteries out of the remote and the TV still comes on by itself. I'll just call Visions and have them figure this out.

Thanks, guys!
jecsb96 is offline  
post #36553 of 36645 Old 10-22-2019, 12:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
Could be the remote itself, could be the Bluetooth receiver in the TV. Time for a service call.
Hey thanks for replying.

I don't know, took out the batteries from the remote and tv still boots up on its own. Yep, service call it is.
Rolls-Royce likes this.
jecsb96 is offline  
post #36554 of 36645 Old 10-22-2019, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelonSplitter View Post
Is there a successor to the KS8000?



there was one pretty much every year (entry level low zone quantum dot)



2017 Q7F
2018 Q6/7FN
2019 Q70R


as Samsung broadened it QLED line each year a bit , it's hard to find an exact successor
dolbymandts is offline  
post #36555 of 36645 Old 10-22-2019, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jecsb96 View Post
Hey thanks for replying.

I don't know, took out the batteries from the remote and tv still boots up on its own. Yep, service call it is.

Let us know how it went, if they can't fix it .. wonder what equivalent model they would push on you (insist on quantum dot with local dimming)
dolbymandts is offline  
post #36556 of 36645 Old 10-23-2019, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck Ebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Frostbite Falls
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 581
Started using the built in Tizen FUBO app. So far pleased with the results. It lacks some of the features on delivery systems that it has been on for a longer time (like Fire TV abd Roku) but the sheer convenience of just pulling it up and controlling it using the Samsung remote is good. The only complaint I have so far is it takes about 10 seconds after you go to the app for it to resolve to it's best quality. I also cannot figure out why sometimes the ff/rw feature is in 15 second intervals and sometimes just straight (number)x.
Terminader likes this.

_________________
Samsung KS8000 TV, Samsung UBD-K8500 Blu Ray, Roku Streaming Stick+ (4K/HDR) 3810x, Denon AVR-S720W, Directv HR54 and 4K Genie Mini
Chuck Ebby is offline  
post #36557 of 36645 Old 10-24-2019, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Contrast Benchmark Test

When I play a Contrast Benchmark video (mp4) from the TV's internal media player, it works fine and it shows that only a few white levels are clipped by the TV (the highest numbers).

But when I play the same video from the PS4, almost all the white levels are clipped, even though the input has exactly the same picture settings as when I'm on the internal media player...

Anybody knows what could be causing this clipping on the test pattern when played from the ps4?

here is a pic of the test video
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5920.PNG
Views:	55
Size:	430.8 KB
ID:	2631614  
kazuyalass is offline  
post #36558 of 36645 Old 10-25-2019, 02:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazuyalass View Post
When I play a Contrast Benchmark video (mp4) from the TV's internal media player, it works fine and it shows that only a few white levels are clipped by the TV (the highest numbers).

But when I play the same video from the PS4, almost all the white levels are clipped, even though the input has exactly the same picture settings as when I'm on the internal media player...

Anybody knows what could be causing this clipping on the test pattern when played from the ps4?

here is a pic of the test video
Sounds like you might have your RGB range and HDMI black level mismatched. Set it to Low on the PS4 and Limited on the TV and see if it resolves the problem.
Garwoofoo is offline  
post #36559 of 36645 Old 10-25-2019, 03:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garwoofoo View Post
Sounds like you might have your RGB range and HDMI black level mismatched. Set it to Low on the PS4 and Limited on the TV and see if it resolves the problem.
Tried that, didn't do anything...
kazuyalass is offline  
post #36560 of 36645 Old 10-25-2019, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazuyalass View Post
When I play a Contrast Benchmark video (mp4) from the TV's internal media player, it works fine and it shows that only a few white levels are clipped by the TV (the highest numbers).

But when I play the same video from the PS4, almost all the white levels are clipped, even though the input has exactly the same picture settings as when I'm on the internal media player...

Anybody knows what could be causing this clipping on the test pattern when played from the ps4?

here is a pic of the test video
As mentioned before in this thread, the internal media player behaves differently compared to devices connected via HDMI while using the same Picture mode and settings. You need to calibrate the picture settings for the internal media player independently from the HDMI connected devices for the best results. That goes for each separate HDMI input as well.

Also, why are you using a MP4 video for a static test pattern if i may ask?
MP4 is a compressed video format. When using a video to calibrate your picture quality, make sure that the video is in an uncompressed format.

Since the test pattern is static, it's better to just use an image file. You can find and download the contrast test patterns (as well as many others) over here:
http://spearsandmunsil.com/portfolio...ast-control-2/

Save it on a USB stick and plug it into a USB port on your TV and PS4 so you can compare the image. Or just open that link with your TV internet browser and PS4 internet browser.

Last edited by ThaBEN; 10-25-2019 at 07:28 AM.
ThaBEN is offline  
post #36561 of 36645 Old 10-28-2019, 06:39 PM
Newbie
 
atkirkp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Over on his YouTube channel Quantum did a surprisingly positive review of the 1241.5 firmware update. Which has me confused since he is in the U.S. and I can not update to 1241.5 thru the TV nor can I download it from Samsungs US (or Canada or Mexico) website....they still only have 1240 available. It appears legit cause he goes into the menu and can see the 1241 as his current version.

He says it auto updated for him, but it seems odd that it "auto updated" for a YouTube TV reviewer and nobody else? Still I find it hard to see Samsung sending HIM an early edition of the firm. Sure he's anti OLED, but he tends to be all over the place with LEDs (hates a model one week, loves it the next).

Anyway at least it appears that 1241.5 is on it's way for us in North America. But if anyone on this forum knows where us KS8000 owners can download the U.S. version of 1241.5 firmware please share a link.
LSpera, Chuck Ebby and Kai Winters like this.
atkirkp is offline  
post #36562 of 36645 Old 10-29-2019, 03:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 58
That guy's settings are... unusual. Natural settings, colour 67, motion plus set to 10/10. He doesn't say whether he's using HDR or not but he's using backlight 18 and recommending Smart LED be set to off. I doubt many people on this forum are running anything like that. Glad he's happy with his TV but I don't think I'll be following his recommendations.

For what it's worth I've been running 1241 for a while and I haven't noticed anything different really from the previous firmware. Nothing's broken but nothing's really changed either. Fairly normal for a Samsung update for me.
hdtv00, bjorge, Terminader and 2 others like this.
Garwoofoo is offline  
post #36563 of 36645 Old 10-29-2019, 06:55 AM
Newbie
 
afinemetsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Saw a few posts with the vertical line issue. Has anyone ever found a solution? TV died after about 3 years. The picture was initially very over saturated (lasted about 10-20 minutes like this) and then went to the lines you see here. Willing to attempt a repair if it's just a connection or board but a dead panel is not worth it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191028_131230 (1).jpg
Views:	65
Size:	1.36 MB
ID:	2633578  
afinemetsfan is offline  
post #36564 of 36645 Old 10-29-2019, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 186
^^^
have you tried to change your HDMI cable!
just to eliminate it from the troubleshooting.
3dprojector is online now  
post #36565 of 36645 Old 10-29-2019, 06:48 PM
Newbie
 
afinemetsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by afinemetsfan View Post
Saw a few posts with the vertical line issue. Has anyone ever found a solution? TV died after about 3 years. The picture was initially very over saturated (lasted about 10-20 minutes like this) and then went to the lines you see here. Willing to attempt a repair if it's just a connection or board but a dead panel is not worth it.

Update! Samsung is fixing this issue out of warranty at no cost given how widespread it is is. If you also end with the issue. Best course of action seems to be to make a post asking for help in the samsung forum and mod will hook you up with free repair as long as you ask nicely.
afinemetsfan is offline  
post #36566 of 36645 Old 10-29-2019, 11:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
Love that they continue to support this awesome TV model!!!
i just gotten the update at 1:15am 10/30/19 is there a way i could get a link to that website and i have it set auto update and i live in USA my model is UN40KU6300 with the1241.5 update
ashtonhunt29YTCh is offline  
post #36567 of 36645 Old 10-30-2019, 01:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just checked and have gotten the 1241.5 update for my KS8000 OTA. I'm in SoCal. Things are looking great so far. It still doesn't look like it's on the Samsung website though.
Inspector_Detector is offline  
post #36568 of 36645 Old 10-30-2019, 07:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck Ebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Frostbite Falls
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by atkirkp View Post
Over on his YouTube channel Quantum did a surprisingly positive review of the 1241.5 firmware update. Which has me confused since he is in the U.S. and I can not update to 1241.5 thru the TV nor can I download it from Samsungs US (or Canada or Mexico) website....they still only have 1240 available. It appears legit cause he goes into the menu and can see the 1241 as his current version.

He says it auto updated for him, but it seems odd that it "auto updated" for a YouTube TV reviewer and nobody else? Still I find it hard to see Samsung sending HIM an early edition of the firm. Sure he's anti OLED, but he tends to be all over the place with LEDs (hates a model one week, loves it the next).

Anyway at least it appears that 1241.5 is on it's way for us in North America. But if anyone on this forum knows where us KS8000 owners can download the U.S. version of 1241.5 firmware please share a link.
I just now updated by forcing the download in settings. I think this was the first time I ran a download that way since I bought the set. I am in Minnesota.
Terminader and FarmerBob like this.

_________________
Samsung KS8000 TV, Samsung UBD-K8500 Blu Ray, Roku Streaming Stick+ (4K/HDR) 3810x, Denon AVR-S720W, Directv HR54 and 4K Genie Mini
Chuck Ebby is offline  
post #36569 of 36645 Old 10-30-2019, 11:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inspector_Detector View Post
I just checked and have gotten the 1241.5 update for my KS8000 OTA. I'm in SoCal. Things are looking great so far. It still doesn't look like it's on the Samsung website though.
is it true via OTA I update my model KS7500 = KS8500 I live in Mexico, how strange that it did not appear on the page yet? Thank you!
Dreakert is offline  
post #36570 of 36645 Old 10-30-2019, 12:56 PM
Member
 
jasn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Outer Cape, MA
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm struggling to find past info on this so I'll risk being redundant...

I've added the Amazon Music app to my KS8000 since AM now offers HD and UHD audio via Prime and wondering if the specs on either the app or the TV Audio output is bandwidth limited? I'm liking what I hear. I'm even getting 5.1 output for certain tracks like R.E.M.s Automatic for the People. I'm showing DTS on my Marantz SR7010 AVR too.

Not sure how to gauge whether I can also get an UHD feed.

Thanks!
jasn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off