Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 1231 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 180209Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #36901 of 37007 Old 01-26-2020, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by sshuttari View Post
Wait for real? The HDR on my tv looks so dark. What am I doing wrong? Is there a good setting for HDR to look bright?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I've been trying a bunch of settings recently and these are making my set look as good as I've ever seen it produce. Even the wife passed comment and asked what happened to the TV!

Natural Mode:
Back light 18
Brightness 43
Contrast 100
Sharpness 15
Colour 50
Tint 50/50
Digital clean Off
Auto motion Custom but all zero
Smart led High
Dynamic Contrast High
Colour tone Warm 1
sshuttari likes this.
darsuke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36902 of 37007 Old 01-26-2020, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by sshuttari View Post
No it’s on high. I’m googling calibration settings for my TV. Probably should have done this years ago


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


I’ve had no issues with HDR brightness on my KS8000. When watching HDR content make sure to leave contrast and backlight defaulted to Max. These settings are specific to when HDR content is detected. Additionally make sure Smart LED is on high and as stated earlier in the thread Dynamic Contrast on Medium/High should help. Also, color space should be set to Auto and HDMI UHD Color should be enabled for any input that has a 4K HDR source device. If you have a receiver that passes 4K HDR you will also want to look for and enable an option called 4K enhanced signal format. Both Denon and Sony receivers I’ve used have required enabling that setting. Finally make sure all of your hdmi cables are premium certified if you still have issues.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Terminader and blenky like this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500/ZA | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #36903 of 37007 Old 01-26-2020, 10:41 AM
Member
 
dante`afk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How does one mirror an iPhone with the KS8000?

65" KS8000
Onkyo HT-S5800
Beyerdynamics DT 990 Pro
PS4 Pro
Xbox One S
dante`afk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36904 of 37007 Old 01-26-2020, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThaBEN View Post
You can always increase backlight to suit your lighting environment/personal taste. Increasing or decreasing the backlight does not influence the other settings in any negative way
the SDR HDR+ TV apps setting are really amazing with NETFLIX i did not see such quality from this TV or any other TV before , frankly speaking

even my 8 years old child commented that why the picture looks so real & lifelike like this and noticed it changed something in the TV

, we just need a very good settings like this for the HDR sources & HDR games specially , something that differs from the normal HDR settings mentioned on the PDF files
ThaBEN likes this.
Mohamad G is offline  
post #36905 of 37007 Old 01-26-2020, 10:02 PM
Member
 
multicore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by sshuttari View Post
Wait for real? The HDR on my tv looks so dark. What am I doing wrong? Is there a good setting for HDR to look bright?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Make sure you don't have HDR+ turned on in 'special viewing mode'. I know that often significantly dulls the picture with a true HDR feed on my set.
sshuttari likes this.
multicore is offline  
post #36906 of 37007 Old 01-27-2020, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante`afk View Post
How does one mirror an iPhone with the KS8000?

Normally via Airplay, no idea if the KS8000 has it (I don't have apple products to test), screen mirror from my Samsung S10 works fine, including HDR video playback
dolbymandts is offline  
post #36907 of 37007 Old 01-29-2020, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohamad G View Post
the SDR HDR+ TV apps setting are really amazing with NETFLIX i did not see such quality from this TV or any other TV before , frankly speaking
I tried these settings and they looked great but for some reason my tv changes the settings for my hdmi inputs when I change my app settings and vice versa. I've got everything set to current source only so I have no idea why it does that.
Faringe Mzungu is offline  
post #36908 of 37007 Old 01-31-2020, 10:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,393
Mentioned: 248 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4137 Post(s)
Liked: 3279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faringe Mzungu View Post
I tried these settings and they looked great but for some reason my tv changes the settings for my hdmi inputs when I change my app settings and vice versa. I've got everything set to current source only so I have no idea why it does that.
Not quite sure what you're saying here, but App settings and USB Input settings are shared, so must be calibrated separately from the HDMI settings.

If on USB Input, if not running a file, settings shown, will be the HDMI settings.
To calibrate, read and/or change settings for the APP/USB, the APP or USB must be running.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #36909 of 37007 Old 02-01-2020, 01:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can someone tell me what's the best way to watch a movie from an external hard drive 3.0. I have downloaded some 4k vids from youtube in 4k quality but when I plug the external drive to the connect box and play the vid the colors are a lot worse the streaming them from youtube. I download a lot of movies in 4K and I think it's the same thing with the movies too. Should I buy a 4K player and plug the hard drive to that or what should I do? Thnx
PS: The TV is a Samsung Q950R 8K and I come from a KS85000
tooony89 is offline  
post #36910 of 37007 Old 02-01-2020, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooony89 View Post
Can someone tell me what's the best way to watch a movie from an external hard drive 3.0. I have downloaded some 4k vids from youtube in 4k quality but when I plug the external drive to the connect box and play the vid the colors are a lot worse the streaming them from youtube. I download a lot of movies in 4K and I think it's the same thing with the movies too. Should I buy a 4K player and plug the hard drive to that or what should I do? Thnx
PS: The TV is a Samsung Q950R 8K and I come from a KS85000
Have you tried download 4K movies from a different source than YouTube?
I watch a lot of downloaded 4K HDR content from my 2tb USB 3.0 external hard drive without any problems. Although, i have the external hard drive plugged into the USB port on the backside of the TV, next to the internet port and next to the port where you plug in your connect box. Not into the connect box itself.
ThaBEN is offline  
post #36911 of 37007 Old 02-01-2020, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,393
Mentioned: 248 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4137 Post(s)
Liked: 3279
For best performance, make sure to plug into the Blue Insert (3.0) USB port.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #36912 of 37007 Old 02-01-2020, 07:17 PM
Member
 
jnashtoshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: md
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could use some help...

I don't seem to be able to update my firmware - I've tried several USB sticks, and all the USB ports to no avail.

I'm on 1220 and nothing is showing OTA

(One note too, I can't 'see' anything on the USB drive from when I select the source to USB - it just says No Content Found) (I put a few folders, mp3s, mp4s, just to test)

Another issue I've noticed is I can't turn off the Auto Update there either, I select OFF, but it just stays on ON
- same with a few other settings in the menu, such as Autorun SmartHub / Autrun Last App / Auto Protection Time / Smart Security / Anynet+

Seem as if they are locked or something.

Although I don't use the TV speakers, I can't change the volume either - the volume numbers come up, but will not change.

Everything else working fine, strange...

I've reset a few times, and left unplugged for a day too.

Any ideas?

Last edited by jnashtoshiba; 02-01-2020 at 07:41 PM.
jnashtoshiba is offline  
post #36913 of 37007 Old 02-02-2020, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThaBEN View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooony89 View Post
Can someone tell me what's the best way to watch a movie from an external hard drive 3.0. I have downloaded some 4k vids from youtube in 4k quality but when I plug the external drive to the connect box and play the vid the colors are a lot worse the streaming them from youtube. I download a lot of movies in 4K and I think it's the same thing with the movies too. Should I buy a 4K player and plug the hard drive to that or what should I do? Thnx
PS: The TV is a Samsung Q950R 8K and I come from a KS85000
Have you tried download 4K movies from a different source than YouTube?
I watch a lot of downloaded 4K HDR content from my 2tb USB 3.0 external hard drive without any problems. Although, i have the external hard drive plugged into the USB port on the backside of the TV, next to the internet port and next to the port where you plug in your connect box. Not into the connect box itself.
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
For best performance, make sure to plug into the Blue Insert (3.0) USB port.
What he means is that colors are washed out in hdr compared to the streaming.
It’s a samsung « thing » (because i also have an oled without this problem), and the best solution is a multimedia player or an oppo ( a Zappiti may be a good way to go).
bassem77 is offline  
post #36914 of 37007 Old 02-02-2020, 10:55 AM
Member
 
atkirkp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnashtoshiba View Post
Could use some help...

I don't seem to be able to update my firmware - I've tried several USB sticks, and all the USB ports to no avail.

I'm on 1220 and nothing is showing OTA

(One note too, I can't 'see' anything on the USB drive from when I select the source to USB - it just says No Content Found) (I put a few folders, mp3s, mp4s, just to test)

Another issue I've noticed is I can't turn off the Auto Update there either, I select OFF, but it just stays on ON
- same with a few other settings in the menu, such as Autorun SmartHub / Autrun Last App / Auto Protection Time / Smart Security / Anynet+

Seem as if they are locked or something.

Although I don't use the TV speakers, I can't change the volume either - the volume numbers come up, but will not change.

Everything else working fine, strange...

I've reset a few times, and left unplugged for a day too.

Any ideas?
You have a lot going on there. Have you tried to reset the TV? If so and it didn't fix the issue then I'd go into Setting>Support>Request Support and see what they say. Also turn Remote Management ON.
atkirkp is offline  
post #36915 of 37007 Old 02-02-2020, 12:59 PM
Member
 
jnashtoshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: md
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by atkirkp View Post
You have a lot going on there. Have you tried to reset the TV? If so and it didn't fix the issue then I'd go into Setting>Support>Request Support and see what they say. Also turn Remote Management ON.
Yes, I've tried resetting, several times. Funny thing is, I can't turn on Remote Management either

Last edited by jnashtoshiba; 02-03-2020 at 10:48 AM.
jnashtoshiba is offline  
post #36916 of 37007 Old 02-03-2020, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassem77 View Post
What he means is that colors are washed out in hdr compared to the streaming.
It’s a samsung "thing" (because i also have an oled without this problem), and the best solution is a multimedia player or an oppo ( a Zappiti may be a good way to go).

I watch HDR via DLNA and Plex right on the KS8000, no washed out picture
dolbymandts is offline  
post #36917 of 37007 Old 02-03-2020, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Via usb colors in hdr are washed out.
With some generic android players also it’s the case, not with plex.
bassem77 is offline  
post #36918 of 37007 Old 02-05-2020, 01:05 PM
Member
 
jnashtoshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: md
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnashtoshiba
Could use some help...

I don't seem to be able to update my firmware - I've tried several USB sticks, and all the USB ports to no avail.

I'm on 1220 and nothing is showing OTA

(One note too, I can't 'see' anything on the USB drive from when I select the source to USB - it just says No Content Found) (I put a few folders, mp3s, mp4s, just to test)

Another issue I've noticed is I can't turn off the Auto Update there either, I select OFF, but it just stays on ON
- same with a few other settings in the menu, such as Autorun SmartHub / Autrun Last App / Auto Protection Time / Smart Security / Anynet+

Seem as if they are locked or something.

Although I don't use the TV speakers, I can't change the volume either - the volume numbers come up, but will not change.

Everything else working fine, strange...

I've reset a few times, and left unplugged for a day too.

Any ideas?
Quote:
Originally Posted by atkirkp
You have a lot going on there. Have you tried to reset the TV? If so and it didn't fix the issue then I'd go into Setting>Support>Request Support and see what they say. Also turn Remote Management ON.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnashtoshiba View Post
Yes, I've tried resetting, several times. Funny thing is, I can't turn on Remote Management either
I reset via support/self diag/reset

is this correct? It doesn't seem to 'factory' reset - just takes a moment after hitting 0000, then resets

However, none of my settings have changed - so I don't think it's doing a factory reset - I've also left it unplugged for an hour for fun too.

Any guidance on a FULL reset? Any specifics to forcing an update via USB? (particularly files and location on the USB stick? I've unzipped and placed the 'image' folder into the USB root with no other folders or files - I've also tried just placing the upgrade file in to the root folder as well)

Thanks!

Last edited by jnashtoshiba; 02-05-2020 at 01:12 PM.
jnashtoshiba is offline  
post #36919 of 37007 Old 02-06-2020, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximuslcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Trying to get to FL
Posts: 2,149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Anyone here have issues with the Showtime app? All of my other apps work and load properly, the showtime app will work for a week or two and then won't load so I do a "soft reset" and then it works fine for another couple weeks. Just curious if anyone else has this issue.
I don't want to do a full smart hub reset....good grief logging back in to all that stuff

I work to live and live for the beach.
Amateur HT enthusiast.
Samsung 65KS8500/Onkyo 656 AVR, Dolby 5.1.2 Atmos, SVS primes,
Sharp Quatron 3D 60" Onkyo 705 Bonus room
Sharp Quatron 60" Bedroom
maximuslcd is offline  
post #36920 of 37007 Old 02-07-2020, 03:54 PM
Member
 
justpassedu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Hey all , it’s been awhile since I used my ks8000. I am wondering when playing HDR material will it work in dynamic mode ? If I remember reading way back it only worked in movie mode or natural . It seems very dim when using movie or natural . Bumping the settings to cool in movie helps a bit and in our house we happen to like a brighter picture and more vibrant colors even if it’s not how it’s intended to be watched . Can someone help . Ty
justpassedu is offline  
post #36921 of 37007 Old 02-07-2020, 07:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Dynamic contrast on or off for HDR movies? I'm using movie mode
zulix is offline  
post #36922 of 37007 Old 02-07-2020, 09:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 917 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
Hey all , it’s been awhile since I used my ks8000. I am wondering when playing HDR material will it work in dynamic mode ? If I remember reading way back it only worked in movie mode or natural . It seems very dim when using movie or natural . Bumping the settings to cool in movie helps a bit and in our house we happen to like a brighter picture and more vibrant colors even if it’s not how it’s intended to be watched . Can someone help . Ty
See the first post and the PDF. Movie mode for sure. I think Standard mode also supports HDR.
musicman0725 likes this.
Terminader is online now  
post #36923 of 37007 Old 02-07-2020, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by zulix View Post
Dynamic contrast on or off for HDR movies? I'm using movie mode

Dynamic contrast on for HDR set to medium. Also Smart LED set to high.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500/ZA | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #36924 of 37007 Old 02-08-2020, 06:02 AM
Member
 
justpassedu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Ty , I wasn’t sure how old that pdf may be. Thought maybe with a update they may have given the ability to use hdr in other picture modes . Appreciate it .
justpassedu is offline  
post #36925 of 37007 Old 02-08-2020, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
Ty , I wasn’t sure how old that pdf may be. Thought maybe with a update they may have given the ability to use hdr in other picture modes . Appreciate it .

Decided to test it for you with my ATV4K since I know all picture modes work with HDR on newer models. My KS8000 kicks into HDR on every picture mode for HDR content. Verified backlight and contrast max out as well as HDR listed in the information banner. Not sure if anyone is maintaining the PDF anymore but you can definitely use whatever picture mode you like best. Remember that you will want to enable features like Smart LED and Dynamic Contrast for HDR and also tweak Auto Motion Plus as it will likely be set back to Auto. When HDR kicks in it maintains a separate copy of the picture settings for the picture mode you are in which is why you will want to check those things again even if you had configured them to your liking for SDR content.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Terminader likes this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500/ZA | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #36926 of 37007 Old 02-08-2020, 07:52 AM
Member
 
justpassedu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Ty musicman0725, I’m running through a avr so for some reason for me it never enables hdr automatically, I have to change into movie mode when I know I am watching something that is hdr material . When I watch sd material I am almost always in the dynamic picture setting with a few tweaks . I have 4 hdmis running through the hdr for each source and one going to the one connect I believe . Before this I had everything going through the one connect using a optical cable and it was allot easier for picture settings but changed to hdmi for the better sound quality so I can only have one picture setting now for hdr saved and one for sd, kind of a pain and may go back to my old method .
Terminader and musicman0725 like this.
justpassedu is offline  
post #36927 of 37007 Old 02-08-2020, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
Ty musicman0725, I’m running through a avr so for some reason for me it never enables hdr automatically, I have to change into movie mode when I know I am watching something that is hdr material . When I watch sd material I am almost always in the dynamic picture setting with a few tweaks . I have 4 hdmis running through the hdr for each source and one going to the one connect I believe . Before this I had everything going through the one connect using a optical cable and it was allot easier for picture settings but changed to hdmi for the better sound quality so I can only have one picture setting now for hdr saved and one for sd, kind of a pain and may go back to my old method .
No problem. I'm also going through an AVR. One thing you'll want to do is make sure the HDMI UHD Color setting is enabled under the picture mode expert settings for the HDMI input you are using (once enabled this setting will apply to all picture modes). This is necessary for HDR to work properly. Also, on your AVR (not sure which one you have but on my Denon and Sony they had an option) make sure something called 4K Enhanced Signal Format is enabled. This will allow the full 18Gbps HDMI 2.0 bandwidth (assuming your AVR supports 4K HDR). Hopefully this is all you need to do for HDR to work properly (also make sure TV firmware is up to date).

To get audio back from the TV apps (if you use them), you'll want to make sure your AVR is connected to HDMI 4 (ARC) so that you get sound from the TV back to the AVR if you are using one of the TVs built-in apps. HDMI ARC on this TV supports Dolby Digital Plus, however, it does not support Atmos. For sources with Atmos or those with lossless audio, you'll want to make sure they are connected directly to your AVR. You can also connect 4K HDR source devices directly to the one connect instead of the AVR and use HDMI ARC for audio if you don't need Atmos/lossless audio.
Terminader likes this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500/ZA | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #36928 of 37007 Old 02-08-2020, 08:14 AM
Member
 
justpassedu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I have hdmi uhd color on for all sources , I was running a onkyo that didn’t pass through 4K but just updated to a Sony that does and made sure to have the 4K option selected on the receiver . So I can run one hdmi for sound ? And the rest through the one connect ? Instead of all cables through the receiver ?
musicman0725 likes this.
justpassedu is offline  
post #36929 of 37007 Old 02-08-2020, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
I have hdmi uhd color on for all sources , I was running a onkyo that didn’t pass through 4K but just updated to a Sony that does and made sure to have the 4K option selected on the receiver . So I can run one hdmi for sound ? And the rest through the one connect ? Instead of all cables through the receiver ?
Yeah, you can do that (if you do make sure Anynet+ is also enabled), but first I would recommend making sure on the Sony that you go to the HDMI settings and switch from Standard to Enhanced for the signal format. Unlike Denon where you change this setting once and it applies to all inputs across the board, on Sony you need to do it for each input that has a 4K source. At least if you try that you wouldn't have to re-run cables (which can be a hassle). I was using a Sony receiver from 2016 with my KS8000 before I got my Denon (when I upgraded to Atmos) and it had no issues with 4K HDR. The enhanced signal format on the receiver was the only thing that would be easy to miss or forget about.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500/ZA | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #36930 of 37007 Old 02-08-2020, 10:11 AM
Member
 
justpassedu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Checked the receiver and all hdmi inputs are on enhanced . Tried so many settings with this tv and was never very happy with the picture quality . It’s not bad but I bought a 55’’ 4K lg bottom of the line tv with no hdr from Walmart when 4K just started coming out and sometimes me and wife feel the picture quality is on par if not better watching sd tv. I think we may stick with lg for future purchases. We like a bright colorful picture , hdr never impressed me with this set and I have run tests on the Xbox one x that proves it’s working . I feel it’s been a trade off between a darker picture for hdr to look nice or a brighter picture and hdr not looking so great . I know that’s not how it’s intended to be watched . I wish I could afford a pro calibration right now after trying so many recommended settings from the forum .
justpassedu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off