Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 1236 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 180298Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #37051 of 37143 Old 05-20-2020, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,633
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Do the 8 series pass DD through optical out

Thanx Kg

My friend has a 55” and wants me to hook up all his non 4K audio gear, and i thought optical out would be a costless option instead of a soundbar. To my knowledge its gonna be a “streaming only” system
Yes. Plain vanilla DD (and I believe DTS as well) 5.1, or 2-channel PCM. No DD+.
Thank you friend !

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37052 of 37143 Old 05-20-2020, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
It isn't either one. It won't put my TV into HDR mode. I think whoever recorded it futzed it up. As I said before, many so-called "HDR" clips on YouTube really aren't...
Cept I was told in another thread it IS HLG and youtube in stats for nerds also reports it as HLG so.... What tv do you have ks 8000?

Marantz 7702MKII/Outlaw 7140 65" 4k LG C9
i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/970's SLI 840 PRO SSD
Paradigm Studio v3 100/570/20's/470's/2200 Sub
hdtv00 is offline  
post #37053 of 37143 Old 05-20-2020, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtv00 View Post
Cept I was told in another thread it IS HLG and youtube in stats for nerds also reports it as HLG so.... What tv do you have ks 8000?

Yes it is supported which I confirmed using the internal YouTube app on the TV. The video is HLG and running YouTube through the native app on my KS8000 it supports it and looks good. I have DirecTV 4K RVU set up with my KS8000 and have watched games this past season in 4K HDR (HLG). I can’t test it in HLG over HDMI as that isn’t supported in YouTube on my ATV4K.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Chuck Ebby likes this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500 | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37054 of 37143 Old 05-21-2020, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck Ebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Frostbite Falls
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
Yes it is supported which I confirmed using the internal YouTube app on the TV. The video is HLG and running YouTube through the native app on my KS8000 it supports it and looks good. I have DirecTV 4K RVU set up with my KS8000 and have watched games this past season in 4K HDR (HLG). I can’t test it in HLG over HDMI as that isn’t supported in YouTube on my ATV4K.
YouTube HLG over 4/k hdr Firestick run through my Denon 270 works great. Also great results using Fubo the same way back when there were actual games to watch. When I had Directv also had great results with HLG.
Terminader and musicman0725 like this.

_________________
Samsung KS8000 TV, Samsung UBD-K8500 Blu Ray, Roku Streaming Stick+ (4K/HDR) 3810x, Amazon Firestick (4K/HDR), Denon AVR-S720W
Chuck Ebby is offline  
post #37055 of 37143 Old 05-21-2020, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
pg22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Wow, I've never seen the "HDR" moniker on a YT video on my laptop (it's crushing my 2016 MBP, btw). My display obviously isn't HDR, hence curious even seeing it.
pg22 is offline  
post #37056 of 37143 Old 05-22-2020, 03:15 AM
Member
 
LSpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sicklerville, NJ
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Anyone know if we will get the HBO Max app when it launches? I'm holding out hope considering HBO Now will sort of morph into HBO Max when it launches.
LSpera is offline  
post #37057 of 37143 Old 05-22-2020, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,819
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1498 Post(s)
Liked: 1589
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
Yes it is supported which I confirmed using the internal YouTube app on the TV. The video is HLG and running YouTube through the native app on my KS8000 it supports it and looks good. I have DirecTV 4K RVU set up with my KS8000 and have watched games this past season in 4K HDR (HLG). I can’t test it in HLG over HDMI as that isn’t supported in YouTube on my ATV4K.
I just revisited that video and discovered why my KS8000 wasn't dropping into HDR mode when it was playing. With the clip paused, I went into the "More" sub-menu under the progress status bar and discovered that the "Auto" resolution setting was only producing 720p. When I selected 4K instead, bam!, the TV switched to HDR mode. Strangely enough, other true 4K HDR videos, such as "Peru" by the Schwartzes, don't exhibit this behavior.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #37058 of 37143 Old 05-22-2020, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,819
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1498 Post(s)
Liked: 1589
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSpera View Post
Anyone know if we will get the HBO Max app when it launches? I'm holding out hope considering HBO Now will sort of morph into HBO Max when it launches.
If it's anything like AMC Premiere, it'll be an extra-cost service accessible through the app...

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #37059 of 37143 Old 05-28-2020, 03:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 3
My ps4 keeps overheating and shutting down and I was wondering if those random shutdowns are damaging to the tv and hdmi ports of my tv?
numbchicken is offline  
post #37060 of 37143 Old 05-28-2020, 04:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reissuleipa View Post
You're not really giving a lot to go on. What are you playing this game on? What is the framerate? What is the resolution you are using? Are you using HDR? etc...

The TV has an input lag of around 20ms to 40ms in game mode, depending on your resolution/HDR/Chroma subsampling.
And this is still just a TV and not a high refresh rate gaming display, so there will always be minor input lag.

sorry about the lack of info

Playing on ps4 pro, game mode is on, 4k resolution with hdr on.
numbchicken is offline  
post #37061 of 37143 Old 05-29-2020, 06:19 AM
Newbie
 
dbnh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
If it's anything like AMC Premiere, it'll be an extra-cost service accessible through the app...
HBO MAX is not exta cost for HBO subscribers. Also, it doesn't appear the the KS8000 is on the list of TVs with native apps supporting HBO Max.
dbnh is offline  
post #37062 of 37143 Old 05-29-2020, 06:28 AM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbnh View Post
HBO MAX is not exta cost for HBO subscribers. Also, it doesn't appear the the KS8000 is on the list of TVs with native apps supporting HBO Max.

I have the AT&T unlimited plus plan which includes free hbo and a bill credit for DirecTV (which I subscribe to). My plan now says that it includes HBO Max and I was able to log into the service.

The KS8000 has an HBO Max app and I was able to sign into it. On most platforms, HBO just updated their HBO Now app to Max. Anyways, the app was updated on my KS8000 but the icon never changed from HBO Now to HBO Max. I found the app through the App Store and noticed I already had it installed but the icon was wrong. Icon is fine on my other Samsung TVs.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rolls-Royce likes this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500 | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #37063 of 37143 Old 05-29-2020, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
KS8000 has developed a noticable red tint

Hey there fellow KS'ers,

As stated in the title my TV has developed a major red tint in all sources. I don't remember when this began or of it was gradual or sudden, but It's definitely here to stay. All my settings are default and I even factory reset, but alas nothing works. I now have to constantly fiddle with the white balance to get some semblance of white back, but I am never satisfied with the color presentation seeing as I don't have any professional calibrating equipment.

Is my panel screwed? Does anyone have a similar issue and can this be fixed apart from white balance tweaks?

I added some pictures to illustrate the insane amount of red. My camera does exaggerate the tint but it is def noticable
TommyvD is offline  
post #37064 of 37143 Old 05-29-2020, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyvD View Post
Hey there fellow KS'ers,

As stated in the title my TV has developed a major red tint in all sources. I don't remember when this began or of it was gradual or sudden, but It's definitely here to stay. All my settings are default and I even factory reset, but alas nothing works. I now have to constantly fiddle with the white balance to get some semblance of white back, but I am never satisfied with the color presentation seeing as I don't have any professional calibrating equipment.

Is my panel screwed? Does anyone have a similar issue and can this be fixed apart from white balance tweaks?

I added some pictures to illustrate the insane amount of red. My camera does exaggerate the tint but it is def noticable[IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif[/IMG]
I added some pics!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200529_160301_1590762815802.jpg
Views:	253
Size:	1.17 MB
ID:	2734084   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200529_160322_1590762824225.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	2734086  
TommyvD is offline  
post #37065 of 37143 Old 05-30-2020, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyvD View Post
Hey there fellow KS'ers,

As stated in the title my TV has developed a major red tint in all sources. I don't remember when this began or of it was gradual or sudden, but It's definitely here to stay. All my settings are default and I even factory reset, but alas nothing works. I now have to constantly fiddle with the white balance to get some semblance of white back, but I am never satisfied with the color presentation seeing as I don't have any professional calibrating equipment.

Is my panel screwed? Does anyone have a similar issue and can this be fixed apart from white balance tweaks?

I added some pictures to illustrate the insane amount of red. My camera does exaggerate the tint but it is def noticable

That doesn’t look like a panel issue but more of an issue with either a chipset, cable or input (maybe your one connect cable or box is going bad). Have your tried all of the HDMI ports? Does the issue happen with internal apps? I would try to rule out whether the issue is specific to an HDMI port, cable, one connect box etc. Also, since the issue is with colors what happens when you change the color space from auto to native?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500 | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #37066 of 37143 Old 05-30-2020, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 359
My KS8000 auto-updated last night to version 1242 which has been on the web for awhile. So far all seems good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500 | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #37067 of 37143 Old 05-31-2020, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
My KS8000 auto-updated last night to version 1242 which has been on the web for awhile. So far all seems good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mine seems like black levels have raised (grayish) for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bigboss0616 is offline  
post #37068 of 37143 Old 05-31-2020, 06:22 PM
Member
 
daveshouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
My KS8000 auto-updated last night to version 1242 which has been on the web for awhile. So far all seems good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1242 seems to have killed Disney+ for me. There was a strange error message at first, and now there is a message stating that Samsung is working with Disney to resolve the issue.
daveshouse is offline  
post #37069 of 37143 Old 05-31-2020, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigboss0616 View Post
Mine seems like black levels have raised (grayish) for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
People were complaining about that in the Samsung forums, but I thought the issues were limited to the 9000/9500 series. I guess the 8000 is having the same problem with 1242 firmware.
kreativ is offline  
post #37070 of 37143 Old 05-31-2020, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigboss0616 View Post
Mine seems like black levels have raised (grayish) for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Haven’t noticed that. What picture mode are you using and what do you have local dimming set to? I’m using movie mode with local dimming set to high and dynamic contrast set to low for SDR (dynamic contrast high for HDR).

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveshouse View Post
1242 seems to have killed Disney+ for me. There was a strange error message at first, and now there is a message stating that Samsung is working with Disney to resolve the issue.
I don’t use the app on my KS8000 often but I know the app was recently updated on my other Samsung TVs as well as my ATV4K. If they are working on an update hopefully it brings 4K HDR to the KS8000 version of the app.

EDIT: I receive the same message with Disney+ when I go to the app in the App Store about it being temporarily unavailable on 2016 sets and working with Disney to resolve this issue.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500 | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W

Last edited by musicman0725; 06-01-2020 at 03:45 PM.
musicman0725 is online now  
post #37071 of 37143 Old 06-01-2020, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Edirol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have a KS8000 NA model and from the UK forums, 1242 seems to affect the backlight on KS9800 models as well as breaking Disney+.


1242 is now showing as an available update on my TV. Even though there are no reported issues on my model, I don't want to take the risk of having any issues so I've disconnected the Wifi/Ethernet from my TV. Samsung TVs will still update even if you have auto-update disabled, if Samsung deems the update required.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Ebby View Post
Noticed 1242 is available on the NA site. Downloading it now.

Download complete. No idea what is new but it did not brick the set. Yipee!!
Edirol is offline  
post #37072 of 37143 Old 06-01-2020, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
That doesn’t look like a panel issue but more of an issue with either a chipset, cable or input (maybe your one connect cable or box is going bad). Have your tried all of the HDMI ports? Does the issue happen with internal apps? I would try to rule out whether the issue is specific to an HDMI port, cable, one connect box etc. Also, since the issue is with colors what happens when you change the color space from auto to native?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for the reply dude.
Yeah I have done a huge amount of testing and unfortunately it is present in all sources and apps. For instance some pics I sent were from the internal yt app and others were from hdmi input. They all show the red tint. Changing color space also doesn't help. Neither does unplugging all cables and leaving the tv for an extended amount of time, changing hdmi cables, factory resetting tv.

The weird thing i I don't remember the red appearing suddenly, I just noticed it someday. Which makes me indeed wonder what kind of problem this is. Can panels gradually change tint? Did some firmware or something **** up the software? No idea lol.

Anyway I notified the retailer of the issue and although I don't have any factory warranty anymore luckily I can appeal to the "legal warranty" law here in The Netherlands, which states that any product should look and work as intended for an amount of time depending on the kind of product and the price. Kinda neat. So I'm curious if they'll accept the tv without any hassle. Crossing my fingers.
musicman0725 likes this.
TommyvD is offline  
post #37073 of 37143 Old 06-01-2020, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 83
My 65KS8000 has also updated to 1242 and now all inputs have backlight breathing in HDR, before I had no breathing in Movie Mode.


I played a couple of old Samsung HDR demo files (via DLNA) and they all "breathe" now. Backlight is set to 20 and Dynamic LED to "high"
dolbymandts is offline  
post #37074 of 37143 Old 06-01-2020, 06:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edirol View Post
I have a KS8000 NA model and from the UK forums, 1242 seems to affect the backlight on KS9800 models as well as breaking Disney+.


1242 is now showing as an available update on my TV. Even though there are no reported issues on my model, I don't want to take the risk of having any issues so I've disconnected the Wifi/Ethernet from my TV. Samsung TVs will still update even if you have auto-update disabled, if Samsung deems the update required.
Disconnecting from Internet won't work for people who use any of the streaming features of the TV.

I did get the prompt to install 1242 even with Auto Update off, but there was an option to not install the update. So it's not forced. I'm on 1241 currently.
kreativ is offline  
post #37075 of 37143 Old 06-02-2020, 05:40 AM
Newbie
 
dr.jim.b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
A testament to how great this TV has been that almost four years after release there is still a relatively active discussion on this forum!
Hello Blenky, I've got a KS8000 where the brightness appears to be pulsating between "Standard" and "Dynamic" mode.
(like every 3 or 4 seconds) Is this condition what some of you are describing as "backlight breathing?" It seems to happen
intermittently and when it starts, I cannot seem to stop this "hiccuping" between the brightness intensities.

I get it whether we are watching live TV (Comcast/Xfinity) or recorded programs from the DVR or streaming content from the
TV's internal APPs (Netflix and Prime) - puzzling and frustrating - any light which you (or any others) might be able to shed
on this would be greatly appreciated - I am absolutely NOT a "techie."

Thank You
dr.jim.b is offline  
post #37076 of 37143 Old 06-02-2020, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.jim.b View Post
Hello Blenky, I've got a KS8000 where the brightness appears to be pulsating between "Standard" and "Dynamic" mode.
(like every 3 or 4 seconds) Is this condition what some of you are describing as "backlight breathing?" It seems to happen
intermittently and when it starts, I cannot seem to stop this "hiccuping" between the brightness intensities.

I get it whether we are watching live TV (Comcast/Xfinity) or recorded programs from the DVR or streaming content from the
TV's internal APPs (Netflix and Prime) - puzzling and frustrating - any light which you (or any others) might be able to shed
on this would be greatly appreciated - I am absolutely NOT a "techie."

Thank You
@dr.jim.b

read two posts above
dolbymandts is offline  
post #37077 of 37143 Old 06-02-2020, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.jim.b View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
A testament to how great this TV has been that almost four years after release there is still a relatively active discussion on this forum!
Hello Blenky, I've got a KS8000 where the brightness appears to be pulsating between "Standard" and "Dynamic" mode.
(like every 3 or 4 seconds) Is this condition what some of you are describing as "backlight breathing?" It seems to happen
intermittently and when it starts, I cannot seem to stop this "hiccuping" between the brightness intensities.

I get it whether we are watching live TV (Comcast/Xfinity) or recorded programs from the DVR or streaming content from the
TV's internal APPs (Netflix and Prime) - puzzling and frustrating - any light which you (or any others) might be able to shed
on this would be greatly appreciated - I am absolutely NOT a "techie."

Thank You
The breathing effect I get is not as dramatic you describe. I refer to the effect you get when HDR scene is bright. After a few seconds you can see it darken a little bit. It's not that much on my set but once you see it you can never unsee it. TBH I've long stopped worrying about it as I'm used to it now!

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #37078 of 37143 Old 06-03-2020, 02:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 66
FWIW I don't experience the backlight breathing in Standard mode, so if it's bothering you it might be worth switching to that. I find the actual picture differences from Movie mode to be minimal.
Garwoofoo is offline  
post #37079 of 37143 Old 06-03-2020, 05:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Does anyone know how to fix this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1096.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	77.5 KB
ID:	2736478  
Greenstumps is offline  
post #37080 of 37143 Old 06-03-2020, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenstumps View Post
Does anyone know how to fix this?

Inherent with the the used technology, edge lit
Terminader likes this.
dolbymandts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off