Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 387 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179955Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11581 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
ceczar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
so i just got off the phone with Samsung support, and both the basic tech and the higher level escalation tech ended up giving me the "we're sorry but some third party devices aren't supported with the universal remote so we can't help you" line.

the remote works great to control the TV itself, and my cable box as well, and it also does at least a serviceable job of controlling the volume and on/off on my receiver, but i can't get it to work with either my PS3 or my AppleTV (3rd generation, circa 2012). i haven't been able to find a complete answer on whether either of these should work or not. both techs started trying to help me, because of course they knew that many people have been able to get this to work, but when they realized i wasn't missing something obvious, they immediately retreated to "not our responsibility"

thanks for your help.
ceczar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11582 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
layzzzee8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceczar View Post
so i just got off the phone with Samsung support, and both the basic tech and the higher level escalation tech ended up giving me the "we're sorry but some third party devices aren't supported with the universal remote so we can't help you" line.

the remote works great to control the TV itself, and my cable box as well, and it also does at least a serviceable job of controlling the volume and on/off on my receiver, but i can't get it to work with either my PS3 or my AppleTV (3rd generation, circa 2012). i haven't been able to find a complete answer on whether either of these should work or not. both techs started trying to help me, because of course they knew that many people have been able to get this to work, but when they realized i wasn't missing something obvious, they immediately retreated to "not our responsibility"

thanks for your help.
The PS3 and AppleTV take bluetooth commands and will not work with this remote.

Edit: The 3rd gen appletv remote may be IR, I am not sure. If so in theory it could work but it obviously doesn't if the TV didn't recognize it. The PS3 may be possibly controlled over HDMI but you need to make sure Anynet+ is enabled on the TV.

Last edited by layzzzee8; 11-10-2016 at 10:32 AM.
layzzzee8 is offline  
post #11583 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:29 AM
Member
 
RayBaer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by leedesert View Post
If it were me and I hadn't invested a lot of time yet setting it up, tuning it, and integrating it into the home theater I would contact Samsung and let them make it right. Don't bring it back yourself to the store. let Samsung handle it. I would tell them you no longer have a means to transport a TV that size so they will either have to deliver a new one or send out a technician.



Now, my problem is I tear into a project right away so by the time I would have noticed that I may have already hung the TV and had it tuned up.



Either way, I would have Samsung take care of it because if you bring it back to the store sure they'll replace it but who's to say the next one won't have that, or something else. Get Samsung involved on a Samsung problem.


That's a different perspective, but well worth consideration. Thank you.

FWIW, the TV is mounted and I've fully calibrated 10pt grayscale using xRite i1 and HCFR.

So if they can come out and fix it in-place, that would be my best-case scenario.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
RayBaer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11584 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by NTC View Post
Wouldn't that be a nice feature.

I just want to add one note. When you power off (exiting service menu), you will find that a few of your picture settings have changed. So do not think that you've accidentally changed something in the service menu, just change them back to your personal liking.
Yes changing settings in the service menu will reset your picture setttings. Sorry forgot to mention.
nadrojcote is offline  
post #11585 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
ceczar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by layzzzee8 View Post
The PS3 and AppleTV take bluetooth commands and will not work with this remote.

Edit: The 3rd gen appletv remote may be IR, I am not sure. If so in theory it could work but it obviously doesn't if the TV didn't recognize it. The PS3 may be possibly controlled over HDMI but you need to make sure Anynet+ is enabled on the TV.
thanks. the 3rd Gen appleTV is IR, but even though it has a Learn Remote feature, can't get it to work with this remote. guess i'm out of luck

ed: actually i was able to fix the PS3 at least, i hadn't turned on the Control through HDMI setting on the PS3 itself. now that i fixed that, it does work. still can't get the appleTV to work, though you'd think there would be away since it's IR

Last edited by ceczar; 11-10-2016 at 10:40 AM.
ceczar is offline  
post #11586 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceczar View Post
thanks. the 3rd Gen appleTV is IR, but even though it has a Learn Remote feature, can't get it to work with this remote. guess i'm out of luck
Try setting up a new device with the Universal remote setting on the tizen interface. Choose bluray player as the option and look for apple tv.
nadrojcote is offline  
post #11587 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Elisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by layzzzee8 View Post
The PS3 and AppleTV take bluetooth commands and will not work with this remote.



Edit: The 3rd gen appletv remote may be IR, I am not sure. If so in theory it could work but it obviously doesn't if the TV didn't recognize it. The PS3 may be possibly controlled over HDMI but you need to make sure Anynet+ is enabled on the TV.


So is the remote WiFi direct as well?
Cause mine can control the Fire TV 4k.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Elisha is offline  
post #11588 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:47 AM
Member
 
FlipperGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Did anyone bought PS4 Pro? I need help with my Video Output settings. It says:

Resolution: 3840 x 2160 - 60Hz
Colour Format: RGB
HDR on Your TV: 2K/4K supported
HDCP: 2.2

But when i fire up Uncharted 4 which has HDR the colour format immediately switches to YUV420 and i can't change it to RGB. When i turn off HDR it switches again to RGB. Is that ok? Basically if HDR content is playing only option is 2160p - YUV420.

Poslano s mobilnog telefona S7
FlipperGP is offline  
post #11589 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:51 AM
Newbie
 
ceczar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadrojcote View Post
Try setting up a new device with the Universal remote setting on the tizen interface. Choose bluray player as the option and look for apple tv.
so this is the frustrating thing. if i do this, there are several appleTV versions listed, as well as my exact model (A1427). but after selecting each possibility in turn, none of them actually work. you can see the IR on the remote firing, and you can see the light on the AppleTV reacting that it's seeing something, but nothing actually happens. is there anyone with a version similar to mine that has actually been able to get this to work properly?
ceczar is offline  
post #11590 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:54 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlipperGP View Post
Did anyone bought PS4 Pro? I need help with my Video Output settings. It says:

Resolution: 3840 x 2160 - 60Hz
Colour Format: RGB
HDR on Your TV: 2K/4K supported
HDCP: 2.2

But when i fire up Uncharted 4 which has HDR the colour format immediately switches to YUV420 and i can't change it to RGB. When i turn off HDR it switches again to RGB. Is that ok? Basically if HDR content is playing only option is 2160p - YUV420.

Poslano s mobilnog telefona S7
Do you have an hdmi 2.0 cable? Is hdmi UHD color turned on for the hdmi port it's connected to?
why-me is offline  
post #11591 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:55 AM
Member
 
FlipperGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Yup, I'm using cable that came with PS4 Pro. Yes it's turned on.

Poslano s mobilnog telefona S7
FlipperGP is offline  
post #11592 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 10:56 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 189
maybe that's just how it's supposed to run? We'll find out once more ps4 pros are in the consumer's hands
why-me is offline  
post #11593 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 11:05 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I won't have mine for another week, 'Grats on the new hardware!
why-me is offline  
post #11594 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Setzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Can anyone confirm or deny that there are issues with the 60" panels on these sets? I've read stuff about extremely limited viewing angles because they're "cheaply" made? I own the Costco version of the 60" and I'm contemplating returning it for either a Vizio or possibly the 65" model if I'll notice a difference? I understand with any VA panel that viewing angles aren't going to be great but with this set I sit about 8ft away from it and when you begin to move slightly off center the picture deteriorates.
Setzer is offline  
post #11595 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elisha View Post
Someone in San Diego already got 1150.8 but doesn't show up on US or Canadian site. EU and Africa have 1150.7.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I got the 1150.8 update too. SoCal.
Samsunguy74 is offline  
post #11596 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Setzer View Post
Can anyone confirm or deny that there are issues with the 60" panels on these sets? I've read stuff about extremely limited viewing angles because they're "cheaply" made? I own the Costco version of the 60" and I'm contemplating returning it for either a Vizio or possibly the 65" model if I'll notice a difference? I understand with any VA panel that viewing angles aren't going to be great but with this set I sit about 8ft away from it and when you begin to move slightly off center the picture deteriorates.
I don't know about being cheaply made. One guy on reddit claimed the bezel wasnt the same. The difference is that the 60" is a Sharp panel while other sizes are AOU and Samsung panels.
nadrojcote is offline  
post #11597 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadrojcote View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Setzer View Post
Can anyone confirm or deny that there are issues with the 60" panels on these sets? I've read stuff about extremely limited viewing angles because they're "cheaply" made? I own the Costco version of the 60" and I'm contemplating returning it for either a Vizio or possibly the 65" model if I'll notice a difference? I understand with any VA panel that viewing angles aren't going to be great but with this set I sit about 8ft away from it and when you begin to move slightly off center the picture deteriorates.
I don't know about being cheaply made. One guy on reddit claimed the bezel wasnt the same. The difference is that the 60" is a Sharp panel while other sizes are AOU and Samsung panels.
Is one considered better than the other between AOU and Samsung? I've read they are pretty similar from this thread and that individual panel variation is the biggest difference.
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
post #11598 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,984
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 895 Post(s)
Liked: 1650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peelpub94 View Post
Since Monday, I've been playing with all the suggested calibration settings from these forums, rtings and other various sources and still having trouble finding the sweet spot for sports. I am coming from a Panasonic plasma, and it saddens me to say this, but Hockey looks a lot better on the Panasonic. Colors are somewhat washed out and cloudy. They aren't as rich as the Panny, images are a little grainy and not as deep and bold as the Panny. Commercials seem to look OK, 4K/UHD content looks amazing but 720p DirecTV sports so far are kinda falling short in my eyes.

Do I need to get this professionally calibrated?

Any suggestions? I've tried every suggestion in the rtings thread: http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sam...s8000/settings
What TV Video resolution boxes are checked in your DirecTV box?
Peelpub94 and why-me like this.
Terminader is offline  
post #11599 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by 52LG60FTW View Post
OLED looks like crap? Never heard that before....

I've notified Samsung and they are escalating the return. I want to try the 65KS8000 but I'm afraid it'll have light bleed issues as well and the local dimming is still crap regardless. Ugh!
I was referring to the Vizio P series w/ FALD... Had one and it had plenty of issues.
Harry Hanson is offline  
post #11600 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:05 PM
Member
 
52LG60FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Hanson View Post
I was referring to the Vizio P series w/ FALD... Had one and it had plenty of issues.
What kind of issues? Why can't these companies make a dang tv with very minimal issues? I guess they figure most people don't bother looking for faults or ignore them and wouldn't bother to return their TV's.
52LG60FTW is offline  
post #11601 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,362
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 7412
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlipperGP View Post
Did anyone bought PS4 Pro? I need help with my Video Output settings. It says:

Resolution: 3840 x 2160 - 60Hz
Colour Format: RGB
HDR on Your TV: 2K/4K supported
HDCP: 2.2

But when i fire up Uncharted 4 which has HDR the colour format immediately switches to YUV420 and i can't change it to RGB. When i turn off HDR it switches again to RGB. Is that ok? Basically if HDR content is playing only option is 2160p - YUV420.
Yes, I think this is correct.

This is because HDR (HDR10, the standard our TVs have) is by definition, 10bit or more.

Source:
Quote:
http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdm...0_faq.aspx#145
Does HDMI 2.0 support BT.2020 (rec.2020) colorimetry?
Yes. HDMI 2.0 includes support for BT.2020 Colorimetry with 10 or more bits of color depth. 
Video Formats defined in BT.2020 and supported by HDMI 2.0 specification: 
– 2160p, 10/12 bits, 24/25/30Hz, RGB/4:2:2/4:4:4 
– 2160p, 10/12 bits, 50/60Hz, 4:2:0/4:2:2
If you check the "HDMI modes" link in my sig, you'll see that the 4K 60Hz mode that is 4:4:4 is only 8-bit, so that mode can never show HDR.
For 4K 60Hz modes, you choices for HDR are:
10-bit 4:2:0
12-bit 4:2:0
or
12-bit 4:2:2. (the 10-bit 4:2:2 on the HDMI.org's website quote above is an embarrassing mistake for them, as there is no such mode in the HDMI standard).

HTH

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #11602 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_rad4 View Post
No it wasn't. That photo is exactly what I seen on the 8500 I had. And like I said 5 times, my 8000 doesn't have that issue. I'll take the same picture in the same environment tomorrow.
Well, I could not take a picture in complete darkness where the the lighting on the TV wasn't overexposed (tried a galaxy s7 and a nikon b500).
Harry Hanson is offline  
post #11603 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
Peelpub94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
What TV Video resolution boxes are checked in your DirecTV box?
Thanks for reply. All of them.

720p
1080i
1080p
4k

Last edited by Peelpub94; 11-10-2016 at 12:50 PM.
Peelpub94 is offline  
post #11604 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:15 PM
Member
 
johnwayne117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elisha View Post
Someone in San Diego already got 1150.8 but doesn't show up on US or Canadian site. EU and Africa have 1150.7.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
So can we install any of them? And what about roll back and downgrade is it possible? And the one with youtube hdr will have patch notes about it?
johnwayne117 is offline  
post #11605 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,362
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 7412
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwayne117 View Post
So can we install any of them? And what about roll back and downgrade is it possible? And the one with youtube hdr will have patch notes about it?
Roll back is impossible.
Down grade is impossible.

Samsung stubbornly REFUSE to provide any release notes for ANY of their firmwares. All you will ever get is the same "bug fixes and performance improvements" platitudes.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #11606 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Setzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
Is one considered better than the other between AOU and Samsung? I've read they are pretty similar from this thread and that individual panel variation is the biggest difference.
I just found this..

http://www.rtings.com/tv/learn/panel-lottery-samsung

Seems like the AOU is the better of the 3.
Setzer is offline  
post #11607 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by 52LG60FTW View Post
What kind of issues? Why can't these companies make a dang tv with very minimal issues? I guess they figure most people don't bother looking for faults or ignore them and wouldn't bother to return their TV's.
Off the top of my head:

Terrible uniformity
Motion artifacting in Game Mode.
Some UHD Blu-Ray titles wouldn't display
No HDR from the Xbox One S
No HDR from PS4 (Orignal PS4 with firmware update), but it did add a green tint to the image

None of those issue with the KS8500.

I actually don't have an issue with Vizio in particular. I still have a 5 year old E series 3D that's served us well, and will keep because it has 3D and the Sammy doesn't.

Last edited by Harry Hanson; 11-10-2016 at 12:39 PM.
Harry Hanson is offline  
post #11608 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Setzer View Post
I just found this..

http://www.rtings.com/tv/learn/panel-lottery-samsung

Seems like the AOU is the better of the 3.
In this test it was, the only true way to tell for our ks series would be to get multiple samples and compare. Also comparing one of each isn't a good test because one panel from the same manufacturer could be better than another of the exact same panel. I think the biggest impression this article makes is that they are all very similar.
nadrojcote is offline  
post #11609 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeep05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: N.C.
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Setzer View Post
Can anyone confirm or deny that there are issues with the 60" panels on these sets? I've read stuff about extremely limited viewing angles because they're "cheaply" made? I own the Costco version of the 60" and I'm contemplating returning it for either a Vizio or possibly the 65" model if I'll notice a difference? I understand with any VA panel that viewing angles aren't going to be great but with this set I sit about 8ft away from it and when you begin to move slightly off center the picture deteriorates.

No more issues than any others. Mine performs very well with very little, bleed, clouding and off-angle deterioration, albeit there is some but most of these displays suffer in some degree. I just enjoy watching it and not stressing on the type of panel it is. Quite frankly, I think Sharp has made some excellent panels.


As I stated to another poster, "Not satisfied? equals " Return it.
King Richard likes this.
jeep05 is offline  
post #11610 of 36667 Old 11-10-2016, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
pg22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Question

My apologies in advance if this has been asked to death:

My current setup is a fairly standard home theater: HDTV > A/V Receiver < [various devices, e.g., PS4, XB1, Apple TV, etc.] all via HDMI.

I've now upgraded my 2013 UNF7100 (1080p) to the 2016 KS8000 and my launch PS4 to the new PS4 Pro. My Onkyo receiver (HT-390) remains the same. I believe it's from 2011 or 2012.

Am I correct in assuming that I now have to bypass the receiver in order to view 4K HDR content? If that's correct, then my only recourse (besides purchasing a new receiver), is to go PS4 Pro <> KS8000 via HDMI and then use an optical TOSLink cable from said console into my receiver?

Thanks all.
pg22 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off