Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 446 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179982Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13351 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by CherylJosie View Post
From the http://www.samsung.com/us/system/con...000_052516.pdf it looks like the audio return channel supports https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_Digital_Plus and http://patents.dts.com/professionals...-sound-tv.aspx but not https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_Atmos

consistent with:
http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/ks8000
Code:
 Inputs Specifications
 HDR10 Show Help
 : Yes
 Dolby Vision
 : No
 5.1 Passthrough ARC Dolby Digital
 : Yes
 5.1 Passthrough ARC DTS
 : Yes
 5.1 Passthrough Optical Dolby Digital
 : Yes
 5.1 Passthrough Optical DTS
 : Yes
 HDMI 2.0 Full Bandwith : Yes
 ARC : Yes (HDMI 4)
 USB 3 : No
 HDCP 2.2 : Yes
 CEC : Yes
 MHL : No
 Variable Analog Audio Out : No
How can you tell by that that its dd+? I only see DD.
nadrojcote is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13352 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 05:41 PM
Member
 
dante`afk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 15
so my new unit has no BLB, but 2 dead pixel one in the top left corner and one in the bottom left corner.

but unless im standing 5 inch in front of the tv I do not see them, and we're watching/playing from 12ft away.

No reason to return it. I'm happy.

65" KS8000
Onkyo HT-S5800
Beyerdynamics DT 990 Pro
PS4 Pro
Xbox One S
dante`afk is offline  
post #13353 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Vahid Jamali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks for your help on the ARC thing, I guess i'll just have to sell my old reciever and get a new one.

Just curious if there is any advantage to the 65" vs the 60" ks8000 as far as panel quality/blb goes?
Vahid Jamali is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13354 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 05:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I don't understand this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Just an FYI to those unaware....using someone else's white balance settings is not recommended as each panel is different and require different settings. It's very likely using online settings will make your picture look worse than out of box settings. If you would like to have your white balance adjusted, get a true professional calibration or buy a meter and do it yourself. So use the above settings at your own risk.
At the risk of what?

If it looks worse, you can simply reset to default, and you're no worse than where you started. Does the reset not extend to white balance?
Harry Hanson is offline  
post #13355 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
ANEWMadrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by cydeweyz View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANEWMadrid View Post
Early access program


Too bad we can't use it yet-

"If you have not already received an email with tracking information for your Smart Lighting Kit, you should within the next 48 hours. Unfortunately, we?ve identified a bug that?s blocking the setup process. We?re working on a fix, but for the time being, please hold off activating your SmartThings Extend until we contact you with further instructions.

We apologize for the bumpy start?we?ll be in touch tomorrow with an update. Thanks again for working with us to shape the future of SmartThings Extend.

Sincerely,

The SmartThings Team"
Yeah, I read this after. I tried it just sat there, did nothing
ANEWMadrid is offline  
post #13356 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 06:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kai Winters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
You don't want a UHD Blu Ray player? (To watch UHD/HDR Blu Ray disks.) They're more expensive than an HDR player, but can be had for around $200US. (Samsung UBD-K8500, Philips BDP7501.)
Not interested in an UHD BD DVD player...got the Sammy for $50.00...plays great.
I bought 2 blue ray movies today...the first I've bought in well over one year...considering how many movies, etc. show up on HBO, etc. and the cost of a BD I just stopped buying them but got a couple on sale today.

UHD movies are even more expensive...not gonna drop the dough...perhaps in a year or two...perhaps.
I'm also very satisfied with BD movies.

TV: Sony XBR 65X950G, AVR: Marantz SR5011, Speakers: front/Paradigm Prestige 15B bookshelf, center/Paradigm Prestige 45C, surround/Paradigm Atom, sub/SVS SB3000, DVD: LG UBK 90 UHD DVD Player, Media Player: Zidoo Z9S, Remote: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Home
Kai Winters is offline  
post #13357 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
abward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by warcrow View Post
Regarding the One Connect Box.


We have more than 4 HDMI devices. How does one add more ports? Does Samsung sell expansion boxes? I suppose, perhaps, the easiest thing to do it get a HDMI switcher and plug it in to one of the HDMI ports on the OCB?
You buy another TV and mount it beside it, of course

I have not heard of any other models of the OC box. You solve this problem by hooking up a AVR to one of the inputs, then you can run many inputs into it.
abward is offline  
post #13358 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
abward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
No. The 11 does not mean November.

I've had these versions.
1125 (at purchase in August)
1142 (also in August)
some other versions I've forgotten.
1150.7 (9th Nov)



No again.
Good to know, thanks. Looks like we should get some support for some time yet.
mrtickleuk likes this.
abward is offline  
post #13359 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
thyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai Winters View Post
Not interested in an UHD BD DVD player...got the Sammy for $50.00...plays great.
I bought 2 blue ray movies today...the first I've bought in well over one year...considering how many movies, etc. show up on HBO, etc. and the cost of a BD I just stopped buying them but got a couple on sale today.

UHD movies are even more expensive...not gonna drop the dough...perhaps in a year or two...perhaps.
I'm also very satisfied with BD movies.
What a waste. It is like buying a Ferrari and keeping it in driveway.

You don't have to buy the discs. You can rent them:

https://www.store-3d-blurayrental.com
King Richard likes this.
thyname is offline  
post #13360 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2439 Post(s)
Liked: 1740
Quote:
Originally Posted by thyname View Post
What a waste. It is like buying a Ferrari and keeping it in driveway.

You don't have to buy the discs. You can rent them:

https://www.store-3d-blurayrental.com
An exaggerated metaphor. Good stuff.

I'm not sure how to convert an HDR nonbeliever without a UHD/HDR player. Maybe this download:

http://demo-uhd3d.com/fiche.php?cat=uhd&id=145

(The famous "chess" demo.) Pretty much requires a fully-blown HDR system to look right. Entry level need not apply.
mrtickleuk likes this.
bobknavs is offline  
post #13361 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 08:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2439 Post(s)
Liked: 1740
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstefanop View Post
So I tried manually forcing the TV to update, but it still shows 1150 as the current update...has anyone else in the US been able to update? Thinking of doing the Korean download, but wouldn't downloading an update for the korean market screw up language/region settings?
It's not just for the Korean market. If you search this thread, you'll find a number of confirmations of that. The firmware updating software on the TV only allows a compatible firmware to be applied.

I have done it a couple of times since owning a KS8000, and can confirm that my TV remains a US Market one, complete with the US apps (most of which I may never use).
bobknavs is offline  
post #13362 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone else have the issue with the TV turning ON by itself ? It's completely random and starting to annoy me
BlueWaffles is offline  
post #13363 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 08:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2439 Post(s)
Liked: 1740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai Winters View Post
Not interested in an UHD BD DVD player...got the Sammy for $50.00...plays great.
I bought 2 blue ray movies today...the first I've bought in well over one year...considering how many movies, etc. show up on HBO, etc. and the cost of a BD I just stopped buying them but got a couple on sale today.

UHD movies are even more expensive...not gonna drop the dough...perhaps in a year or two...perhaps.
I'm also very satisfied with BD movies.
Yeah, even inexpensive Blu Ray players work well. My first player was a Sony BDP-BX1, which cost more new than some gen1 UHD players that are currently on the market. I later replaced it with a low-end Samsung "smart" player (WiFi, with apps), which gave equally good image performance and had much shorter disk load times.

UHD disks are too new to begin showing up in the bargain bins, but if the format succeeds I hope to start seeing them next year. I don't expect to see $5 4k disks soon, but I have bought a few on sale for $15 or $20US. (Still a lot to pay for something that may be watched only once or twice.)
Kai Winters and boojitede like this.
bobknavs is offline  
post #13364 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 08:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CherylJosie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadrojcote View Post
How can you tell by that that its dd+? I only see DD.
You have to read the specification at the link I posted, not just the text I quoted

Quote:
Originally Posted by abward View Post
You solve this problem by hooking up a AVR to one of the inputs, then you can run many inputs into it.
I have a friend who uses his older Onkyo to give him more inputs and phono preamp, then runs that through his newer Onkyo that lacks phono and is also short a few inputs. He has a zillion sources connected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueWaffles View Post
Anyone else have the issue with the TV turning ON by itself ? It's completely random and starting to annoy me
Does it at least pick decent programming?
mrtickleuk likes this.
CherylJosie is offline  
post #13365 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by CherylJosie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadrojcote View Post
How can you tell by that that its dd+? I only see DD.
You have to read the specification at the link I posted, not just the text I quoted

Quote:
Originally Posted by abward View Post
You solve this problem by hooking up a AVR to one of the inputs, then you can run many inputs into it.
I have a friend who uses his older Onkyo to give him more inputs and phono preamp, then runs that through his newer Onkyo that lacks phono and is also short a few inputs. He has a zillion sources connected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueWaffles View Post
Anyone else have the issue with the TV turning ON by itself ? It's completely random and starting to annoy me
Does it at least pick decent programming?
If it supports DD+ does that not mean it can support atmos with a software update? Seeing how you can have DD+ atmos without HD audio.
nadrojcote is offline  
post #13366 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 09:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CherylJosie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadrojcote View Post
If it supports DD+ does that not mean it can support atmos with a software update? Seeing how you can have DD+ atmos without HD audio.
dunno
CherylJosie is offline  
post #13367 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
It could just be that I haven't ran into any bad channels yet, but I've turned reduce motion blur back up to 10 with the 1152 update and I haven't noticed any judder.
nadrojcote is offline  
post #13368 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 09:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ha. Actually it just scares the crap outta me when I'm not expecting it.

I have my directv, ps4, Sony blu-ray plugged into the hub
One optic cable from the hub to the blu-ray (home theater surround combo)

So the tv by default still picks HDMI for audio unless I manually select optic every time.

I leave the ps4 in "rest" mode.
I don't remember if I turn off the directv or leave it on but when I power off the tv- the surround (blue ray) knows to turn off on its own.


So every time this has happened , it's playing directv usually pretty loud , usually middle of the night from my basement / theater room.
BlueWaffles is offline  
post #13369 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 09:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How to search for Updates???

I just bought a UN65KS8000. I sold my UN65JS8500 today for $1000. Tv says it is on update 1150. How do i force it to search for 1152??? Samsung rep said that 1150 was the most current. Thank you in advance.
chaossquared8484 is offline  
post #13370 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 09:58 PM
Member
 
Blue_Calx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadrojcote View Post
If it supports DD+ does that not mean it can support atmos with a software update? Seeing how you can have DD+ atmos without HD audio.
Too piggy back on the DD+ discussion. I am trying to get DD+ to passthrough via HDMI ARC using my Shield TV to my soundbar and it doesn't work. DD and DTS passthrough fine. I think the TV will play a DD+ track if the TV is the source but it won't pass it through from another device.

I have a MKV file with a DD+ track on it and it won't pass it through to my soundbar but it will play just fine if i play the file from my KS8000 via usb drive. Kind of a bummer. I wish HDMI ARC didn't suck so much. My soundbar supports HD audio but won't pass HDR video so I have to hook everything directly to my TV and use ARC.

Anyone have success getting Dolby Digital Plus to passthrough?
Blue_Calx is offline  
post #13371 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 10:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2439 Post(s)
Liked: 1740
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaossquared8484 View Post
I just bought a UN65KS8000. I sold my UN65JS8500 today for $1000. Tv says it is on update 1150. How do i force it to search for 1152??? Samsung rep said that 1150 was the most current. Thank you in advance.
I doubt that 1152 is available over the air yet.

You can get it from the Korean site.

http://www.samsung.com/sec/consumer/...UN49KS8000FXKR

If you can't read Korean, use the translate feature of the Google Chrome browser.

Yes, it's the same as for the US models. (The TV only allows compatible firmware to be installed.) Download it, unzip it, and put the "image" folder (size: about 1.2 GB) on a USB drive. Plug that into the OCB (one connect box). When you attempt a manual firmware update, you'll be asked if you wish to search the attached USB drive for an update.

Search the thread for confirmation, if you like.
boojitede likes this.

Last edited by bobknavs; 11-22-2016 at 10:09 PM.
bobknavs is offline  
post #13372 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is there a log or info about the changes in 1152 update ?
BlueWaffles is offline  
post #13373 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 10:21 PM
Member
 
chukronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Colleyville, TX
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by -griffy- View Post
I'm on the verge of purchasing one of these this week. The 55" is too small, and the 65" is just expensive enough that I have a hard time justifying the purchase. The 60" is the sweetspot for size and price for me, but I'm wondering if there's actually a meaningful difference with the panel considering it's apparently different from the other sizes. Can anyone speak to that? Should I avoid the 60"?
I have it and love it. Side by side at BB, there was no picture difference between the 60" and 65".
jeep05 and tjsilva like this.
chukronos is offline  
post #13374 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 10:35 PM
Member
 
chukronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Colleyville, TX
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I received the 1150 update at the end of last week.

I watch OTA stations through the one connect box. It is connected to a large, roof-style antenna in my attic. Unfortunately, the channels never came in very clear on this TV. They were okay, but pixellated and sometimes I would get the message that channels couldn't be found. After the 1150 update, all my local channels have been coming in super clear. Don't know what changed, but the update made a big difference in OTA viewing. Unfortunately, when the new box comes in, I won't be using OTA anymore.
chukronos is offline  
post #13375 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 11:13 PM
Member
 
Vahid Jamali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Also just curious how noticeable the local dimming issue and black uniformity issues are? According to rting the local dimming is terrible, and if that is the case doesn't that mean the quality is really bad in dark movie viewing? http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/ks8000

Does this mean I have to keep local dimming feature turned off permanently to achieve good dark room viewing? Does this affect HDR in anyway? Trying to get any more info before I purchase one of these tonight.
Vahid Jamali is offline  
post #13376 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 11:21 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by NTC View Post
...as it is often said here, it is your TV and your eyes, so you alone decide what you truly want, everything here is just good advice, recommendations, and opinion, and sometime facts!

You just perfectly described the recipe for most of my posts!

- a few cups of great advice and recommendations

- mixed with a good measure of opinion

- and a pinch of actual facts added to spice it up







NTC, the5rivers and mrtickleuk like this.
King Richard is offline  
post #13377 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 11:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
The_Donster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: PACNW
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueWaffles View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Welcome! No, unfortunately Samsung refuse to provide any release notes with any firmware. The most you'll ever get out of them, after a long and arduous online chat with them, is generic platitudes along the lines of "bug fixes and feature improvements" - but the exact phrase that they used is cut and pasted for every release.
You'll find lots of useful information along with a FAQ in the first post of this thread.
Is there a log or info about the changes in 1152 update ?
New and potential owners, make sure to use the search engine or read the thread before asking something that was answered by @mrtickleuk not even 5 hours ago. This is the reason this thread has gotten out of hand.
NTC, CarpeNoctem, jeep05 and 2 others like this.

Official Samsung KS8000/8500 Owners Information PDF
Living Room: LG 55LE5500 Sony BDP‑BX510 XBox 360 w/Kinect
Bedroom: VIZIO E470VL VIZIO VSB200 Sound Bar Sony BDP‑BX510 XBox 360
Inner Sanctum: Samsung 65KS8000, Halo XBox One, GoW Xbox 360, Onkyo HT-S5300
The_Donster is offline  
post #13378 of 36735 Old 11-22-2016, 11:37 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Hanson View Post
Did they move Canada from North America?

Well not yet...

But now with Trump as the US president elect...

Just sayin'

King Richard is offline  
post #13379 of 36735 Old 11-23-2016, 12:11 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by husker3in4 View Post
I love my KS8500, but it sure it annoying to watch netflix or another streaming movie on my widescreen TV and still have black bars on the top and bottom. I want to use my full 65"!

I'd rather lose a little off each side and have it fill my screen than stare at those black bars.

I dont want to distort the aspect ratio, but I would be glad to cut off the sides in order for the image to fill my screen. Its sad when Id rather watch it on TBS than on netflix because on TBS it fills the screen.

Just to add to what other posters already said...

By "zooming in" on the picture to make it fill your screen, not only are you "cropping" the movie by cutting off the sides of the image, but you are hurting the picture quality as well.

It is similar to zooming in on a small picture on your computer screen - the more you zoom in, the worst it looks.

When you view the movie in its proper "aspect ratio", you get the full highest quality image with no cropping.


Richard
The_Donster and mrtickleuk like this.
King Richard is offline  
post #13380 of 36735 Old 11-23-2016, 02:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
There's some blooming when local dimming is set to high in some cases (credits scenes, PS4 turning on, etc.) otherwise for HDR I keep it on high with backlight set to max and it looks great on the Xbox S while for non-HDR games I lower the backlight and set it to low and it looks almost perfect.
King Richard likes this.
rjamali is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off