Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 601 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179976Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18001 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,469
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5174 Post(s)
Liked: 7494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide_NVN View Post
Question regarding 10bit content. If you play 10bit content while the screen is in 4:4:4 8bit 60hz then what is the result? I am assuming it looks off?
The TV changes mode as soon as you press "play" on the 10bit clip, out of 4:4:4 8bit 60hz into something else. We can't see precisely which mode it's in because the TV's info screen doesn't tell you. The TV's info screen only gives you resolution and frame rate.
Samsung thinks that we don't want to know the bit-depth OR the chroma information of the incoming signal, but they are wrong, wrong, wrong. We want to know both of those two secret pieces of technical information.
But by a process of elimination, it's probably 4K60 10bit 4:2:0.

The 10bit 60Hz modes that the TV supports are in the first link in my sig. Click it to see why I said 4:2:0.

Quote:
If that is correct then if you take the file and play it off a thumbdrive directly from the TV itself.
Well remember you can't get 4:4:4 8bit 60Hz outside of "PC mode", and "PC mode" means a HDMI input ONLY. It never gives you 4:4:4 from the USB drive playback.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
I don't have any solid settings to post I have tried every setting reccomended here as well as ratings settings which produced a dark picture and when I played with those a bit to brighten it up everything looked washed out.
Just post what you have now, anything. It's just a starting point. We can't help otherwise.
joe75xp and King Richard like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18002 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
The_Donster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: PACNW
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by berniez View Post
Do you have the Xbox One S configured for 4k and 10 bit. The default in the Xbox setup is for 8 bit. But the tv requires 10 bit. It is in the Xbox set up screen. Just checking. If it is set to 8 bit and 4K, the screen will go black with the HDMI UHD set ON. I did not use the hdmi cable shipped with the Xbox. I am using a different one latest greatest.
So are there any fellow Xbox One, not Xb1S owners here? I'm curious if it will support 10 bit too? It shows it as an option in the video settings but is defaulted to 8 bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Make sure you have "fit to screen: ON" in all modes. From what you're saying, you haven't yet turned it on in the other modes. So you are choosing to zoom and crop the screen in your other modes. It sounds like Movie is the only mode you have set correct so far. Now it's up to you to fix the others to match it.

(It's nothing special about the Movie picture settings out of the box),

Nope. It's probably just xmas eve, no-one is at work, everyone's watching Youtube.
Unfortunately you can't set it to On in the streaming apps or at least the last time I checked. Kind of bums me out that I'm at the mercy of the apps settings. Although none have disappointed me too much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
I don't have any solid settings to post I have tried every setting reccomended here as well as ratings settings which produced a dark picture and when I played with those a bit to brighten it up everything looked washed out.
Well at least post what you have at the moment. That way folks can help you better.

Official Samsung KS8000/8500 Owners Information PDF
Living Room: LG 55LE5500 Sony BDP‑BX510 XBox 360 w/Kinect
Bedroom: VIZIO E470VL VIZIO VSB200 Sound Bar Sony BDP‑BX510 XBox 360
Inner Sanctum: Samsung 65KS8000, Halo XBox One, GoW Xbox 360, Onkyo HT-S5300
The_Donster is offline  
post #18003 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 2,117
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Having problem lately where the damn Netflix app when you go back into and it asks to pick profile it freezes up any controls after that, have to pull cord on tv and reset it.

Marantz 7702MKII/Outlaw 7140 65" 4k Samsung KS8000
i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/970's SLI 840 PRO SSD
Paradigm Studio v3 100/570/20's/470's/2200 Sub
hdtv00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18004 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,469
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5174 Post(s)
Liked: 7494
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Donster View Post
Unfortunately you can't set it to On in the streaming apps or at least the last time I checked. Kind of bums me out that I'm at the mercy of the apps settings. Although none have disappointed me too much.
Ah yes. I didn't like that either. I played a test clip which was a testcard in the USB player, and that didn't crop anything. So in the USB media playback at least, it's not overscanning.

All we'd need is a 4K testcard video to do the same check in the YouTube app. The BBC is good for this sort of thing

Try this - complete with muzak!

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #18005 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Tario70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Pixels stuck White...

I attached a picture but it isn't good. Couldn't get it to focus. Just setup a return exchange for a string of stuck pixels along the top of my screen. Some are white, one is green, another is orange. All are on the same line. About 6-8 pixels.

Anyone have this happen?

Otherwise I've loved the TV. Thank goodness I'm in the return exchange window & got the 5 year warranty.
Tario70 is offline  
post #18006 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 01:09 PM
Member
 
justpassedu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Donster View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by berniez View Post
Do you have the Xbox One S configured for 4k and 10 bit. The default in the Xbox setup is for 8 bit. But the tv requires 10 bit. It is in the Xbox set up screen. Just checking. If it is set to 8 bit and 4K, the screen will go black with the HDMI UHD set ON. I did not use the hdmi cable shipped with the Xbox. I am using a different one latest greatest.
So are there any fellow Xbox One, not Xb1S owners here? I'm curious if it will support 10 bit too? It shows it as an option in the video settings but is defaulted to 8 bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Make sure you have "fit to screen: ON" in all modes. From what you're saying, you haven't yet turned it on in the other modes. So you are choosing to zoom and crop the screen in your other modes. It sounds like Movie is the only mode you have set correct so far. Now it's up to you to fix the others to match it.

(It's nothing special about the Movie picture settings out of the box),

Nope. It's probably just xmas eve, no-one is at work, everyone's watching Youtube.
Unfortunately you can't set it to On in the streaming apps or at least the last time I checked. Kind of bums me out that I'm at the mercy of the apps settings. Although none have disappointed me too much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
I don't have any solid settings to post I have tried every setting reccomended here as well as ratings settings which produced a dark picture and when I played with those a bit to brighten it up everything looked washed out.
Well at least post what you have at the moment. That way folks can help you better.
For set All default settings , movie mode and color tone set to cool as all these others provided to dark of a image. Same with hdr , movie mode , cool , back light at max , led on high , messed with dynamic contrast a bit and prefer low , med, or high for the brighter image. Also tried both judder and blur to zero not touching led with custom and tried it in auto and off .
justpassedu is offline  
post #18007 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 01:15 PM
Member
 
Eric V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Covina, CA
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyKnights View Post
You tube app is running slow today does this happen here n there i have great connection speeds but it's stating other wise n it's lowering my resolution to 2k speeds.. Does you tube app run slow sometimes on certain days on this set
At Least Youtube comes on for you. Mine just shows a blank screen and doesn't load up. I'm on 1154. No new updates being pushed to the tv.
Eric V is offline  
post #18008 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I must be the only stupid person on this thread. I've searched for a list of voice commands, searched the web, and read the e-manual and downloaded and read the manual. No such luck. I don't even find a suggestion as to what voice commands are. I've experimented and found a few commands, such as Settings, Netflix, etc. I would appreciate a quick primer from one who is much brighter than me.
oldbob38 is offline  
post #18009 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 01:31 PM
Member
 
SunPowered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante`afk View Post
Prevoiusly: http://imgur.com/a/YbV0w


This has been fixed now with a complete new panel, however they did a terrible fitting job: http://imgur.com/a/ysdVq
You're scaring me! Mine is supposed to be replaced next week. Thinking maybe I should live with the three small spots (which I can't see from my viewing position).
SunPowered is offline  
post #18010 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 02:43 PM
Member
 
ketamine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxbrown View Post
Thankfully, the second panel doesn't have any light bleed. The uniformity looks good and the picture was pretty easy to get dialed in.
You have a 60" set that has no light bleed??
Terminader and jeremie like this.
ketamine is offline  
post #18011 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Riptide_NVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
The TV changes mode as soon as you press "play" on the 10bit clip, out of 4:4:4 8bit 60hz into something else.
Understood. However playing a H.265 encoded 10bit media file from a PC software player such as MPC-HD is possible. The TV won't switch out of 8 bit mode when you attempt playback under such a condition. Hence my query about what that scenario creates as far as output quality goes. Does the file display with muted color or some other deficiency?

I have yet to try a 10bit H.265 encoded file from a thumbdrive or over Windows 10 via MPC.
Riptide_NVN is offline  
post #18012 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,469
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5174 Post(s)
Liked: 7494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide_NVN View Post
Understood. However playing a H.265 encoded 10bit media file from a PC software player such as MPC-HD is possible. The TV won't switch out of 8 bit mode when you attempt playback under such a condition.
But how do you know that's how the TV behaves? You're saying that the MPC-HD player is faulty I think? It should know it's trying to play a 10bit file in an 8bit video mode, and it should know not to do that.

If the PC is controlling the display, then the PC dictates which screen mode to switch the TV into. The PC can't say "give me a 4K60 10-bit 4:4:4 mode", because no such mode is available via HDMI2.0a.

It's down to the PC end what it does.

Quote:
Hence my query about what that scenario creates as far as output quality goes. Does the file display with muted color or some other deficiency?
That would be down to whatever the PC is sending. It can't be sending 4K60 10-bit 4:4:4, as above. If it trashes the colours and chooses to send 10bit video in an 8-bit mode, it's the PC that's doing that, not the TV.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #18013 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 03:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldbob38 View Post
I must be the only stupid person on this thread. I've searched for a list of voice commands, searched the web, and read the e-manual and downloaded and read the manual. No such luck. I don't even find a suggestion as to what voice commands are. I've experimented and found a few commands, such as Settings, Netflix, etc. I would appreciate a quick primer from one who is much brighter than me.
your not alone that should comfort you. Merry Christmas

Living Room Sam. UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 / M-5010 Amp. /Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player.
DEN TCL 65R617 65-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.2.4 / Philips 4K UHD Dolby Vision Player (P7502) BEDROOM Sam. 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #18014 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 03:21 PM
Member
 
kevinf1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldbob38 View Post
I must be the only stupid person on this thread. I've searched for a list of voice commands, searched the web, and read the e-manual and downloaded and read the manual. No such luck. I don't even find a suggestion as to what voice commands are. I've experimented and found a few commands, such as Settings, Netflix, etc. I would appreciate a quick primer from one who is much brighter than me.
I believe your tv must be connected to the internet for that to work. Something similar happened to me when I tried the voice command. It didn't recognize any command and then realized that it wasn't connected to internet. Once connected, voice commands worked again.
kevinf1990 is offline  
post #18015 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
camd5pt0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
What are you using to watch movies? DVD, Blu-ray, streaming services? I've also noticed a few movies do not pass 5.1 through properly. I also had audio sync issues and ended up just routing my PS4 audio directly to the receiver.
Blu-ray movies with ps4. Even though the movies show the sound profiles, they can't passthrough, that's a bummer. Crazy that all games passthrough flawless at least.

Sent from my SM-N930P using Tapatalk

Home theatre: 65" Sony X950G / LG UBKM9 / Sony UBD-X800 / Xbox One X Project Scorpio / PS4 Pro
Denon AVR-X4400H 7.1.4 config. / Plantronics Dolby Atmos RIG 600LX
Pioneer Andrew Jones L,R,C,SL,SR,SBL,SBR / (4) Polk Atrium 5 series TF,TR
SVS PB-2000 w/ SVS SoundPath Subwoofer Isolation System
camd5pt0 is offline  
post #18016 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Riptide_NVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
It's down to the PC end what it does.
Perhaps that is the question then. Does it have the logic necessary to differentiate between an 8 and 10 bit file. And to switch the TV into an alternate setting to output the file as intended.
mrtickleuk likes this.
Riptide_NVN is offline  
post #18017 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
emmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
For set All default settings , movie mode and color tone set to cool as all these others provided to dark of a image. Same with hdr , movie mode , cool , back light at max , led on high , messed with dynamic contrast a bit and prefer low , med, or high for the brighter image. Also tried both judder and blur to zero not touching led with custom and tried it in auto and off .
try warm 1. I think its the best. dynamic contrast i set to low. but all panels are differnt. if you think movie is too dark try natural. its brighter and lots of places like it in a light room. also see auto being used more in settings for color.
Terminader likes this.
emmons is offline  
post #18018 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 04:36 PM
 
EddyKnights's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Mine has light bleed galore lol n uniformity issues
EddyKnights is offline  
post #18019 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 04:38 PM
 
EddyKnights's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I think native color for hdr+ setting fits the bill and for hdr auto.. Any one try to compare standard with movie any difference
EddyKnights is offline  
post #18020 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Riptide_NVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyKnights View Post
Mine has light bleed galore lol n uniformity issues
Noticed mine has a bit of bleed in the upper left and right corners. Some small amount of clouding overall. Nothing that makes me inclined to ditch it. The vast majority of the time these flaws aren't going to be real visible.
mrtickleuk likes this.
Riptide_NVN is offline  
post #18021 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 05:58 PM
Member
 
mechx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtv00 View Post
Having problem lately where the damn Netflix app when you go back into and it asks to pick profile it freezes up any controls after that, have to pull cord on tv and reset it.
^^this...driving me crazy as well, can't believe more people aren't having the same issue...
mechx is offline  
post #18022 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 06:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,445
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 988 Post(s)
Liked: 903
Just wanted to wish all users of this forum a very Merry Christmas!.

600 pages and 18,000 posts and still going strong

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #18023 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BillKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Anyone with an Xbox One S had any luck splitting the signal to separate HDMI inputs on the 8000? (Sick of swapping between game/movie settings with it on one input).

I've tried one splitter with marginal results so I'm hoping someone else with an 8000 has had better results and can share them before I end up buying 5 or 6 different splitters.

Thanks.

~Bill
BillKen is offline  
post #18024 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 07:27 PM
Member
 
LReyes66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Went to best buy. Ks8000 back to bf prices.

Sent from my Nexus 6P
LReyes66 is offline  
post #18025 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 08:20 PM
Member
 
oxbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ketamine View Post
You have a 60" set that has no light bleed??
The photo on the left is the first TV, picture on the right is the second. I tried to get the exposures close, ignore the Christmas lights reflecting in the second shot, there is almost no light bleed along the bottom edge.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20161203_085717.jpg
Views:	346
Size:	181.1 KB
ID:	1852217   Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-12-24 22.12.29.jpg
Views:	350
Size:	145.0 KB
ID:	1852225  
ketamine and tjsilva like this.
oxbrown is offline  
post #18026 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 08:30 PM
Member
 
justpassedu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmons View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
For set All default settings , movie mode and color tone set to cool as all these others provided to dark of a image. Same with hdr , movie mode , cool , back light at max , led on high , messed with dynamic contrast a bit and prefer low , med, or high for the brighter image. Also tried both judder and blur to zero not touching led with custom and tried it in auto and off .
try warm 1. I think its the best. dynamic contrast i set to low. but all panels are differnt. if you think movie is too dark try natural. its brighter and lots of places like it in a light room. also see auto being used more in settings for color.
Ty I'll give anything a shot at this point , will natural also work if feeding it hdr or is that only possible in movie mode. Kinda bummed after coming back from a holiday party while seeing the football game look beautiful on a 6 yr old Lcd they had on. I just hope I can't get this set looking nice , I'm not picky and I really don't want to go through the hassle of returning it.
justpassedu is offline  
post #18027 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 10:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
Ty I'll give anything a shot at this point , will natural also work if feeding it hdr or is that only possible in movie mode. Kinda bummed after coming back from a holiday party while seeing the football game look beautiful on a 6 yr old Lcd they had on. I just hope I can't get this set looking nice , I'm not picky and I really don't want to go through the hassle of returning it.
Ok here is mine. Movie mode Backlight is 8 brightness is 45 contrast is 95 gamma at 1 sharpness is 5 AMP is off smart LED low dynamic contrast off- this can kill blacks if on, color tone warm 1 sometimes standard and auto instead of native as it keeps colors realistic
JohnnyD83 is offline  
post #18028 of 36717 Old 12-24-2016, 10:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Ok I got my Xbox One S to work thanks to some advice on here, now I am looking for some ideas to get the PS4 Pro to work.

As soon as I switch it to UHD on the screen goes black, I checked the PS4 Pro settings and it says UHD is not supported. So I tried bypassing my receiver, which is a Denon AVR X1200 which does support 4k, and then the PS4 recognized my TV as UHD and I could turn UHD on. I however would like to use my receiver for my surround setup and since the Xbox one S goes through it and is recognized the PS4 should as well. I did check and the PS4 pro is setup for 10bit and not 8 bit so that is not the problem this time. I checked the faq and did a search but I did not find anything on here. Some other sites talked about changing HDMI cords but since mine worked if I hooked it up through the one connect bypassing my receiver that is not the issue.



Thank you in advance for any support I can get.
Mishtar is offline  
post #18029 of 36717 Old 12-25-2016, 03:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,737
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1357 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Looks like they have eliminated the black level adjustments in the Picture Settings menu for the K Series. In previous series, there was a subcategory where you could select Black, Blacker, and Blackest. Is there another way to adjust the black levels on the KS8000?
tylerSC is offline  
post #18030 of 36717 Old 12-25-2016, 03:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,737
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1357 Post(s)
Liked: 252
And as much as I may like the KS8000, I do not understand why they eliminated the Information category of apps in the Smart Hub. I miss the live streaming news apps and other channels. The overall selection of apps is too limited and I am going to add a Roku box.
tylerSC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off