Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 602 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179988Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18031 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 03:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelson View Post
I also have the double image blur. but its at its worst when im playing FIFA 17 and im going for a through pass. After the pass is completed the game looks clear again i have not been able to fix this no matter what settings i select. At 1st i thought it was the game. But realized it happen on both xbox 1 and ps4. No major issues on any other games like. gears of war 4. or destiny/division. Everything else seems okay to me. curious if anybody else has a similar issue when playing fifa.Thinking of selling its very annoying. Not sure if a firmware update would fix this.
please if you have any Solution let me know ..
FAHAD NASSER is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18032 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 03:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Can someone please tell me if we can connect regular bluetooth headphones to the KS8000?
ammarmalik is offline  
post #18033 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 06:58 AM
Member
 
MilitantBEEMER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Xbox One S does not support 4K 10Bit?

I went into the 4K details on my Xbox 0ne S and it says my TV does not support 10Bit? I am running through a Yamaha TSR-5810 with Monoprice Certified cables.. Am I doing something incorrect?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1638.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	1852617  
MilitantBEEMER is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18034 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 07:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BillKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilitantBEEMER View Post
I went into the 4K details on my Xbox 0ne S and it says my TV does not support 10Bit? I am running through a Yamaha TSR-5810 with Monoprice Certified cables.. Am I doing something incorrect?
Similar issue here when running through my 4K, 2.2 HDMI splitter. When Xbox One S is connected directly to the tv everything's fine but I lose some options as soon as I run it through my splitter. Probably the same situation for you. Seems like the Xbox One S hates to be run through anything.
MilitantBEEMER likes this.

~Bill
BillKen is offline  
post #18035 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 07:17 AM
Member
 
MilitantBEEMER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillKen View Post
Similar issue here when running through my 4K, 2.2 HDMI splitter. When Xbox One S is connected directly to the tv everything's fine but I lose some options as soon as I run it through my splitter. Probably the same situation for you. Seems like the Xbox One S hates to be run through anything.
Figured it out. I had the wrong mode setting on the Yamaha....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1639.jpg
Views:	265
Size:	114.2 KB
ID:	1852665  
The_Donster and mrtickleuk like this.
MilitantBEEMER is offline  
post #18036 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 07:39 AM
Member
 
ketamine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxbrown View Post
The photo on the left is the first TV, picture on the right is the second. I tried to get the exposures close, ignore the Christmas lights reflecting in the second shot, there is almost no light bleed along the bottom edge.


That second one looks much better. That light bleed in the first one was bad as it was scattered. Did they replace just the panel or the entire TV?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ketamine is offline  
post #18037 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 07:53 AM
Member
 
justpassedu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Anyone try sports mode while watching sd tv ? It makes the colors pop but a bit over saturated. I like it but faces are very grainy. I tried messing with settings with no luck . What can I do to help this grainy look ?
justpassedu is offline  
post #18038 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by ammarmalik View Post
Can someone please tell me if we can connect regular bluetooth headphones to the KS8000?
Yes you can.
The_Donster and King Richard like this.
blenky is offline  
post #18039 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 08:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Browsing through the apps on my tv, I found two Crackle apps, one with a black logo, the other orange. I don't see any difference between the two, both seem to have the same shows. I added them both to my home screen until I figure out which I need. Anybody know which I want?
Evildad is offline  
post #18040 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 08:52 AM
Member
 
saknice20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilitantBEEMER View Post
I went into the 4K details on my Xbox 0ne S and it says my TV does not support 10Bit? I am running through a Yamaha TSR-5810 with Monoprice Certified cables.. Am I doing something incorrect?
Go into your tv settings and enable full color mode for that hdmi port.
saknice20 is offline  
post #18041 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 08:58 AM
Member
 
saknice20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any way to get rid of the dimming the tv does as it transitions from dark to light? VERY distracting and the other day it dimmed a movie scene so much I couldn't even watch it and had to pause it to fix it.
saknice20 is offline  
post #18042 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinf1990 View Post
I believe your tv must be connected to the internet for that to work. Something similar happened to me when I tried the voice command. It didn't recognize any command and then realized that it wasn't connected to internet. Once connected, voice commands worked again.
My TV is connected to the internet. Can watch 4K TV from Netflix and Amazon. Am just searching for a list of accepted voice commands. The only two that I'm sure of are "settings" and "return" which are useful. I think it's tacky that we have an undocumented capability that is prominently publicized. Google, for example, publishes a list of the voice commands that are supported for Android phones. Since voice commands are apparently limited, why not print the list so that users can see what they can and cannot do. This leads me to hazard a guess that the list is not published because it is embarrassingly short.
oldbob38 is offline  
post #18043 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,987
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 898 Post(s)
Liked: 1651
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
Anyone try sports mode while watching sd tv ? It makes the colors pop but a bit over saturated. I like it but faces are very grainy. I tried messing with settings with no luck . What can I do to help this grainy look ?
Avoid Sports mode. Try Standard or HDR+.
Terminader is online now  
post #18044 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassedu View Post
Anyone try sports mode while watching sd tv ? It makes the colors pop but a bit over saturated. I like it but faces are very grainy. I tried messing with settings with no luck . What can I do to help this grainy look ?
Turn digital view I think it is to auto. My signal is pretty dirty also so I have to keep it on as well
JohnnyD83 is offline  
post #18045 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,640
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1520 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by saknice20 View Post
Any way to get rid of the dimming the tv does as it transitions from dark to light? VERY distracting and the other day it dimmed a movie scene so much I couldn't even watch it and had to pause it to fix it.
The TV dimming is caused by TWO things:

1.) The ECO settings in the menu, which you should disable.
2.) The panel dimming which is currently NOT able to be defeated, and which drives me nuts. What you're describing sounds like ECO settings enabled, though.
King Richard likes this.
WilliamG is offline  
post #18046 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 12:01 PM
 
EddyKnights's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Well it's frustrating because I have a Comcast 100 mb download speeds and when yesterday n today I go to YouTube at times 4k hdr videos r being played at 2 k n not the 4k speed is that because of to much traffic on Xmas eve n Xmas.. Does the amount of people that log in to you tube affect if I can get true 4k resolution regardless of my speeds
EddyKnights is offline  
post #18047 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 12:27 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,219
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2340 Post(s)
Liked: 4463
Price talk removed.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #18048 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,063
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1305 Post(s)
Liked: 2157
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
Price talk removed.
Working on Christmas?! First, thank you. Second, go have a beer and eat some good food! Merry Christmas!
DrDon, The_Donster and mrtickleuk like this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #18049 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 12:48 PM
Member
 
Willland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kissimmee,Fl
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
Price talk removed.
I tried to warn him tactfully in a PM.

Bill
DrDon and The_Donster like this.
Willland is offline  
post #18050 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 01:31 PM
NTC
Senior Member
 
NTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Alabama, USA
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyKnights View Post
Well it's frustrating because I have a Comcast 100 mb download speeds and when yesterday n today I go to YouTube at times 4k hdr videos r being played at 2 k n not the 4k speed is that because of to much traffic on Xmas eve n Xmas.. Does the amount of people that log in to you tube affect if I can get true 4k resolution regardless of my speeds
Try going to Youtube through the built-in web browser of the TV, AND see if you can get 4k. If the video defaults to 1080p, see if you can select 2160p. Also use the web browser to do a speedtest.
NTC is online now  
post #18051 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 01:33 PM
 
EddyKnights's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 63
My speed test though speed of me inert on TV web browser 93 down 13 up so speed is more than ok. But when running YouTube n streaming when u check the speed it varies from 20-50 maybe that's because of the traffic on youtube
EddyKnights is offline  
post #18052 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
emmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyKnights View Post
Well it's frustrating because I have a Comcast 100 mb download speeds and when yesterday n today I go to YouTube at times 4k hdr videos r being played at 2 k n not the 4k speed is that because of to much traffic on Xmas eve n Xmas.. Does the amount of people that log in to you tube affect if I can get true 4k resolution regardless of my speeds
not youtube but the traffic on your line. fibre optics or any will slow down the more traffic and holidays are always busy
emmons is offline  
post #18053 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 03:04 PM
 
EddyKnights's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Well definitely returning my 60 inch.. The viewing angle sucks big time if u don't see it dead center it starts washing out, light bleed n clouding.. My ex wife has the 65 ks8500 n its perfect with light bleed n vowing angles but my 60 is no where close.. Must be the damn sharp panels.. Curious if the ks8500 has better viewing angles and less light bleeding

Last edited by EddyKnights; 12-25-2016 at 03:22 PM. Reason: Added more
EddyKnights is offline  
post #18054 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 03:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone!
I really need your expert help guys! I recently bought this tv and would like to use it with my PS4 PRO. I've read a lot of articles about setting things up in this model for HDR content and I'm still unsure about these 2 things:
1. Can I leave the Dynamic Contrast on low or medium in HDR content or should I turn it off? (Many people tell me to turn it off for gaming but my image is dim) Should I turn it off or to low at SDR content? (I'd rather set it to medium for both content).
2. Should I set my color space to auto for HDR content? I prefer native color space (better colors for my eyes) but I'd like to get the most out of the HDR and this tv..and most people say to set it on auto..can I leave it on native for SDR?
Thank you in advance for any help! :-)
PSzg is offline  
post #18055 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 05:08 PM
Member
 
jds54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyKnights View Post
Well definitely returning my 60 inch.. The viewing angle sucks big time if u don't see it dead center it starts washing out, light bleed n clouding.. My ex wife has the 65 ks8500 n its perfect with light bleed n vowing angles but my 60 is no where close.. Must be the damn sharp panels.. Curious if the ks8500 has better viewing angles and less light bleeding
I have 3 sizes of KS8500 and all have some light bleed which can only be seen while changing stations on Comcast box. This doesn't bother me because these sets have fantastic picture quality. Upscaling is incredible on 1080i signal. Viewing angles do suffer on both KS8000 and KS8500 which is nature of these panels.
Overall I am very pleased with my decision to buy 2016 models.
I don't think 2017 will bring anything better from Samsung on KS 8000 models.
jds54 is offline  
post #18056 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 05:09 PM
 
EddyKnights's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Funny I went through the website YouTube on the TV n wired the 4 k option would be good half way during video then stream im using wired connection then I tried wireless connection n a ok weird.. I get 95 down wired or wireless.. Very odd
EddyKnights is offline  
post #18057 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 05:15 PM
 
EddyKnights's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Well my ex wife 65ks8500 is beautiful no light bleed hardly n better viewing angle than my 60 ks8000 looks like I may be exchanging especially since price went down for 65 curve..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20161223_175814_1482711264667.jpg
Views:	292
Size:	81.8 KB
ID:	1853361  
EddyKnights is offline  
post #18058 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
thegam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by saknice20 View Post
Any way to get rid of the dimming the tv does as it transitions from dark to light? VERY distracting and the other day it dimmed a movie scene so much I couldn't even watch it and had to pause it to fix it.
yep very annoying(so much so, if i had known this before buying it i wouldnt have bought it), one thing i learned is that Standard mode has alot less aggressive dimming compared to the other modes
thegam3 is online now  
post #18059 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 06:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BillKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 33
No HDR YouTube from my Xbox One S but I have it from the TVs built in YouTube app. I get HDR from both devices using the Netflix app though.

What's weird though is the TV automatically adjusts the backlight to 20 when using the TV for Netflix (and back when done) but does not when using the app on the Xbox One S (I do get the "an HDR video is playing message" though).

I'd really like to simplify and use my Xbox One S for everything but watching TV but the quirks are getting irritating. I feel like I'm spending more time configuring inputs and checking stuff than I am enjoying the beautiful picture it has.

Any ideas?

~Bill

Last edited by BillKen; 12-25-2016 at 06:05 PM.
BillKen is offline  
post #18060 of 36743 Old 12-25-2016, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Yobder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Reno, Nev.
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi, I have my 65" on "Standard" which is pretty bright. I have it on this setting because my room is very bright. I just noticed after the sun went down my tv got darker. It still on "Standard" is there a setting to stop it from doing this?
Yobder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off