Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 688 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 180305Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20611 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1091
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMZ_P View Post
holding the power button of the remote usually does the trick
or turn the breaker off for that outlet.

Living Room Sam. UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 / M-5010 Amp. /Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player.
DEN TCL 65R617 65-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.2.4 / Philips 4K UHD Dolby Vision Player (P7502) BEDROOM Sam. 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20612 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 08:06 AM
Member
 
bjanssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat Seguin View Post
It's the new NVidia Shield TV and I am playing some Netflix and Amazon Prime stuff that says 5.1. I also plugged in my Apple TV 4 and played the same stuff and still only got stereo.

The first day, I was in the standard mode but HDR did seem to be kicking in because I got the notification. Last night, I switched to movie mode and put in some picture settings I found on the internet. Picture looks great. I played Luke Cage and got the notification that it was playing an HDR source. Still looked great but I didn't see anything change when it said HDR. What am I supposed to be seeing in HDR vs non HDR?
The Shield only outputs DD+ from it's Netflix app. The KS8000 ARC can pass DD along, but not DD+ which is why you're being downconverted to 2 channels. One of the reasons I've held off on buying the Shield.
King Richard likes this.
bjanssen is offline  
post #20613 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 08:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjanssen View Post
The Shield only outputs DD+ from it's Netflix app. The KS8000 ARC can pass DD along, but not DD+ which is why you're being downconverted to 2 channels. One of the reasons I've held off on buying the Shield.
Well, I tried my Apple TV 4 also and it gives me stereo too. Plus I don't think Netflix has anything DD+ anyways.
Pat Seguin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20614 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 08:18 AM
Member
 
bjanssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat Seguin View Post
Well, I tried my Apple TV 4 also and it gives me stereo too. Plus I don't think Netflix has anything DD+ anyways.
forums.geforce.com/default/topic/838504/shield-tv/no-5-1-surround-with-netflix/1/
King Richard likes this.
bjanssen is offline  
post #20615 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
The_Donster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: PACNW
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by layzzzee8 View Post
I have a feeling that the people on 1162 not experiencing frame skips have AMP off. I cannot watch this TV with AMP off.
Mine's on custom. Blur Reduction at 10, Judder Reduction at 0 and LED Clear Motion is off. My Dynamic Control is also at medium?
King Richard and juffalotus like this.

Official Samsung KS8000/8500 Owners Information PDF
Living Room: LG 55LE5500 Sony BDP‑BX510 XBox 360 w/Kinect
Bedroom: VIZIO E470VL VIZIO VSB200 Sound Bar Sony BDP‑BX510 XBox 360
Inner Sanctum: Samsung 65KS8000, Halo XBox One, GoW Xbox 360, Onkyo HT-S5300
The_Donster is offline  
post #20616 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
layzzzee8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Donster View Post
Mine's on custom. Blur Reduction at 10, Judder Reduction at 0 and LED Clear Motion is off. My Dynamic Control is also at medium?
Try turning judder up to 6 and see if you get skips.
layzzzee8 is offline  
post #20617 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Can someone please explain why my screen turns grayish(grainy) when I turn the sound to bitstream from PCM?? Doesn't make sense to me how they could be related. Using it for PS4.
Samsunguy74 is offline  
post #20618 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1091
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samsunguy74 View Post
Can someone please explain why my screen turns grayish(grainy) when I turn the sound to bitstream from PCM?? Doesn't make sense to me how they could be related. Using it for PS4.
that a new one
King Richard and DMZ_P like this.

Living Room Sam. UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 / M-5010 Amp. /Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player.
DEN TCL 65R617 65-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.2.4 / Philips 4K UHD Dolby Vision Player (P7502) BEDROOM Sam. 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #20619 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,832
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 1597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samsunguy74 View Post
Can someone please explain why my screen turns grayish(grainy) when I turn the sound to bitstream from PCM?? Doesn't make sense to me how they could be related. Using it for PS4.
I'd try a different cable. PCM can carry only a max of 5.1 channels, and if you change to sending a 7.1 channel bitstream over an iffy or degraded cable, you might be hitting a bandwidth limited by the cable. The sparklies that can result may cause the picture to be perceived as grayish or grainy.
King Richard and Samsunguy74 like this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #20620 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 10:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota Brown View Post
I've been having a really frustrating time trying to get the HDR to look good on this TV. I don't know if my TV is defective or not. I've followed all the calibration guides and SDR content looks great in 4K but when I watch movies or play games in HDR the picture is very dark. I've done a lot of research and I know there is a misconception that HDR is supposed to make colors pop and look really saturated, but in reality it just makes the colors more accurate and natural. I actually lose detail with HDR mode though.

I've provided some screen screenshots to demonstrate what I am seeing. This is The Last of Us Remastered on the PS4 Slim 1080P with HDR Enabled in the Game. I have the UHD enabled on the HDMI Input, Backlight set to 20, Contrast at 100, Color Space on Auto, Eco Features are off, and Dynamic Contrast is off. The room in the game is supposed to be dimly lit but I don't think it should be as dark as it is with HDR on. I've uploaded a photo with SDR shots on top and HDR shots on bottom for comparison. In the SDR1 picture I uploaded you can easily see the bookshelf. In the HDR1 photo the bookshelf almost disappears. In the SDR 2 and HDR2 photos I uploaded you can see that the details of the desk have been lost in the darkness.

I have the same behavior with any HDR Content that I watch be it on Xbox One S, PS4, or even the native Netflix App. My Xbox One reports that HDR is fully working and supported by my TV yet everything still gets very dark. Forza Horizon 3 looks much better without HDR. If I set the dynamic contrast to medium it helps out the brightness a lot but at the cost of some loss of detail in whites and blacks.

Am I doing something wrong or is my TV Defective?

To add to what others have said (mainly the dynamic setting and the HDR is not "brighter"). Take a look at the door ways in both the screen shots. The SDR ones are blown out, the HDR you can see more in that area. This is actually a good example of SDR vs HDR, not just showing the bright colors which pop, but shadow detail and lighting. Also look at the bottom right corner (health bar?) and compare. The HDR has clear lines between each section while that detail is lost some on the SDR version. I will agree that at first the HDR does look a little dark, but overall it looks better with the detail.


These were posted before and show a good difference in SDR vs HDR:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post49448833
King Richard likes this.

Samsung UN55KS8000FXZA || Onkyo TX-NR747 || Xbox One S || PC w/ 4k 60Hz
EagleOne42 is offline  
post #20621 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Lonewolf7002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtv00 View Post
I'll add that yea 3 different 4 TB drives have worked fine without doing anything at all with them. Two have no external power and ran off usb power, one has external power all have worked flawless. Two different seagates one usb power one external and one Western Digital usb powered.
That's good to know, thanks. I tried a brand new Seagate 4TB and a Seagate 2Tb, bot USB powered. The TV doesn't seem to think there is a drive plugged in, even tho the power light comes on. Sigh. Would be ideal if it worked, but I can use it through the K8500 bluray player so I'm not stuck. Would much prefer going through the TV but I'll work with what I have.
Lonewolf7002 is offline  
post #20622 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 10:16 AM
Member
 
multicore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota Brown View Post
I've been having a really frustrating time trying to get the HDR to look good on this TV. I don't know if my TV is defective or not. I've followed all the calibration guides and SDR content looks great in 4K but when I watch movies or play games in HDR the picture is very dark. I've done a lot of research and I know there is a misconception that HDR is supposed to make colors pop and look really saturated, but in reality it just makes the colors more accurate and natural. I actually lose detail with HDR mode though.

I've provided some screen screenshots to demonstrate what I am seeing. This is The Last of Us Remastered on the PS4 Slim 1080P with HDR Enabled in the Game. I have the UHD enabled on the HDMI Input, Backlight set to 20, Contrast at 100, Color Space on Auto, Eco Features are off, and Dynamic Contrast is off. The room in the game is supposed to be dimly lit but I don't think it should be as dark as it is with HDR on. I've uploaded a photo with SDR shots on top and HDR shots on bottom for comparison. In the SDR1 picture I uploaded you can easily see the bookshelf. In the HDR1 photo the bookshelf almost disappears. In the SDR 2 and HDR2 photos I uploaded you can see that the details of the desk have been lost in the darkness.

I have the same behavior with any HDR Content that I watch be it on Xbox One S, PS4, or even the native Netflix App. My Xbox One reports that HDR is fully working and supported by my TV yet everything still gets very dark. Forza Horizon 3 looks much better without HDR. If I set the dynamic contrast to medium it helps out the brightness a lot but at the cost of some loss of detail in whites and blacks.

Am I doing something wrong or is my TV Defective?
I have TLoU Remastered on the PS4 Pro and it doesn't look like that at all with HDR on. Are you sure you have UHD color on for the right HDMI input? As Richard said, the gamma looks whacked. Don't have LED Clear Motion on, do you?
King Richard likes this.
multicore is offline  
post #20623 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 5,813
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2902 Post(s)
Liked: 2095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf7002 View Post
That's good to know, thanks. I tried a brand new Seagate 4TB and a Seagate 2Tb, bot USB powered. The TV doesn't seem to think there is a drive plugged in, even tho the power light comes on. Sigh. Would be ideal if it worked, but I can use it through the K8500 bluray player so I'm not stuck. Would much prefer going through the TV but I'll work with what I have.
Have you tried both USB ports on the OCB (one connect box)? They are not interchangeable. I don't recall which is which, but one of them can supply more power to a drive than the other.

An alternative would be to use a powered hub, although that would add cost and complexity.
Terminader likes this.
bobknavs is offline  
post #20624 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf7002 View Post
That's good to know, thanks. I tried a brand new Seagate 4TB and a Seagate 2Tb, bot USB powered. The TV doesn't seem to think there is a drive plugged in, even tho the power light comes on. Sigh. Would be ideal if it worked, but I can use it through the K8500 bluray player so I'm not stuck. Would much prefer going through the TV but I'll work with what I have.
Also just to make sure - after connecting the drive did you look under the "Sources" list for the drive?

Samsung UN55KS8000FXZA || Onkyo TX-NR747 || Xbox One S || PC w/ 4k 60Hz
EagleOne42 is offline  
post #20625 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by timick1 View Post
Is there a way to reset the TV without having to unplug it? My TV is mounted on the wall with the outlet (and plug) located behind the TV.
Circuit Breaker
acefr is offline  
post #20626 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 11:03 AM
Member
 
apw100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota Brown View Post
I've provided some screen screenshots to demonstrate what I am seeing.
Although JPEGs can't really show us what you are seeing since they are only 8-bit and therefore not capable of representing the dynamic range of an HDR display, we can still infer a few things.

Taking a properly exposed photo of an HDR image from an HDR display should produce either clipped highlights or crushed blacks in the JPEG since it can't represent the wide dynamic range of the source. In this case, the blacks are crushed but the highlights look good. This tells me that your brightness level is way too low. You should be able to raise the brightness in the game to a point where the shadows aren't so dark yet the highlights still contain detail.
ketamine and King Richard like this.
apw100 is offline  
post #20627 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just got the 65" KS8000 yesterday and was watching a hockey game last night and noticed a yellowish tint on the left side of the screen (it runs down the whole side and is quite noticeable because of the color of the ice). I'm not sure if it is an issue with the TV or the game feed. Anyone have experience with that? Should I exchange it for a new set?
aircobra is offline  
post #20628 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 11:28 AM
Member
 
DMZ_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by aircobra View Post
I just got the 65" KS8000 yesterday and was watching a hockey game last night and noticed a yellowish tint on the left side of the screen (it runs down the whole side and is quite noticeable because of the color of the ice). I'm not sure if it is an issue with the TV or the game feed. Anyone have experience with that? Should I exchange it for a new set?
maybe play a white image and see if it's there ?

Samsung UN55KS8000 || Sony BDVE-980W || PS4 Pro
DMZ_P is offline  
post #20629 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Does anyone here have a sound bar or receiver with 1-5 ms audio delay options or know of any that offer this specifically? I've tried looking but can't find that specification when viewing product info. Also, do any of you have negative number options for audio delay? When looking this up I saw some tv's have offered this but didn't know if any others offer this.
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #20630 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,071
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1707 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Does anyone here have a sound bar or receiver with 1-5 ms audio delay options or know of any that offer this specifically? I've tried looking but can't find that specification when viewing product info. Also, do any of you have negative number options for audio delay? When looking this up I saw some tv's have offered this but didn't know if any others offer this.
Nothing can do negative audio delay. The TV has between 20-60ms of latency depending on mode. That should be more than enough to properly sync your audio.

If you have lip sync issues with your setup then something is wrong with your setup. Sorry I can't help you more.
dwaleke is offline  
post #20631 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 11:51 AM
Member
 
DMZ_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Does anyone here have a sound bar or receiver with 1-5 ms audio delay options or know of any that offer this specifically? I've tried looking but can't find that specification when viewing product info. Also, do any of you have negative number options for audio delay? When looking this up I saw some tv's have offered this but didn't know if any others offer this.
in doubt always check the AVR manual you're thinking of buying. The ones I've check, Denon and Yamaha, had 1ms increment. V581, VX781, S920W

Samsung UN55KS8000 || Sony BDVE-980W || PS4 Pro
DMZ_P is offline  
post #20632 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
layzzzee8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Does anyone here have a sound bar or receiver with 1-5 ms audio delay options or know of any that offer this specifically? I've tried looking but can't find that specification when viewing product info. Also, do any of you have negative number options for audio delay? When looking this up I saw some tv's have offered this but didn't know if any others offer this.
All the Denon's have this feature. 0-200ms in 1ms increments.
mrtickleuk likes this.
layzzzee8 is offline  
post #20633 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 11:55 AM
Member
 
DMZ_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Also, do any of you have negative number options for audio delay? When looking this up I saw some tv's have offered this but didn't know if any others offer this.
Maybe what you've seen are TVs that are setup with a delay from the start (like 80ms for example) but displayed as 0 in their menus. so 0ms to 160ms would show -80ms/0/+80ms

Samsung UN55KS8000 || Sony BDVE-980W || PS4 Pro
DMZ_P is offline  
post #20634 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 11:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,966
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6245 Post(s)
Liked: 9076
Quote:
Originally Posted by timick1 View Post
Is there a way to reset the TV without having to unplug it? My TV is mounted on the wall with the outlet (and plug) located behind the TV.
Quote:
Originally Posted by audacious nick View Post
You can always flip the circuit breaker for the room the TV is plugged into On and Off if reaching the plug is too difficult..
A few people have beaten me to that suggestion :-)

Even though the holding down the button trick normally reboots the TV, we've had a few issues where the remedy was to pull the power when the TV was on and displaying a picture (ie cause a deliberate power-cut, not reboot it). So it's worth remembering the circuit breaker tip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
There is a misconception (shared by me at first after reading about HDR) that HDR makes the overall picture brighter. It doesn't. Although the TV automatically ramps up the backlight control when it switches to HDR mode, the extra brightness above roughly 100 nits is used only for highlights. The picture overall brightness level is intended to be 100 nits, the same as current SDR content. What really changes-and it matters for picture and color depth-is that the number of digital brightness steps from black to 100 nits goes from about 219 to almost 500. This allows much finer gradation in light and shadow and smoother color transitions. Combine this with a wide color gamut, and those brighter highlights, and you should get a much more realistic picture. If you are running your set at much over 120 nits at full white in non-HDR mode, it will be throttling back noticeably when playing HDR, and I think this is the reason many folks complain about HDR being dark or dim.
Superb and concise explanation sir, quoted in full because of that!

This Sony PDF is also a very good guide.
Sometimes the differences are blinding (The Blacklist on page 5 - the HDR one is the DARK image; the SDR version had to be brightened up, completely changing it), and other times they are subtle (in the cables in the bridge in the Siderman picture on page 4)

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #20635 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post
Nothing can do negative audio delay. The TV has between 20-60ms of latency depending on mode. That should be more than enough to properly sync your audio.

If you have lip sync issues with your setup then something is wrong with your setup. Sorry I can't help you more.
Yep, I'm definitely having lip syncing issues. I've never ever experienced this before and now I definitely cannot unsee it and it's driving me crazy. I have never noticed it before and now that I noticed it with this one I checked my other Samsung and notice the exact same lip syncing delay that I've never noticed before, I so so wish I could unsee it. I'm think if I had 5 ms increments it would be enough for me as I've been able to get it down pretty close. I have it at 30 but when I go to 40 it's too much.
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #20636 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
I'd try a different cable. PCM can carry only a max of 5.1 channels, and if you change to sending a 7.1 channel bitstream over an iffy or degraded cable, you might be hitting a bandwidth limited by the cable. The sparklies that can result may cause the picture to be perceived as grayish or grainy.
Cable from the PS4 to the TV or the cable from the soundbar?
Samsunguy74 is offline  
post #20637 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by 52LG60FTW View Post
Don't think it's possible to run PC games with HDR enabled @ 4K/60Hz 4:4:4 8-bit. That's what I've been told at least.
There are games which support it. This is a screen capture from Shadow Warrior 2 in HDR @ 4k, 60Hz, 4:4:4, 8 bit.
This is with a GTX 1060.

Last edited by DanielOKeeffe; 01-20-2017 at 12:27 PM. Reason: Forgot to attach screenshot
DanielOKeeffe is offline  
post #20638 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMZ_P View Post
in doubt always check the AVR manual you're thinking of buying. The ones I've check, Denon and Yamaha, had 1ms increment. V581, VX781, S920W
Thank you! Are the manuals available online? I was in hopes to try a sound bar instead because these are pretty pricey so I didn't want to spend if it didn't solve my issue... I'm glad this is at least available in AVR's so it should be absolutely possible to get the audio syncing pretty spot on right? I was hoping to find a soundbar that would do this though...
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #20639 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 12:06 PM
Member
 
DMZ_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Thank you! Are the manuals available online? I was in hopes to try a sound bar instead because these are pretty pricey so I didn't want to spend if it didn't solve my issue... I'm glad this is at least available in AVR's so it should be absolutely possible to get the audio syncing pretty spot on right? I was hoping to find a soundbar that would do this though...
Of course they are available online. Either on the product page or the support page.
Happy AVR hunting.

Samsung UN55KS8000 || Sony BDVE-980W || PS4 Pro
DMZ_P is offline  
post #20640 of 37150 Old 01-20-2017, 12:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMZ_P View Post
Maybe what you've seen are TVs that are setup with a delay from the start (like 80ms for example) but displayed as 0 in their menus. so 0ms to 160ms would show -80ms/0/+80ms
Yep, I think this is what I was seeing talked about by other tv's. It would serve the same purpose to get that audio spot on with video that was coming before audio with the tv setup that way right? I've seen there are applications for videos to do this as well.
MeganElisabeth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off