Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 787 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179704Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23581 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 11:06 AM
Member
 
raskolnikov1944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Is a factory settings reset recommended after a software update? Read about it on other forums but I don't know if it does anything....
raskolnikov1944 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23582 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 12:22 PM
Member
 
DMZ_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
. Beware that all Apps, local USB/Network playback and Live TV combined *share* and count as a single "source". They didn't used to, but a firmware update merged them.
Actually it's a little more complicated than that. Yes the apps, DLNA share the same picture profile as Live TV BUT ONLY FOR THEIR MENU
When you launch a movie or a serie on Amazon, Netflix or your DLNA server, the picture profile will change to a app specific profile (still shared between all the apps and servers).

I remember when they merged parts of the profile together, I was upset but told myself that they needed space for the Game mode HDR profile.... still waiting.
King Richard likes this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 || Sony BDVE-980W || PS4 Pro
DMZ_P is offline  
post #23583 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 12:25 PM
Member
 
DMZ_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by raskolnikov1944 View Post
Is a factory settings reset recommended after a software update? Read about it on other forums but I don't know if it does anything....
No. My advice would be a soft reset by holding the remote's power button until you see the Samsung boot logo.
Terminader likes this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 || Sony BDVE-980W || PS4 Pro
DMZ_P is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23584 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,493
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4428 Post(s)
Liked: 6706
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMZ_P View Post
Actually it's a little more complicated than that. Yes the apps, DLNA share the same picture profile as Live TV BUT ONLY FOR THEIR MENU
When you launch a movie or a serie on Amazon, Netflix or your DLNA server, the picture profile will change to a app specific profile (still shared between all the apps and servers).
Wow, that is very complicated . I shall have to do some experiments in the YouTube app (the only one I really use).
DMZ_P likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #23585 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
camd5pt0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by raskolnikov1944 View Post
How are you all playing Horizon Zero Dawn, PS4 PRO, HDR - dynamic contrast ON or OFF? Can't seem to make up my mind. Pros and cons?
I play on high, it looks best! I tried them all. Really makes the lights off the machines, so bright looks cool

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

Home theatre: 65" Samsung KS8500 /Sony UBD-X800 / Xbox One X Project Scorpio / PS4 Pro
Denon AVR-X4400H 7.1.4 config. / Plantronics Dolby Atmos RIG 600LX
Pioneer Andrew Jones L,R,C,SL,SR,SBL,SBR / (4) Polk Atrium 5 series FHL,FHR,RHL,RHR
SVS PB-2000 w/ SVS SoundPath Subwoofer Isolation System
camd5pt0 is offline  
post #23586 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 03:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've about had it with this.


This TV, no matter what I do, will ask me to install the new device, every d#$!% time I turn this on. Every time I turn on the TV "NEW DEVICE RECOGNIZE, PLEASE INSTALL"

I try to install it, nothing happens, it just times out. I edit, label, rename. Cool. Turn tv off....Turn it back on, everything is lost "NEW DEVICE RECOGNIZED, PLEASE INSTALL"

Why will it NOT REMEMBER ANYTHING!?

this is so frustrating.


There has to be a reason for this. This is garbage.
mlkmade is offline  
post #23587 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Samshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Eden Prairie, Minnesota USA
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I set mine to automatic updates, Haven't had any problems.
Samshort is offline  
post #23588 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would they be able to add hdr10+ with a one connect evolution box?
DwayneWayne1 is offline  
post #23589 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by DwayneWayne1 View Post
Would they be able to add hdr10+ with a one connect evolution box?
I doubt it.
King Richard likes this.
PTV Programmer is offline  
post #23590 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,867
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1165 Post(s)
Liked: 1995
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlkmade View Post
I've about had it with this.


This TV, no matter what I do, will ask me to install the new device, every d#$!% time I turn this on. Every time I turn on the TV "NEW DEVICE RECOGNIZE, PLEASE INSTALL"

I try to install it, nothing happens, it just times out. I edit, label, rename. Cool. Turn tv off....Turn it back on, everything is lost "NEW DEVICE RECOGNIZED, PLEASE INSTALL"

Why will it NOT REMEMBER ANYTHING!?

this is so frustrating.


There has to be a reason for this. This is garbage.
What have you done to try to alleviate the issue? Also what FW version are you on? Are you running through an AVR?
jeep05, Terminader and The_Donster like this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #23591 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce banner View Post
Anyone else get the 1167 update this morning?
Assuming I did. Getting a new drop down from the top about my resolution when a commercial or bad quality replay on NFL Network shows up.
Terminader and mrtickleuk like this.
zags85 is offline  
post #23592 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
davethestalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SW lower Michigan
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 22
With this update, the volume coming from the ARC going to my AVR-X7200wa is 10-15db lower than it was before I updated. I wouldn't use it all, but I have to for the on-board apps.


Samsung 65ks8500
Pro-Ject Debut Carbon w/Acryl-It platter, Phono Box S
DENON AVR-X7200wa, Paradigm Monitor 90p v1
Def Tech system: CLR2300 SM450 surrounds, BP1.2x rear surrounds, Polk PSW-505
Previous AVRs: AVR-4520ci, RX-A710, RXV-2200
Instagram: DaveTheStalker, PSN ID: DaveTheStalker GT fan since day 1.
davethestalker is offline  
post #23593 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Don't know if I've seen this as an issue, but on some lower budget films the tv speaker almost all the way up is very hard to hear? While others are way to loud about half way, of course we have surround sound also but sometimes the tv speaker is the way to go so we aren't blowing the roof off? Is there a setting maybe I'm missing? We've watched a couple Blu rays this week with the TV speaker and at 80 it's still hard to hear
Davin81 is offline  
post #23594 of 36336 Old 03-09-2017, 11:18 PM
Member
 
Mindman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegam3 View Post
No ones found a way to turn of CE dimming other than using PC Mode i assume?
Nope. It still dims in PC mode too. Really sucks.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
rstark18 likes this.
Mindman is offline  
post #23595 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 02:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davin81 View Post
Don't know if I've seen this as an issue, but on some lower budget films the tv speaker almost all the way up is very hard to hear? While others are way to loud about half way, of course we have surround sound also but sometimes the tv speaker is the way to go so we aren't blowing the roof off? Is there a setting maybe I'm missing? We've watched a couple Blu rays this week with the TV speaker and at 80 it's still hard to hear


Not at my TV right now but if I'm not mistaken if you go into sound settings there is an option keeping the sound level the same keeping it from those drastic differences. If not on the TV then your blu-ray player should have that option as well


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
H8ter2016 is offline  
post #23596 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 03:15 AM
Member
 
mzan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Has there been any kind of pressure on Samsung to fix the Game Mode / HDR profile issue??

With more and more games supporting HDR this is becoming annoying.
mzan is offline  
post #23597 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 07:08 AM
Member
 
Briankbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's new in the latest update 1167? The prompt to check the info went away too fast, I couldn't click it in time lol...
Briankbl is offline  
post #23598 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 07:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximuslcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Trying to get to FL
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by davethestalker View Post
With this update, the volume coming from the ARC going to my AVR-X7200wa is 10-15db lower than it was before I updated. I wouldn't use it all, but I have to for the on-board apps.

Great....another Samsung ARC issue.

I work to live and live for the beach.
Amateur HT enthusiast.
Samsung 65KS8500/Onkyo 656 AVR, Dolby 5.1.2 Atmos, SVS primes,
Sharp Quatron 3D 60" Onkyo 705 Bonus room
Sharp Quatron 60" Bedroom
maximuslcd is offline  
post #23599 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 07:48 AM
Member
 
eeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aikoe View Post
Make a folder and put the subtitle file in the same folder as the movie and make sure both files have the same exact filename (movie.mkv, movie.srt). Supposedly sub filetypes are supported, but I have only gotten it to work with .srt subs.
Will it work if it is *.mp4 instead of *.mkv
I tried movie.mp4 with movie.srt....it didnt work
Is there another player in the app section?

Thanks
eeter is offline  
post #23600 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Potentially stupid question, but bear with me: when displaying a source via AVR, what's the sound input supposed to show? Concretely, I've connected e.g. a Blu-ray player and a PS4 to my AVR, which in turn is connected to my KS8000 via HDMI4. I'm assuming that those devices should play their sound directly on the sound system, but the sound input box offers three options (TV speakers, Bluetooth, digital/optical cable), and I have to choose the third of these in order to get sound on my AVR, so I'm kind of worried it's doing something silly such as sending the sound to the TV via the HDMI cable and then sending it back via the optical cable.

Edit: And while I'm at it, is there any way I can set default sound input for the different sources (i.e. HDMI1 always uses TV speakers, Netflix always uses digital/optical cable)?

Last edited by Thirith; 03-10-2017 at 08:29 AM.
Thirith is offline  
post #23601 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeter View Post
Will it work if it is *.mp4 instead of *.mkv
I tried movie.mp4 with movie.srt....it didnt work
Is there another player in the app section?

Thanks
I would check your subtitle settings on the TV as well. We eventually got frustrated trying to get different subs and 10bit videos to work on the TV and downloaded the PLEX app and set up a PLEX server on my PC. It works flawlessly.
aikoe is offline  
post #23602 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vahid Jamali View Post
HDR on UHD and HDR on amazon are more or the same from my experience. Both show off the tech in a very high quality sort of way. You don't really gain much from a UHD HDR from Bluray vs a UHD HDR on Amazon. The actual HDR part of it is very small, it's more like a set of metadata (very small file size) layered on the video itself.
The fact that UHD bluray offers 2x to 3x more bandwidth than UHD streaming means there is a big difference in picture quality. Not all UHD bluray discs are created equal, some are poor (Jason Bourn, Arrival) and some are good (Batman v Superman, The Shallows, Billy Lynn). I am not even sure how the streaming can do Billy Lynn which is UHD in 60FPS. Streaming also does not support lossless audio like Dolby TruHD. Maybe that will change in the future for streaming. To get the best picture and sound, UHD bluray is the only media today.
acefr is offline  
post #23603 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,740
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1957 Post(s)
Liked: 3254
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
And I guess some like to make up facts.

I'm not saying we will or won't get the update/upgrade. I just take issue with someone posting it as a fact on a forum. There are no definitive facts regarding it.
Here are the facts, confirmed via email from the product development director and the two leading engineers at Samsung:

There is no upgrade path for HDR10+ (AKA, "dynamic HDR 10") available ahead of the hardware update to HDMI 2.1 which is required to support HDR10+ from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2016 Samsung HDR TVs can now support HDR10+ via streaming only; their HDMI 2.0a inputs will only support HDR10 from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2017 Samsung HDR TVs can now support HDR10+ via streaming only; their HDMI 2.0b inputs will only support HDR10 from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2018 Samsung HDR TVs will support HDR10+ via streaming as well as on their HDMI 2.1 inputs.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #23604 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
layzzzee8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Here are the facts, confirmed via email from the product development director and the two leading engineers at Samsung:

There is no upgrade path for HDR10+ (AKA, "dynamic HDR 10") available ahead of the hardware update to HDMI 2.1 which is required to support HDR10+ from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2016 Samsung HDR TVs can now support HDR10+ via streaming only; their HDMI 2.0a inputs will only support HDR10 from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2017 Samsung HDR TVs can now support HDR10+ via streaming only; their HDMI 2.0b inputs will only support HDR10 from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2018 Samsung HDR TVs will support HDR10+ via streaming as well as on their HDMI 2.1 inputs.

Nice. So its probably safe to assume no HDR10+ on any 2017 TV's. I'll be waiting until 2018 to purchase my replacement basement TV. HDMI 2.1 likely won't arrive on AVR's until 2018 as well. Now we just need Netflix and Amazon to start providing HDR10+ content.
layzzzee8 is offline  
post #23605 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 12:02 PM
Member
 
bygfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Panel Lottery, new panel type?

I bought the KS8000, and it has a great picture in most circumstances, however, I have been going nuts with the amount of micro stutter/judder that i see in medium speed pan and action sequences... there are A LOT in standard broadcast TV.
I see this as often as 3-4 times a minute depending on the motion in the scene, generally a dozen or more times in any show no matter what it is.

So I think I'm returning this, but I'm leery of a direct exchange in case its processing etc., and not just the panel.
Having said all that, I do have a FA01 panel currently.
Because I am considering a direct exchange, I have already been to the store to see their current panel versions and they are FB03
I can't find any data on these anywhere, Ive googled my butt off and burned several hours trying to decipher what the FB03 represents and if it indicates a solution or a dead end for the motion issues.

Any one able to give insight into the specific FB03 panel?
I have seen many links going to TV parts places, and samsung panel info sites, none of them reference this panel.
This is one and is generally fairly helpful, but not for the panel version lottery: http://www.displayspecifications.com/en/model/b10b41d

I am using the 1167.0 Firmware version... perhaps very mild change with that, and i have image processing off (AMP etc)

Last edited by bygfoot; 03-10-2017 at 12:19 PM.
bygfoot is offline  
post #23606 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Lars99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KS8000 issue with Nintendo Switch

We recently connected a switch to our KS8000, in addition to a DirecTV, nVidia Shield, and XBOX One S systems. Prior to the Switch, we never had any problems, but with the Switch connected to any HDMI port, at various intervals the tv will randomly change itself to whatever port the Switch is connected to. Throughout, the Switch remains cradled and powered off. We go days without using the Switch, and the tv still changes input.

Any theories?
Lars99 is offline  
post #23607 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by bygfoot View Post
I bought the KS8000, and it has a great picture in most circumstances, however, I have been going nuts with the amount of micro stutter/judder that i see in medium speed pan and action sequences... there are A LOT in standard broadcast TV.
I see this as often as 3-4 times a minute depending on the motion in the scene, generally a dozen or more times in any show no matter what it is.

So I think I'm returning this, but I'm leery of a direct exchange in case its processing etc., and not just the panel.
Having said all that, I do have a FA01 panel currently.
Because I am considering a direct exchange, I have already been to the store to see their current panel versions and they are FB03
I can't find any data on these anywhere, Ive googled my butt off and burned several hours trying to decipher what the FB03 represents and if it indicates a solution or a dead end for the motion issues.

Any one able to give insight into the specific FB03 panel?
I have seen many links going to TV parts places, and samsung panel info sites, none of them reference this panel.
This is one and is generally fairly helpful, but not for the panel version lottery: http://www.displayspecifications.com/en/model/b10b41d

I am using the 1167.0 Firmware version... perhaps very mild change with that, and i have image processing off (AMP etc)
Have you already turned off all the motion processing effects?
mercennarius is offline  
post #23608 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,867
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1165 Post(s)
Liked: 1995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Here are the facts, confirmed via email from the product development director and the two leading engineers at Samsung:

There is no upgrade path for HDR10+ (AKA, "dynamic HDR 10") available ahead of the hardware update to HDMI 2.1 which is required to support HDR10+ from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2016 Samsung HDR TVs can now support HDR10+ via streaming only; their HDMI 2.0a inputs will only support HDR10 from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2017 Samsung HDR TVs can now support HDR10+ via streaming only; their HDMI 2.0b inputs will only support HDR10 from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2018 Samsung HDR TVs will support HDR10+ via streaming as well as on their HDMI 2.1 inputs.
Thank you for posting some info that is backed up with facts. Just as I thought we will have some form of the update. And it's good enough for me for the next couple years until the new HDMI standard is fully implemented.

Appreciate the info!
Terminader and mrtickleuk like this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #23609 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Here are the facts, confirmed via email from the product development director and the two leading engineers at Samsung:

There is no upgrade path for HDR10+ (AKA, "dynamic HDR 10") available ahead of the hardware update to HDMI 2.1 which is required to support HDR10+ from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2016 Samsung HDR TVs can now support HDR10+ via streaming only; their HDMI 2.0a inputs will only support HDR10 from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2017 Samsung HDR TVs can now support HDR10+ via streaming only; their HDMI 2.0b inputs will only support HDR10 from UHD Blu-Ray discs.

Model year 2018 Samsung HDR TVs will support HDR10+ via streaming as well as on their HDMI 2.1 inputs.
was there any official mention of this or ? or just you mailing them ?
DaiKami is offline  
post #23610 of 36336 Old 03-10-2017, 01:23 PM
Member
 
bygfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
Have you already turned off all the motion processing effects?
All motion processing is off.

I have tried varying degrees of blur +/- judder reduction, film mode(s) on and off, Auto Motion Plus fully off, also on Custom but all settings set to 0.
Basically, if someone in a forum somewhere has recommended a fix, i have tried it.
After the 1167 firmware update, i did a factory reset and started from scratch, step by step from default.

At this point, although if there was a fix I would take it, I think it is getting returned, its just a matter of an FB03 version of this set, or something else entirely.
I do love many things about this set though, thus my interest in the FB03 panel.
bygfoot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off