Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 824 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179870Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24691 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck_IV View Post
That's what I get for speed reading. Saw the optical but missed the HDMI part for the UHD player. Sorry about that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No worries, I do it ALL THE TIME.. 😀

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk
NHAudiofan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24692 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
thisismyname123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstark18 View Post
My first thought when I read this was oh please, these guys have no idea what they're talking about. But then someone else chimed in and mentioned the 10/100 port and I checked my switch and sure enough this tv doesn't have a gigabit Ethernet port. I couldn't believe it.
Well this explains why my 4K video streamed from my iPhone to the tv through the Smart View app buffers constantly. I switched over to AC and it streams perfect.
Reminds me not to be too quick to judge a comment.
Yep same here. I sit corrected.
thisismyname123 is offline  
post #24693 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
joe75xp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 334
WiFi is capped in these TVs and nowhere close to AC speeds, max connection is around 80Mb and more comparative to wired than would normally be expected. I use ethernet and have never had an issue.
King Richard likes this.

___________________
:49KS8000 :TX-NR757
joe75xp is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24694 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstark18 View Post
My first thought when I read this was oh please, these guys have no idea what they're talking about. But then someone else chimed in and mentioned the 10/100 port and I checked my switch and sure enough this tv doesn't have a gigabit Ethernet port. I couldn't believe it.
Well this explains why my 4K video streamed from my iPhone to the tv through the Smart View app buffers constantly. I switched over to AC and it streams perfect.
Reminds me not to be too quick to judge a comment.
This doesn't make sense. 100 is more than enough for 4K and you should have no packet loss, which makes a difference with streaming video.
King Richard likes this.
urgru is offline  
post #24695 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4869 Post(s)
Liked: 7163
Thumbs up YouTube HLG streaming support - confirmed

Good news. Thanks to >this post< which points to two HLG YouTube clips - which had been there all along - I was able to test this. They put the TV into HDR more and display correctly

Rudy1, Terminader, blenky and 3 others like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #24696 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
joe75xp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 334
I still believe the HLG support we have has also been there all along.

___________________
:49KS8000 :TX-NR757
joe75xp is online now  
post #24697 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Iowa
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf7002 View Post
My guess is because $1.59 x a million TV's (or however many they made) is not worth the expensive for something that won't matter to almost all of the people almost all of the time. For online streaming, I don't know of any service that streams faster than 100Mbps. Max bitrate on a bluray is 54Mbps, so even streaming rips across your LAN 100Mbps should be more than fast enough. A handful of people could have video with higher bitrates, or transcode their video to higher bitrates, but I would bet that 99% of the time 100Mbps is more than fast enough for anything this TV will ever need to do, so why the extra expense?

That's my conjecture anyway
Absolute agree, but figure it's 2017. Gigabit is the new 'norm' vs. 100 mbps. The same probably could've been said 10 years ago when people were buying 100 mbps NIC vs. 10BaseT NICs...

100 Mbps will do everything that a smart TV can perform. The $1.59 amount is trivial (I have no idea how much the chipset really costs), but I'm pretty sure Samsung could afford it. Instead of discounting my 65" by $520, discount it $518 instead.
harjms is offline  
post #24698 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 12:15 PM
Member
 
elfeoblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I meant to say Panny DMP-UB900.

Samsung UN65KS8000 SUHD Quantum Dot LED 4K TV
Panasonic DP-UB820 4k & OPPO 103D-
Denon AVR-X4400h 5.2.4 atmos-with Paradigm: Monitor 7 v.6 for fronts, CC-390 v.6, Atoms v.7 Surrounds, Micros v.3 Front height and ELAC Debut A4 for back dolby.
SVS-PC12 NSD sub. Nak CR-1A cassette & Vintage Technics SL-MC7 110 CD jukebox
elfeoblu is offline  
post #24699 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 12:22 PM
Member
 
boojitede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by camd5pt0 View Post
I have noticed this at least on 1165

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk
I noticed the youtube ffwd issue was resolved yesterday
boojitede is offline  
post #24700 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 01:14 PM
Member
 
oldnavycdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Pulled The Trigger & Need a Mount

Well, can't accuse me of being an early adapter. We are doing a room expansion and I figured I would have to wait for the '17's to come down in price before upgrading to the 65" that I covet. After reading through pages and pages of this thread and witnessing the journey of new owners as well as the product evolution/updates by Samsung I concluded, as many have that the KS8000 was best choice. So, it is on its way. Unfortunately, the construction will continue for another month so all I'll be able to do is unbox it, test it for obvious problems and box it back up until construction is complete. So, in the mean time I'm shopping for a tilting mount. I've used Monoprice in the past and was happy with their products. And I understand about the 45mm bolts I'll need to pick up. But I wanted to ask those who have wall mounted this model what mount you used? I'll have power and HDMI run through the walls behind the mounting location (about 5' up). How much space behind the TV should I look for? And do I need 90* angled HDMI adaptors to connect the cable with a wall mount? Any mount come with the M8 45mm (not that it matters)?

Thanks to the posters in this thread for all the great information. You sold me!
King Richard likes this.
oldnavycdr is offline  
post #24701 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 01:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisismyname123 View Post
Yep same here. I sit corrected.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Good news. Thanks to >this post< which points to two HLG YouTube clips - which had been there all along - I was able to test this. They put the TV into HDR more and display correctly

I downloaded the HLG demos and both play but neither engage HDR on my set and I am on 1168. The cinematic jazz LG one plays and looks great but I do not get the HDR badge on the info tab.

Sony XBR-65X930E (w/luminoodle)/Sony UBP-X700/Apple TV 4K/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X
Denon AVR-X6200W(Surround/Height)/Emotiva XPA-3(L/C/R)/AC Infinity Aircom T8 x2
DefTech SM 65 x3(L/C/R)/DefTech PM 1000 x4(Surround)/DefTech DI5.5R x4(Atmos/DTS X)
SVS PC-2000 x2(Subs)/Panamax M4300-PM(Main) & MD2(Subs)/Logitech Harmony Elite
aKa DaShiznit is offline  
post #24702 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 01:41 PM
Member
 
rstark18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by urgru View Post
This doesn't make sense. 100 is more than enough for 4K and you should have no packet loss, which makes a difference with streaming video.
I have a very clean wired network with all cabling cat6 and high quality switches What other explanation would the buffering while streaming 4K directly from my iPhone be? As soon as I switch to AC it streams perfectly. The 4K video from the iPhone must be just beyond the limits of 100Mbps. My AC connection is 6x that bandwidth. Of course for internet streaming the wired 100Mbps was keeping up without issues.
rstark18 is offline  
post #24703 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 02:13 PM
Newbie
 
Trey-W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have recently purchased a 55" KS8000 from Best Buy and the TV is an excellent upgrade from the Vizio M series and KU6300 that I looked at before purchasing this one. The only complaint I have is really bright whites has a slight blueish halo around them. I did not notice this on the Samsung KU6300. Is this a panel problem or a processing problem that can be overcome? Ive adjusted everything possible and can't make it go away. The best I've come up with so far is using a Marseille mCable I had from a Vizio M series and jacking up the sharpness to 65.

I did have judder issues, but after setting the directv box to "native" resolution and the AMP settings to 0 0. They have gone away.

It is not the end of the world, as they just dropped the price to $999 and I can get BB to refund the difference. The blacks are great, I have no light bleeding, great color and upscaling, but the blue outline is annoying.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2009.jpg
Views:	1490
Size:	129.4 KB
ID:	2072961  

Last edited by Trey-W; 04-07-2017 at 02:34 PM.
Trey-W is offline  
post #24704 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4869 Post(s)
Liked: 7163
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
I downloaded the HLG demos and both play but neither engage HDR on my set and I am on 1168. The cinematic jazz LG one plays and looks great but I do not get the HDR badge on the info tab.
Hmm, strange. They work for other people so you must be doing something different. The last person who said it didn't work turned out to be trying to play the clip on an external device - remember we can't do HLG over HDMI. You must play the clips from a usb drive connected directly to the One Connect box.
Also as with all other HDR content, you need to be in Movie or Standard mode (or Game mode and manually change several picture settings).

EDIT: Just checked both clips again. I also don't see the "hdr" label on the TV's play/FF/RW/Stop bar. A bug! Probably an oversight on Samsung's part - but it does definitely kick into HDR and display HDR properly. Play/stop a few times and you can see the TV is switching modes. Also you can compare it with the HDR10 version of "Cymatic Jazz" and you'll see the same effect at stop/start and do an A-B comparison.

Unfortunately (and annoyingly) there's no way to get the main Info bar when playing a clip from USB:


Having said that, given that we have a bug and the "HDR" label is missing from this one when playing HLG: (old picture)


I wouldn't be surprised if it was missing from the main Info bar too, even if we could see it!

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 04-07-2017 at 02:51 PM.
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #24705 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
I downloaded the HLG demos and both play but neither engage HDR on my set and I am on 1168. The cinematic jazz LG one plays and looks great but I do not get the HDR badge on the info tab.
Hmm, strange. They work for other people so you must be doing something different. The last person who said it didn't work turned out to be trying to play the clip on an external device - remember we can't do HLG over HDMI. You must play the clips from a usb drive connected directly to the One Connect box.
Also as with all other HDR content, you need to be in Movie or Standard mode (or Game mode and manually change several picture settings).

EDIT: Just checked both clips again. I also don't see the "hdr" label on the TV's play/FF/RW/Stop bar. A bug! Probably an oversight on Samsung's part - but it does definitely kick into HDR and display HDR properly. Play/stop a few times and you can see the TV is switching modes. Also you can compare it with the HDR10 version of "Cymatic Jazz" and you'll see the same effect at stop/start and do an A-B comparison.

Unfortunately (and annoyingly) there's no way to get the main Info bar when playing a clip from USB:


Having said that, given that we have a bug and the "HDR" label is missing from this one when playing HLG: (old picture)


I wouldn't be surprised if it was missing from the main Info bar too, even if we could see it!
I was wrong. I didn't know there was a bug that the hdr logo was missing from that screen when playing hlg. I did notice that the backlight was jumping to 20 and my hdr settings so it seams hdr is in fact activating. I also tried that YouTube video and it indeed shows 4K and hdr.

Thanks for that clarification!!
Rudy1 and mrtickleuk like this.
aKa DaShiznit is offline  
post #24706 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4869 Post(s)
Liked: 7163
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
I was wrong. I didn't know there was a bug that the hdr logo was missing from that screen when playing hlg. I did notice that the backlight was jumping to 20 and my hdr settings so it seams hdr is in fact activating. I also tried that YouTube video and it indeed shows 4K and hdr.

Thanks for that clarification!!
You're welcome. Glad the YouTube HLG works too. And thank you! You are the first to spot that bug, I hadn't noticed it!

(and it gives us something to check for each time there's a f/w update lol)

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #24707 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 03:28 PM
Member
 
joetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
You're welcome. Glad the YouTube HLG works too. And thank you! You are the first to spot that bug, I hadn't noticed it!

(and it gives us something to check for each time there's a f/w update lol)
^
another
mrtickleuk likes this.

- Vizio P-Quantum PQ65-F1 w/ Bias Lighting
- Denon AVR-X3300W 5.1.2
- Philips BDP7501 UHD
- JBL Studio F/C/S, Pioneer Atmos
- XB1S, PS4, Nvidia Shield
joetech is offline  
post #24708 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Elisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by harjms View Post
Agree. Pretty defies the law of physics...



Scratch that...I thought the TV had a 1 gigE port... So yes, technically wireless AC is faster than 100 mbps port; Does anyone know if the TV is 2x2 or 3x3 setup? I wonder why Samsung chose to save the $1.59 part to change the hardwire port to 1000 mbps?


I'm guessing that they wanted to limit the processing overhead so they used a 100Mbps chip instead. Same with capping the AC chip.
Anyway now that we can see the bitrate in Netflix, we can see that 4k HDR streams are only ~16Mbps anyway. I can see that it buffers at about ~21Mbps on my router.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mrtickleuk likes this.
Elisha is offline  
post #24709 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 887 Post(s)
Liked: 1633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trey-W View Post
I have recently purchased a 55" KS8000 from Best Buy and the TV is an excellent upgrade from the Vizio M series and KU6300 that I looked at before purchasing this one. The only complaint I have is really bright whites has a slight blueish halo around them. I did not notice this on the Samsung KU6300. Is this a panel problem or a processing problem that can be overcome? Ive adjusted everything possible and can't make it go away. The best I've come up with so far is using a Marseille mCable I had from a Vizio M series and jacking up the sharpness to 65.

I did have judder issues, but after setting the directv box to "native" resolution and the AMP settings to 0 0. They have gone away.

It is not the end of the world, as they just dropped the price to $999 and I can get BB to refund the difference. The blacks are great, I have no light bleeding, great color and upscaling, but the blue outline is annoying.
That blue outline is very noticeable and unacceptable to me.

Is it that way for all picture modes? Have you tried the rtings.com settings in Movie mode?

Sharpness at 65 is excessively high. Does it look any better in the 0 to 10 range?
King Richard likes this.
Terminader is offline  
post #24710 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Dendk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Good news. Thanks to >this post< which points to two HLG YouTube clips - which had been there all along - I was able to test this. They put the TV into HDR more and display correctly

Yes...copied the HLG files to flash drive they look incredible on the 65 8000.
mrtickleuk likes this.
Dendk is offline  
post #24711 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 09:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Joon TV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
2 issues with my KS8000 recently.

The first issue is when I switch to my Mac Mini, from a different input the screen is not fit properly. There is a slight zoom issue, where you cannot see the top bar or the dock on the bottom. Once you flip back to a different input and then back again the issue is resolved.

The second issue I am starting to have is with my Vizio sound bar. This sound bar is plugged in with an optical cable to my OneConnect box. On occasion, there is no sound being sent to the sound bar. If you switch inputs and then back again, the sound returns.

Anyone know why this is happening? Is my OneConnect box going bad or is this just a handshake issue. This never happened until recently.
Joon TV is offline  
post #24712 of 36538 Old 04-07-2017, 10:21 PM
Member
 
elfeoblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I screwed up an earlier post...does anyone here own both the samsung UBD-K8500 and the Panasonic DMP-UB900 who could gimme some feedback as to PQ when playing 4k discs? I use an Oppo 103D for regular bluray discs. I currently own the Samsung player but I can't help wondering if the Panny would give me better results with my 65inch ks8000. Thanks for the feedback.



Samsung UN65KS8000 SUHD Quantum Dot LED 4K TV
Panasonic DP-UB820 4k & OPPO 103D-
Denon AVR-X4400h 5.2.4 atmos-with Paradigm: Monitor 7 v.6 for fronts, CC-390 v.6, Atoms v.7 Surrounds, Micros v.3 Front height and ELAC Debut A4 for back dolby.
SVS-PC12 NSD sub. Nak CR-1A cassette & Vintage Technics SL-MC7 110 CD jukebox
elfeoblu is offline  
post #24713 of 36538 Old 04-08-2017, 03:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4869 Post(s)
Liked: 7163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elisha View Post
I'm guessing that they wanted to limit the processing overhead so they used a 100Mbps chip instead. Same with capping the AC chip.
Anyway now that we can see the bitrate in Netflix, we can see that 4k HDR streams are only ~16Mbps anyway. I can see that it buffers at about ~21Mbps on my router.
I didn't know that people didn't know they were ~16Mbps!

I have a SamKnows "whitebox" monitoring my vdsl Internet connection (details here). It has a few netflix tests. It can never get above 16Mbps for Video Quality so I deduce that's the max bitrate of their streams (not great if true).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	startup delay.png
Views:	189
Size:	59.6 KB
ID:	2073809   Click image for larger version

Name:	nf video qual pc.png
Views:	189
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	2073817   Click image for larger version

Name:	nf video qual 16.png
Views:	188
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	2073825   Click image for larger version

Name:	download.png
Views:	191
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	2073833   Click image for larger version

Name:	Connect times.png
Views:	185
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	2073841  

Click image for larger version

Name:	nf video qual 16 last30.png
Views:	180
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	2073849  
Terminader and King Richard like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 04-08-2017 at 03:10 AM.
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #24714 of 36538 Old 04-08-2017, 04:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm having a frustrating issue with the arc input. I recently purchased a ks8000 60" and used it for about 2 weeks before exchanging it for the 55" version. While using the 60" I had my Vizio sound bar hooked to the hdmi 4 on the one connect and everything worked great. Sound bar turned on and off and changed volume automatically.

After I switched to the 55 the sound bar will not connect correctly. Everything is setup the same as before. Anynet is turned on and the software is up to date.

Any suggestions?
Jayinla1 is offline  
post #24715 of 36538 Old 04-08-2017, 05:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
MikeKlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I can echo the observations that to reduce judder, set your cable box/satellite receiver's resolution to 'native' and AMP to 0, 0. Though some recommend setting Film Mode to Auto 1, I've noticed leaving that off helps as well.
Terminader likes this.

Last edited by MikeKlim; 04-08-2017 at 06:17 AM.
MikeKlim is offline  
post #24716 of 36538 Old 04-08-2017, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Elisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
I didn't know that people didn't know they were ~16Mbps!

I've heard a few people think it is 20~25Mbps.
Probably cause Netflix recommends a 25Mbps connection for UHD streaming.
I wish they would give us an option to up it based on our connection speed.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Elisha is offline  
post #24717 of 36538 Old 04-08-2017, 10:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Samshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Eden Prairie, Minnesota USA
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Is the KS8000 still being made? Guy at a store said no. I was surprised
Samshort is offline  
post #24718 of 36538 Old 04-08-2017, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterWar View Post
Thank you for your repply! I'm also considering tthe Vifa Copenhagen, I've seen one today and I'm quite impress, it does come with optical inputs, hopefully I'll be able to connect it to my samsung TV and controll the volume with the TV remote.
I finally bought the Vifa copenhagen, great system for compact desks, it easily blows the Bose solo 5 (I've tested it).

There's one issue though, right now the Vifa Copenhagen is connected to the KS8000 using optical input, but I can't get the samsung remote to change the volume of the Vifa Copenhagen, could you recommend a universal remote or any other solution that could work for both?

Thank you!
PeterWar is offline  
post #24719 of 36538 Old 04-08-2017, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 887 Post(s)
Liked: 1633
HDR

More 4K HDR goodness



Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
pg22, King Richard and mrtickleuk like this.
Terminader is offline  
post #24720 of 36538 Old 04-08-2017, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4869 Post(s)
Liked: 7163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
HDR

More 4K HDR goodness


Nice. Although I wonder what the REAL soundtrack is. Mr demo-uhd3d.com doesn't seem to have uploaded any of these 2017 demos recently

Does anyone else see horrendous banding moving in the sky during the fade at 1:45?

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off